DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakariya et al. (US 1018/0374831 A1) in view of Mourou et al. (US 2019/0146216 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Sakariya (Fig. Fig. 5, 7, 10, 14) discloses a light emitting assembly, comprising:
a light emitting element package (400) configured to emit light from a light emitting surface (sides of 450, Fig. 5A); and
a reflector (132) having a reflection surface (sidewalls 114) that faces the light emitting surface (sides) and that is configured to reflect light from the light emitting element package (400). (Fig. 5A)
Sakariya does not explicitly disclose that a light emitting assembly configured to be disposed within a vehicle window of a vehicle
Mourou (Fig. 2) discloses a light emitting assembly (60) configured to be disposed within a vehicle window of a vehicle ( a front windshield unit 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a light emitting assembly in Sakariya in view of Mourou such that a light emitting assembly configured to be disposed within a vehicle window of a vehicle in order to dynamically display and dynamically update graphical images upon a window of a subject vehicle to present vehicle-related and non-vehicle-related information of various forms, including vehicle systems operation, ambient driving conditions, infotainment features, personalized occupant-specific data [0017].
Regarding Claim 2, Sakariya in view of Mourou discloses the light emitting assembly of claim 1, wherein
the vehicle defines a longitudinal axis (a longitudinal axis of the vehicle 10, axis through windshield of the vehicle Mourou), wherein
the light emitting assembly (400 Sakariya) forms a first angle θ (angle opposite to θ2 .i.e. 180°- θ2), and wherein
the reflection surface (114 Sakariya) is configured to reflect at least some light from the light emitting element package (400 Sakariya)
Sakariya in view of Mourou as previously combines does not explicitly disclose that the light emitting assembly forms a first angle θ with the longitudinal axis and the reflection surface is configured to reflect at least some light from the light emitting element package in a direction along the longitudinal axis.
However, Sakariya discloses adjusting a first angle θ between −85 and −30 degrees with respect to the top surface of the substrate in order to adjust viewing angle of the system [0116, 0145].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a light emitting assembly in Sakariya in view of Mourou such that the light emitting assembly forms a first angle θ with the longitudinal axis and the reflection surface is configured to reflect at least some light from the light emitting element package in a direction along the longitudinal axis in order to dynamically display and dynamically update graphical images upon a window of a subject vehicle to present vehicle-related and non-vehicle-related information of various forms, including vehicle systems operation, ambient driving conditions, infotainment features, personalized occupant-specific data [0017 Mourou] and adjust viewing angle of the system [0116, 0145 Sakariya].
Regarding Claim 3, Sakariya in view of Mourou discloses the light emitting assembly of claim 2, further comprising:
a base board (100) on which the reflector (132) is disposed, wherein
the reflection surface (132) forms a second angle α (θ2) with the base board (100), and wherein
the reflector (132) is structured such that the second angle α (θ2)
Sakariya in view of Mourou does not explicitly disclose the reflector is structured such that the second angle α satisfies an equation α=90°−θ/2.
However, Sakariya discloses adjusting a first angle θ between −85 and −30 degrees with respect to the top surface of the substrate in order to adjust viewing angle of the system [0116, 0145].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a light emitting assembly in Sakariya in view of Mourou such that the reflector is structured such that the second angle α satisfies an equation α=90°−θ/2 in order to dynamically display and dynamically update graphical images upon a window of a subject vehicle to present vehicle-related and non-vehicle-related information of various forms, including vehicle systems operation, ambient driving conditions, infotainment features, personalized occupant-specific data [0017 Mourou] and adjust viewing angle of the system [0116, 0145 Sakariya].
Regarding Claim 4, Sakariya in view of Mourou discloses the light emitting assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
an electrode (102) electrically connected to the light emitting element package (400) and configured to supply power to the light emitting element package, wherein
the reflector (132) is disposed on the electrode (102) (Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 5, Sakariya in view of Mourou discloses the light emitting assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
a first electrode (102) extending in a first direction, and a second electrode (106) extending in a second direction different from the first direction (Fig. 10), wherein
the reflector (132) is disposed on the first electrode (102) or the second electrode.
Regarding Claim 6, Sakariya in view of Mourou discloses the light emitting assembly of claim 1, further comprising
a collimator (142, 132) disposed between the light emitting element package (400) and the reflection surface of the reflector configured to converge light emitted by the light emitting element package (400) towards the reflection surface.
The Examiner notes that configured to converge light emitted by the light emitting element package towards the reflection surface is considered to be met as long as collimator passes light emitted by the light emitting element package (400) towards the reflection surface
Regarding Claim 7, Sakariya in view of Mourou discloses the light emitting assembly of claim 1, wherein
the light emitting element package (400) is disposed on an integrated circuit (120). (Fig. 14).
Regarding Claim 8, Sakariya in view of Mourou discloses the light emitting assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
an electrode (horizontal part of 102) on which the reflector (132) is disposed, an insulation layer (100) on which the light emitting element package (400) and the electrode (horizontal part of 102) are disposed, and a connector (vertical part of 102) disposed in the insulation layer (100) connecting the light emitting element package (100) and the electrode (horizontal part of 102). (Fig. 10)
Regarding Claim 9, Sakariya in view of Mourou discloses the light emitting assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
a base board (100) having a mounting surface (top) on which the light emitting element package (400) is disposed, wherein
the reflector (132) is a reflective layer disposed on a mounting surface of the base board. (100)
Regarding Claim 10, Sakariya (Fig. 5, 7, 10, 14) discloses:
a light emitting assembly (400), comprising:
a light emitting element package (400) configured to emit light from a light emitting surface; and
a reflector (132) having a reflection surface that faces the light emitting surface and that is configured to reflect light from the light emitting element package (See Fig. 5, 7, 10, 14).
Sakariya does not explicitly disclose a vehicle window of a vehicle.
Mourou (Fig. 2) discloses a vehicle window of a vehicle ( a front windshield unit 18) comprising: a light emitting assembly (60)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a light emitting assembly in Sakariya in view of Mourou such that a vehicle window of a vehicle in order to dynamically display and dynamically update graphical images upon a window of a subject vehicle to present vehicle-related and non-vehicle-related information of various forms, including vehicle systems operation, ambient driving conditions, infotainment features, personalized occupant-specific data [0017].
Regarding Claim 11, Sakariya in view of Mourou discloses the vehicle window of claim 10, wherein
the vehicle defines a longitudinal axis (a longitudinal axis of the vehicle 10, axis through windshield of the vehicle Mourou), wherein
the light emitting assembly (400 Sakariya) forms a first angle θ (angle opposite to θ2 .i.e. 180°- θ2), and wherein
the reflection surface (114 Sakariya) is configured to reflect at least some light from the light emitting element package (400 Sakariya)
Sakariya in view of Mourou as previously combines does not explicitly disclose that the light emitting assembly forms a first angle θ with the longitudinal axis and the reflection surface is configured to reflect at least some light from the light emitting element package in a direction along the longitudinal axis.
However, Sakariya discloses adjusting a first angle θ between −85 and −30 degrees with respect to the top surface of the substrate in order to adjust viewing angle of the system [0116, 0145].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a light emitting assembly in Sakariya in view of Mourou such that the light emitting assembly forms a first angle θ with the longitudinal axis and the reflection surface is configured to reflect at least some light from the light emitting element package in a direction along the longitudinal axis in order to dynamically display and dynamically update graphical images upon a window of a subject vehicle to present vehicle-related and non-vehicle-related information of various forms, including vehicle systems operation, ambient driving conditions, infotainment features, personalized occupant-specific data [0017 Mourou] and adjust viewing angle of the system [0116, 0145 Sakariya].
Regarding Claim 12, Sakariya in view of Mourou discloses the vehicle window of claim 11, further comprising:
a base board (100) on which the reflector (132) is disposed, wherein
the reflection surface (132) forms a second angle α (θ2) with the base board (100), and wherein
the reflector (132) is structured such that the second angle α (θ2)
Sakariya in view of Mourou does not explicitly disclose the reflector is structured such that the second angle α satisfies an equation α=90°−θ/2.
However, Sakariya discloses adjusting a first angle θ between −85 and −30 degrees with respect to the top surface of the substrate in order to adjust viewing angle of the system [0116, 0145].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a light emitting assembly in Sakariya in view of Mourou such that the reflector is structured such that the second angle α satisfies an equation α=90°−θ/2 in order to dynamically display and dynamically update graphical images upon a window of a subject vehicle to present vehicle-related and non-vehicle-related information of various forms, including vehicle systems operation, ambient driving conditions, infotainment features, personalized occupant-specific data [0017 Mourou] and adjust viewing angle of the system [0116, 0145 Sakariya].
Regarding Claim 13, Sakariya in view of Mourou discloses the vehicle window of claim 10, further comprising:
an electrode (102) electrically connected to the light emitting element package (400) and configured to supply power to the light emitting element package, wherein
the reflector (132) is disposed on the electrode (102) (Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 14, Sakariya in view of Mourou discloses the vehicle window of claim 10, further comprising:
a first electrode (102) extending in a first direction, and a second electrode (106) extending in a second direction different from the first direction (Fig. 10), wherein
the reflector (132) is disposed on the first electrode (102) or the second electrode.
.
Regarding Claim 15, Sakariya in view of Mourou discloses the vehicle window of claim 10, further comprising a collimator (142, 132) disposed between the light emitting element package (400) and the reflection surface of the reflector configured to converge light emitted by the light emitting element package (400) towards the reflection surface.
The Examiner notes that configured to converge light emitted by the light emitting element package towards the reflection surface is considered to be met as long as collimator passes light emitted by the light emitting element package (400) towards the reflection surface
Regarding Claim 16, Sakariya in view of Mourou discloses the vehicle window of claim 10, wherein the light emitting element package (400) is disposed on an integrated circuit (120). (Fig. 14).
Regarding Claim 17, Sakariya in view of Mourou discloses the vehicle window of claim 10, further comprising: an electrode (horizontal part of 102) on which the reflector (132) is disposed, an insulation layer (100) on which the light emitting element package (400) and the electrode (horizontal part of 102) are disposed, and a connector (vertical part of 102) disposed in the insulation layer (100) connecting the light emitting element package (100) and the electrode (horizontal part of 102). (Fig. 10)
Regarding Claim 18, Sakariya in view of Mourou discloses the vehicle window of claim 10, further comprising:
a base board (100) having a mounting surface (top) on which the light emitting element package (400) is disposed, wherein
the reflector (132) is a reflective layer disposed on a mounting surface of the base board. (100)
Regarding Claim 19, Sakariya in view of Mourou discloses the vehicle window of claim 10, wherein
the light emitting element package (60, 400) and the reflector (132) are disposed between a first glass layer (40) and a second glass layer (42). [0022 Mourou]
Regarding Claim 20, Sakariya (Fig. 5, 7, 10, 14) discloses
the light emitting assembly comprising:
a light emitting element package (400) configured to emit light from a light emitting surface (sides of 450, Fig. 5A);
an electrode (102) electrically connected to the light emitting element package (400) and configured to supply power to the light emitting element package (400);
a reflector (132) disposed on the electrode (102) and having a reflection surface (sidewalls 114) that faces the light emitting surface (sides) and that is configured to reflect light from the light emitting element package (400). (Fig. 5A)
and a base board (100) on which the reflector (132) is disposed, wherein
the light emitting assembly forms a first angle θ (angle opposite to θ2 .i.e. 180°- θ2), wherein
the reflection surface (surface of 132) is configured to reflect at least some light from the light emitting element package (400), wherein
the reflection surface forms a second angle α (θ2) with the base board (100), and wherein
the reflector (132) is structured such that the second angle α (θ2)
Sakariya does not explicitly disclose a vehicle defining a longitudinal axis and a forward direction and a rear direction along the longitudinal axis, comprising: a vehicle window comprising a light emitting assembly and the light emitting assembly forms a first angle θ with the longitudinal axis and the reflection surface is configured to reflect at least some light from the light emitting element package in a direction along the longitudinal axis and the reflector is structured such that the second angle α satisfies an equation α=90°−θ/2.
Mourou (Fig. 2) discloses a vehicle defining a longitudinal axis (a longitudinal axis of the vehicle 10, axis through windshield of the vehicle Mourou) and a forward direction and a rear direction along the longitudinal axis, comprising: a vehicle window ( a front windshield unit 18) comprising a light emitting assembly (60)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a light emitting assembly in Sakariya in view of Mourou such that a vehicle defining a longitudinal axis and a forward direction and a rear direction along the longitudinal axis, comprising: a vehicle window comprising a light emitting assembly in order to dynamically display and dynamically update graphical images upon a window of a subject vehicle to present vehicle-related and non-vehicle-related information of various forms, including vehicle systems operation, ambient driving conditions, infotainment features, personalized occupant-specific data [0017].
Sakariya in view of Mourou does not explicitly disclose the light emitting assembly forms a first angle θ with the longitudinal axis and the reflection surface is configured to reflect at least some light from the light emitting element package in a direction along the longitudinal axis and the reflector is structured such that the second angle α satisfies an equation α=90°−θ/2.
However, Sakariya discloses adjusting a first angle θ between −85 and −30 degrees with respect to the top surface of the substrate in order to adjust viewing angle of the system [0116, 0145].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a light emitting assembly in Sakariya in view of Mourou such that the light emitting assembly forms a first angle θ with the longitudinal axis and the reflection surface is configured to reflect at least some light from the light emitting element package in a direction along the longitudinal axis and the reflector is structured such that the second angle α satisfies an equation α=90°−θ/2 in order to dynamically display and dynamically update graphical images upon a window of a subject vehicle to present vehicle-related and non-vehicle-related information of various forms, including vehicle systems operation, ambient driving conditions, infotainment features, personalized occupant-specific data [0017 Mourou] and adjust viewing angle of the system [0116, 0145 Sakariya].
Conclusion
/DMITRIY YEMELYANOV/Examiner, Art Unit 2891