DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chaji et al. (US 2016/0218143 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chaji discloses a method to transfer multiple micro thin film devices, the method comprising:
forming micro thin film devices (1503 and 1504 in Fig. 21) on a cartridge substrate (1501);
forming a housing (2101) for each micro thin film device,
holding the micro thin film devices with an anchor (2102 in Fig. 22);
a side wall of the housing is covered with a first release layer (1502 in Fig. 22); and
transferring the micro thin film devices to a system backplane (1506 in Fig. 25).
Regarding claim 2, Chaji discloses the method of claim 1, as discussed above. Chaji further discloses wherein the micro thin film devices are bonded to a system substrate (1506 in Fig. 25) and separated from the cartridge substrate through a second release layer (1507)
Regarding claim 3, Chaji discloses the method of claim 2, as discussed above. Chaji further discloses wherein the second release layer is mechanical and the bonding is electrical (the second release structure is a mechanical feature and it provides an electrical connection (i.e., bond) between the components).
Regarding claim 5, Chaji discloses the method of claim 1, as discussed above. Chaji further discloses wherein post processing is performed after the transfer (¶ 0126).
Regarding claim 6, Chaji discloses the method of claim 5, as discussed above. Chaji further discloses wherein the post processing is planarization using a planarization layer (“black matrix” in ¶ 0126 which is a planarization layer (¶ 0149).
Regarding claim 7, Chaji discloses the method of claim 6, as discussed above. Chaji further discloses wherein the planarization layer is a polymer (¶ 0149).
Regarding claim 8, Chaji discloses the method of claim 7, as discussed above. Chaji further discloses wherein the planarization layer is black matrix (¶ 0149).
Regarding claim 10, Chaji discloses the method of claim 1, as discussed above. Chaji further discloses wherein there are more than one bank structures (structures of 2701 on either side of the micro thin film devices in Fig. 31) formed on a first electrode (3001) and inside each bank structure a different micro thin film device is formed (see Fig. 31).
Regarding claim 12, Chaji discloses the method of claim 10, as discussed above. Chaji further discloses wherein the first electrode and a second electrode are patterned to provide individual control for each micro thin [film] device.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A CULBERT/ Examiner, Art Unit 2815