DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-4, 6 and 7 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Initially, it is noted that Applicant’s amendments have overcome one of the double patenting rejections and the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/24/2026, with respect to the prior art rejections, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that it would not have been obvious to modify Oguni by substituting Yan’s polyester. Applicant contends that Yan teaches away from the use of external reinforcing fillers and that the proposed modification would incorporate a large amount of reinforcing fibers into Yan’s fiber-free self-reinforced blend. Applicant contends that Yan teaches away from this modification.
However, the Examiner disagrees and notes that Oguni’s composition is being modified by Yan rather than incorporating Oguni’s fibers into Yan’s fiber-free system. In fact, one would consider modifying Oguni’s composition by incorporating Yan’s polyester to potentially allow for a lower loading of cellulose fibers in Oguni’s system. Further, Yan does not teach that the polyester elastomer can’t be combined with an additional reinforcing material. Therefore, the Examiner maintains it would have been obvious to incorporate Yan’s polyester into Oguni’s composition to both allow for a lower loading of cellulose and improved toughness based on the polyester providing further reinforcement.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1-3 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5 and 6 of copending Application No. 18/544541 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 5 and 6 of Application No. 18/544541 anticipate claims 1-3 and 6.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1-3, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oguni (JP 2008150492, reference is made to the previously provided English translation) in view of Yan et al. (CN 114015214, reference is made to the previously provided English translation).
Regarding claims 1-3, 6 and 7, Oguni teaches a molding material (abstract) comprising: polylactic acid (abstract, a highly polar polyester) and cellulose fibers (abstract) with a length of 10 microns-100 mm (see (B) Cellulose fiber section, and note that this overlaps with Applicant’s claimed range and overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness). Oguni also teaches that the polylactic acid component can be present in an amount less than the total content of cellulose fibers (abstract, and note that overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness). Oguni fails to teach the inclusion of a polyester-based elastomer in an amount as claimed with respect to the polylactic acid.
However, Yan teaches providing a blend of polylactic acid and an elastomeric polyester (abstract), wherein the elastomeric polyester is derived from butylene glycol (an alkylene diol having an alkylene group with four carbon atoms, see abstract) and succinic acid (an alkyl dicarboxylic acid with an alkylene group with two carbon atoms, see abstract). Yan teaches the elastomeric polyester present in an amount with respect to the polylactic acid (the highly polar polyester) in a range overlapping the range claimed in claims 1 and 2 (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oguni’s material by substituting a blend of polylactic acid and an elastomeric polyester for Oguni’s single polylactic acid. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Yan teaches that the incorporation of the polyester into polylactic acid has a good toughening effect (abstract).
3. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oguni in view of Yan as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Zhao et al. (“Modulating the Mechanical Properties of Poly(diol citrates) via the Incorporation of a Second Type of Crosslink Network”).
Regarding claim 4, Oguni in view of Yan make obvious claim 3 (see above), but fail to teach the polyester-based elastomer derived from an additional monomer as claimed. However, Zhao teaches incorporating glycerol 1,3-diglycerolate diacrylate (an acrylate ester) into a polyester derived from a diol and a carboxylic acid (see abstract and Figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oguni in view of Yan’s material by deriving the elastomeric polyester from a monomer mixture including an acrylate ester as disclosed by Zhao. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Zhao teaches that the incorporation of the unsaturated monomer provides improved mechanical properties in the crosslinked elastomeric network (abstract).
Conclusion
Claims 1-4, 6 and 7 are pending.
Claims 1-4, 6 and 7 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
September 7, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717