DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed on 11/17/2025, which amended claims 1-4, 7, 9-11, 14-15, and 28-29, cancelled claims 18-27, and added new claims 30-31. Acknowledgment is made of the supplemental amendment filed on 11/25/2025, which amended claim 28. Claims 1-17 and 28-31 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 29 and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 29, line 6, “a second spatial light modulator” should be changed to --the second spatial light modulator-- to correct antecedence from claim 30.
Claim 30, line 10, “each of the first projection system” should be changed to --the first projection system-- to correct antecedence.
Claim 30, line 11, “multiple state” should be changed to --multiple states-- to improve grammar.
Claim 30, line 12, “each of the second projection system” should be changed to --the second projection system-- to correct antecedence.
Claim 30, line 12, “multiple state” should be changed to --multiple states-- to improve grammar.
Appropriate correction is required to place claims in better form.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a data generation device” in lines 2-3 and 8-10 of claim 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10, 12-15, 17, 28, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al. (US PGPub 2019/0369499, Lai hereinafter) in view of Ozaki et al. (US PGPub 2005/0231696, Ozaki hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Lai discloses an exposure apparatus (Figs. 1-2, paras. [0021]-[0022], processing system 100) comprising:
a substrate stage having a top surface large enough to allow substrates to be placed side by side in a first direction (Figs. 1-2, paras. [0021]-[0022], motion stage 104 includes a substrate carrier 200A with multiple substrates 210); and
first projection modules (Figs. 1-2, paras. [0024]-[0026], optical modules 107 face the plurality of substrates 210), and
wherein the first projection modules are arranged so as to project respective pattern light onto respective substrates of the substrates (Figs. 1-2, paras. [0024]-[0026], [0029], [0033], [0040], optical modules 107 face the plurality of substrates 210 and pattern the substrates). Lai does not appear to explicitly describe the projection modules each including a spatial light modulator, wherein respective first projection regions of first modules among the first projection modules are arranged in the first direction so that respective centers of the adjacent first projection regions are arranged in the first direction at a first interval, the first interval either (a) being a value obtained by dividing a length of one of the substrates in the first direction by an integer or (b) being a value obtained by dividing an interval between centers of adjacent substrates in the first direction by an integer, wherein the spatial light modulator includes a plurality of elements each being capable of being in multiple states so as to form patterned light.
Ozaki discloses first projection modules each including a spatial light modulator (Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0063], [0073]-[0074], [0076]-[0087], each exposure head 166 includes a digital micromirror device DMD),
wherein respective first projection regions of first modules among the first projection modules are arranged in a first direction so that respective centers of the adjacent first projection regions are arranged in the first direction at a first interval, the first interval either (a) being a value obtained by dividing a length of one of the substrates in a first direction by an integer (Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0063], [0070]-[0071], [0073]-[0075], the exposure heads are arranged with m rows and n columns such that the centers of the adjacent exposure areas 168 are arranged offset by a predetermined integer multiple of the long dimension of the substrate) or (b) being a value obtained by dividing an interval between centers of adjacent substrates in the first direction by an integer,
wherein the spatial light modulator includes a plurality of elements each being capable of being in multiple states so as to form patterned light (Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0074], [0076]-[0087], each exposure head includes a digital micromirror device DMD having multiple micromirrors with controllable states to form patterns).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the projection modules each including a spatial light modulator, wherein respective first projection regions of first modules among the first projection modules are arranged in the first direction so that respective centers of the adjacent first projection regions are arranged in the first direction at a first interval, the first interval either (a) being a value obtained by dividing a length of one of the substrates in the first direction by an integer or (b) being a value obtained by dividing an interval between centers of adjacent substrates in the first direction by an integer, wherein the spatial light modulator includes a plurality of elements each being capable of being in multiple states so as to form patterned light as taught by Ozaki in the first projection modules and as the arrangement of the first projection modules in the exposure apparatus as taught by Lai since including the projection modules each including a spatial light modulator, wherein respective first projection regions of first modules among the first projection modules are arranged in the first direction so that respective centers of the adjacent first projection regions are arranged in the first direction at a first interval, the first interval either (a) being a value obtained by dividing a length of one of the substrates in the first direction by an integer or (b) being a value obtained by dividing an interval between centers of adjacent substrates in the first direction by an integer, wherein the spatial light modulator includes a plurality of elements each being capable of being in multiple states so as to form patterned light is commonly used to provide flexible and controllable patterns that fully expose the exposure area of a substrate with high accuracy (Ozaki, paras. [0074]-[0075], [0077], [0086]).
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 31 below, Lai as modified by Ozaki discloses further comprising: second projection modules (Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0020]-[0021], [0024]-[0026], [0029], [0033], [0036], [0039]-[0040], optical modules 107 face the plurality of substrates 210, and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0063], [0073]-[0075], the exposure heads project circuit patterns on the substrate and are arranged with m rows and n columns),
wherein the second projection modules project substantially simultaneously, onto the respective substrates, the respective wiring patterns (the limitation “project substantially simultaneously, onto the respective substrates, the respective wiring patterns” is functional language that recites the manner of employing the projection modules in the claimed apparatus and does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the structure as taught by Lai as modified by Ozaki. See MPEP 2114. Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0020]-[0021], [0024]-[0026], [0029], [0033], [0036], [0039]-[0040], optical modules 107 face the plurality of substrates 210 and project circuit patterns simultaneously, and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0063], [0073]-[0075], [0076]-[0087], [0103]-[0104], the exposure heads project circuit patterns on the substrate), and
wherein one of the first projection modules and one of the second projection modules project substantially simultaneously, on a corresponding substrate of the substrates, a corresponding wiring pattern of the wiring patterns (the limitation “wherein one of the first projection modules and one of the second projection modules project substantially simultaneously, on a corresponding substrate of the substrates, a corresponding wiring pattern of the wiring patterns” is functional language that recites the manner of employing the projection modules in the claimed apparatus and does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the structure as taught by Lai as modified by Ozaki. See MPEP 2114. Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0020]-[0021], [0024]-[0026], [0029]-[0033], [0036], [0039]-[0040], optical modules 107 pattern the substrates 210 simultaneously with the desired circuit patterns on the corresponding substrates, and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0063], [0073]-[0075], [0076]-[0087], [0103]-[0104], the exposure heads project circuit patterns simultaneously).
Regarding claim 3, Lai as modified by Ozaki discloses wherein the substrate stage is provided over a surface of a base so as to move in a scanning direction along the surface (Lai, Fig. 1, para. [0023], substrate carrier 200A is on a surface of motion stage 104 with platform 104a and scans over the surface), and
wherein the first direction is a non-scanning direction orthogonal to the scanning direction (Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0063], [0073]-[0075], the exposure heads are offset in a non-scanning direction).
Regarding claim 4, Lai as modified by Ozaki discloses wherein the top surface is large enough to allow the substrates to be placed side by side in a scanning direction in which the substrate stage is scanned (Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0021]-[0023], motion stage 104 includes a substrate carrier 200A with multiple substrates 210 next to each other during scanning),
wherein respective second projection regions of second modules among the first projection modules are arranged in the scanning direction so that respective centers of the adjacent second projection regions are arranged in the scanning direction at a second interval, the second interval either (1) being a value obtained by dividing a length of one of the substrates in the scanning direction by an integer (Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0063], [0073]-[0075], the exposure heads are arranged with m rows and n columns such that the centers of the adjacent exposure areas 168 are arranged offset by a predetermined integer multiple of the long dimension of the substrate) or (2) being a value obtained by dividing an interval between centers of adjacent substrates in the scanning direction by an integer, and
wherein an interval between regions adjacent to each other in the scanning direction among first projection regions of the first projection modules is substantially equal to an integral multiple of the second interval (Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0063], [0073]-[0075], [0076]-[0087], the exposure heads are arranged with m rows and n columns such that the centers of the adjacent exposure areas 168 are arranged offset by a predetermined integer multiple of the long dimension of the substrate).
Regarding claim 5, Lai as modified by Ozaki discloses wherein in a non-scanning direction orthogonal to a scanning direction in which the substrate stage is scanned, a position of a second projection region of the one of the second projection modules is a position shifted from a first projection region of the one of the first projection modules by an integral division of a length of the substate in the non-scanning direction (Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0020]-[0021], [0024]-[0026], [0029]-[0033], [0036], [0039]-[0040], optical modules 107 are shifted from each in a non-scanning direction, and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0063], [0070]-[0071], [0073]-[0075], the exposure heads are arranged with m rows and n columns such that the centers of the adjacent exposure areas 168 are arranged offset by a predetermined integer multiple of the long dimension of the substrate).
Regarding claim 6, Lai as modified by Ozaki discloses wherein in a scanning direction in which the substrate stage is scanned, a position of a second projection region of the one of the second projection modules is a position shifted from a first projection region of the one of the first projection modules by an integral division of a length of the substrate in the scanning direction (Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0020]-[0021], [0024]-[0026], [0029]-[0033], [0036], [0039]-[0040], optical modules 107 project patterns on the substrates, and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0063], [0070]-[0071], [0073]-[0075], the exposure heads are arranged with m rows and n columns such that the centers of the adjacent exposure areas 168 are arranged offset by a predetermined integer multiple of the long dimension of the substrate).
Regarding claim 7, Lai as modified by Ozaki discloses wherein each of the first projection modules projects respective wiring patterns onto two or more of the substrates during scanning exposure (the limitation “wherein each of the first projection modules projects respective wiring patterns onto two or more of the substrates during scanning exposure” is functional language that recites the manner of employing the projection modules in the claimed apparatus and does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the structure as taught by Lai as modified by Ozaki. See MPEP 2114. Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0020]-[0021], [0024]-[0026], [0029], [0033], [0036], [0039]-[0040], optical modules 107 face the plurality of substrates 210 and project circuit patterns simultaneously, and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0063], [0073]-[0075], [0076]-[0087], [0103]-[0104], the exposure heads project circuit patterns on the substrate).
Regarding claim 8, Lai as modified by Ozaki discloses further comprising: substrate position measurement devices that measure respective positions of the substrates (Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0021], [0024]-[0028], each of the optical modules 107 include a focus sensor, a level sensor, an image sensor. The focus sensors determine the z-position of the substrate, the level sensors determine the deviation of the substrate from a desired plane, and the image sensors detect alignment marks to determine pattern offset, and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0061]-[0062], [0070]-[0071], CCD cameras 124, 126, 128 detect alignment marks to detect positions),
wherein the substrate position measurement devices measure the positions of different substrates substantially simultaneously (Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0020]-[0021], [0024]-[0029], [0033], [0036], [0037]-[0040], the focus sensors, level sensors, and image sensors measure the positions of substrates simultaneously (see at least Fig. 2C), and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0061]-[0062], [0070], [0071], CCD cameras 124, 126, 128 detect alignment marks to detect positions).
Regarding claim 10, Lai as modified by Ozaki discloses further comprising: first measurement devices that measure positions of semiconductor chips arranged on each of the substrates (the limitation “that measure positions of semiconductor chips arranged on each of the substrates” is functional language that recites the manner of employing the measurement devices in the claimed apparatus and does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the structure as taught by Lai as modified by Ozaki. See MPEP 2114. Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0021], [0024]-[0028], [0036], each of the optical modules 107 include a focus sensor, a level sensor, an image sensor. The focus sensors determine the z-position of the substrate, the level sensors determine the deviation of the substrate from a desired plane, and the image sensors detect alignment marks to determine pattern offset, and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0061]-[0062], [0070]-[0071], CCD cameras 124, 126, 128 detect alignment marks to detect positions),
wherein the first measurement devices measure the positions of the semiconductor chips on different substrates substantially simultaneously (Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0020]-[0021], [0024]-[0029], [0033], [0036], [0037]-[0040], the focus sensors, level sensors, and image sensors measure the positions of substrates simultaneously (see at least Fig. 2C), and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0061]-[0062], [0070], [0071], CCD cameras 124, 126, 128 detect alignment marks to detect positions).
Regarding claim 12, Lai as modified by Ozaki discloses second measurement devices (Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0021], [0024]-[0028], each of the optical modules 107 include a focus sensor, a level sensor, an image sensor. The focus sensors determine the z-position of the substrate, the level sensors determine the deviation of the substrate from a desired plane, and the image sensors detect alignment marks to determine pattern offset, and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0061]-[0062], [0070]-[0071], CCD cameras 124, 126, 128 detect alignment marks to detect positions),
wherein the second measurement devices measure positions of the semiconductor chips on different substrates substantially simultaneously (the limitation “wherein the second measurement devices measure positions of the semiconductor chips on different substrates substantially simultaneously” is functional language that recites the manner of employing the measurement devices in the claimed apparatus and does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the structure as taught by Lai as modified by Ozaki. See MPEP 2114. Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0020]-[0021], [0024]-[0029], [0033], [0036], [0037]-[0040], the focus sensors, level sensors, and image sensors measure the positions of substrates simultaneously (see at least Fig. 2C), and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0061]-[0062], [0070], [0071], CCD cameras 124, 126, 128 detect alignment marks to detect positions), and
wherein one of the first measurement devices and one of the second measurement devices measure different regions in each of the substrates substantially simultaneously (the language “wherein one of the first measurement devices and one of the second measurement devices measure different regions in each of the substrates substantially simultaneously” is functional language that recites the manner of employing the measurement devices in the claimed apparatus and does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the structure as taught by Lai as modified by Ozaki. See MPEP 2114. Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0020]-[0021], [0024]-[0029], [0033], [0036], [0037]-[0040], the focus sensors, level sensors, and image sensors measure the positions of substrates simultaneously (see at least Fig. 2C), and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0061]-[0062], [0070], [0071], CCD cameras 124, 126, 128 detect alignment marks to detect positions).
Regarding claim 13, Lai as modified by Ozaki discloses the general conditions of widths of regions measured by the first measurement devices and regions measured by the second measurement devices in a non-scanning direction orthogonal to a scanning direction in which the substrates are scanned (Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0021], [0024]-[0028], each of the optical modules 107 include a focus sensor, a level sensor, an image sensor, which have measurement regions on the substrates. The focus sensors determine the z-position of the substrate, the level sensors determine the deviation of the substrate from a desired plane, and the image sensors detect alignment marks to determine pattern offset, and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0058], [0061]-[0064], [0070]-[0071], CCD cameras 124, 126, 128 have measurement regions with a length in the width direction to detect alignment marks to detect positions). Although Lai as modified by Ozaki discloses the general conditions of the widths of regions measured and the lengths of the substrates in the non-scanning direction (Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. paras. [0021], [0024]-[0028], the substrates 210 have dimensions in the scanning and non-scanning directions. The focus sensors, level sensors, image sensors have measurement regions on the substrates, and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0058], [0061]-[0064], [0070]-[0071], CCD cameras 124, 126, 128 have measurement regions with a length in the width direction to detect alignment marks to detect positions), Lai as modified by Ozaki does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the widths are substantially equal to an integral division of lengths of the substrates in the non-scanning direction. Since Lai as modified by Ozaki discloses the general conditions of the widths of regions measurement by the measurement devices and the lengths of the substrates in the non-scanning direction, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included optimizing the widths of the regions measured by the first measurement devices and the regions measured by the second measurement devices in the non-scanning direction with respect to the lengths of the substrates in the non-scanning direction in the exposure apparatus as taught by Lai as modified by Ozaki to have obtained wherein widths of regions measured by the first measurement devices and regions measured by the second measurement devices in a non-scanning direction orthogonal to a scanning direction in which the substrates are scanned are substantially equal to an integral division of lengths of the substrates in the non-scanning direction since determining the widths of the regions measured in the non-scanning direction would have only required routine skill in the art to obtain the desired measurement throughput and measurement accuracy in a lithography system (Lai, para. [0020], and Ozaki, paras. [0010]-[0011], [0061]-[0064], [0086]). "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 14, Lai as modified by Ozaki discloses wherein a line connecting the centers of most adjacent substrates among the substrates is substantially parallel to a scanning direction of the substrate stage or a non-scanning direction orthogonal to the scanning direction (Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0020]-[0021], [0023]-[0026], [0029], [0033], [0036], [0039]-[0040], a line connects the centers of the adjacent substrates 210 parallel to the scanning direction, and a line connects the centers of adjacent substrates 210 in a direction orthogonal to the scanning direction, and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0058]-[0059], [0070]-[0071], the exposure stage moves parallel to the scanning direction).
Regarding claim 15, Lai as modified by Ozaki discloses wherein a line connecting the centers of most adjacent substrates among the substrates intersects with a scanning direction of the substrate stage or a non-scanning direction orthogonal to the scanning direction (Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0020]-[0021], [0023]-[0026], [0029], [0033], [0036], [0039]-[0040], a line connects the centers of the adjacent substrates 210 that intersects the scanning direction, and a line connects the centers of adjacent substrates 210 in a direction along the scanning direction, and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0058]-[0059], [0070]-[0071], the exposure stage moves parallel to the scanning direction).
Regarding claim 17, Lai as modified by Ozaki discloses wherein the first measurement devices are movable in a non-scanning direction orthogonal to a scanning direction in which the substrate stage is scanned (Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0058], [0061]-[0064], the position of the CCD cameras 124, 126, 128 in the width direction is adjusted).
Regarding claim 28, Lai discloses an apparatus (Figs. 1-2, paras. [0021]-[0022], processing system 100) comprising:
a first measurement device (Figs. 1-2, paras. [0021], [0024]-[0028], each of the optical modules 107 include a focus sensor, a level sensor, an image sensor. The focus sensors determine the z-position of the substrate, the level sensors determine the deviation of the substrate from a desired plane, and the image sensors detect alignment marks to determine pattern offset) that measures positions of chips provided on at least one of substrates placed on a substrate stage, a tray, or a base substrate, the substrate stage, the tray, or the base substrate having a top surface large enough to allow the substrates to be placed side by side in a first direction (the limitation “that measures positions of chips provided on at least one of substrates placed on a substrate stage, a tray, or a base substrate, the substrate stage, the tray, or the base substrate having a top surface large enough to allow the substrates to be placed side by side in a first direction” is functional language that recites the manner of employing the projection modules in the claimed apparatus and does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the structure as taught by Lai. See MPEP 2114. Figs. 1-2, paras. [0021]-[0022], [0024]-[0028], [0036], motion stage 104 includes a substrate carrier 200A with multiple substrates 210. The focus sensors, level sensors, and image sensors of the optical modules 107 detect position of the substrates); and
a second measurement device (Figs. 1-2, paras. [0021], [0024]-[0028], each of the optical modules 107 include a focus sensor, a level sensor, an image sensor. The focus sensors determine the z-position of the substrate, the level sensors determine the deviation of the substrate from a desired plane, and the image sensors detect alignment marks to determine pattern offset) that measures positions of chips provided on at least one of the substrates placed on the substrate stage, the tray, or the base substrate (the limitation “that measures positions of chips provided on at least one of the substrates placed on the substrate stage, the tray, or the base substrate” is functional language that recites the manner of employing the projection modules in the claimed apparatus and does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the structure as taught by Lai. See MPEP 2114. Figs. 1-2, paras. [0021]-[0022], [0024]-[0028], [0036], the focus sensors, level sensors, and image sensors of the optical modules 107 detect position of the substrates); and
wherein the first measurement device and the second measurement device are arranged in the first direction at first interval (Figs. 1-2, paras. [0021]-[0022], [0024]-[0028], [0036], the focus sensors, level sensors, and image sensors of the optical modules 107 are arranged with an interval in the Y-direction). However, Lai does not appear to explicitly describe the first interval either (a) being a value obtained by dividing a length of one of the substrates in the first direction by an integer, (b) an interval between centers of the substrates arranged in the first direction, or (c) an interval such that the second measurement device measures an end of one of the substrates in a period during which the first measurement device measures an end of another one of the substrates, the end being an end of a first side in the first direction.
Ozaki discloses wherein projection modules are arranged in a first direction at a first interval, the first interval being a value obtained by dividing a length of one of the substrates in a first direction by an integer (Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0063], [0070]-[0071], [0073]-[0075], the exposure heads are arranged with m rows and n columns such that the centers of the adjacent exposure areas 168 are arranged offset by a predetermined integer multiple of the long dimension of the substrate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the first interval being a value obtained by dividing a length of one of the substrates in the first direction by an integer as taught by Ozaki as the interval between the first measurement device and the second measurement device in the apparatus as taught by Lai since including wherein the first measurement device and the second measurement device are arranged in the first direction at first interval, the first interval being a value obtained by dividing a length of one of the substrates in the first direction by an integer is commonly used to improve measurement accuracy in order to permit control of the exposure in very fine amounts for high accuracy of exposure (Ozaki, paras. [0074]-[0075], [0077], [0086]).
Regarding claim 31, Lai as modified by Ozaki discloses wherein the first projection modules project simultaneously, onto respective substrate placed on the substrate stage, respective writing patterns for connecting first chips arranged on the respective substrates (the limitation “wherein the first projection modules project simultaneously, onto respective substrate placed on the substrate stage, respective writing patterns for connecting first chips arranged on the respective substrates” is functional language that recites the manner of employing the projection modules in the claimed apparatus and does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the structure as taught by Lai as modified by Ozaki. See MPEP 2114. Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0020]-[0021], [0024]-[0026], [0029], [0033], [0036], [0039]-[0040], optical modules 107 face the plurality of substrates 210 and project circuit patterns simultaneously, and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0063], [0073]-[0075], [0076]-[0087], the exposure heads project circuit patterns on the substrate).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai as modified by Ozaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lof et al. (US PGPub 2006/0132735, Lof hereinafter).
Regarding claim 16, Lai as modified by Ozaki does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the first projection modules are capable of moving an exposure region in a non-scanning direction orthogonal to a scanning direction in which the substrate stage is scanned.
Lof discloses wherein the first projection modules are capable of moving an exposure region in a non-scanning direction orthogonal to a scanning direction in which the substrate stage is scanned (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0057], [0061]-[0063], [0083], [0085], components of the beam projection systems adjust the focus position of the radiation pattern in the Z direction orthogonal to the scanning direction of the substrate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the first projection modules are capable of moving an exposure region in a non-scanning direction orthogonal to a scanning direction in which the substrate stage is scanned as taught by Lof in the exposure apparatus as taught by Lai as modified by Ozaki since including wherein the first projection modules are capable of moving an exposure region in a non-scanning direction orthogonal to a scanning direction in which the substrate stage is scanned is commonly used to correctly focus the patterned radiation on the substrate surface (Lof, paras. [0083], [0085])
Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai as modified by Ozaki as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of Shin et al. (US PGPub 2010/0208229, Shin hereinafter).
Regarding claim 29, which depends from claim 30 below, Lai as modified by Ozaki in view of Shin discloses further comprising:
a data generation device that generates first pattern data corresponding to the first wiring pattern and second pattern data corresponding to the second wiring pattern (Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0029]-[0032], [0036]-[0040], a system controller 190 includes a CPU 191 that controls operation of the processing system 100 to process substrates such as fan out wafer level packaging substrates, and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, 20, 23, paras. [0074], [0076]-[0087], [0103]-[0104], each exposure head includes a digital micromirror device DMD having multiple micromirrors with controllable states to form patterns. The scanner control section 192 includes an image data processing section and mirror driving control section to generate driving signals for the micromirrors of the DMDs 50 in each of the corresponding exposure heads 166),
wherein the first projection system includes a first spatial light modulator that generates the first wiring pattern based on the first pattern data (Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0029]-[0032], [0036]-[0040], a system controller 190 controls processing substrates such as fan out wafer level packaging substrates, and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0063], [0073]-[0074], [0076]-[0087], [0103]-[0104], each exposure head 166 includes a digital micromirror device DMD having multiple micromirrors with controllable states to form patterns),
wherein the second projection system includes a second spatial light modulator that generates the second wiring pattern based on the second pattern data (Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0029]-[0032], [0036]-[0040], a system controller 190 controls processing substrates such as fan out wafer level packaging substrates, and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0063], [0073]-[0074], [0076]-[0087], [0103]-[0104], each exposure head 166 includes a digital micromirror device DMD having multiple micromirrors with controllable states to form patterns), and
wherein the data generation device generates the first pattern data based on a measurement result by the first measurement device and generates the second pattern data based on a measurement result by the second measurement device (Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0021]-[0022], [0024]-[0028], [0036], the focus sensors, level sensors, and image sensors of the optical modules 107 detect position of the substrates, and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, 20, 23, paras. [0057], [0063], [0073]-[0074], [0076]-[0087], [0103]-[0104], each exposure head 166 includes a digital micromirror device DMD having multiple micromirrors with controllable states to form patterns, and the imaging processing section 194 processes signals from CCD cameras 124, 126, 128 to output positional data for controller 190 to control the scanner to produce image signals for wiring patterns, and as modified by Shin, Figs. 7, 14, 17-28, paras. [0076], [0100]-[0101], [0113]-[0119], [0123]-[0136], [0141]-[0147], [0153], [0156], [0185], [0316], a moving stage moves the SLM in a rotation or translation direction to correct the misalignment error).
Regarding claim 30, Lai as modified by Ozaki discloses further comprising: the substrate stage with the top surface large enough to allow the substrates to be placed side by side in a second direction (Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0021]-[0023], motion stage 104 includes a substrate carrier 200A with multiple substrates 210 next to each other during scanning),
a first projection system (Figs. 1-2, paras. [0024]-[0026], optical modules 107 face the plurality of substrates 210) that projects, onto a first substrate of the substrates placed on the substrate stage, a first wiring pattern for connecting first chips, which are provided on the first substrate, to each other (the limitation “that projects, onto a first substrate of the substrates placed on the substrate stage, a first wiring pattern for connecting first chips, which are provided on the first substrate, to each other” is functional language that recites the manner of employing the projection modules in the claimed apparatus and does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the structure as taught by Lai as modified by Ozaki. See MPEP 2114. Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0020]-[0021], [0024]-[0026], [0029], [0033], [0036], [0039]-[0040], optical modules 107 face the plurality of substrates 210 and project circuit patterns simultaneously on the substrates, and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0063], [0073]-[0075], [0076]-[0087] [0103]-[0104]); and
a second projection system (Figs. 1-2, paras. [0024]-[0026], optical modules 107 face the plurality of substrates 210) that projects, onto a second substrate of the substrates placed on the substrate stage, a second wiring pattern for connecting second chips, which are provided on the second substrate, to each other (the limitation “that projects, onto a second substrate of the substrates placed on the substrate stage, a second wiring pattern for connecting second chips, which are provided on the second substrate, to each other” is functional language that recites the manner of employing the projection modules in the claimed apparatus and does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the structure as taught by Lai as modified by Ozaki. See MPEP 2114. Lai, Figs. 1-2, paras. [0020]-[0021], [0024]-[0026], [0029], [0033], [0036], [0039]-[0040], optical modules 107 face the plurality of substrates 210 and project circuit patterns simultaneously on the substrates, and as modified by Ozaki, Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0063], [0073]-[0075], [0076]-[0087], [0103]-[0104]). However, Lai does not appear to explicitly describe wherein each of the first projection system includes a plurality of elements each being capable of being in multiple state so as to form patterned light, wherein each of the second projection system includes a spatial light modulator including a plurality of elements each being capable of being in multiple state so as to form patterned light, wherein the first projection system projects the first wiring pattern while changing, based on a measurement result by the first measurement device, a driving amount of the spatial light modulator in a rotational direction around an optical axis of the first projection system or in a direction intersecting the rotational direction, and wherein the second projection system projects the second wiring pattern while changing, based on a measurement result by the second measurement device, a driving amount of the spatial light modulator in a rotational direction around an optical axis of the second projection system or in a direction intersecting the rotational direction.
Ozaki discloses wherein each of the first projection system includes a plurality of elements each being capable of being in multiple state so as to form patterned light (Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0063], [0073]-[0074], [0076]-[0087], [0103]-[0104], each exposure head 166 includes a digital micromirror device DMD having multiple micromirrors with controllable states to form patterns),
wherein each of the second projection system includes a spatial light modulator including a plurality of elements each being capable of being in multiple state so as to form patterned light (Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0063], [0073]-[0074], [0076]-[0087], [0103]-[0104], each exposure head 166 includes a digital micromirror device DMD having multiple micromirrors with controllable states to form patterns).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein each of the first projection system includes a plurality of elements each being capable of being in multiple state so as to form patterned light, wherein each of the second projection system includes a spatial light modulator including a plurality of elements each being capable of being in multiple state so as to form patterned light as taught by Ozaki in the first and second projection systems in the apparatus as taught by Lai since including wherein each of the first projection system includes a plurality of elements each being capable of being in multiple state so as to form patterned light, wherein each of the second projection system includes a spatial light modulator including a plurality of elements each being capable of being in multiple state so as to form patterned light is commonly used to provide flexible and controllable patterns that fully expose the exposure area of a substrate with high accuracy (Ozaki, paras. [0074]-[0075], [0077], [0086]).
Lai as modified by Ozaki does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the first projection system projects the first wiring pattern while changing, based on a measurement result by the first measurement device, a driving amount of the spatial light modulator in a rotational direction around an optical axis of the first projection system or in a direction intersecting the rotational direction, and wherein the second projection system projects the second wiring pattern while changing, based on a measurement result by the second measurement device, a driving amount of the spatial light modulator in a rotational direction around an optical axis of the second projection system or in a direction intersecting the rotational direction.
Shin discloses wherein the first projection system projects the pattern while changing, based on a measurement result by the first measurement device, a driving amount of the spatial light modulator in a rotational direction around an optical axis of the first projection system or in a direction intersecting the rotational direction (Figs. 7, 14, 17-28, paras. [0076], [0100]-[0101], [0113]-[0119], [0123]-[0136], [0141]-[0147], [0153], [0156], [0185], [0316], a moving stage moves the SLM in a rotation or translation direction to correct the misalignment error measured by a camera in the maskless exposure part 100A), and
wherein the second projection system projects the pattern while changing, based on a measurement result by the second measurement device, a driving amount of the spatial light modulator in a rotational direction around an optical axis of the second projection system or in a direction intersecting the rotational direction (Figs. 7, 14, 17-28, paras. [0076], [0100]-[0101], [0113]-[0119], [0123]-[0136], [0141]-[0147], [0153], [0156], [0185], [0316], a moving stage moves the SLM in a rotation or translation direction to correct the misalignment error measured by a camera in the maskless exposure part 100B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the first projection system projects the first pattern while changing, based on a measurement result by the first measurement device, a driving amount of the spatial light modulator in a rotational direction around an optical axis of the first projection system or in a direction intersecting the rotational direction, and wherein the second projection system projects the second pattern while changing, based on a measurement result by the second measurement device, a driving amount of the spatial light modulator in a rotational direction around an optical axis of the second projection system or in a direction intersecting the rotational direction as taught by Shin in the apparatus as taught by Lai as modified by Ozaki since including wherein the first projection system projects the first wiring pattern while changing, based on a measurement result by the first measurement device, a driving amount of the spatial light modulator in a rotational direction around an optical axis of the first projection system or in a direction intersecting the rotational direction, and wherein the second projection system projects the second wiring pattern while changing, based on a measurement result by the second measurement device, a driving amount of the spatial light modulator in a rotational direction around an optical axis of the second projection system or in a direction intersecting the rotational direction is commonly used to perform precise alignment between maskless projection systems and provide improved exposed patterns (Shin, paras. [0009]-[0015]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious wherein an interval between substrate position measurement devices adjacent to each other in a scanning direction in which the substrate stage is scanned among the substrate position measurement devices is substantially equal to a second interval at which the substrates are arranged in the scanning direction, and wherein an interval between substrate position measurement devices adjacent to each other in a non-scanning direction orthogonal to the scanning direction in which the substrate stage is scanned among the substrate position measurement devices is substantially equal to a third interval at which the substrates are arranged in the non-scanning direction. These limitations in combination with all of the other limitations of the parent claims would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious wherein an interval between first measurement devices adjacent to each other in a scanning direction in which the substrates are scanned among the first measurement devices is substantially equal to a second interval at which the substrates are arranged in the scanning direction, and wherein an interval between first measurement devices adjacent to each other in a non-scanning direction orthogonal to the scanning direction among the first measurement devices is substantially equal to a third interval at which the substrates are arranged in the non-scanning direction. These limitations in combination with all of the other limitations of the parent claims would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten.
Although Lai discloses substrate position measurement devices that measure respective positions of the substrates (Figs. 1-2, paras. [0021], [0024]-[0028], each of the optical modules 107 include a focus sensor, a level sensor, an image sensor. The focus sensors determine the z-position of the substrate, the level sensors determine the deviation of the substrate from a desired plane, and the image sensors detect alignment marks to determine pattern offset), Lai does not describe or render obvious wherein an interval between substrate position measurement devices adjacent to each other in a scanning direction in which the substrate stage is scanned among the substrate position measurement devices is substantially equal to a second interval at which the substrates are arranged in the scanning direction, and wherein an interval between substrate position measurement devices adjacent to each other in a non-scanning direction orthogonal to the scanning direction in which the substrate stage is scanned among the substrate position measurement devices is substantially equal to a third interval at which the substrates are arranged in the non-scanning direction.
Although Ozaki discloses an interval between exposure heads (Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0063], [0070]-[0071], [0073]-[0075], the exposure heads are arranged with m rows and n columns) and discloses substrate measurement devices (Figs. 1-2, 4-12, paras. [0061]-[0062], [0070]-[0071], CCD cameras 124, 126, 128 detect alignment marks to detect positions), Ozaki does not describe or render obvious wherein an interval between substrate position measurement devices adjacent to each other in a scanning direction in which the substrate stage is scanned among the substrate position measurement devices is substantially equal to a second interval at which the substrates are arranged in the scanning direction, and wherein an interval between substrate position measurement devices adjacent to each other in a non-scanning direction orthogonal to the scanning direction in which the substrate stage is scanned among the substrate position measurement devices is substantially equal to a third interval at which the substrates are arranged in the non-scanning direction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8, 10, 12-17, and 28-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882