DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I in the reply filed on 5/06/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 3-4, 6, 10 and 14-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected embodiment, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/06/2026.
Claim 5 requires “the guide portion is configured where it radially encompasses the seal in some portions in the axial direction.” [0054] indicates that “FIG. 2a shows a master piston 1, the guide portion 42 thereof differing from the guide portion 10 of FIG. 1. The guide portion 42 in this case encompasses the seal 6 in some portions in a radial direction and also in an axial direction.” The limitations of claim 5 appear to be directed at the non-elected embodiment of figures 2a-2b. claim 5 is therefore also withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected embodiment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buynacek (US# 2001/0032463).
Buynacek discloses all the limitations of the instant claim including; a master piston 62 for a hydraulic vehicle brake configured to be arranged in a master cylinder of the hydraulic vehicle brake to be movable in a reciprocal manner along a master piston longitudinal axis, the master piston comprising: a piston element 62 with at least one seal 66; wherein the seal is injection molded onto the piston element [0027][0029]; wherein the master piston has at least one guide portion 70 configured for guiding the master piston in the master cylinder; wherein the at least one guide portion is elastically deformable at least in some portions in a radial direction to the master piston longitudinal axis; wherein the at least one guide portion is formed at least partially from a different material (elastomer [0029]) from the piston element (plastics [0028] or metal [0030]); and wherein the piston element, the at least one seal 66 and the at least one guide portion 70 are produced together by a multi-component injection molding method. [0029]
Regarding claim 2, the piston element has at least one circumferential groove 72 which is open radially outwards and the seal 66 bears on three sides against the groove.
Regarding claim 7, at least one further seal is injection molded onto the piston element. Note the seal formed at the end of the guide portion 70.
Regarding claim 8, the master piston has at least one further guide portion which is arranged spaced apart from the first guide portion in the axial direction.
Regarding claim 9, the respective guide portion or at least one of the guide portions has two segments, wherein one respective segment is arranged on one respective axial side of a seal or the seal.
Regarding claim 11, Buynacek discloses hydraulic vehicle brake having the master piston as claimed in claim 1. [0002]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watarai et al (US# 2014/0174237) in view of Buynacek (US# 2001/0032463).
Watarai et al disclose a master piston 31 for a hydraulic vehicle brake configured to be arranged in a master cylinder of the hydraulic vehicle brake to be movable in a reciprocal manner along a master piston longitudinal axis, the master piston comprising: a piston element 31 with at least one seal 31a; wherein the master piston has at least one guide portion 31b configured for guiding the master piston in the master cylinder; wherein the at least one guide portion is elastically deformable at least in some portions in a radial direction to the master piston longitudinal axis. The differing cross-hatch of the figures implies that the seals and the piston are of different materials. Additionally, Buynacek teaches a piston and seals of differing material (elastomer [0029] for seals and the piston element of plastics [0029] or metal [0030]) wherein the seal is injection molded onto the piston element [0027][0029]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the piston of Watarai et al of metal or plastic and mold seals of elastomer material to the piston, as taught by Watarai et al to form the piston of suitable strength and weight for the piston and provide appropriate sealing capabilities for the seals, with the molding process securing the seals where the seals are not stretched or in any way forced onto the piston, thus improving their mechanical integrity. [0027]
Regarding claim 2, the piston element has at least one circumferential groove which is open radially outwards and the seal 31a bears on three sides against the groove.
Regarding claim 8, the master piston has at least one further guide portion which is arranged spaced apart from the first guide portion in the axial direction.
Regarding claim 9, the respective guide portion or at least one of the guide portions has two segments, wherein one respective segment is arranged on one respective axial side of a seal or the seal.
Regarding claim 11, Watarai et al disclose hydraulic vehicle brake (Figure 1) having the master piston as claimed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the hydraulic vehicle brake is configured for a vehicle with handlebars 13.
Regarding claim 13, the vehicle with handlebars is a bicycle. [0003]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK