DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action for US Application 18/545,303 for a Structure System for Installation Into a Fuselage Structure.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 2 December 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 6 and 7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2 December 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 8-10, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first carrier element" in lines 6, 8, and 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The antecedent basis is for “at least one first carrier element”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the second carrier element" in lines 10 and 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The antecedent basis is for “at least one second carrier element”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the second coupling device" in lines 1 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The antecedent basis is for “at least one second coupling device”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the second coupling device" in lines 1 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The antecedent basis is for “at least one second coupling device”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the first coupling device" in lines 1 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The antecedent basis is for “at least one first coupling device”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the second coupling device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The antecedent basis is for “at least one second coupling device”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the second coupling device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The antecedent basis is for “at least one second coupling device”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0188417 to Maurel et al. in view of US 2019/0127038 to Benthien et al. Regarding claim 1, Maurel et al. discloses a structure system for installation into a fuselage structure in an interior of an aircraft (see paragraphs 10 and 11). The structure system comprises at least one first carrier element (see figure 8… 25 and the top) and at least one second carrier element (see figure 8… 25 at the bottom). There is at least one elongate frame element (7) having a first end and a second end, and at least one attachment device for attaching the at least one carrier element to the fuselage structure or to an element coupled with the fuselage structure (see paragraph 0062, lines 1-4… the carrier elements 25 are rigidly connected to the floor 4).
There is at least one coupling device (a pin) mounted to the first end for coupling the at least one first carrier element to the at least one elongate frame element (see the last 6 lines of paragraph 0062… a pin extends through apertures in the carrier element 25 and the end part 24 of the elongate frame element 7). The at least one elongate frame element is configured for holding at least one component to be installed in the interior (via 15… see figure 8), and the at least one first carrier element is configured for coupling with the at least one first coupling device (see figure 8 and the last 6 lines of paragraph 0062… the pin extends through an aperture in first carrier element 25).
Maurel et al. discloses at least one second coupling device (see figure 8… via 25 and 22… paragraph 0060) mounted to the second end for coupling the at least one second carrier element to the at least one elongate frame element, wherein the at least one second carrier element is configured for coupling with the at least one second coupling device. However, Maurel et al. does not disclose one of the at least one first coupling device and the at least one second coupling device as configured to snap into the respective carrier element, to be moved relative the respective end of the at least one elongate frame element, and to be arrested in a desired position relative thereto.
Benthien et al. discloses a structure system for installation into a fuselage structure in an interior of an aircraft (see paragraphs 0005-0008). The structure system comprises at least one first carrier element (see figures 6c and 9a… 201 above 11 connecting to 102) and at least one second carrier element (see figures 6C and 9… 201 below 11 connecting to 101). Benthien et al. also discloses at least one elongate frame element (see figures 2a and 9a… 10) having a first end and a second end.
There is at least one second coupling device (see figure 3d… 11 and 101) mounted to the second end for coupling the at least one second carrier element and the at least one elongate frame element, wherein the at least one second carrier element is configured for coupling with the at least one second coupling device (see figures 2a and 2b… 11/110 is threadedly received in 12/120 and the end of 11 at 101 is configured to connect with 2nd carrier element 201).
The at least one second coupling device (11 and 101) is configured to snap into the at least one second carrier element (201… see figure 3d and paragraphs 0082 and 0083) to be moved relative to the respective end of the at least one elongate frame element and to be arrested in a desired relative position thereto (the second coupling device is moved relative to the elongate frame member as 11 is rotated and thread 110 threadedly engage the threads 120 of 12… the threads arrest 11 and 12 from separating unless rotated), thereby adjusting the length of the elongate frame member (10).
Because both Maurel et al. and Benthien et al. disclose structure systems for installation into a fuselage structure that have an elongate frame member, and first and second carrier elements coupled with first and second coupling device, respectively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, to substitute one second coupling device and second carrier device for the other, to achieve the predictable result of a second coupling device configured to snap into the second carrier element to be moved relative to the elongate frame member and to be arrested in a desired position relative thereto. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide an elongate frame member that can be longitudinally adjusted depending on the size of the mounting space.
Regarding claim 2, Benthien et al. discloses the second coupling device (11 and 101) as comprising an elongate compensation element (11) having an outer end, which protrudes away from the at least one elongate frame element (the end of 11 at 101). There is an inner end (the end of 11 opposite 101) and the elongate compensation element is slidably supported in the respective frame element to move the outer end into a variable distance from the second end (see figures 2a-2d… by rotating element 11 relative to 12, 11 threadedly slides relative to the frame element in the same way disclosed by Applicant). There is a first snap connector (101) arranged on the outer end that is complementary shaped to a second snap connector (210, 213 of element 201) arranged in the second carrier element (see figure 3d).
Regarding claim 3, Benthien et al. discloses one of the first snap connector and the second snap connector as configured to receive the other one of the first snap connector and the second snap connector in a first relative rotational position, and hold it in at least one second relative rotational position that is distinct rom the first relative rotational position (see paragraphs 0076-0078).
Regarding claim 4, Benthien et al. discloses the second coupling device as comprising an arresting element (113) configured for arresting the elongate compensation element relative to the second end (see figures 2a-2d… threads 113 engaging threads 123 prevent movement between 11 and 12). Regarding claim 5, the arresting element (113) is integrated into the elongate compensation element.
Regarding claim 8, Benthien et al. discloses a plurality of consecutive frame elements (see figure 11) connectable through at least one profile component (205) that extends along a plurality of first ends or a plurality of second ends.
Regarding claim 10, Maurel et al. disclose the at least one first coupling device (the pin) as comprising a fastening element configured to stick through the at least one frame element and the respective coupling device (see the last 6 lines of paragraph 0062… a pin extends through apertures in the carrier element 25 and the end part 24 of the elongate frame element 7).
Regarding claim 11, Maurel et al. discloses method for mounting structural and equipment components to a fuselage structure in an interior of an aircraft (see paragraphs 10 and 11). The method comprises the steps of: providing at least one elongate frame element (7) having a first end and a second end; attaching at least one component on the at least one frame element (via 15… see figure 8); moving the at least one frame element into the fuselage structure (see paragraphs 10 and 11); coupling at least one first coupling device (a pin) mounted to the first end to a first carrier element (25… see the last 6 lines of paragraph 0062… a pin extends through apertures in the carrier element 25 and the end part 24 of the elongate frame element 7) attached to the fuselage structure through at least one first attachment device (see paragraph 0062, lines 1-4… the carrier elements 25 are rigidly connected to the floor 4); and coupling, and at least one attachment device for attaching the at least one carrier element to the fuselage structure or to an element coupled with the fuselage structure (see paragraph 0062, lines 1-4… the carrier elements 25 are rigidly connected to the floor 4).
Maurel et al. discloses a method of coupling a second coupling device (see figure 8… via 25 and 22… paragraph 0060) mounted to the second end to a second carrier element attached to the fuselage structure. However, Maurel et al. does not disclose the coupling of one of the at least one first coupling device and the at least one second coupling device as including a snapping into the respective carrier element, to be moved relative the respective end of the at least one elongate frame element, and to be arrested in a desired position relative thereto.
Benthien et al. discloses a structure system for installation into a fuselage structure in an interior of an aircraft (see paragraphs 0005-0008). The structure system comprises at least one first carrier element (see figures 6c and 9a… 201 above 11 connecting to 102) and at least one second carrier element (see figures 6C and 9… 201 below 11 connecting to 101). Benthien et al. also discloses at least one elongate frame element (see figures 2a and 9a… 10) having a first end and a second end.
There is at least one second coupling device (see figure 3d… 11 and 101) mounted to the second end for coupling the at least one second carrier element and the at least one elongate frame element, wherein the at least one second carrier element is configured for coupling with the at least one second coupling device (see figures 2a and 2b… 11/110 is threadedly received in 12/120 and the end of 11 at 101 is configured to connect with 2nd carrier element 201).
The at least one second coupling device (11 and 101) is configured to snap into the at least one second carrier element (201… see figure 3d and paragraphs 0082 and 0083) to be moved relative to the respective end of the at least one elongate frame element and to be arrested in a desired relative position thereto (the second coupling device is moved relative to the elongate frame member as 11 is rotated and thread 110 threadedly engage the threads 120 of 12… the threads arrest 11 and 12 from separating unless rotated), thereby adjusting the length of the elongate frame member (10).
Because both Maurel et al. and Benthien et al. disclose structure systems for installation into a fuselage structure that have an elongate frame member, and first and second carrier elements coupled with first and second coupling device, respectively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, to substitute one second coupling device and second carrier device for the other, to achieve the predictable result of a second coupling device configured to snap into the second carrier element to be moved relative to the elongate frame member and to be arrested in a desired position relative thereto. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide an elongate frame member that can be longitudinally adjusted depending on the size of the mounting space.
Regarding claim 12, Benthien et al. further discloses the method as comprising: sliding an elongate compensation element (11) at the second coupling device, the elongate compensation element having an outer end (end of 11 at 101) protruding away from the respective frame element and an inner end (end of 11 opposite 101), to move the outer end into a distance away from the second end, such that a first snap connector (101) arranged on the outer end reaches a complementary shaped second snap connector (210, 213 of 201) arranged in the at least one second carrier element (201), and snapping the first snap connector into the second snap connector (see paragraphs 0086-0088).
Regarding claim 13, Maurel et al. discloses a vehicle (see paragraph 0010… an aircraft) comprising a fuselage structure (see paragraph 0010), at least one component (14… see figure 8), and the structure system according to claim 1 for attaching the at least one component to the fuselage structure (see the rejection of claim 1 above). Regarding claim 14, Maurel et al. discloses the at least one component comprises a duct (see paragraph 0050). Regarding claim 15, Maurel et al. discloses the vehicle is an aircraft (see paragraph 0010), and the structure system is configured to arrange the at least one component in a triangle region of the aircraft.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0188417 to Maurel et al. in view of US 2019/0127038 to Benthien et al., and in further view of US 2008/0277527 to Fokken et al. Maurel et al. in view of Benthien et al. does not disclose the first attachment device as configured to be connected or integrated into a cabin seat rail at a bottom side, such that the at least one elongate frame element is placeable underneath and is couplable with the seat rail.
Fokken et al. provides a teaching for attaching interior equipment components under a cabin floor via a seat rail (see paragraph 0035). Because Maurel et al., Benthien et al., and Fokken et al. disclose attaching interior equipment components to an aircraft floor, it would have been obvious to one of obvious skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have connected the interior equipment component of Maurel et al. in view of Benthien et al. to the attachment rail of the floor as taught by Fokken et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to strengthen the connection between the interior component and floor by using the seat rail.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2018/0009520 to Metten
US 2014/0291447 to Goehlich
US 2019/0193871 to Benthien
US 2023/0105251 to Hegenbart
US 9517829 to Fink
US 12371164 to Benthien
EP 1803645 to Saint-Jalmes
WO 2008022752 to Koefinger
STEVEN M. MARSH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/STEVEN M MARSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632