DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (see MPEP § 606.01).
This may result in slightly longer titles, but the loss in brevity of title will be more than offset by the gain in its informative value in indexing, classifying, searching, etc.
The following title is suggested: “DISPLAY DEVICE AND TRANSPARENT DISPLAY DEVICE HAVING A SIDE LIGHT GENERATION PART.”
If Applicant does not agree with the suggested title above, Applicant must provide a new title that clearly reflects the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (US Pub. 2015/0194634; hereinafter “Kang”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kang discloses a display device comprising: at least one first region (a flat bottom region of an OLED of a light emission region P1) on a substrate 510 (see fig. 9), the at least one first region (the flat bottom region of the OLED) having a first light emitting element 532 (a flat bottom intermediate layer 532) (page 3, paragraph 60) emitting light upward (the bottom intermediate layer is emitting a light upward; page 3, paragraph 65; see upward pointing arrow in fig. 2); a second region (TA) (page 2, paragraph 53; page 7, paragraph 142) spaced apart from the at least one first region (the flat bottom region of the OLED) on the substrate 510 (see figs. 8 and 9), the second region (TA) including a reflective structure 590 (page 7, paragraph 145; see fig. 9); and a side light generation part (an inclined side part of the OLED of the light emission region P1) including a second light emitting element 532 (an inclined side intermediate layer 532) between the at least one first region (the flat bottom region of the OLED) and the second region (TA) (see fig. 9), the side light generation part (the inclined side part of the OLED) transmitting light to the second region (TA) (the intermediate layer is emitting a light laterally and transmitting to the transmission region TA; page 3, paragraph 65; page 7, paragraph 139; see rightward pointing arrow in figs. 2 and 9).
Regarding Claim 2, Kang discloses wherein the at least one first region (the flat bottom region of the OLED) comprises a plurality of first regions (the flat bottom portions of the OLEDs of the light emission regions P1; see fig. 9), and the second region (TA) having a transmissive part 540 (page 7, paragraph 142) is disposed between the plurality of first regions (the flat bottom regions of the OLEDs) (see fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 3, Kang discloses further comprising a first color converter on an opposing substrate 510 facing the at least one first region (the flat bottom region of the OLED) (the organic emitting display apparatus may further include a color converting layer and/or a color filter (not shown) converting a white light into a predetermined color light; page 3, paragraph 60).
Regarding Claim 4, Kang discloses further comprising a planarization layer 527 (page 4, paragraph 81) between the substrate 510 and the first light emitting element 532 (the flat bottom intermediate layer 532) (see fig. 9) and between the substrate 510 and the second light emitting element 532 (the inclined side intermediate layer 532) (see fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 15, Kang discloses wherein the at least one first region (the flat bottom region of the OLED), the second region (TA), and the side light generation part (the inclined side part of the OLED) constitute one pixel (Pa), and a plurality of pixels (Pa-Pf) are disposed on the substrate 510 (page 7, paragraph 135; see fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 16, Kang discloses wherein the first light emitting element 532 (the flat bottom intermediate layer 532) and the second light emitting element 532 (the inclined side intermediate layer 532) are connected to a same transistor (TFT) (page 4, paragraphs 76 and 77; page 7, paragraph 143; the first light emitting element 532 and the second light emitting element 532 in a same pixel are connected to a same transistor; see fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 17, Kang discloses wherein the first light emitting element 532 (the flat bottom intermediate layer 532) and the second light emitting element 532 (the inclined side intermediate layer 532) are connected to different transistors (TFT) (page 4, paragraphs 76 and 77; page 7, paragraph 143; the first light emitting element 532 and the second light emitting element 532 in different light emission regions are connected to different transistors; see fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 18, Kang discloses a transparent display device comprising: a light emitting part (a flat bottom part of an OLED of a light emission region P1) having a first light emitting element 532 (a flat bottom intermediate layer 532) emitting light upward on a substrate 510 (the bottom intermediate layer is emitting a light upward; page 3, paragraph 65; see upward pointing arrow in fig. 2); a transmissive part (TA) (page 2, paragraph 53; page 7, paragraph 142) including a reflective structure (page 7, paragraph 145; see fig. 9) spaced apart from the light emitting part (the flat bottom part of the OLED) on the substrate 510 (see figs. 8 and 9); and side light generation parts (an inclined side part of the OLED of the light emission region P1) including a second light emitting element 532 (an inclined side intermediate layer 532) on the substrate 510 (see fig. 9), positioned between the light emitting part (the flat bottom part of the OLED) and the transmissive part (TA) (see fig. 9), and transmitting light to the transmissive part (TA) (the intermediate layer is emitting a light laterally and transmitting to the transmission region TA; page 3, paragraph 65; page 7, paragraph 139; see rightward pointing arrow in figs. 2 and 9).
Regarding Claim 19, Kang discloses further comprising a planarization layer 527 (page 4, paragraph 81) between the substrate 510 and the first light emitting element 532 (the flat bottom intermediate layer 532) (see fig. 9) and between the substrate 510 and the second light emitting element 532 (the inclined side intermediate layer 532) (see fig. 9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-14 and 20-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 5 recites the reflective structure is covered by the planarization layer, and the second light emitting element is on a sidewall of a first hole of the planarization layer.
Claim 6 recites a second color converter on the substrate between the second light emitting element and the reflective structure.
Claim 11 recites the reflective structure includes an inclined part inclined toward the side light generation part on the substrate, and a total reflection inducing layer having a lower refractive index than the inclined part on the inclined part.
Claim 20 recites the reflective structure is covered by the planarization layer, and the second light emitting element is provided on a sidewall of a first hole of the planarization layer.
Claim 21 recites a second color converter between the second light emitting element and the reflective structure, on the substrate.
Claim 25 recites a total reflection inducing layer, wherein the reflective structure includes an inclined part inclined toward the side light generation parts on the substrate, and the total reflection inducing layer having a lower refractive index than the inclined part.
These features in combination with the other elements of the base claim are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Claims 7-10, 13-14, 22-24, 26 and 27 variously depend from claim 5, 6, 11, 20 or 25, so they are objected for the same reason.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub. 2021/0408326 discloses a light emitting apparatus comprising light emitting elements (20, 30) which emit lights laterally, and a reflective frame structure 200 (fig. 1A).
/CHEUNG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 March 27, 2026