DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 5 recites “the prepreg layer is disposed below the shield layer” however Claim 1 recites “the prepreg layer is over the shield layer.” Claim 5 appears to claim a structural composition opposite to Claim 1, therefore it is unclear what the applicant has intended to claim. Claim 5 should be amended to clarify the intentions of the Applicant or Claim 5 should be canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (US 2022/0061169) in view of Watanabe (US 2022/0083160)
Regarding claim 1, Shin teaches A display device comprising: a display module (Figs. 3/7 display module) comprising: a folding display part (Figs. 3/7 folding region FA0); a first non-folding display part (Figs. 3/7 non-folding region FA10); and a second non-folding display part (Figs. 3/7 non-folding region FA20) with the folding display part disposed between the first non-folding display part and the second non-folding display part (Figs. 3/7 show folding region FA0 between non-folding regions FA10 and FA20); a support plate disposed below the display module (Figs. 3/7 support plate PLT), and comprising a plurality of openings that overlap the folding display part (Figs. 3/7 opening OP); and a digitizer module comprising: a first digitizer module overlapping the first non-folding display part (Figs. 3/7 DTM for FA10); and a second digitizer module overlapping the second non-folding display part (Figs. 3/7 DTM for FA20), the first digitizer module and the second digitizer module being disposed below the support plate and spaced apart from each other in an area overlapping the folding display part (Figs. 3/7 show the two digitizers spaced apart by area GP associate with the folding part FA0), wherein the digitizer module comprises: a digitizer layer comprising: a base layer(Fig. 5C base layer BL); a first coil disposed on a top surface of the base layer(Fig. 5C coils 510);; and a second coil disposed on a bottom surface of the base layer(Fig. 5C coils 520);; a shield layer disposed below the digitizer layer, and comprising a magnetic metal powder([0143]).Although the Shin teaches the limitations as discussed above, he does not teach a prepreg layer disposed, below the digitizer layer, over the shield layer.
However in the field of manufacturing a digitizer display panel Watanabe teaches a prepreg layer disposed (Fig. 3 magnetic powder material layer 14), below the digitizer layer (Fig. 3 digitizer layer 1), and over the shield layer (Fig. 3 shield layer 16[0060] teaches the magnetic power material layer 14 can be impregnated with adhesive material).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Shin and the sensing device structure as taught Watanabe. This combination would improve position detection of a device by reducing noise as taught by Watanabe [0012] .
Regarding claim 2, Shin teaches wherein the digitizer module further comprises:a first cover layer covering the first coil and disposed over the base layer ([0168] protective layer PL-D1); and a second cover layer covering the second coil and disposed in a lower portion of the base layer([0168] protective layer PL-D2).
Regarding claim 6, Shin teaches wherein the digitizer module further comprises: a metal sheet disposed below the digitizer layer (Figs. 3/7 metal plate MP); and adhesive layers disposed on at least one of a top and bottom of the shield layer, a top and bottom of the prepreg layer, and a top and bottom of the metal sheet (Figs. 3 /7 show adhesive layer AL9 disposed below the shield layer and on top of the metal plate MP).
Regarding claim 7, Shin teaches the limitations of claim 6 where a metal sheet can be disposed in below the digitizer layer, but does not explicitly teach the metal sheet comprises copper. However Tsuchihasi goes on to teach a metal sheet of a digitizer display device can be comprised of copper ([0041]).
Regarding claim 12, Tsuchihasi teach wherein the prepreg layer comprises glass fibers or carbon fibers ([0036] teaches the plate 18A/18B can be fiber-reinforced resin produced by impregnating reinforced fibers such as carbon fibers in a resin.)
Claims 14, 15, 17, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (US 2022/0061169) in view of Watanabe (US 2022/0083160) and Tsuchihashi (US 2020/0389986)
Regarding claim 12, Shin in view of Watanabe teach the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above but they fail to teach wherein the prepreg layer comprises glass fibers or carbon fibers.
However in the field of manufacturing a digitizer device, Shin teaches wherein the prepreg layer comprises glass fibers or carbon fibers ([0036] teaches the plate 18A/18B can be fiber-reinforced resin produced by impregnating reinforced fibers such as carbon fibers in a resin.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Shin, the sensing device structure as taught Watanabe and the support plate structure as taught Tsuchihashi. This combination would provide a smooth bending operation of a display as taught by Tsuchihashi [0003}.
Regarding claim 14, Shin teaches A display device comprising:
a display module (Fig. 3 display module);
a support plate disposed below the display module (Fig. 3 support plate PLT) ; and
a digitizer module disposed below the support plate (Fig. 3 digitize DTM-1/DTM-2),
wherein the digitizer module further comprises:
a digitizer layer comprising a base layer (Fig. 5C base layer BL);
a first coil disposed on a top surface of the base layer (Fig. 5C coils 510); and
a second coil disposed on a bottom surface of the base layer (Fig. 5C coils 520);
a shield layer disposed below the digitizer layer, and comprising a magnetic metal powder ([0143]). Although the Shin teaches the limitations as discussed above, he does not teach a prepreg layer disposed, below the digitizer layer, over or below the shield layer.
However in the field of manufacturing a digitizer display panel Watanabe teaches a prepreg layer disposed (Fig. 3 magnetic powder material layer 14), below the digitizer layer (Fig. 3 digitizer layer 1), and over the shield layer (Fig. 3 shield layer 16[0060] teaches the magnetic power material layer 14 can be impregnated with adhesive material).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Shin and the sensing device structure as taught Watanabe. This combination would improve position detection of a device by reducing noise as taught by Watanabe [0012] .Although the combination teaches the limitations as discussed above they fail to teach a prepreg layer comprising glass fibers or carbon fibers.
However in the field of manufacturing a digitizer display panel Tsuchihashi teaches a prepreg layer comprising glass fibers or carbon fibers ([0036] and Fig. 3 show support plate 18A and 18 B disposed below digitizer panel 21[0021] and shield layer 31 which is a part of layer 20 [0049]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Shin and the support plate structure as taught Tsuchihashi. This combination would provide a smooth bending operation of a display as taught by Tsuchihashi [0003}.
Regarding claim 15, Shin teaches wherein the digitizer module further comprises:
a first cover layer covering the first coil and disposed over the base layer ([0168] protective layer PL-D1); and
a second cover layer covering the second coil and disposed in a lower portion of the base layer([0168] protective layer PL-D2).
Regarding claim 17, Shin teaches wherein the shield layer is disposed below the second cover layer (With refence to Fig. 3B shield layer EMS is below the digitizer module DTM), and Tsuchihashi teaches a prepreg layer is disposed below the shield layer fibers ([0036] and Fig. 3 show support plate 18A and 18 B disposed below shield layer 31 which is a part of layer 20 [0049]).
Regarding claim 21, Shin teaches a power supply module; and
electronic module ([0079]).
Regarding claim 22, Shin teaches wherein the display device is a mobile phone, a tablet computer, a vehicle navigation system, a game device, or a wearable device (Fig. 1A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 8-11, 13, 18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDRE L MATTHEWS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621