DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
The claims are identical to those filed 11/05/2021 in parent application 17/520,147 and addressed in the Non-Final Office Action filed 10/05/2022. This action is made FINAL (see Conclusion).
The status of the claims upon entry of the present amendment stands as follows:
Pending claims: 1-6
Currently rejected claims: 1-6
Allowed claims: None
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita et al. (U.S. 2011/0183056 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Morita et al. discloses a process for preparing a steviol glycoside composition comprising the steps of (i) providing Stevia rebaudiana leaves ([0030], [0046]), wherein the leaves comprise RebM ([0022]; Tables 4-6, “VIII”), (ii) providing a solvent comprising water ([0030], [0046]), (iii) contacting the leaves with the solvent to extract the steviol glycosides from the leaves ([0030], [0046]), and (iv) separating the leaves to obtain a Stevia extract solution ([0031], [0046]) comprising RebM (Tables 4-6, “VIII”).
Morita et al. does not explicitly disclose the RebM in the leaves or the extract solution as being at a relative concentration of greater than 1.4%.
However, Morita et al. suggests that selective cross breeding of Stevia varieties may be performed to alter the relative concentrations of steviol glycosides in the plants ([0004]). Such skill is considered to be within the ordinary skill in the art ([0007]). Since Morita et al. indicates RebM is a desirable steviol glycoside ([0029], [0039], [0044]), the production of a Stevia variety wherein the relative concentration of RebM is increased to 1.4% in the leaves is considered obvious to a skilled practitioner. A skilled practitioner would reasonably expect the relative concentrations of steviol glycosides in the extracts to be representative of the relative concentrations in the leaves as well, thus also rendering such a concentration of 1.4% in the extract obvious. Such a conclusion of obviousness is further supported by the teaching in Morita et al. that such a purified glycoside may be used as a sweetener ([0029], [0039], [0044]), thus suggesting the desirability for relatively high concentrations of such components in the leaves and extract.
As for claim 2, Morita et al. discloses further purification of the extract solution and drying to obtain an extract with a total steviol glycoside content of at least 6.9% by weight ([0031], [0046]).
As for claims 3 and 4, the disclosure of Morita et al. regarding providing Stevia rebaudiana leaves in general ([0030], [0046]) renders the use of any particular cultivar of Stevia rebaudiana obvious for extracting steviol glycoside compositions. The use of leaves as is (claim 3) or leaves from a cultivar (claim 4) of the three claimed cultivars (807086, 814011, and 817096) is thus considered obvious.
As for claim 5, the present specification describes “untreated aqueous extract(s)” as being an extract that has not been “subjected to techniques used to purify, isolate or further concentrate a certain steviol glycoside, or a group of steviol glycosides, from the extract” (P3, L15-L18), which is understood as requiring that the relative concentrations of steviol glycosides are not manipulated. In light of the obviousness of cross breeding of Stevia varieties in order to specifically select for those exhibiting a RebM relative concentration of 1.4% as discussed previously in relation to claim 1, the production of such an untreated extract would likewise be obvious to the extent that further manipulation of an extract obtained according to the method of Morita et al. from a cross-bred variety exhibiting RebM relative concentrations above the claimed threshold would be unnecessary to achieve such a relative concentration of RebM in an extract.
Claim 5 is additionally rejected according to the following alternative rationale. Claim 5 is a product-by-process claim. MPEP 2113 I states: “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” For a RebM concentration at its common relative concentration, such an extract would be indistinguishable from a conventionally-produced extract that comprised RebM. Morita et al. discloses a Stevia extract solution ([0031], [0046]) comprising RebM (Tables 4-6, “VIII”), which would be an untreated aqueous Stevia extract wherein the RebM is present at its common relative concentration.
As for claim 6, Morita et al. discloses a food comprising the Stevia extract ([0045]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,202,461. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are merely broader than the claims of the ‘461 patent.
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,856,972. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are merely broader than the claims of the ‘972 patent.
Conclusion
This is a continuation of applicant's earlier Application No. 17/520,147. All claims are identical to, patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with the invention claimed in the earlier application (that is, restriction (including lack of unity) would not be proper) and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY P MORNHINWEG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793