DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/08/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on pp9 of Applicant Remarks that the applied prior art does not teach “access a translated speech audio signal, the translated speech audio signal comprising speech in a second language that is a translation of the speaker speech, the speech in the second language spoken by a second speaker different than the speaker;”.
In response, examiner disagrees. The applied prior, as a whole, teaches access a translated speech audio signal, the translated speech audio signal comprising speech in a second language that is a translation of the speaker speech, the speech in the second language spoken by a second speaker different than the speaker. In particular, Waibel teaches access a translated speech audio signal, the translated speech audio signal comprising speech in a second language that is a translation of the speaker speech (e.g. accessing a translated audio signal in German that is a translation of the speaker audio/speech [0054], see also [0067]-[0069]));
However, Waibel fails to teach the speech in the second language spoken by a second speaker different than the speaker;
Cunnington teaches a system 100 that facilitates enabling translation between two disparate languages within a telepresence session Fig 1 [0022] where the speech in the second language spoken by a second speaker different than the speaker (e.g. wherein the first user is an English speaking person and the second person is a Spanish speaking person. The first user can identify English as his or her language of choice in which the subject innovation can provide automatic translations to the first user in his or her selected language of choice. Thus, any communications from the second user (directed in Spanish or any other language other than English) can be translated to English for the comprehension of the first user [0025];
Waibel and Cunnington are analogous art because they all pertain to translating from one language to another. Therefore, it would have been obvious to people having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Waibel with the teachings of Cunnington to include: the speech in the second language spoken by a second speaker different than the speaker as suggested in [0025] of Cunnington. The benefit of the modification would be to provide the system with a multi-lingual translation capabilities, thus improving user’s satisfaction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waibel (WO 2023/219752) provided by Applicant in PE2E in view of Cunnington (US 2010/0198579).
With respect to claim 8 (similarly claims 1 and 15), Waibel teaches a computing device (e.g. a computer system Figs 1-2, 11, 14-16 [0031]-[0032]), comprising:
a non-transitory computer-readable medium (e.g. a memory [0138]); and
a processor (e.g. processor cores [0138]) communicatively coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium (e.g. coupled to the memory [0138]), the processor configured to execute processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium (e.g. the processor executes instructions stored in the memory to [0138]) to:
access a speaker speech audio signal comprising speaker speech in a first language captured at a client computing device associated with a speaker of a video conference and a video of the speaker associated with the speaker speech (e.g. accessing a speaker audio in English and a video of the speaker associated with the speaker audio, see [0054]);
access a translated speech audio signal, the translated speech audio signal comprising speech in a second language that is a translation of the speaker speech (e.g. accessing a translated audio signal in German that is a translation of the speaker audio/speech [0054], see also [0067]-[0069]));
generate a converted translated speech audio signal based on the translated speech audio signal, the converted translated speech audio signal comprising a speech in the second language having voice characteristics in the speaker speech (e.g. generate a converted translated speech audio based on the translated speech audio signal, the converted translated speech audio comprising a speech audio in German having voice characteristics in the speaker speech [0054], Figs 1 and 14-16- voice conversion 20);
generate a lip-synched speaker video based on the video of the speaker and the converted translated speech audio signal, wherein lip movements in the lip-synched speaker video correspond to the converted translated speech audio signal (e.g. generate new video frames of the speaker’s face with the lips of the speaker adapted to the given German audio [0054]); and
transmit the converted translated speech audio signal and the lip-synched speaker video to a video conference provider configured to host the video conference (e.g. Finally, a video generation system 25 combines the video frames from the lip generation module 24 and the German speech from the voice conversion module 20 to create the final output video 26 [0054], see also [0086]).
However, Waibel fails to teach the speech in the second language spoken by a second speaker different than the speaker;
Cunnington teaches a system 100 that facilitates enabling translation between two disparate languages within a telepresence session Fig 1 [0022] where the speech in the second language spoken by a second speaker different than the speaker (e.g. wherein the first user is an English speaking person and the second person is a Spanish speaking person. The first user can identify English as his or her language of choice in which the subject innovation can provide automatic translations to the first user in his or her selected language of choice. Thus, any communications from the second user (directed in Spanish or any other language other than English) can be translated to English for the comprehension of the first user [0025];
Waibel and Cunnington are analogous art because they all pertain to translating from one language to another. Therefore, it would have been obvious to people having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Waibel with the teachings of Cunnington to include: the speech in the second language spoken by a second speaker different than the speaker as suggested in [0025] of Cunnington. The benefit of the modification would be to provide the system with a multi-lingual translation capabilities, thus improving user’s satisfaction.
With respect to claim 9 (similarly claims 2 and 16), Waibel teaches the computing device of claim 8, wherein generating the converted translated speech audio signal comprises:
resampling the translated speech audio signal (e.g. see the VQMIVC of [0045]-[0046]);
encoding the translated speech audio signal into voice characteristics (e.g. encoding the translated speech audio to extract embeddings [0045]-[0046]);
applying a voice changer model onto the voice characteristics to generate the converted translated speech audio signal, wherein the voice changer model is associated with the speaker and is configured to change voice characteristics of an input speech audio signal to voice characteristics of the speaker (e.g. the VQMIVC uses a straightforward autoencoder architecture to solve the voice conversion issue [0045], see the four modules of the framework [0045]-[0046] which suggest applying a voice changer model onto the voice characteristics to generate the converted translated speech audio signal, wherein the voice changer model is associated with the speaker and is configured to change voice characteristics of an input speech audio signal to voice characteristics of the speaker); and
outputting the converted translated speech audio signal (e.g. see the final audio of [0054]).
With respect to claim 10 (similarly claims 3 and 17), Waibel teaches the computing device of claim 9, wherein generating the converted translated speech audio signal further comprises:
generating a fundamental frequency of the translated speech audio signal; and prior to outputting the converted translated speech audio signal, shifting a fundamental frequency of the converted translated speech audio signal based on a difference between a fundamental frequency of the converted translated speech audio signal and the fundamental frequency of the translated speech audio signal (e.g. quantization, discretizing, encoding, decoding the converted speech as suggested in [0045]-[0046] suggest generating a fundamental frequency of the translated speech audio signal; and prior to outputting the converted translated speech audio signal, shifting a fundamental frequency of the converted translated speech audio signal based on a difference between a fundamental frequency of the converted translated speech audio signal and the fundamental frequency of the translated speech audio signal).
With respect to claim 11 (similarly claims 4 and 18), Waibel teaches the computing device of claim 9, wherein the voice changer model is trained by a training process (e.g. pre-trained VQMIVC [0046]) comprising:
accessing training speaker speech audio signals; determining a quality score of the training speaker speech audio signals; processing the training speaker speech audio signals to increase the quality score based on determining that the quality score is lower than a predetermined threshold value; determining a fundamental frequency of the training speaker speech audio signals; and training the voice changer model by adjusting parameters of the voice changer model according to voice characteristics of the training speaker speech audio signal (e.g. the mutual information (MI) loss measures the dependencies between all representations and can be effectively integrated into the training process to achieve speech representation disentanglement [0046], fine-tuning the VQMIVC model [0046] to reach convergence i.e. quality/error score lower than a certain threshold, which suggest accessing training speaker speech audio signals; determining a quality score of the training speaker speech audio signals; processing the training speaker speech audio signals to increase the quality score based on determining that the quality score is lower than a predetermined threshold value; determining a fundamental frequency of the training speaker speech audio signals; and training the voice changer model by adjusting parameters of the voice changer model according to voice characteristics of the training speaker speech audio signal).
With respect to claim 12 (similarly claims 5 and 19), Waibel teaches the computing device of claim 8, wherein generating the lip-synched speaker video based on the video of the speaker and the converted translated speech audio signal comprises:
extracting speech features from the converted translated speech audio signal (e.g. extracting prosodic characteristics of the input speaker [0052]); performing face detection on the video of the speaker to identify a mouth region of the video (e.g. Figs 1-2 [0047]-[0052] perform face detection on the video of the speaker to identify a mouth region of the video); and modifying, via a machine learning model, the mouth region of the video according to the speech features to generate the lip-synched speaker video (e.g. training the lip generation module 24 to preserve facial expressions such as frowns, smiles, coughs, sneezes, twitching, blinking, etc. [0052] suggest modifying, via a machine learning model, the mouth region of the video according to the speech features to generate the lip-synched speaker video).
With respect to claim 13 (similarly claims 6 and 20), Waibel teaches the computing device of claim 12, wherein generating the lip-synched speaker video based on the video of the speaker and the converted translated speech audio signal further comprises:
resizing the mouth region before modifying, via the machine learning model, the mouth region by one or more of resampling the mouth region or expanding the mouth region by including pixels surrounding the identified mouth region (e.g. adapted lips [0054] suggest resizing the mouth region before modifying, via the machine learning model, the mouth region by one or more of resampling the mouth region or expanding the mouth region by including pixels surrounding the identified mouth region); and
wherein modifying, via the machine learning model, the mouth region of the video according to the speech features to generate the lip-synched speaker video comprises: applying the machine learning model to the resized mouth region to generate a lip-synched mouth region (e.g. training the lip generation module 24 to preserve facial expressions such as frowns, smiles, coughs, sneezes, twitching, blinking, etc. [0052] comprises applying the machine learning model to the resized mouth region to generate a lip-synched mouth region, as suggested in [0052]-[0054]); and constructing the lip-synched speaker video by at least resizing the lip-synched mouth region and inserting the lip-synched mouth region into the video of the speaker (e.g. see the generation of the final output in [0054]).
Conclusion
/IBRAHIM SIDDO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681