DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US PG Pub 2025/0031403, hereinafter Wu) in view of Park et al. (US Pat 9,508,727, hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 1, figures 1-20B of Wu disclose a semiconductor device, comprising:
at least one transistor comprising a gate structure (96, Fig. 15B) and a source/drain region (82, Fig. 15B);
a source/drain contact structure (120/122, Fig. 20B) disposed on the source/drain region, wherein the source/drain contact structure comprises a first metal layer (120) and second metal layer (122) disposed on the first metal layer, and wherein the second metal layer comprises a different material than the first metal layer (¶ 54) and is disposed on an uppermost surface of the first metal layer.
Wu does not explicitly disclose a gate cut portion disposed through a part of the gate structure, wherein the source/drain contact structure is disposed on a side of the gate cut portion.
In the same field of endeavor, figure 2A of Park discloses a gate cut portion (IGR2) disposed through a part of a gate structure (GLA/GLB).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form a gate cut portion disposed through a part of the gate structure (and thus on a side of the source/drain contact structure), as taught by Park for the purpose of forming devices with reduced feature size while improving the stability and reliability (col. 1, lines 19-33).
Regarding claim 3, figures 18A-18B of Wu disclose a self-aligned contact cap layer (100) disposed on the gate structure (96), which runs across the entire length of the gate structure. Thus, it would be obvious that the gate cut portion taught by Park is disposed through a part of the self-aligned contact cap layer.
Regarding claim 4, figures 18A-18B of Wu disclose a dielectric layer (102) disposed on the self-aligned contact cap layer (100), which runs across the entire length of the gate structure. Thus, it would be obvious that the gate cut portion taught by Park is disposed through a part of the dielectric layer.
Regarding claim 5, figure 2A of Park discloses a top surface of the gate cut portion (IGR2) is coplanar with a top surface of the overall gate structure including sidewall spacers (124). Thus in the combined invention, it would be obvious to have the top surface of the gate cut portion be coplanar with the overall gate structure of Wu which includes the dielectric layer (102) and sidewall spacers (80),
Regarding claim 6, since a top surface of the gate cut portion is coplanar with the overall gate structure which includes the dielectric layer (102) and sidewall spacers (80)(see claim 5 above), it would also be coplanar with a top surface of the second metal layer (122, see figure 20B of Wu).
Regarding claim 7, figures 1-20B of Wu disclose at least one additional transistor comprising an additional gate structure and an additional source/drain region (figure 20B shows multiple transistor structures);
The combined references as noted in the rejection of claim 1 would have an additional gate cut portion disposed through a part of the additional gate structure. Furthermore, it is obvious to have an isolation region (ILD) between devices, which would be between the gate cut portion and the additional gate cut portion.
Regarding claim 8, the combined references as noted in the above rejections would include respective parts of the gate cut portion and the additional gate cut portion are disposed through the isolation region.
Regarding claim 9, figures 1-20B of Wu disclose an isolation region (56) that would be between the gate cut portion and the additional gate cut portion and also is disposed under a portion of the source/drain contact structure (120/122).
Regarding claim 10, figures 1-20B of Wu disclose an isolation region (56) that would be between the gate cut portion and the additional gate cut portion and comprises a shallow trench isolation region.
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses the gate cut portion (IGR2) comprises a dielectric material (col. 24, lines 45-47).
Regarding claim 12, figures 1-20B of Wu disclose a semiconductor device, comprising:;
a source/drain contact structure (120/122, Fig. 20B) disposed around a gate (96, Fig. 15B), wherein the source/drain contact structure comprises a first metal layer (120) and second metal layer (122) disposed on the first metal layer, and wherein the second metal layer comprises a different material than the first metal layer (¶ 54) and is disposed on an uppermost surface of the first metal layer.
Wu does not explicitly disclose a gate cut portion disposed through the gate structure, wherein the source/drain contact structure is disposed on a side of the gate cut portion.
In the same field of endeavor, figure 2A of Park discloses a gate cut portion (IGR2) disposed through a part of a gate structure (GLA/GLB).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form a gate cut portion disposed through a part of the gate structure (and thus on a side of the source/drain contact structure), as taught by Park for the purpose of forming devices with reduced feature size while improving the stability and reliability (col. 1, lines 19-33).
Regarding claim 14, figures 18A-18B of Wu disclose a self-aligned contact cap layer (100) disposed on the gate structure (96), which runs across the entire length of the gate structure. Thus, it would be obvious that the gate cut portion taught by Park is disposed through a part of the self-aligned contact cap layer.
Regarding claim 15, figures 1-20B of Wu disclose an additional transistor comprising an additional gate structure and an additional source/drain region (figure 20B shows multiple transistor structures);
The combined references as noted in the rejection of claim 1 would have an additional gate cut portion disposed through a part of the additional gate structure. Furthermore, it is obvious to have an isolation region (ILD) between devices, which would be between the gate cut portion and the additional gate cut portion.
Regarding claim 16, the combined references as noted in the above rejections would include respective parts of the gate cut portion and the additional gate cut portion are disposed through the isolation region.
Regarding claim 17, figures 1-20B of Wu disclose an isolation region (56) that would be between the gate cut portion and the additional gate cut portion and also is disposed under a portion of the source/drain contact structure (120/122).
Regarding claim 18, figures 1-20B of Wu disclose a semiconductor device, comprising:
a first transistor structure including a gate (96, leftmost in figure 15B);
a second transistor structure including a second gate (96, center in figure 15B); and
a source/drain contact structure (120/122, Fig. 20B) disposed around the first gate and the second gate, wherein the source/drain contact structure comprises a first metal layer (120) and second metal layer (122) disposed on the first metal layer, and wherein the second metal layer comprises a different material than the first metal layer (¶ 54) and is disposed on an uppermost surface of the first metal layer.
Wu does not explicitly disclose a gate cut portion disposed through the first and second gate structures, wherein the source/drain contact structure is disposed around the first and second gate cut portions.
In the same field of endeavor, figure 2A and 7A of Park discloses gate cut portions (IGR2) disposed through a part of multiple gate structures (GLA/GLB).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form gate cut portion disposed through the first and second gate structures (and thus around the source/drain contact structure), as taught by Park for the purpose of forming devices with reduced feature size while improving the stability and reliability (col. 1, lines 19-33).
Regarding claim 19, figures 1-20B of Wu disclose an isolation region (56) that would be disposed between the first gate cut portion and the second cut gate portion.
Regarding claim 20, figures 1-20B of Wu disclose the isolation region (56) is disposed under the source/drain contact structure (120/122).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/YU-HSI D SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817