DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 01/30/2026, which has
been entered and made of record. Claim 1 and 10 are amended. Claims 7 and 16 are canceled. Claims 1-6, 8-15 and 17-18 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments regarding claim rejections under 103 are considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues: The references used do not teach the amended limitations of claim 1 and 10.
Examiner disagrees: Ciarcia teaches a lean ortho correction algorithm to match the points of oblique image with the points of an orthorectified image. FIG. 9 gives an example of the points matching. FIG. 9 below shows that the square point one match the circle position, the second square does not match the second circle position, while the third square matches. Specifically, Ciarcia teaches the amended limitations of “the lean ortho correction algorithm processing a first point of the plurality of world 3D points that matches a first corresponding image pixel in the orthorectified image, a second point of the plurality of world 3D points that does not match a second corresponding image pixel in the orthorectified image, and a third point of the plurality of world 3D points that matches the second corresponding image pixel in the orthorectified image;”([0057], “An example of the result of this fitting process is found in FIG. 9, which shows diagram 66 that shows a point pattern plot in oblique image space. The vertical axis 218 represents the "v" coordinate in the oblique image space; the horizontal axis 216 represents the "u" coordinate in the oblique image space. The squares 220 show the position of the defined points in the oblique image space. The circles 222 represent the location of the subset of ortho points that were transformed into the oblique image space using the current candidate arguments for the Transform Function.” FIG. 9 below shows that the square point one match the circle position, the second square does not match the second circle position, while the third square matches.
)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-6, 8-15, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fathi et al. (US 2018/0053347 A1, Fathi) in view of Ciarcia (US 2014/0099035 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fathi teaches:
A system for lean ortho correction for computer models of structures, comprising: a processor for processing a structure model; ([0015], “In another aspect, a system comprises at least one computing device comprising a processor; and a wireframe verification application stored in memory, where execution of the wireframe verification application by the processor causes the at least one computing device to:”)
a user interface in communication with the processor; (Abstract: “The wireframe can be adjusted by a user and/or a computer to align the 2D images and/or 3D representations thereto, thereby generating a verified wireframe including at least a portion of the structure or element of interest.”) and computer system code executed by the processor, the computer system code causing the processor ([0015], “In another aspect, a system comprises at least one computing device comprising a processor; and a wireframe verification application stored in memory, where execution of the wireframe verification application by the processor causes the at least one computing device to:”) to:
display an image of a structure on the user interface; ([0031], “As set forth in more detail herein, such user confidence can result from projecting or overlaying the unverified wireframe on one or more 2D image representations and/or a 3D representation of the structure or element of interest, and facilitating navigation by the user through and around the unverified wireframe during a verification process. Such navigation can include zooming and panning to provide multiple angles for the unverified wireframe to allow the user to inspect the unverified wireframe vertices, whereby the positioning of such vertices can be adjusted against the 2D image representation(s) and/or 3D representation.”)
project the structure model onto the image; ([0163], “The unverified wireframe can be projected on 2D images, 3D representations, or a combination of both. The 2D images used for verification of the wireframe can include 2D images that were used to generate the unverified wireframe. In some cases, the 2D images used for verification of the wireframe are separate from the 2D images used to generate the wireframe (or a point cloud used to generate the wireframe). With the wireframe projected over the image or point cloud at 112, endpoints and edges can be compared to features of the underlying 2D image or 3D representation to ensure confidence in the final verified wireframe.”)
identify, via user input, a plurality of features in the image; and adjust the structure model by transforming coordinates of the structure model using the plurality of features and a lean ortho correction algorithm; ([0163], “With the wireframe projected over the image or point cloud at 112, endpoints and edges can be compared to features of the underlying 2D image or 3D representation to ensure confidence in the final verified wireframe. If adjustments are made at 115, then the changes can be propagated through all of the 2D images used to verify the unverified wireframe at 118. Confirmation of whether additional 2D images are available for verification can then be checked at 121. If there is not adjustment, then the workflow passes to 121.” [0048], “This could be even extended to using an as-built BIM model to verify the unverified wireframe. The only criterion for this functionality is to register the 3D representation, unverified wireframe, and imagery in the same coordinate system. This can be as simple as having the 3D representation, unverified wireframe, and different sets of imagery in a global coordinate system such as Geodetic or Geocentric coordinate system or different but known local coordinate systems. A more complex scenario happens when the 3D representation, unverified wireframe, and different sets of imagery are in different unknown coordinate systems. In this scenario, a set of 2D and/or 3D features could be extracted and matched automatically among the different datasets or provided by a user. Corresponding 2D features can be converted into 3D features using visual triangulation techniques. Having at least three corresponding 3D features between two unknown coordinate systems allows computing a transform matrix that maps the two coordinate systems. Such a transform matrix or a set of transform matrices could be used to bring the 3D representation, unverified wireframe, and different sets of 2D imagery into a known coordinate system.” [0013], teaches user is involved in the process.)
However, Faithi does not explicitly teach, but Ciarcia teaches:
the image can be an orthorectified image ([0022], “House 106 is located substantially below airplane 102, and the image captured from this angle is called an orthogonal ("ortho") image.”)
The image features can be: world three-dimensional (“3D”) points in the orthorectified image ([0041], “For example, in FIG. 4 image 56, 18 points were chosen in the ortho image to identify features of a roof. These points include the peak edge of a gable 136, an eave edge 134, an opposing eave edge 138, and another peak edge of a gable 132 at the opposite side of the house.”)
project the adjusted structure model onto the orthorectified image. ([0070]-[0071], “The roof modeling engine 402 performs at least some of the functions described with reference to FIGS. 1-13 above. In particular, the roof modeling engine 402 generates a model based on one or more images of a building that are obtained from the Roof Estimation System data repository 416 or directly from the image source computing system 465. As noted, model generation may be performed semi-automatically, based on at least some inputs received from the operator computing system 475. In addition, at least some aspects of the model generation may be performed automatically. In particular, to generate the 3D model, the point-to-point registration and elevation computation engine 478 simulates the perspective change between an orthogonal and oblique view of a roof provided in the different acquired images by applying a convoluted vanishing point perspective projection VPPP model. In some embodiments, the point-to-point registration and elevation computation engine 478 performs registration and computation of point elevations within orthogonal (overhead) roof images based on the use of determining a proper Transformation Function by iterating through Gaussian Mixture Model (GMM) and evaluation using Graphical Form Fitting.”)
the lean ortho correction algorithm processing a first point of the plurality of world 3D points that matches a first corresponding image pixel in the orthorectified image, a second point of the plurality of world 3D points that does not match a second corresponding image pixel in the orthorectified image, and a third point of the plurality of world 3D points that matches the second corresponding image pixel in the orthorectified image;([0057], “An example of the result of this fitting process is found in FIG. 9, which shows diagram 66 that shows a point pattern plot in oblique image space. The vertical axis 218 represents the "v" coordinate in the oblique image space; the horizontal axis 216 represents the "u" coordinate in the oblique image space. The squares 220 show the position of the defined points in the oblique image space. The circles 222 represent the location of the subset of ortho points that were transformed into the oblique image space using the current candidate arguments for the Transform Function.” FIG. 9 below shows that the square point one match the circle position, the second square does not match the second circle position, while the third square matches.
)
Faithi teaches ortho correction to computer models, in which at least three features are selected to be used for transformation. Ciacia explicitly teach how to select three points as the three features and a specific transformation process that do not need previous stored metadata.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combined the teachings of Faithi with the specific teachings of Ciacia. The three points selected by Ciacia effectively reflect the feature of the model. The transformation method of Ciacia does not require pre-existing metadata, which provides a more flexible transformation method. The benefit would be make it more efficiently to align two images and correct the model.
Regarding claim 2, Faithi in view of Ciacia teaches:
The system of Claim 1, wherein the structure model comprises a wireframe model or polygonal model of the structure. (Faithi [0014], “In one or more aspects, the structure or element of interest can comprise all or part of a roof, and the one or more structural aspects of interest comprises a roof area, a roof corner, a roof pitch, a roof edge, a roof gutter, a roof gable, a dormer, or a skylight” FIG. 1, 109)
Regarding claim 3, Faithi in view of Ciacia teaches:
The system of Claim 2, wherein the structure is a three-dimensional model of a house or a building. (Faithi [0014], “In one or more aspects, the structure or element of interest can comprise all or part of a roof, and the one or more structural aspects of interest comprises a roof area, a roof corner, a roof pitch, a roof edge, a roof gutter, a roof gable, a dormer, or a skylight” FIG. 1, 109)
Regarding claim 4, Faithi in view of Ciacia teaches:
The system of Claim 1, wherein one point of the plurality of world 3D points corresponds to a corner of the structure. (Ciacia, [0041], “For example, in FIG. 4 image 56, 18 points were chosen in the ortho image to identify features of a roof. These points include the peak edge of a gable 136, an eave edge 134, an opposing eave edge 138, and another peak edge of a gable 132 at the opposite side of the house.” The combination of claim 1 is incorporated here.)
Regarding claim 5, Faithi in view of Ciacia teaches:
The system of Claim 4, wherein a second point of the plurality of world 3D points corresponds to a point on the structure model. (Ciacia, [0041], “For example, in FIG. 4 image 56, 18 points were chosen in the ortho image to identify features of a roof. These points include the peak edge of a gable 136, an eave edge 134, an opposing eave edge 138, and another peak edge of a gable 132 at the opposite side of the house.” The combination of claim 1 is incorporated here.)
Regarding claim 6, Faithi in view of Ciacia teaches:
The system of Claim 5, wherein the second point of the plurality of world 3D points has an elevation greater than the first world 3D point. (Ciacia, [0041], “For example, in FIG. 4 image 56, 18 points were chosen in the ortho image to identify features of a roof. These points include the peak edge of a gable 136, an eave edge 134, an opposing eave edge 138, and another peak edge of a gable 132 at the opposite side of the house.” The combination of claim 1 is incorporated here.)
Regarding claim 8, Faithi in view of Ciacia teaches:
The system of Claim 1, wherein the lean ortho correction algorithm transforms image coordinates to model coordinates. (Faithi [0048], “A more complex scenario happens when the 3D representation, unverified wireframe, and different sets of imagery are in different unknown coordinate systems. In this scenario, a set of 2D and/or 3D features could be extracted and matched automatically among the different datasets or provided by a user. Corresponding 2D features can be converted into 3D features using visual triangulation techniques. Having at least three corresponding 3D features between two unknown coordinate systems allows computing a transform matrix that maps the two coordinate systems. Such a transform matrix or a set of transform matrices could be used to bring the 3D representation, unverified wireframe, and different sets of 2D imagery into a known coordinate system.” Ciacia further teaches the transformation can be transform points from one image to another image to see if they match each other. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Faithi with the specific teachings of Ciacia to transform points from 2D image coordinates into the model coordinates to obtain predicable results.)
Regarding claim 9, Faithi in view of Ciacia teaches:
The system of Claim 1, wherein the lean ortho correction algorithm transforms model coordinates to image coordinates. (Faithi [0048], “A more complex scenario happens when the 3D representation, unverified wireframe, and different sets of imagery are in different unknown coordinate systems. In this scenario, a set of 2D and/or 3D features could be extracted and matched automatically among the different datasets or provided by a user. Corresponding 2D features can be converted into 3D features using visual triangulation techniques. Having at least three corresponding 3D features between two unknown coordinate systems allows computing a transform matrix that maps the two coordinate systems. Such a transform matrix or a set of transform matrices could be used to bring the 3D representation, unverified wireframe, and different sets of 2D imagery into a known coordinate system.” Ciacia further teaches the transformation can be transform points from one image to another image to see if they match each other. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Faithi with the specific teachings of Ciacia to transform points from model coordinates into the image coordinates to obtain predicable results.)
Claim 10-15, 17-18 recite similar limitations of claim 1-6, 8-9 respectively, in a form of method, thus are rejected using the same rationale respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YANNA WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615