DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
1. Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received on 9/3/2026. Claims 1-6 are pending in this application. Claim 6 is withdrawn.
Claims 1-5 are examined in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bothe et al. (US 2020/0395475) in view of Nakata et al. (US 2017/0263743).
Re claim 1, Bothe teaches, under BRI, Fig. 3, [0086, 0087, 0091-0093], a semiconductor device comprising:
-a substrate (322) having a first surface (lower surface of 322) and a second surface (upper surface of 322) opposite to the first surface;
-a first nitride semiconductor layer (324, e.g., Group II-nitride) having a third surface (lower surface) that is in contact with the second surface and a fourth surface (upper surface) opposite to the third surface;
-a second nitride semiconductor layer (326, e.g., Group III-nitride); and
-a first metal layer (315’) provided on the second nitride semiconductor layer (326),
wherein a through-hole (via 325’) is formed in the substrate (322), the first nitride semiconductor layer (324), and the second nitride semiconductor layer (326), the through-hole (325’) penetrating the substrate (322), the first nitride semiconductor layer (324), and the second nitride semiconductor layer (326) and exposing the first metal layer (315’), and
wherein the semiconductor device further comprises a second metal layer (back metal layer 335) that is in contact with the first metal layer (315’) and that covers the first surface (lower surface of 322) and an inner wall surface of the through-hole (325’).
Bothe further teaches, Fig. 5, [0131], well regions (510), doped with higher concentration of n-type dopant, beneath source/drain contacts (305, 315), but does not explicitly teach a recess being formed in the fourth surface; and a second nitride semiconductor layer provided in the recess, wherein the second nitride semiconductor layer contains impurity atoms at a concentration of 1.0 × 1018 cm-3 or greater.
Nakata teaches, under BRI, Fig. 6B-7, [0036], a recess (102) being formed in the fourth surface (of layer 14); and a second nitride semiconductor layer (GaN 108) provided in the recess (102), wherein the second nitride semiconductor layer (108) contains impurity atoms at a concentration of 1.0 × 1018 cm-3 or greater (e.g., 1.0 × 1019 cm-3).
As taught by Nakata, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Bothe’s GaN-based HEMT structure to obtain a recess being formed in the fourth surface; and a second nitride semiconductor layer provided in the recess, wherein the second nitride semiconductor layer contains impurity atoms at a concentration of 1.0 × 1018 cm-3 or greater as claimed, because it aids in achieving transistor(s) with enhanced high frequency performance, increased cut-off frequency & reduced access resistance. Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Alter, 105 USPQ 233.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Nakata in combination Bothe due to above reason.
Additionally, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well-known manufacturing constraints and ascertainable by routine experimentation and optimization to choose particular concentration, because applicant has not disclosed that, in view of the applied prior art, the concentration is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. For that matter, applicant has not disclosed that the concentration is for any purpose or produce any result. Moreover, it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another concentration. Indeed, it has been held that mere concentration limitation(s) is prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to try the particular claimed concentration, because a change in concentration would have been a known option within the technical grasp of a person of ordinary skill in the art and, "a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007). See also, Pfizer Inc. v. Apotex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1852 (Fed. Cir. 2007).
Re claim 2, in combination cited above, Bothe teaches wherein the second nitride semiconductor (326) is a gallium nitride layer [0089] (see also Nakata, [0036]).
Re claim 3, in combination cited above, Bothe teaches, Fig. 3, [0092, 0129], wherein the first metal layer (315’) includes a nickel layer (e.g., Ni) that is in contact with the second nitride semiconductor layer and is exposed in the through-hole, and wherein the second metal layer (335) includes a gold layer (e.g., gold) that is in contact with the nickel layer.
Re claim 4, in combination cited above, Bothe/Nakata does not explicitly teach wherein a Fermi level is higher than energy at a lower end of a conduction band in the second semiconductor layer.
Nakata does teach the second semiconductor layer (108) the second nitride semiconductor layer (26a) contains impurity concentration of around 1.0 × 1019 cm-3 [0036] (similar to second nitride semiconductor layer 21S with n-type impurity) of the application).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ/modify the teaching as taught by Nakata to achieve a Fermi level is higher than energy at a lower end of a conduction band in the second semiconductor layer as claimed, because, based on similar teaching, it aids in achieving desired properties of the formed semiconductor layer and improving the performance of the formed transistor(s).
Re claim 5, in combination cited above, Nakata teaches, [0022, 0036], wherein a carrier density (e.g. carrier (electron) concentration) in the second nitride semiconductor layer (108) is higher (e.g., based on impurity concentration in 108) than a carrier density in the first nitride semiconductor layer (14).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of copending Application No. 19/316,2800 (reference application), claims 1 & 4-6 of copending Application No. 19/325,881 (reference application) & claims 1 & 6-8 of copending Application No. 19/459,519 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both require and claim similar semiconductor device including a substrate, a first nitride semiconductor having recess, a second nitride semiconductor layer containing impurity atoms at a concentration of 1.0 × 1018 cm-3 or greater in the recess, first/second metal layers, a through-hole (vs. opening) &, gallium nitride & Fermi level, etc.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Current application 18/545,249
1. A semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface;
a first nitride semiconductor layer having a third surface that is in contact with the second surface and a fourth surface opposite to the third surface, a recess being formed in the fourth surface;
a second nitride semiconductor layer provided in the recess; and
a first metal layer provided on the second nitride semiconductor layer,
wherein a through-hole is formed in the substrate, the first nitride semiconductor layer, and the second nitride semiconductor layer, the through-hole penetrating the substrate, the first nitride semiconductor layer, and the second nitride semiconductor layer and exposing the first metal layer, and wherein the semiconductor device further comprises a second metal layer that is in contact with the first metal layer and that covers the first surface and an inner wall surface of the through-hole, and
wherein the second nitride semiconductor layer contains impurity atoms at a concentration of 1.0 × 1018 cm-3 or greater.
2. The semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the second nitride semiconductor layer is a gallium nitride layer.
4. The semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein a Fermi level is higher than energy at a lower end of a conduction band in the second nitride semiconductor layer.
5. The semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, wherein a carrier density in the second nitride semiconductor layer is higher than a carrier density in the first nitride semiconductor layer.
Copending application 19/316,280
1. A semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface;
a first nitride semiconductor layer having a third surface in contact with the second surface, and a fourth surface opposite to the third surface, the first nitride semiconductor layer having a recess formed in the fourth surface;
a second nitride semiconductor layer provided in the recess; and
a first metal layer,
wherein an opening is formed in the substrate and the first nitride semiconductor layer, the opening penetrating the substrate and the first nitride semiconductor layer, reaching the second nitride semiconductor layer, and having a bottom surface in the second nitride semiconductor layer, the first metal layer covers the first surface and an inner wall surface of the opening, and is in contact with the second nitride semiconductor layer at the bottom surface of the opening, and
the second nitride semiconductor layer contains impurity atoms at a concentration of 1.0 x 1018 cm-3 or higher.
3. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the second nitride semiconductor layer is
a gallium nitride layer.
4. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a Fermi level is higher than energy at a
bottom of a conduction band in the second nitride semiconductor layer.
5. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a carrier density of the second nitride semiconductor layer is higher than a carrier density of the first nitride semiconductor layer.
Copending application 19/325,881
1. A semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate having a first surface, and a second surface opposite to the first surface;
a first nitride semiconductor layer having a third surface in contact with the second surface, and a fourth surface opposite to the third surface, the fourth surface having a recess;
a second nitride semiconductor layer provided inside the recess;
a first metal layer provided on the second nitride semiconductor layer;
a through hole penetrating the substrate, the first nitride semiconductor layer, and the second nitride semiconductor layer, and reaching the first metal layer; and
a second metal layer in contact with the first metal layer and covering the first surface and an inner wall surface of the through hole,
wherein: the first metal layer includes cobalt, and
the second nitride semiconductor layer includes impurity atoms at a concentration of 1.0 x 1018 cm-3 or higher.
Copending application 19/459,519
1. A semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface;
a first nitride semiconductor layer having a third surface in contact with the second surface, and a fourth surface opposite to the third surface, the first nitride semiconductor layer having a recess formed in the fourth surface;
a second nitride semiconductor layer disposed in the recess;
a first metal layer disposed on the second nitride semiconductor layer; and
a third metal layer,
wherein the first metal layer includes a second metal layer containing a platinum group metal,
a through-hole is formed in the substrate, the first nitride semiconductor layer, and the second nitride semiconductor layer, and the through-hole penetrates the substrate, the first nitride semiconductor layer, and the second nitride semiconductor layer, and reaches the second metal layer,
the third metal layer is in contact with the second metal layer and is configured to cover the first surface and an inner wall surface of the through-hole, and
the second nitride semiconductor layer contains impurity atoms at a concentration of 1.0 x 1018 cm-3 or higher.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed 9/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits “Accordingly, the noted features of claim 1, namely “wherein a through-hole is formed in substrate…wherein the second nitride semiconductor…or greater”, is a distinction over the combination of Bothe and Nakata.
The examine respectfully disagrees.
In Fig. 3, Bothe teaches wherein a through-hole (via 325’) is formed in the substrate (322), the first nitride semiconductor layer (324), and the second nitride semiconductor layer (326), the through-hole (325’) penetrating the substrate (322), the first nitride semiconductor layer (324), and the second nitride semiconductor layer (326) and exposing the first metal layer (315’).
In Figs. 5B, 6B & 7, Nakata teaches, [0036], a recess (102) being formed in the fourth surface (of layer 14); and a second nitride semiconductor layer (GaN 108) provided in the recess (102), wherein the second nitride semiconductor layer (108) contains impurity atoms at a concentration of 1.0 × 1018 cm-3 or greater (e.g., the grown GaN layer 108 has an impurity concentration of around 1.0 × 1019 cm-3). Fig. 7 of Nakata shows that GaN 108 is below source/drain electrodes (31, 32). Nakata applied in the Office Action, as a 2nd reference, to address the missing features such as recess & concentration, not whole claimed features. And recognized that both Bothe and Nakata teach the same field of GaN based HEMT device, hence, one of ordinary skill in the art would seek to combine the teachings of Bothe & Nakata to arrive the claimed invention. Accordingly, the noted feature of claim 1 is not a distinction over the combination of Bothe and Nakata.
The rejection of claims under Double Patenting is also maintained. Additional copending applications 19/325,881 & 19/459,519 are included in the rejection.
Clarification and additional details included in the above rejection.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ring et al. (US 2006/0065910, Figs. 8-11) discloses an integrated circuit on SiC substrate having a through-via filled with noble metal.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 9/15/26