DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 05/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/08/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
reference character “148” has been used to designate both “the MPA two-way valve seat” and “a core-activated surface”
reference character “172” has been used to designate both “resilient seals” and “wheel brakes”.
reference character “174” has been used to designate both “deceleration signal transmitter” and “retainers”.
reference character “176” has been used to designate both “flangers” and “reservoir”
reference character “191” has been used to designate both “normally open ISO valve” and “dump valve”
reference character “196” has been used to designate both “return line” and “first and second pump outputs”
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification uses the same reference character when discussing different structures. Some example include:
paragraph [00033] recites "deceleration signal transmitter 174"
paragraph [00030] recites "retainers 174"
paragraph [00027] recites "the MPA two-way valve seat 148"
paragraph [00022] recites "a core-activated surface 148"
paragraph [00032] recites "wheel brakes 172"
paragraph [00030] recites "resilient seals 172"
Please revise the entire specification for consistency.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
The specification does not explicitly disclose what “MPA” stands for. As best understood, this stands of “medium pressure accumulator”, however, this does not appear to be explicitly stated in the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-12 objected to because of the following informalities: The claim repeatedly recites “MPA” repeatedly but does not explicitly define what this abbreviation means.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2019/0100179).
Lee discloses:
1. An accumulator assembly, comprising:
a medium pressure accumulator (absent further limitations, the structure 50 meets the limitation of an accumulator because it accumulates fluid, and is medium pressure because its fluid is pressurized and relatively higher than atmospheric pressure), including
an MPA cavity (cavity between accumulator piston 52 and valve 1300) including at least one brake-side passage adjacent a first end thereof (fluid line 251),
an MPA piston (52) for reciprocal longitudinal motion within the MPA cavity responsive to a predetermined amount of hydraulic fluid flow through the brake-side passage (paragraph [0112]), and
an MPA biasing spring (53) for urging the MPA piston toward the first end of the MPA cavity; and
a powered MPA two-way valve (251) interposed fluidically between the brake-side passage of the MPA cavity and at least one corresponding wheel brake (40), the MPA two-way valve including
an MPA two-way valve cavity (cavity between 230A and 230B, see Fig. 6, 7) placing the brake-side passage of the MPA cavity and the at least one corresponding wheel brake in selective fluid communication via both of an MPA two-way valve fill fluid path configured to provide pressurized hydraulic fluid to the MPA cavity (Fig. 7, fill fluid path 'O' configured to provide fluid to the MPA cavity) and an MPA two-way valve supply fluid path configured to remove pressurized hydraulic fluid from the MPA cavity (Fig. 6, supply path B removes pressurized fluid from MPA cavity connected to 230B),
an MPA two-way brake-fill valve seat (2380) located along the MPA two-way valve supply fluid path and at least partially defined by an interior wall of the MPA two-way valve cavity (2380 is fixed to the valve housing 2310 and defines an interior wall of the two-way valve cavity),
an MPA two-way valve poppet (2360) carried within the MPA two-way valve cavity, the MPA two-way valve poppet including a poppet throughbore (bore connected to 2360a, see Fig. 6) extending longitudinally therethrough from a first poppet end (end of poppet 2360 that engages valve seat 2380), adjacent the MPA two-way brake-fill valve seat (2380), to a second poppet end (end of 2360 adjacent 2360a) separated longitudinally from the first poppet end, the second poppet end defining an MPA two-way MPA-fill valve seat (the valve seat that ball of armature 2350 engages with) located along the MPA two-way valve fill fluid path, and the poppet throughbore selectively routing fluid flow therethrough along the MPA two-way valve fill fluid path, and
an MPA two-way valve MPA-fill occluder (ball of armature 2350, paragraph [0109]), located along the MPA two-way valve fill fluid path and configured to selectively contact the MPA two-way MPA-fill valve seat (see Fig. 6 and 7, ball selectively contacting valve seat);
wherein the MPA two-way valve poppet is configured for reciprocal motion between a poppet open position and a poppet closed position, reciprocal motion of the MPA two-way valve poppet occurring at least partially responsive to a predetermined amount of fluid pressure differential between the MPA cavity and the at least one corresponding wheel brake (paragraph [0112]);
wherein an MPA two-way valve poppet shoulder contacts the MPA two-way brake-fill valve seat to occlude fluid flow therepast along the MPA two-way valve supply fluid path responsive to the MPA two-way valve poppet achieving the poppet closed position (see Fig. 6, end of valve poppet 2360 forms a shoulder that engages with valve seat 2390 to achieve a closed position); and
wherein the MPA two-way valve MPA-fill occluder contacts the MPA two-way MPA-fill valve seat to occlude fluid flow therepast along the MPA two-way valve fill fluid path responsive to the MPA two-way valve poppet achieving the poppet open position (see Fig. 6, occluder ball of armature 2350 engages valve seat to close orifice 2360a when the two-way valve poppet 2360 is in its open position, paragraph [0114]).
2. The accumulator assembly of claim 1, wherein the MPA two-way valve includes an armature (2350) for selective longitudinally reciprocating motion with respect to the MPA two-way valve cavity between first and second armature positions (first armature position seen in Fig. 7, second armature position seen in Fig. 6), wherein the MPA two-way valve poppet is held into engagement with the MPA two-way brake-fill valve seat in the poppet closed position, responsive to the armature being in the first armature position (two-way valve poppet 2360 is held against the valve seat 2380, paragraph [0114] states valve poppet 2360 only opens when there is a pressure differential which indicates that it is held into engagement until certain conditions are met), and wherein the MPA two-way valve poppet is permitted to selectively reciprocate between the poppet closed position and the poppet open position responsive to the armature being in the second armature position (when the armature is in the second position seen in Fig. 6, the orifice 2360a is closed and the valve poppet 2360 is able to open or close while the armature 2350 is in the second position).
3. The accumulator assembly of claim 2, including a core (2330) for selectively magnetically attracting the armature, the core being located longitudinally directly adjacent a core-activated surface of the armature (see Fig. 6, 7, core 2330 adjacent the armature 2350), the armature being longitudinally interposed between the core and the MPA two-way valve poppet (see Fig. 6, 7, armature 2350 between poppet 2360 and core 2330), the core being selectively energized to magnetically drive the armature between the first and second armature positions (paragraph [0105]).
4. The accumulator assembly of claim 2, including a poppet spring biasing the MPA two-way valve poppet toward the poppet closed position and sealing engagement with the MPA two-way MPA-fill valve seat when the armature is in the second armature position (spring 2440 biases valve poppet 2460 towards the valve seat 2380 when the armature is in the second position seen in Fig. 6 in which the occluder closes orifice 2360a).
5. The accumulator assembly of claim 2, including a core spring (2340) biasing the armature toward the first armature position (first armature position as seen in Fig. 6).
6. The accumulator assembly of claim 2, wherein the MPA two-way valve MPA-fill occluder comprises an occluder ball carried by the armature for selective engagement with the MPA two-way MPA-fill valve seat (see Fig. 6, occluder ball of armature 2350 engages valve seat to close orifice 2360a, paragraph [0114]).
7. The accumulator assembly of claim 3, wherein a core sleeve (2320) is received at least partially in a housing (2301) also at least partially defining the MPA cavity (cavity between 230A and 230B includes space that core sleeve 2320 forms), the core sleeve being configured to maintain the core in spaced relationship with the armature (see Fig. 6, 7), the armature being at least partially enclosed within the core sleeve and guided thereby for selective longitudinal reciprocating motion with respect to the core responsive to energization of the core (see Fig. 6, 7, armature 2350 is guided by sleeve 2320).
8. The accumulator assembly of claim 7, wherein the core sleeve completely encloses the MPA two -way valve poppet, with a reduced-diameter sleeve shoulder, located on an opposite end of the MPA two-way valve poppet from the core, at least partially defining the MPA two-way valve seat by comprising at least a portion of an interior wall of the MPA two-way valve cavity (core sleeve 2320 includes 2310 because they are shown to be welded together in the Figures, therefore the core sleeve completely encloses the valve poppet 2360, and partially defines the two-way valve seat because structure 2380 is disclosed to be unitary with the housing and sleeve, paragraph [0104]).
9. The accumulator assembly of claim 7, wherein a poppet sleeve (2410 appears carried by the armature 2450 in Fig. 8) is carried by the armature, enclosed within the core sleeve (poppet sleeve 2410 is partially enclosed within core sleeve 2420 in Fig. 8), and collectively encloses the MPA two-way fill valve seat and at least a portion of the poppet, the poppet sleeve laterally interposed between at least a portion of the MPA two-way valve supply fluid path and at least a portion of the MPA two-way valve fill fluid path (see Fig. 8).
10. The accumulator assembly of claim 1, wherein reciprocal motion of the MPA two-way valve poppet occurs at least partially responsive to a fluid pressure differential between the MPA cavity and the at least one corresponding wheel brake (paragraph [0112], pressure differential between the MPA cavity 50 and a pressure at 20 that corresponds to a wheel brake pressure).
11. The accumulator assembly of claim 10, wherein reciprocal motion of the MPA two-way valve poppet between the poppet open position and the poppet closed position is operative to facilitate fluid flow between the MPA cavity and at least one corresponding wheel brake alternately along the MPA two-way valve supply fluid path and along the MPA two-way valve fill fluid path, respectively (see Fig. 6, 7, valve paths 'O' and 'B' when valve poppet is open or closed results in alternating fluid flows).
12. The accumulator assembly of claim 1, wherein the brake-side passage of the MPA cavity includes a circumferential groove at least partially containing a resilient annular seal surrounding at least an MPA-side portion of the MPA two-way valve, the annular seal preventing passage of hydraulic fluid between the MPA cavity and the at least one corresponding wheel brake apart from at least one of the MPA two-way valve supply fluid path and the MPA two-way valve fill fluid path (Fig. 4, annular seal 1480a within a circumferential groove prevents fluid flow between the MPA cavity connected to 130B and the at least corresponding wheel brake 40 when the pressure acting on 130A is greater than the pressure within 130B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferguson (US 8985549), in view of Burgdorf et al. (US 5403077), hereinafter ‘Burgdorf’
Ferguson discloses:
1. An accumulator assembly, comprising:
a medium pressure accumulator (48, absent further limitations as to what is considered a “medium” pressure, accumulator 48 meets this limitation), including
a powered MPA two-way valve (32) interposed fluidically between the brake-side passage of the MPA cavity and at least one corresponding wheel brake (28), the MPA two-way valve including
an MPA two-way valve cavity placing the brake-side passage of the MPA cavity and the at least one corresponding wheel brake in selective fluid communication via both of an MPA two-way valve fill fluid path configured to provide pressurized hydraulic fluid to the MPA cavity and an MPA two-way valve supply fluid path configured to remove pressurized hydraulic fluid from the MPA cavity (fluid path between P1 and P2 when poppet 226 is opened via a pressure difference between the inlet and outlet sides),
an MPA two-way brake-fill valve seat (Fig. 3, 218) located along the MPA two-way valve supply fluid path and at least partially defined by an interior wall of the MPA two-way valve cavity (see Fig. 3, valve cavity includes the space between P1 and P2),
an MPA two-way valve poppet (226) carried within the MPA two-way valve cavity, the MPA two-way valve poppet including a poppet throughbore (see Fig. 3, throughbore 238 extends through poppet 226 and is selectively blocked by occluding ball 230) extending longitudinally therethrough from a first poppet end, adjacent the MPA two-way brake-fill valve seat, to a second poppet end separated longitudinally from the first poppet end, the second poppet end defining an MPA two-way MPA-fill valve seat (valve seat that is engaged with occlude ball 230) located along the MPA two-way valve fill fluid path, and the poppet throughbore selectively routing fluid flow therethrough along the MPA two-way valve fill fluid path (when solenoid is activated, the armature 206 compresses spring 224 and lifts up which separates the occlude 230 from its valve seat and opens the flow path through the throughbore of the poppet 226), and
an MPA two-way valve MPA-fill occlude (230), located along the MPA two-way valve fill fluid path and configured to selectively contact the MPA two-way MPA-fill valve seat;
wherein the MPA two-way valve poppet is configured for reciprocal motion between a poppet open position and a poppet closed position, reciprocal motion of the MPA two-way valve poppet occurring at least partially responsive to a predetermined amount of fluid pressure differential between the MPA cavity and the at least one corresponding wheel brake (Col. 8 lines 21-32);
wherein an MPA two-way valve poppet shoulder contacts the MPA two-way brake-fill valve seat to occlude fluid flow therepast along the MPA two-way valve supply fluid path responsive to the MPA two-way valve poppet achieving the poppet closed position (see Fig. 3, occluding ball 230 closes the throughbore path while the poppet 226 is in its closed position while engaged on the valve seat 218); and
wherein the MPA two-way valve MPA-fill occluder contacts the MPA two-way MPA-fill valve seat to occlude fluid flow therepast along the MPA two-way valve fill fluid path responsive to the MPA two-way valve poppet achieving the poppet open position (Col. 8 lines 21-32 discloses opening poppet 226 without relative movement to the armature 206 therefore the occlude ball 230 remains in contact with its valve seat).
Ferguson does not explicitly disclose: an MPA cavity including at least one brake-side passage adjacent a first end thereof, an MPA piston for reciprocal longitudinal motion within the MPA cavity responsive to a predetermined amount of hydraulic fluid flow through the brake-side passage, and an MPA biasing spring for urging the MPA piston toward the first end of the MPA cavity.
However, Burgdorf discloses a brake system similar to Ferguson and the present application and therefore constitutes analogous art. Burgdorf discloses
An accumulator assembly, comprising:
a medium pressure accumulator (2, absent further limitations as to what is considered a “medium” pressure, accumulator 3 meets this limitation), including
an MPA cavity including at least one brake-side passage adjacent a first end thereof (chamber between accumulator piston 3’ and fluid path 310 is a MPA cavity),
an MPA piston (3’) for reciprocal longitudinal motion within the MPA cavity responsive to a predetermined amount of hydraulic fluid flow through the brake-side passage, and
an MPA biasing spring for urging the MPA piston toward the first end of the MPA cavity (see Fig. 2, spring apparent in accumulator 3 biasing piston 3’ towards the first end of the MPA cavity). Burgdorf discloses its accumulator 3 connected to the corresponding equivalent structures relative to the system of Ferguson (Bergdorf’s accumulator 3 connected to both a pump inlet 314 through a check valve 316 and a wheel brake 34 through a solenoid actuated normally closed two-way valve 312, which all corresponds to Ferguson’s accumulator 48 connected to both a pump 36 inlet through a check valve and a wheel brake 28 through a solenoid actuated normally closed two-way valve 32).
Since Ferguson remains silent as to its accumulator structure details and the physical form of its system, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the system of Ferguson to have used an accumulator including an MPA cavity including at least one brake-side passage adjacent a first end thereof, an MPA piston for reciprocal longitudinal motion within the MPA cavity responsive to a predetermined amount of hydraulic fluid flow through the brake-side passage, and an MPA biasing spring for urging the MPA piston toward the first end of the MPA cavity as taught by Burgdorf as a matter of applying known structure configurations to a known system to yield only expected results. Burgdorf discloses
Further, since having the solenoid valves within the same housing as the accumulator is a known technique in the art, and since relocation of parts is an exemplary rationale that supports a conclusion of obviousness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the Ferguson to have placed the two-way accumulator valve within the same housing as the accumulator as taught by Burgdorf. The proposed relocation of parts would not change any function of the respective components and would only yield the predictable result of decreased length of fluid flow path between the valve and the accumulator.
The combination of Ferguson and Burgdorf further renders obvious (all mapping below refers to Ferguson reference unless otherwise specified):
2. The accumulator assembly of claim 1, wherein the MPA two-way valve includes an armature (206) for selective longitudinally reciprocating motion with respect to the MPA two-way valve cavity between first and second armature positions, wherein the MPA two-way valve poppet is held into engagement with the MPA two-way brake-fill valve seat, in the poppet closed position, responsive to the armature being in the first armature position (armature position seen in fig. 3), and wherein the MPA two-way valve poppet is permitted to selectively reciprocate between the poppet closed position and the poppet open position responsive to the armature being in the second armature position (armature position when solenoid is actuated to lift the armature upwards to compress the spring 224 which lifts the occlude 230 off its valve seat and opens the throughbore passage of the poppet 226).
3. The accumulator assembly of claim 2, including a core (220) for selectively magnetically attracting the armature, the core being located longitudinally directly adjacent a core-activated surface of the armature, the armature being longitudinally interposed between the core and the MPA two-way valve poppet, the core being selectively energized to magnetically drive the armature between the first and second armature positions (Col. 7 lines 61-67, Col. 8 lines 1-6).
4. The accumulator assembly of claim 2, including a poppet spring (244) biasing the MPA two-way valve poppet toward the poppet closed position and sealing engagement with the MPA two-way MPA-fill valve seat when the armature is in the second armature position (spring 244 biases the poppet valve 226 towards the closed position being engaged with the valve seat 218 in both positions of the armature 206).
5. The accumulator assembly of claim 2, including a core spring (224) biasing the armature toward the first armature position (first armature position seen in Fig. 3).
6. The accumulator assembly of claim 2, wherein the MPA two-way valve MPA-fill occluder comprises an occluder ball (230) carried by the armature for selective engagement with the MPA two-way MPA-fill valve seat.
7. The accumulator assembly of claim 3, wherein a core sleeve (212) is received at least partially in a housing (2) also at least partially defining the MPA cavity, the core sleeve being configured to maintain the core in spaced relationship with the armature, the armature being at least partially enclosed within the core sleeve and guided thereby for selective longitudinal reciprocating motion with respect to the core responsive to energization of the core (see Fig. 3, Col. 6 lines 47-67, Col. 7 lines 1-10).
8. The accumulator assembly of claim 7, wherein the core sleeve completely encloses the MPA two -way valve poppet, with a reduced-diameter sleeve shoulder, located on an opposite end of the MPA two-way valve poppet from the core, at least partially defining the MPA two-way valve seat by comprising at least a portion of an interior wall of the MPA two-way valve cavity (see Fig. 3, core sleeve 212 encloses the poppet 226 and forms the valve seat 218).
9. The accumulator assembly of claim 7, wherein a poppet sleeve (246) is carried by the armature, enclosed within the core sleeve, and collectively encloses the MPA two-way fill valve seat and at least a portion of the poppet, the poppet sleeve laterally interposed between at least a portion of the MPA two-way valve supply fluid path and at least a portion of the MPA two-way valve fill fluid path (See Fig. 3, Col. 7-8, etc.).
10. The accumulator assembly of claim 1, wherein reciprocal motion of the MPA two-way valve poppet occurs at least partially responsive to a fluid pressure differential between the MPA cavity and the at least one corresponding wheel brake (Col. 8 line 21-26, wheel brake pressure from 28 acts to open the poppet).
11. The accumulator assembly of claim 10, wherein reciprocal motion of the MPA two-way valve poppet between the poppet open position and the poppet closed position is operative to facilitate fluid flow between the MPA cavity and at least one corresponding wheel brake alternately along the MPA two-way valve supply fluid path and along the MPA two-way valve fill fluid path, respectively (Col. 8 Col. 8 lines 40-47).
12. The accumulator assembly of claim 1, wherein the brake-side passage of the MPA cavity includes a circumferential groove at least partially containing a resilient annular seal (3, see Fig. 3) surrounding at least an MPA-side portion of the MPA two-way valve, the annular seal preventing passage of hydraulic fluid between the MPA cavity and the at least one corresponding wheel brake apart from at least one of the MPA two-way valve supply fluid path and the MPA two-way valve fill fluid path.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sim (US 6588857) discloses a solenoid valve 10 between the accumulator 7 and the wheel brake 8 and has the ball occlude, etc.
Takeda et al. (US 4690465) discloses a brake system that is encased in a single overall housing 10 and includes a an piston accumulator 58, a two-way accumulator valve 100R between the accumulator 58 and the wheel brake 206R.
Linkner (US 5673978) discloses a brake system that includes a single housing seen in Fig. 3a that includes an accumulator 341 and an accumulator valve 319.
Kamiya et al. (US 6209970) disclose a valve 28, 41 similar to the valve of the invention, including a poppet valve 49 with a throughbore that opens to an occluding member 52a engaged with a second valve seat 54a formed on the poppet 49; an armature 52, core 43, medium pressure accumulator 3 absent further limitations as to what a medium pressure accumulator comprises; MPA piston 3a, etc., and wheel brake 5, wherein the valve 28,41 is between the wheel brake 5 and the medium pressure accumulator 3; wherein the valve includes a first flow path when poppet 49 opens and is disengaged from its valve seat, and a second flow path through 54 when the occluding member 52a is lifted off its valve seat; and the armature 52 controls the opening of the occluding member when solenoid 40 is actuated
Taft (US 4076036) discloses an accumulator including valves in the accumulator housing
/DUSTIN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745 July 29, 2026