Response to Amendment
1. This action is in response to the request for reconsideration filed on 12/18/2025.
2.. As per applicant’s request claims 1-2, 6-7, 10-13 and 16-20 and 20 have been amended.
3. Examiner has withdrawn rejection of 35 USC 101 of claims 1-20 upon clarification and amendment filled by the applicant.
4. Examiner has withdrawn rejection of 35 USC 112, interpretation of claims 1-20 upon clarification and amendment filled by the applicant.
5. As per applicant’s request claims 1-5 and 8-20 has been considered but they are not persuasive.
6. Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vangelov et al US 2015/0286475 in view of Bentley et al US 2021/0083950.
7. Claim 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In remarks applicant argues,
receiving a configuration update changing configuration parameters of a data stream processing application from a source configuration to a target configuration, and specifying incremental update parameters indicating a time interval to wait between updating different partitions of the data stream processing application, and incrementally updating the data stream processing application by, during a first time interval, applying the target configuration to a first partition of the data stream processing application to process events of a data stream in accordance with the target configuration by the first partition, and applying the source configuration to a second partition of the data stream processing application to process the events of the data stream in accordance with the source configuration by the second partition.
In response to an applicant’s arguments,
It was noted that cited reference Vangelov et al fairly discloses receiving a configuration update changing configuration parameters of a data stream processing application from a source configuration to a target configuration, and specifying incremental update parameters indicating a time interval to wait between updating different partitions of the data stream processing application, and incrementally updating the data stream processing application by, during a first time interval, applying the target configuration to a first partition of the data stream processing application to process events of a data stream in accordance with the target configuration by the first partition, and applying the source configuration to a second partition of the data stream processing application to process the events of the data stream in accordance with the source configuration by the second partition [0080] it should be noted that in some cases, the desired configuration file 212 specifies a desired version that is multiple versions ahead of the current software version of the VCS 1. As an example, a vehicle 31 at version 1 may receive a desired configuration file 212 specifying that the desired software version is version 3. When this occurs, the vehicle 31 may subscribe to the firmware version node 410 topic 204 of the topic tree 208 corresponding to the region and installed firmware version of the vehicle 31 (i.e., version 1). The vehicle 31 subscribed to the firmware version node 410 for version 1 may receive the published notification of the incremental software update 400-A from version 1 to version 2, and may download and install the incremental update] and [0022] outputs to the VCS system 1 can include, but are not limited to, a visual display 4 and a speaker 13 or stereo system output. The speaker 13 is connected to an amplifier 11 and receives its signal from the processor 3 through a digital-to-analog converter 9. Output can also be made to a remote BLUETOOTH device such as personal navigation device (PND) 54 or a USB device such as vehicle navigation device 60 along the bi-directional data streams shown at 19 and 21 respectively. Vangelov et al teaches incremental and data stream processing but doesn’t teach explicitly time interval, however, Bentley et al teaches [0065] in one or more embodiments, historical software update transmission data 308 includes software update transmission data over a historical time period. Historical software update transmission data 308 includes historical values for software update transmission parameters, such as a packet size, count of streams, time interval between packets, and/or recipient servers. Historical software update transmission data 308 may include transmission data for one or more software updates transmitted during a historical time period] and reference further teaches [0108] if the service performance data satisfies criteria for speeding up the software update transmission, then one or more embodiments include updating the current transmission parameters to reduce expected transmission runtime (Operation 528). Reducing expected transmission runtime may include, for example, increasing a packet size of packets used for transmitting the software update; increasing the count of concurrent streams for transmitting the software update; decreasing a time interval between the packets; and/or modifying recipient servers for receiving the concurrent streams. Modifying recipient servers to reduce expected transmission runtime may include, for example, determining service performance data for each of the current recipient servers, and replacing the server with the worst service performance with another server]. Therefore, examiner interprets that cited reference fairly suggest incremental update, time interval and data stream processing.
In remarks applicant argues,
communicating the configuration update to a service provider system instructing the service provider system to incrementally apply the configuration update to a first partition of the data stream processing application, then apply the configuration update to a second partition of the data stream processing application after the time interval, and displaying, via the user interface and while the target configuration and the source configuration are each applied to at least one partition of the data stream processing application, a user interface element that is selectable to cancel the configuration update and re- apply the source configuration to one or more of the different partitions.
In response to an applicant’s arguments,
It was noted that cited references Vangelov et al fairly discloses communicating the configuration update to a service provider system instructing the service provider system to incrementally apply the configuration update to a first partition of the data stream processing application, then apply the configuration update to a second partition of the data stream processing application after the time interval, [0034] FIG. 2 illustrates an exemplary service delivery network 200 in communication over the network 61 with a vehicle 31 having a configurable module 210 by way of a message broker 202. The vehicle 31 may be in wireless communication with the network 61 by way of the VCS 1 of the vehicle 31. When a vehicle 31 is assembled, the vehicle 31 may include various hardware and software components. Upon or after assembly, a VCS 1 of the vehicle 31 may be configured to query for existence and version information for at least a portion of these hardware and software components of the vehicle 31. Using the queried information and additional information identifying the specific vehicle 31 (e.g., vehicle identification number (VIN) information published on the car area network (CAN) bus, subscriber identity module (SIM) information of the modem 63 such as international mobile station equipment identity (IMEI), etc.), the VCS 1 may communicate via the network 61 and message broker 202 to establish an account with the service delivery network 200. The service delivery network 200 may receive these communications from the vehicles 31, and may maintain a data store of the hardware configurations and software (e.g., firmware, etc.) versions linked to identifiers of the vehicles 31] and [0053] updates, such as calendar updates, may be posted to the non-time-sensitive vehicle topic node 404-B, and may remain in the topic 204 until received by the subscribed vehicle 31. As a further example, a vehicle 31 may subscribe to a feature update vehicle topic node 404-C for receiving messages 206 in a topic 204 directed to particular vehicles 31 and relating to updates to the features 31 of the vehicle 31. In this content, a feature may refer to a grouping of configuration parameters applicable to the specified vehicle 31 included in the topic tree 208. A feature may, for example, represent settings to implement an available connected service (e.g., MY FORD MOBILE) or a customer-specific collection of settings (e.g., a suite of features requested to be enabled and/or disabled for use by a particular fleet purchaser). As yet a further example, a vehicle 31 may subscribe to a firmware update vehicle topic node 404-D for receiving messages 206 in a topic 204 directed to particular vehicles 31 and relating to updates to the firmware of the vehicle 31];
displaying, via the user interface and while the target configuration and the source configuration are each applied to at least one partition of the data stream processing application, a user interface element that is selectable to cancel the configuration update and re- apply the source configuration to one or more of the different partitions [see fig 5, 0075] FIG. 5B illustrates an alternate exemplary topic tree 208 for updating a software component having multiple partitions. In the illustrated alternate example, the service delivery network 200 may publish a command 302 into a configuration version node 414 to cause any subscribed vehicles 31 having a particular region, hardware version, firmware version, feature, and global configuration version to perform an update. The service delivery network 200 may perform a version-specific update under conditions, for example, where there is a desire to upgrade all vehicles 31 at a particular version level of configuration file 212 or software for a vehicle 31 to an updated version or configuration. In the event of a version-specific firmware upgrade, the service delivery network 200 may be configured to publish the software update to the desired firmware node 410, and then publish the desired global configuration file 212 to the global configuration version node 414]. Therefore, examiner interprets that cited reference fairly discloses communicating with system and update provider to incrementally update the software in different partitions wherein user can visualize and interact with interface as depicted in fig 1.
Examiner’s Interview
On 1/13/2026, Examiner Khatri conducted a telephone interview with applicants’ representative, Brady Garcea and discussed the key features of the invention and further to clarify the amendment. No agreement was reached and examiner wish to express his appreciation to the applicant’s representative for his time and meaningful discussion during the interview.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANIL KHATRI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2191