DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-7) in the reply filed on 7/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Newly submitted claims 16-22 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: The new claims directed towards a receptacle insert and its details. They are related to the elected claims as subcombinations usable together.
The subcombinations are distinct if they do not overlap in scope and are not obvious variants, and if it is shown that at least one subcombination is separately usable. In the instant case, original subcombination has separate utility such as use in a fixed connector housing without an insert. See MPEP § 806.05(d).
The examiner has required restriction between subcombinations usable together. Where applicant elects a subcombination and claims thereto are subsequently found allowable, any claim(s) depending from or otherwise requiring all the limitations of the allowable subcombination will be examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. See MPEP § 821.04(a). Applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 16-22 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 line 10, it appears that “the outer edge” should be --the inner edge--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marks et al. (US 4,736,999).
Regarding claim 1, Marks discloses an electrical connector comprising: a receptacle housing (12) comprising: a substantially-circular outer edge (outside edge of 28); a first protrusion (36) positioned on the outer edge and extending radially outward; and a first recess (34) positioned on the outer edge and extending radially inward; a plug housing (10) comprising: a substantially-circular inner edge (inside edge 14); a second protrusion (42) positioned on the inner edge and extending radially inward, the second protrusion shaped to interface with the first recess; and a second recess (40) positioned on the outer edge and extending radially outward, the second recess shaped to receive the first protrusion, wherein: the receptacle housing and the plug housing are configured to rotate relative to each other between an unlocked orientation and a locked orientation, in the unlocked orientation, the outer edge of the receptacle housing abuts the inner edge of the plug housing (upon approach), and in the locked orientation, the first protrusion interfaces with the second recess to restrict rotational movement of the plug housing relative to the receptacle housing and the second protrusion interfaces with the first recess to restrict lateral movement of the receptacle housing relative to the plug housing (intended use).
Regarding claim 2, Marks discloses the first recess (34) comprising a first portion and a second portion, the second protrusion (42) positioned in the first portion of the first recess in the unlocked orientation and in the second portion of the first recess in the locked position, and the second portion of the first recess is shaped for a snug fit with the second protrusion.
Regarding claim 3, Marks discloses the second protrusion (42) comprises a curved leading edge configured to interface with slanted walls defining an opening to the first recess (34) in order to guide the second protrusion into the first portion of the first recess in the unlocked orientation (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Marks discloses a receptacle contact (not shown) positioned within the receptacle housing; and a plug contact (16-18) positioned within the plug housing, wherein the receptacle contact and plug contact are configured to form an electrical connection when the receptacle housing is inserted into the plug housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marks in view of Petterson et al. (US 5,653,612).
Regarding claim 7, Petterson discloses the receptacle contact is configured to couple to the receptacle housing via a snap-fit (40) and to secure one or more live contacts to the receptacle contact due to pressure from the snap-fit (intended use). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a snap fit coupling, as taught by Petterson, in order to provide a fast and reliable connection to the housing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831