DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF CLAIMS
This Non-Final action is in reply to the application 18/544,531 filed on 12/19/2023.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on was filed after the mailing date of the 12/19/2023 are fully considered by examiner The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 -3, 5 – 7, 9 - 12, 14 – 16, 18 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub 20210002855 – Vahling et al. hereinafter as VAHLING in view of US PG Pub 20050034879 – McGugan et al. hereinafter as MCGUGAN
Regarding Claim 1
VAHLING disclose:1. A system for retaining a moldboard in slidable engagement with an implement frame of a grader machine, the moldboard defining a working edge to engage with a work surface, the system comprising:
one or more brackets (fig. 2 – 140 mounting brackets ) pivotably ( fig. 2 - pivot axis – P) couplable to the implement frame( fig. 1 – 136 implement frame and arms - pivotably mounted to frame), a bracket of the one or more brackets (fig. 2 – 140 mounting brackets ) defining a first bearing arrangement and a second bearing arrangement to accommodate a sliding movement of the moldboard with respect to the implement frame( para. 0020 - Also, the blade 138 slides substantially parallel to the pivot axis P-P' with respect to each of the first mounting assemblies 202, 204 and each of the second mounting assemblies 206, 208), the first bearing arrangement located relatively distal to the working edge ( fig.2 first bearing is farthest from the working edge of blade 138 ) and the second bearing arrangement located relatively proximal to the working edge(fig. 2 – second bearing is the closest to the working edge) , the first bearing arrangement including:
a mounting block
a piston disposed and movable within the
[AltContent: textbox (bore)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Mounting block)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First Bearing arrangement)][AltContent: textbox (Second bearing arrangement)][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (Mounting bracket)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
VAHLING discloses of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket with bore hole but doesn’t explicitly disclose of a fitting for a first wear assembly with a mounting block with at least one through-bore, McGugan discloses a slide rail adjustment for grader blade that includes a mounting block with a through bore and a grease fitting, MCGUGAN discloses:
at least one through-bore; ( fig. 3 – mounting block with through bore )
a fitting to facilitate an influx of a fluid into the at least one through-bore to push the piston against a first wear assembly received within the mounting block such that the first wear assembly is advanced to reduce a gap with respect to a second wear assembly associated with the second bearing arrangement and retain the moldboard slidably between the first wear assembly and the second wear assembly. ( fig. 3 and fig. 5 – 96 – grease fitting, 72 – through bore, para. 0024 –piston exerts pressure on bearing and grease fitting – 96, para. 0025 where in grease fitting accessible adjust position use a grease gun to increase pressure for grease fitting)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for VAHLING’s of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket and piston to include a fitting to facilitate an influx of a fluid into the at least one through-bore to push the piston against a first wear assembly received within the mounting block such that the first wear assembly is advanced to reduce a gap with respect to a second wear assembly associated with the second bearing arrangement and retain the moldboard slidably between the first wear assembly and the second wear assembly as taught by MCGUGAN. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known bearing mechanism for another to produce the predictable result of bearing assembly for securing a slidable moldboard of a flange and pin quick connect tool (MPEP 2143, subsection I, B).This would allow VAHLING to support a motor grader blade for adjustment for easier maintenance. ( para. 0005 and 0006)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Flange)][AltContent: textbox (shoulder)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 2 :
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses claim 1:
VAHLING discloses of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket with a bore hole McGugan discloses a cover plate coupled to an end surface of the mounting block, wherein the cover plate, the piston, and an interior wall of the at least one through-bore define a first chamber of the at least one through-bore configured to receive the fluid through the fitting, MCGUGAN further discloses:
2. The system of claim 1 further including a cover plate coupled to an end surface of the mounting block, wherein the cover plate, the piston, and an interior wall of the at least one through-bore define a first chamber of the at least one through-bore configured to receive the fluid through the fitting. ( fig. 3 and fig. 5 – 96 – grease fitting, 72 – through bore, para. 0023 – fig. 3, para. 0024 – 86 piston, 92 interior wall, 94 is cover plate)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for VAHLING’s of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket and piston to wherein the mounting block includes a cover plate coupled to an end surface of the mounting block, wherein the cover plate, the piston, and an interior wall of the at least one through-bore define a first chamber of the at least one through-bore configured to receive the fluid through the fitting as taught by MCGUGAN. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known bearing mechanism for another to produce the predictable result of bearing assembly for securing a slidable moldboard of a flange and pin quick connect tool (MPEP 2143, subsection I, B). This would allow VAHLING to support a motor grader blade for adjustment for easier maintenance. ( para. 0005 and 0006)
Regarding Claim 3:
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses claim 2:
VAHLING discloses of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket with a bore hole McGugan discloses wherein the cover plate defines a passageway in fluid communication with the first chamber of the at least one through-bore, and wherein the fitting includes a zerk fitting fluidly coupled with the passageway to facilitate the influx of the fluid into the first chamber and restrict the efflux of the fluid from the first chamber, MCGUGAN further discloses:
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the cover plate defines a passageway in fluid communication with the first chamber of the at least one through-bore, and wherein the fitting includes a zerk fitting fluidly coupled with the passageway to facilitate the influx of the fluid into the first chamber and restrict the efflux of the fluid from the first chamber. ( fig. 3 and fig. 5 – 96 – grease fitting, 72 – through bore, para. 0023 – fig. 3, para. 0024 – 86 piston, 92 interior wall, 94 is cover plate, para. 0025 where in grease fitting accessible adjust position use a grease gun to increase pressure for grease fitting)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for VAHLING’s of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket and piston to wherein the cover plate defines a passageway in fluid communication with the first chamber of the at least one through-bore, and wherein the fitting includes a zerk fitting fluidly coupled with the passageway to facilitate the influx of the fluid into the first chamber and restrict the efflux of the fluid from the first chamber
as taught by MCGUGAN. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known bearing mechanism for another to produce the predictable result of bearing assembly for securing a slidable moldboard of a flange and pin quick connect tool (MPEP 2143, subsection I, B). This would allow VAHLING to support a motor grader blade for adjustment for easier maintenance. ( para. 0005 and 0006)
Regarding Claim 5:
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses claim 1:
VAHLING discloses of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket with a bore hole McGugan discloses wherein the at least one through-bore defines a shoulder, and the piston includes a shaft portion and a flange portion extending outwardly from the shaft portion, the flange portion configured to abut against the shoulder to limit an advancement of the first wear assembly, MCGUGAN further discloses:
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one through-bore defines a shoulder, (fig. 3 – 82 and 84 should for the 72 - through bore) and the piston includes a shaft portion and a flange portion extending outwardly from the shaft portion ( fig. 3 - 86 is piston, shaft portion underneath 86 and 90 is flange portion), the flange portion configured to abut against the shoulder to limit an advancement of the first wear assembly. ( fig. 3 - wherein flange is between 82 and 84)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for VAHLING’s of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket and piston to wherein the at least one through-bore defines a shoulder, and the piston includes a shaft portion and a flange portion extending outwardly from the shaft portion, the flange portion configured to abut against the shoulder to limit an advancement of the first wear assembly as taught by MCGUGAN. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known bearing mechanism for another to produce the predictable result of bearing assembly for securing a slidable moldboard of a flange and pin quick connect tool (MPEP 2143, subsection I, B). This would allow VAHLING to support a motor grader blade for adjustment for easier maintenance. ( para. 0005 and 0006)
Regarding Claim 6:
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses claim 2:
VAHLING discloses of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket with a bore hole MCGUGAN discloses wherein the mounting block defines a channel fluidly coupled with the first chamber of the at least one through-bore, and wherein the fitting includes a zerk fitting fluidly coupled with the channel to facilitate the influx of the fluid into the first chamber and restrict the efflux of the fluid from the first chamber, MCGUGAN further discloses:
6. The system of claim 2, wherein the mounting block defines a channel fluidly coupled with the first chamber of the at least one through-bore, and wherein the fitting includes a zerk fitting fluidly coupled with the channel to facilitate the influx of the fluid into the first chamber and restrict the efflux of the fluid from the first chamber. ( fig. 3 – mounting block wherein the channel of which is the opening that accepts the 96 – grease fitting is inserted for the 72 - through bore, para. 0025 – where in the fluid is inserted into piston area to create pressure )
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for VAHLING’s of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket and piston to wherein the mounting block defines a channel fluidly coupled with the first chamber of the at least one through-bore, and wherein the fitting includes a zerk fitting fluidly coupled with the channel to facilitate the influx of the fluid into the first chamber and restrict the efflux of the fluid from the first chamber as taught by MCGUGAN. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known bearing mechanism for another to produce the predictable result of bearing assembly for securing a slidable moldboard of a flange and pin quick connect tool (MPEP 2143, subsection I, B). This would allow VAHLING to support a motor grader blade for adjustment for easier maintenance. ( para. 0005 and 0006)
Regarding Claim 7:
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses claim 6:
VAHLING discloses of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket with a bore hole MCGUGAN discloses wherein the mounting block defines a channel fluidly coupled with the first chamber of the at least one through-bore, and wherein the fitting includes a zerk fitting fluidly coupled with the channel to facilitate the influx of the fluid into the first chamber and restrict the efflux of the fluid from the first chamber, MCGUGAN further discloses:
7. The system of claim 6, wherein the at least one through-bore defines a relief passage, and the piston includes a shaft portion defining a circumferential surface and an indented portion on the circumferential surface, the indented portion fluidly connects the first chamber with the relief passage as the piston is pushed by the fluid and advanced to a threshold distance to limit an advancement of the first wear assembly. *( fig. 3 – 96 grease fitting Wherein the relief passage is the passage that is through the grease fitting and where in the claim does not explicitly disclose whether the relief is in towards the piston or out towards the piston such that the relief passage is the through grease fitting)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for VAHLING’s of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket and piston to wherein the at least one through-bore defines a relief passage, and the piston includes a shaft portion defining a circumferential surface and an indented portion on the circumferential surface, the indented portion fluidly connects the first chamber with the relief passage as the piston is pushed by the fluid and advanced to a threshold distance to limit an advancement of the first wear assembly as taught by MCGUGAN. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known bearing mechanism for another to produce the predictable result of bearing assembly for securing a slidable moldboard of a flange and pin quick connect tool (MPEP 2143, subsection I, B). This would allow VAHLING to support a motor grader blade for adjustment for easier maintenance. ( para. 0005 and 0006)
Regarding Claim 9:
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses claim 1:
VAHLING discloses fluid that is oil, MCGUGAN discloses of fluid that includes grease, MCGUGAN further discloses:
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the fluid includes at least one of grease, oil, or air. ( para. 0027 – wherein fluid is grease)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for VAHLING’s of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket and piston and utilizes oil to wherein the fluid used is grease as taught by MCGUGAN. This would allow VAHLING to support a motor grader blade for adjustment for easier maintenance. ( para. 0005 and 0006)
Regarding Claim 10:
VAHLING disclose:
10. A grader machine, comprising:
a chassis; ( Fig. 1 – chassis 108)
a drawbar extending from the chassis; (para. 0017 - drawbar 120)
a circle rotatably supported with respect to the drawbar; (para. 0017 - circle 134)
an implement frame, including one or more arms, extending from the circle; (para. 0018 - implement frame and arm 136, circle 134)
a moldboard defining a backside and a frontside with respect to the grader machine, and a working edge configured to engage with a work surface; ( Fig. 2 – moldboard – back side 138 current view, front side of 138 (not shown), grader machine fig. 1, para. 0019 - blade 138 )
a system for retaining the moldboard in slidable engagement with the implement frame, the system including:
one or more brackets(fig. 2 – 140 mounting brackets ) pivotably couplable ( fig. 2 - pivot axis – P) to the implement frame( Fig. 1 – 136 implement frame and arms), a bracket of the one or more brackets (fig. 2 – 140 mounting brackets )defining a first bearing arrangement and a second bearing arrangement to accommodate a sliding movement of the moldboard with respect to the implement frame( para. 0020 - Also, the blade 138 slides substantially parallel to the pivot axis P-P' with respect to each of the first mounting assemblies 202, 204 and each of the second mounting assemblies 206, 208, 136 implement frame and arms), the first bearing arrangement located relatively distal to the working edge ( fig.2 first bearing is farthest from the working edge of blade 138 ) and the second bearing arrangement located relatively proximal to the working edge(fig. 2 – second bearing is the closest to the working edge), the first bearing arrangement including:
a mounting block including
a piston disposed and movable within the
VAHLING discloses of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket with bore hole but doesn’t explicitly disclose of a fitting for a first wear assembly with a mounting block with at least one through-bore, McGugan a slide rail adjustment for grader blade that includes a mounting block with a through bore and a grease fitting, MCGUGAN discloses:
at least one through-bore; ( fig. 3 – mounting block with through bore )
a fitting to facilitate an influx of a fluid into the at least one through-bore to push the piston against a first wear assembly received within the mounting block such that the first wear assembly is advanced to reduce a gap with respect to a second wear assembly associated with the second bearing arrangement and retain the moldboard slidably between the first wear assembly and the second wear assembly. ( fig. 3 and fig. 5 – 96 – grease fitting, 72 – through bore, para. 0024 –piston exerts pressure on bearing and grease fitting – 96, para. 0025 where in grease fitting accessible adjust position use a grease gun to increase pressure for grease fitting)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for VAHLING’s of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket and piston to include a fitting to facilitate an influx of a fluid into the at least one through-bore to push the piston against a first wear assembly received within the mounting block such that the first wear assembly is advanced to reduce a gap with respect to a second wear assembly associated with the second bearing arrangement and retain the moldboard slidably between the first wear assembly and the second wear assembly as taught by MCGUGAN. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known bearing mechanism for another to produce the predictable result of bearing assembly for securing a slidable moldboard of a flange and pin quick connect tool (MPEP 2143, subsection I, B).This would allow VAHLING to support a motor grader blade for adjustment for easier maintenance. ( para. 0005 and 0006)
Regarding Claim 11
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses claim 10:
VAHLING discloses of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket with a bore hole McGugan discloses a cover plate coupled to an end surface of the mounting block, wherein the cover plate, the piston, and an interior wall of the at least one through-bore define a first chamber of the at least one through-bore configured to receive the fluid through the fitting, MCGUGAN further discloses:
11. The grader machine of claim 10, wherein the system includes a cover plate coupled to an end surface of the mounting block, wherein the cover plate, the piston, and an interior wall of the at least one through-bore define a first chamber of the at least one through-bore configured to receive the fluid through the fitting. ( fig. 3 and fig. 5 – 96 – grease fitting, 72 – through bore, para. 0023 – fig. 3, para. 0024 – 86 piston, 92 interior wall, 94 is cover plate)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for VAHLING’s of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket and piston to wherein the mounting block includes a cover plate coupled to an end surface of the mounting block, wherein the cover plate, the piston, and an interior wall of the at least one through-bore define a first chamber of the at least one through-bore configured to receive the fluid through the fitting as taught by MCGUGAN. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known bearing mechanism for another to produce the predictable result of bearing assembly for securing a slidable moldboard of a flange and pin quick connect tool (MPEP 2143, subsection I, B). This would allow VAHLING to support a motor grader blade for adjustment for easier maintenance. ( para. 0005 and 0006)
Regarding Claim 12
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses claim 11:
VAHLING discloses of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket with a bore hole McGugan discloses wherein the cover plate defines a passageway in fluid communication with the first chamber of the at least one through-bore, and wherein the fitting includes a zerk fitting fluidly coupled with the passageway to facilitate the influx of the fluid into the first chamber and restrict the efflux of the fluid from the first chamber, MCGUGAN further discloses:
12. The grader machine of claim 11, wherein the cover plate defines a passageway in fluid communication with the first chamber of the at least one through-bore, and wherein the fitting includes a zerk fitting fluidly coupled with the passageway to facilitate the influx of the fluid into the first chamber and restrict the efflux of the fluid from the first chamber. ( fig. 3 and fig. 5 – 96 – grease fitting, 72 – through bore, para. 0023 – fig. 3, para. 0024 – 86 piston, 92 interior wall, 94 is cover plate, para. 0025 where in grease fitting accessible adjust position use a grease gun to increase pressure for grease fitting)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for VAHLING’s of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket and piston to wherein the cover plate defines a passageway in fluid communication with the first chamber of the at least one through-bore, and wherein the fitting includes a zerk fitting fluidly coupled with the passageway to facilitate the influx of the fluid into the first chamber and restrict the efflux of the fluid from the first chamber as taught by MCGUGAN. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known bearing mechanism for another to produce the predictable result of bearing assembly for securing a slidable moldboard of a flange and pin quick connect tool (MPEP 2143, subsection I, B). This would allow VAHLING to support a motor grader blade for adjustment for easier maintenance. ( para. 0005 and 0006)
Regarding Claim 14
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses claim 10:
VAHLING discloses of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket with a bore hole MCGUGAN discloses wherein the at least one through-bore defines a shoulder, and the piston includes a shaft portion and a flange portion extending outwardly from the shaft portion, the flange portion configured to abut against the shoulder to limit an advancement of the first wear assembly, MCGUGAN further discloses:
MCGUGAN discloses the combination in claim 10.
14. The grader machine of claim 10, wherein the at least one through-bore defines a shoulder, (fig. 3 – 82 and 84 should for the 72 - through bore) and the piston includes a shaft portion and a flange portion extending outwardly from the shaft portion ( fig. 3 - 86 is piston, shaft portion underneath 86 and 90 is flange portion), the flange portion configured to abut against the shoulder to limit an advancement of the first wear assembly. ( fig. 3 - wherein flange is between 82 and 84)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for VAHLING’s of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket and piston to wherein the at least one through-bore defines a shoulder, and the piston includes a shaft portion and a flange portion extending outwardly from the shaft portion, the flange portion configured to abut against the shoulder to limit an advancement of the first wear assembly as taught by MCGUGAN. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known bearing mechanism for another to produce the predictable result of bearing assembly for securing a slidable moldboard of a flange and pin quick connect tool (MPEP 2143, subsection I, B). This would allow VAHLING to support a motor grader blade for adjustment for easier maintenance. ( para. 0005 and 0006)
Regarding Claim 15
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses claim 11:
VAHLING discloses of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket with a bore hole MCGUGAN discloses wherein the mounting block defines a channel fluidly coupled with the first chamber of the at least one through-bore, and wherein the fitting includes a zerk fitting fluidly coupled with the channel to facilitate the influx of the fluid into the first chamber and restrict the efflux of the fluid from the first chamber., MCGUGAN further discloses:
15. The grader machine of claim 11, wherein the mounting block defines a channel fluidly coupled with the first chamber of the at least one through-bore, and wherein the fitting includes a zerk fitting fluidly coupled with the channel to facilitate the influx of the fluid into the first chamber and restrict the efflux of the fluid from the first chamber. ( fig. 3 – mounting block wherein the channel of which is the opening that accepts the 96 – grease fitting is inserted for the 72 - through bore, para. 0025 – where in the fluid is inserted into piston area to create pressure )
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for VAHLING’s of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket and piston to wherein the mounting block defines a channel fluidly coupled with the first chamber of the at least one through-bore, and wherein the fitting includes a zerk fitting fluidly coupled with the channel to facilitate the influx of the fluid into the first chamber and restrict the efflux of the fluid from the first chamber.as taught by MCGUGAN. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known bearing mechanism for another to produce the predictable result of bearing assembly for securing a slidable moldboard of a flange and pin quick connect tool (MPEP 2143, subsection I, B). This would allow VAHLING to support a motor grader blade for adjustment for easier maintenance. ( para. 0005 and 0006)
Regarding Claim 16
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses claim 15:
VAHLING discloses of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket with a bore hole MCGUGAN discloses wherein the at least one through-bore defines a relief passage, and the piston includes a shaft portion defining a circumferential surface and an indented portion on the circumferential surface, the indented portion fluidly connects the first chamber with the relief passage as the piston is pushed by the fluid and advanced to a threshold distance to limit an advancement of the first wear assembly, MCGUGAN further discloses:
16. The grader machine of claim 15, wherein the at least one through-bore defines a relief passage, and the piston includes a shaft portion defining a circumferential surface and an indented portion on the circumferential surface, the indented portion fluidly connects the first chamber with the relief passage as the piston is pushed by the fluid and advanced to a threshold distance to limit an advancement of the first wear assembly. ( fig. 3 – 96 grease fitting Wherein the relief passage is the passage that is through the grease fitting and where in the claim does not explicitly disclose whether the relief is in towards the piston or out towards the piston such that the relief passage is the through grease fitting)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for VAHLING’s of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket and piston to wherein the at least one through-bore defines a relief passage, and the piston includes a shaft portion defining a circumferential surface and an indented portion on the circumferential surface, the indented portion fluidly connects the first chamber with the relief passage as the piston is pushed by the fluid and advanced to a threshold distance to limit an advancement of the first wear assembly as taught by MCGUGAN. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known bearing mechanism for another to produce the predictable result of bearing assembly for securing a slidable moldboard of a flange and pin quick connect tool (MPEP 2143, subsection I, B). This would allow VAHLING to support a motor grader blade for adjustment for easier maintenance. ( para. 0005 and 0006)
Regarding claim 18
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses claim 10:
VAHLING discloses fluid that is oil, MCGUGAN discloses the combination in claim 10
18. The grader machine of claim 10, wherein the fluid includes at least one of grease, oil, or air. ( para. 0027 – wherein fluid is grease)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for VAHLING’s of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket and piston and utilizes oil to wherein the fluid used is grease as taught by MCGUGAN. This would allow VAHLING to support a motor grader blade for adjustment for easier maintenance. ( para. 0005 and 0006)
Regarding claim 19
VAHLING discloses:
19. A method for retaining a moldboard in slidable engagement with an implement frame of a grader machine, the moldboard defining a working edge to engage with a work surface, the method comprising:
pivotably coupling one or more brackets to the implement frame( fig. 1 – 136 implement frame and arms - pivotably mounted to frame), a bracket of the one or more brackets (fig. 2 – 140 mounting brackets ) defining a first bearing arrangement and a second bearing arrangement to accommodate a sliding movement of the moldboard with respect to the implement frame, ( para. 0020 - Also, the blade 138 slides substantially parallel to the pivot axis P-P' with respect to each of the first mounting assemblies 202, 204 and each of the second mounting assemblies 206, 208)the first bearing arrangement located relatively distal to the working edge ( fig.2 first bearing is farthest from the working edge of blade 138 ) and the second bearing arrangement located relatively proximal to the working edge(fig. 2 – second bearing is the closest to the working edge), the first bearing arrangement including:
a mounting block
a piston disposed and movable within the
VAHLING discloses of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket with bore hole, McGugan a slide rail adjustment for grader blade that includes a mounting block with a through bore and a grease fitting, MCGUGAN discloses:
at least one through-bore; ( fig. 3 – mounting block with through bore )
a fitting to facilitate an influx of a fluid into the at least one through-bore to push the piston against a first wear assembly received within the mounting block such that the first wear assembly is advanced to reduce a gap with respect to a second wear assembly associated with the second bearing arrangement and retain the moldboard slidably between the first wear assembly and the second wear assembly. ( fig. 3 and fig. 5 – 96 – grease fitting, 72 – through bore, para. 0024 –piston exerts pressure on bearing and grease fitting – 96, para. 0025 where in grease fitting accessible adjust position use a grease gun to increase pressure for grease fitting)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for VAHLING’s of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket and piston to include a fitting to facilitate an influx of a fluid into the at least one through-bore to push the piston against a first wear assembly received within the mounting block such that the first wear assembly is advanced to reduce a gap with respect to a second wear assembly associated with the second bearing arrangement and retain the moldboard slidably between the first wear assembly and the second wear assembly as taught by MCGUGAN. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known bearing mechanism for another to produce the predictable result of bearing assembly for securing a slidable moldboard of a flange and pin quick connect tool (MPEP 2143, subsection I, B).This would allow VAHLING to support a motor grader blade for adjustment for easier maintenance. ( para. 0005 and 0006)
Claim(s) 4, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub 20210002855 – Vahling et al. hereinafter as VAHLING in view of US PG Pub 20050034879 – McGugan et al. hereinafter as MCGUGAN in view of CN111911509 – Tissier et al. hereinafter as TISSIER
Regarding Claim 4:
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses claim 3:
VAHLING discloses of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket with bore hole MCGUGAN discloses zerk fitting and selectively defining a fluid inlet with respect to the first chamber away from the first bearing arrangement and the second bearing arrangement, MCGUGAN further discloses:
zerk fitting and selectively defining a fluid inlet with respect to the first chamber away from the first bearing arrangement and the second bearing arrangement. ( para. 0025 – where in the grease fitting increases pressure and where In the cylinder expands, see fig. 2 )
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for VAHLING’s of a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket and piston to zerk fitting and selectively defining a fluid inlet with respect to the first chamber away from the first bearing arrangement and the second bearing arrangement as taught by MCGUGAN. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known bearing mechanism for another to produce the predictable result of bearing assembly for securing a slidable moldboard of a flange and pin quick connect tool (MPEP 2143, subsection I, B). This would allow VAHLING to support a motor grader blade for adjustment for easier maintenance. ( para. 0005 and 0006)
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses of slidable moldboard with a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket and grease fitting, TISSIER discloses of a motor grader that has that utilizes grease fittings and hoses and conduit and a conduit couplable extendable away from the zerk fitting, further discloses:
a conduit couplable extendable away from the zerk fitting. ( page 5 – 3rd paragraph - A conduit or hose (not shown) carrying grease or lubricant may be fluidly coupled to port 376 of the grease fitting 244 during maintenance and repair)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for VAHLING / MCGUGAN bearing arrangement with pistons to utilize a conduit couplable extendable away from the zerk fitting as taught by TISSIER’s . This would allow VAHLING / MCGUGAN to improve ease of maintenance and repair ( page 5 – first paragraph)
Regarding Claim 13:
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses claim 12:
MCGUGAN discloses a slide rail adjustment for grader blade that includes a mounting block with a through bore and a grease fitting, MCGUGAN further discloses:
zerk fitting and selectively defining a fluid inlet with respect to the first chamber away from the first bearing arrangement and the second bearing arrangement and the moldboard. ( para. 0025 – where in the grease fitting increases pressure and where In the cylinder expands, see fig. 2 )
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses of slidable moldboard with a first bearing arrangement with mounting bracket and grease fitting, TISSIER discloses of a motor grader that has that utilizes grease fittings and hoses and conduit and a conduit couplable extendable away from the zerk fitting, further discloses:
a conduit couplable extendable away from the zerk fitting. ( page 5 – 3rd paragraph - A conduit or hose (not shown) carrying grease or lubricant may be fluidly coupled to port 376 of the grease fitting 244 during maintenance and repair)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for VAHLING / MCGUGAN bearing arrangement with pistons to utilize a conduit couplable extendable away from the zerk fitting as taught by TISSIER’s . This would allow VAHLING / MCGUGAN to improve ease of maintenance and repair ( page 5 – first paragraph)
Claim(s) 8, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub 20210002855 – Vahling et al. hereinafter as VAHLING in view of US PG Pub 20050034879 – McGugan et al. hereinafter as MCGUGAN in view of US PG Pub 20170037595 - Sharma et al. hereinafter as SHARMA
Regarding Claim 8:
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses claim 2:
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses a motor grader with adjustable blade for a motor grade with fittings, SHARMA discloses of a motor grater with fittings that drain to a reservoir, SHARMA discloses:
a drain line fluidly couplable between the fitting and a reservoir to facilitate an efflux of the fluid from the first chamber. ( para. 0036 - may drain through the
first fluid port 146C to communicate with the reservoir.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses a motor grader with adjustable blade for a motor grade with fittings to utilize a drain line fluidly couplable between the fitting and a reservoir to facilitate an efflux of the fluid from the first chamber as taught by SHARMA. This would allow VAHLING / MCGUGAN to drain fluid as something to reduce the amount of maintenance required para. 0003)
Regarding Claim 17:
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses claim 11:
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses a motor grader with adjustable blade for a motor grade with fittings, SHARMA discloses of a motor grater with fittings that drain to a reservoir, SHARMA discloses:
a drain line fluidly couplable between the fitting and a reservoir to facilitate an efflux of the fluid from the first chamber. ( para. 0036 - may drain through the
first fluid port 146C to communicate with the reservoir.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses a motor grader with adjustable blade for a motor grade with fittings to utilize a drain line fluidly couplable between the fitting and a reservoir to facilitate an efflux of the fluid from the first chamber as taught by SHARMA. This would allow VAHLING / MCGUGAN to drain fluid as something to reduce the amount of maintenance required para. 0003)
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub 20210002855 – Vahling et al. hereinafter as VAHLING in view of US PG Pub 20050034879 – McGugan et al. hereinafter as MCGUGAN in view of CN111911509 – Tissier et al. hereinafter as TISSIER in view of US PG Pub 20170037595 - Sharma et al. hereinafter as SHARMA
Regarding Claim 20:
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses claim 19:
MCGUGAN further discloses fitting to define a fluid inlet with respect to a first chamber of the at least one through-bore away from the first bearing arrangement and the second bearing arrangement to facilitate the influx of the fluid into the first chamber ( para. 0025 – where in the grease fitting increases pressure and where In the cylinder expands, see fig. 2 )
VAHLING / MCGUGAN discloses a slide rail adjustment for grader blade that includes a mounting block with a through bore and a grease fitting, TISSIER discloses of a motor grader with grease fittings and conduits attached to fittings, TISSIER further discloses:
coupling a conduit to the fitting; ( page 5 – 3rd paragraph - A conduit or hose (not shown) carrying grease or lubricant may be fluidly coupled to port 376 of the grease fitting 244 during maintenance and repair)
extending the conduit from the fitting( page 5 – 3rd paragraph - A conduit or hose (not shown) carrying grease or lubricant may be fluidly coupled to port 376 of the grease fitting 244 during maintenance and repair)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for VAHLING / MCGUGAN bearing arrangement with pistons to utilize a conduit couplable extendable away from the zerk fitting as taught by TISSIER’s . This would allow VAHLING / MCGUGAN to improve ease of maintenance and repair ( page 5 – first paragraph)
VAHLING / MCGUGAN / TISSIER disclose a motor grader with adjustable blade for a motor grade with fittings, SHARMA discloses of a motor grater with fittings that drain to a reservoir, SHARMA discloses:
coupling a drain line between the fitting and a reservoir to facilitate an efflux of the fluid from the first chamber into the reservoir as a reaction force is applied on the piston through the first wear assembly when the moldboard is pushed against the work surface. ( para. 0036 - may drain through the first fluid port 146C to communicate with the reservoir.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for VAHLING / MCGUGAN / TISSIER discloses a motor grader with adjustable blade for a motor grade with fittings to utilize a drain line fluidly couplable between the fitting and a reservoir to facilitate an efflux of the fluid from the first chamber as taught by SHARMA. This would allow VAHLING / MCGUGAN to drain fluid as something to reduce the amount of maintenance required para. 0003)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent 4037670 – Motor grader with blade clamping mechanism and drain line
/A.H.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671