DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
1. Applicant's amendment of claims 1 and 2 in “Claims - 05/13/2026” with “Amendment/Req. Reconsideration-After Non-Final Reject - 05/13/2026”, have been acknowledged by Examiner.
This office action considers claims 1-15 pending for prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (100; Fig 3A; [0063]) = (element 100; Figure No. 3A; Paragraph No. [0063]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
2. Claims 1-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 20240222267 A1; hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a memory device (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1; [0003+], and as cited below), comprising:
a first stack structure ({132, 134}; Fig. 5; [0047]) including conductive layers ({134}; Fig. 5; [0047]) stacked along a first direction, the first stack structure ({132, 134}; Fig. 5; [0047]) having a stepped structure defined by end portions of the conductive layers ({134}; Fig. 5; [0047]);
contact plugs ({170}; Fig. 5; [0052, 0065-0068]) respectively connected to the conductive layers ({134}; Fig. 5; [0047]), the contact plugs ({580: 575a, 560a}; Fig. 7E; [0115-0122, 0131-0134, 0145]) extending along the first direction, the contact plugs ({170}; Fig. 5; [0052, 0065-0068]) extending to the inside of the first stack structure ({132, 134}; Fig. 5; [0047]); and
dummy layers ({150D, 152D}; Figs. 5-6; [0052, 0056-0057, 0068]) interposed between the contact plugs ({170}; Fig. 5; [0052, 0065-0068]) and disposed over end portions of the conductive layers ({134}; Fig. 5; [0047]).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Lee further teaches wherein the dummy layers ({150D, 152D}; Figs. 5-6; [0052, 0056-0057, 0068]) are located over the stepped structure of the first stack structure ({132, 134}; Fig. 5; [0047]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Lee further comprising first spacers ({152D}; Figs. 5-6; [0052, 0056-0057, 0068])alternately stacked with the dummy layers ({150D, 152D}; Figs. 5-6; [0052, 0056-0057, 0068]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches all of the features of claim 3.
Lee further teaches wherein the dummy layers ({150D}; Figs. 5-6; [0052, 0056-0057, 0068]) and the first spacers ({152D}; Figs. 5-6; [0052, 0056-0057, 0068]) extend along the end portions of the conductive layers ({134}; Figs. 5-6; [0052, 0056-0057, 0068]), respectively.
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches all of the features of claim 3.
Lee further teaches wherein the dummy layers ({150D}; Figs. 5-6; [0052, 0056-0057, 0068]) and the first spacers ({152D}; Figs. 5-6; [0052, 0056-0057, 0068]) constitute a second stack structure (see Figs. 5-6; [0052, 0056-0057, 0068) overlapping the stepped structure of the first stack structure ({132, 134}; Fig. 5; [0047]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Lee further teaches wherein at least one dummy layer ({150D}; Figs. 5-6; [0052, 0056-0057, 0068]) among the dummy layers ({150D}; Figs. 5-6; [0052, 0056-0057, 0068]) has a stepped shape corresponding to the stepped structure (see Figs. 5-6; [0052, 0056-0057, 0068]).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Lee further teaches wherein the first stack ({132, 134}; Fig. 5; [0047]) further includes interlayer insulating layers ({132}; Fig. 5; [0047])stacked between the conductive layers ({134}; Fig. 5; [0047]).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Lee further teaches wherein the contact plugs ({170}; see Figs. 5-6; [0052, 0065-0068])) are spaced apart from the conductive layers ({134}; see Figs. 5-6; [0047]), respectively.
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Lee further comprising second spacers ({172}; see Fig. 6; [0067-0068]) between the contact plugs ({170}; Fig. 5; [0052, 0065-0068]) and the conductive layers ({134}; see Figs. 5-6; [0047]).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Lee further comprising connection structures ({136}; Figs. 5-6; [0052-0054]) respectively in contact with top surfaces of the end portions of the conductive layers ({134}; Fig. 5; [0047]), wherein the contact plugs ({170}; Fig. 5; [0052, 0065-0068]) are in contact with the connection structures ({136}; Figs. 5-6; [0052-0054]), respectively.
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches all of the features of claim 10.
Lee further teaches wherein the contact plugs ({170}; Fig. 5; [0052, 0065-0068]) are connected to the conductive layers ({134}; Fig. 5; [0047]) through the connection structures ({136}; Figs. 5-6; [0052-0054]).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Lee further teaches wherein the dummy layers ({150D, 152D}; Figs. 5-6; [0052, 0056-0057, 0068]) include a conductive material.
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Lee further comprising third spacers ({140}; Fig. 5; [0053-0055, 0058]) located between the contact plugs ({170}; Fig. 5; [0052, 0065-0068]) and the dummy layers ({150D, 152D}; Figs. 5-6; [0052, 0056-0057, 0068]).
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Lee further teaches wherein the contact plugs ({170}; Figs. 5-6; [0052, 0065-0068]) and the dummy layers ({150D, 152D}; Figs. 5-6; [0052, 0056-0057, 0068]) are electrically isolated from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
3. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20240222267 A1; hereinafter Lee), in view of the following statement.
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches all of the features of claim 10.
Lee further teaches wherein each of the connection structures ({136}; Figs. 5-6; [0052-0054]) includes (see below for “a concave surface recessed from a side surface of”) the first stack structure ({132, 134}; Fig. 5; [0047]).
As noted above, Lee does not expressly disclose “wherein each of the connection structures includes a concave surface recessed from a side surface of the first stack structure”.
However, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed “wherein each of the connection structures includes a concave surface recessed from a side surface of the first stack structure” is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e. the invention would not work without wherein each of the connection structures includes a concave surface recessed from a side surface of the first stack structure). Also, the Applicant has not shown that “wherein each of the connection structures includes a concave surface recessed from a side surface of the first stack structure” produces a result that was new or unexpected enough to patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the cited prior art. Therefore, no rationale is given that the invention will not function without “wherein each of the connection structures includes a concave surface recessed from a side surface of the first stack structure”. Thus, the claimed “wherein each of the connection structures includes a concave surface recessed from a side surface of the first stack structure” is not critical to the invention.
Examiner would like to note that MPEP §2144.04.IV(B) guideline, where change of shape is a Legal Precedent as Source of Supporting Rationale. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
In view of the above, as there is no persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of “wherein each of the connection structures includes a concave surface recessed from a side surface of the first stack structure” is significant. Thus, the claimed limitation of “wherein each of the connection structures includes a concave surface recessed from a side surface of the first stack structure” is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious as per MPEP §2144.04.IV(B) guideline. Therefore, the claimed limitation of “wherein each of the connection structures includes a concave surface recessed from a side surface of the first stack structure” is not patentable over Lee.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the “Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment” on 05/13/2026 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive, because of the following: the Applicant's amendment of claim 1 necessitated the shift in new grounds of rejection detailed in sections above. The shift in grounds of rejection renders the Applicant's arguments moot.
Please see the analysis of rejection for claims above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR F MOJADDEDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2898