DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 12/19/2023 in which claims 1-7, 29-36, and 67-71 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 29-36, and 67-71 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Marinier et al. (US20230239080A1).
As to claims 1, 29, Marinier teaches an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions that, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: (Abstract Methods and apparatus are described herein for improved efficiency of a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) transmitting transport blocks (TBs). ([0032] FIG. 1B is a system diagram illustrating an example WTRU 102. As shown in FIG. 1B, the WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120,) [0043] The eNode-Bs 160a, 160b, 160c may each include one or more transceivers for communicating with the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c over the air interface 116.)
transmit, to a user equipment, signaling for scheduling retransmission of at least one transport block of a bundle of uplink transmissions, wherein the signaling for scheduling the retransmission of the at least one transport block comprises at least one of: ([0072] In NR, the WTRU may be configured with a configured uplink grant. A WTRU may perform an initial transmission for a transport block (TB) using the configured uplink grant [0073] Also in NR, the WTRU may be configured with multiple repetitions, such as repK repetitions, for a given grant. A repetition enables the WTRU to perform subsequent HARQ retransmissions with minimal latency and no control signaling overhead. Each transmission in a repetition for a given HARQ process includes HARQ retransmissions for the given HARQ process.)
an indication of at least one resource for the retransmission, an indication of whether a duplicate of the at least one transport block, or a redundant version of the at least one transport block is to be retransmitted, an indication of a modulation and coding scheme for the retransmission, an indication of a periodicity for the retransmission, an indication of the at least one transport block to be retransmitted, an indication of a link between the signaling for scheduling the retransmission of the at least one transport block and another scheduling grant,an indication of a hybrid automatic repeat request process to perform, or an indication of a hybrid automatic repeat request process number associated with the at least one transport block; and receive, from the user equipment, the retransmission of the at least one transport block. ([0072] A configured uplink grant may be used for a retransmission for a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process if the timer is running. [0145] In the examples provided herein, properties of a grant or assignment may include at least one of, but are not limited to: a frequency allocation; an aspect of time allocation such as a duration; a priority; an MCS; a TB size; a number of spatial layers; a number of TBs; a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, channel state information (CSI)-reference signal (RS) resource indicator (CRI) or sounding reference signal (SRS) resource index (SRI); a number of repetitions; an indication whether the repetition scheme is Type A or Type B;)
As to claim 2, Marinier teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein transmitting the signaling for retransmission of the at least one transport block is based, at least partially, on at least one of: a traffic periodicity the user equipment is using for initial transmission of one or more transport blocks, a bundle size of the bundle of uplink transmissions, or a respective priority of the at least one transport block. ([0072] A configured uplink grant may be used for a retransmission for a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process if the timer is running. [0145] In the examples provided herein, properties of a grant or assignment may include at least one of, but are not limited to: a frequency allocation; an aspect of time allocation such as a duration; a priority; an MCS; a TB size; a number of spatial layers; a number of TBs; a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, channel state information (CSI)-reference signal (RS) resource indicator (CRI) or sounding reference signal (SRS) resource index (SRI); a number of repetitions; an indication whether the repetition scheme is Type A or Type B;)
As to claims 3 and 30, Marinier teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the signaling for scheduling the retransmission of the at least one transport block comprises at least one of: a configured grant, or a dynamic grant. ([0145] In the examples provided herein, properties of a grant or assignment may include at least one of, but are not limited to:…an indication whether the grant is a configured grant type 1, type 2 or a dynamic grant)
As to claims 4 and 31, Marinier teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the signaling for scheduling the retransmission of the at least one transport block comprises a configured grant, wherein signaling for scheduling initial transmission of one or more transport blocks comprises a dynamic grant or a configured grant. ([0072] In NR, the WTRU may be configured with a configured uplink grant. A WTRU may perform an initial transmission for a transport block (TB) using the configured uplink grant. A configured uplink grant may be used for a retransmission for a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process if the timer is running. ([0145] In the examples provided herein, properties of a grant or assignment may include at least one of, but are not limited to…an indication whether the grant is a configured grant type 1, type 2 or a dynamic grant)
As to claims 5 and 32, Marinier teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the signaling for scheduling the retransmission of the at least one transport block comprises a dynamic grant, wherein signaling for scheduling initial transmission of one or more transport blocks comprises a dynamic grant or a configured grant. ([0072] In NR, the WTRU may be configured with a configured uplink grant. A WTRU may perform an initial transmission for a transport block (TB) using the configured uplink grant. A configured uplink grant may be used for a retransmission for a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process if the timer is running. ([0145] In the examples provided herein, properties of a grant or assignment may include at least one of, but are not limited to…an indication whether the grant is a configured grant type 1, type 2 or a dynamic grant [0185] In an example, shown in FIG. 2, a WTRU may be configured with a grant A for TB y with HARQ process number 11. TB y may use transmission occasions 220, 221, 222 and 223, per grant A. Grant A may be a CG or a dynamic grant, in examples. Further, the WTRU may be configured with a grant B for TB x with HARQ process number 13. TB x may use transmission occasions 230, 231, 232 and 234, per grant B. In examples, grant B may be a CG or a dynamic grant. For the transmissions configured by grant A, the WTRU may select an RV according to the time occasion used for transmission. Accordingly, the WTRU may select an RV providing that transmission occasion 221 will include repetition for a PUSCH repetition of the transmission in transmission occasion 220.)
As to claims 6 and 33, Marinier teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one transport block comprises a last transport block of the bundle of uplink transmissions or last N transport blocks of the bundle of uplink transmissions, wherein the N is larger than one. ([0312] The WTRU may receive DCI or RRC signaling indicating resuming the transmission of remaining repetitions and/or a CG within which the WTRU can continue the remaining repetition. In addition, the WTRU may receive DCI or RRC signaling indicating the HARQ ID that the WTRU may use to transmit the remaining repetitions.)
As to claims 7 and 34, Marinier teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the modulation and coding scheme for the retransmission of the at least one transport block is at least one of:
inherited from initial transmission of one or more transport blocks, or at least partially different from a modulation and coding scheme indicated for initial transmission of one or more transport blocks. ([0139] A scheduler can generally adapt a HARQ operating point by varying the number of PRBs, the assigned modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and/or the transmission power to implement different strategies for the accumulation of transmitted energy at the receiver. [0145] In the examples provided herein, properties of a grant or assignment may include at least one of, but are not limited to: a frequency allocation; an aspect of time allocation such as a duration; a priority; an MCS; [0154] the WTRU may consider any change to the used MCS and/or uplink grant used for repetitions or retransmissions, by resetting or adjusting the cumulative amount of transmitted power for the concerned TB. [0168] In another example, the WTRU may determine a target HARQ operating point, such as a target number of transmissions for a TB or HARQ process based on TB size or MCS.)
As to claim 35, Marinier teaches the apparatus of claim 29, wherein the at-least one-memory stores instructions that, when executed by instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: receive a radio resource control parameter configured to indicate a first number, wherein the retransmission of the at least one transport block is configured to be scheduled after initial transmission of the first number of one or more transport blocks. ([0148] In one example, the WTRU may be configured with a grant that further includes a property that represents a target HARQ operating point. Such information may be configured by RRC. In an example, a target operating point may be represented by TB.sub.target. Further the target operating point may be represented according to at least one of the following properties: a target amount of energy per bit transmitted for the TB; and/or a target number of transmissions for the TB.)
As to claim 36, Marinier teaches the apparatus of claim 29, wherein the signaling for scheduling the retransmission of the at least one transport block comprises, at least, the indication of the at least one transport block to be retransmitted, wherein the indication of the at least one transport block to be retransmitted comprises at least one of: a bit-map, an index of the at least one transport block, a set of indices, a number of last N transport block, wherein the N is larger than 1, a fixed configuration associated with the at least one transport block that is configured to be selected via a radio resource control message, or an indication of a formula for determining the at least one transport block. (([0312] The WTRU may receive DCI or RRC signaling indicating resuming the transmission of remaining repetitions and/or a CG within which the WTRU can continue the remaining repetition. In addition, the WTRU may receive DCI or RRC signaling indicating the HARQ ID that the WTRU may use to transmit the remaining repetitions.))
As to claim 67, Marinier teaches an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions that, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: ([0032] FIG. 1B is a system diagram illustrating an example WTRU 102. As shown in FIG. 1B, the WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120,)
receive signaling for scheduling transmission of one or more transport blocks; initiate transmission of the one or more transport blocks based, at least partially, on the signaling for scheduling the transmission of the one or more transport blocks; ([0072] In NR, the WTRU may be configured with a configured uplink grant. A WTRU may perform an initial transmission for a transport block (TB) using the configured uplink grant.)
receive signaling for scheduling retransmission of at least one transport block of the one or more transport blocks; and perform retransmission of the at least one transport block based, at least partially, on the signaling for scheduling the retransmission of the at least one transport block. ([0072] A configured uplink grant may be used for a retransmission for a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process if the timer is running HARQ retransmissions can thus be performed using the resources assigned by a configured uplink grant until the timer expires. [0073] Also in NR, the WTRU may be configured with multiple repetitions, such as repK repetitions, for a given grant. A repetition enables the WTRU to perform subsequent HARQ retransmissions with minimal latency and no control signaling overhead. Each transmission in a repetition for a given HARQ process includes HARQ retransmissions for the given HARQ process.)
As to claim 68, Marinier teaches the apparatus of claim 67, wherein the signaling for scheduling the transmission of the one or more transport blocks comprises at least one of: a configured grant, or a dynamic grant. ([0145] In the examples provided herein, properties of a grant or assignment may include at least one of, but are not limited to:…an indication whether the grant is a configured grant type 1, type 2 or a dynamic grant)
As to claim 69, Marinier teaches the apparatus of claim 67, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, schedule a last transport block for retransmission. (([0312] The WTRU may receive DCI or RRC signaling indicating resuming the transmission of remaining repetitions and/or a CG within which the WTRU can continue the remaining repetition. In addition, the WTRU may receive DCI or RRC signaling indicating the HARQ ID that the WTRU may use to transmit the remaining repetitions.))
As to claim 70, Marinier teaches the apparatus of claim 67, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, schedule a set of transport block indices for retransmission. ([0073] Also in NR, the WTRU may be configured with multiple repetitions, such as repK repetitions, for a given grant. A repetition enables the WTRU to perform subsequent HARQ retransmissions with minimal latency and no control signaling overhead. Each transmission in a repetition for a given HARQ process includes HARQ retransmissions for the given HARQ process. [0185] In an example, shown in FIG. 2, a WTRU may be configured with a grant A for TB y with HARQ process number 11. TB y may use transmission occasions 220, 221, 222 and 223, per grant A. Grant A may be a CG or a dynamic grant, in examples. Further, the WTRU may be configured with a grant B for TB x with HARQ process number 13. TB x may use transmission occasions 230, 231, 232 and 234, per grant B. In examples, grant B may be a CG or a dynamic grant. For the transmissions configured by grant A, the WTRU may select an RV according to the time occasion used for transmission. Accordingly, the WTRU may select an RV providing that transmission occasion 221 will include repetition for a PUSCH repetition of the transmission in transmission occasion 220.)
As to claim 71, Marinier teaches the apparatus of claim 67, wherein the signaling for scheduling the retransmission of the at least one transport block comprises signals that are respectively configured to schedule for retransmission a respective transport block. ([0185] In an example, shown in FIG. 2, a WTRU may be configured with a grant A for TB y with HARQ process number 11. TB y may use transmission occasions 220, 221, 222 and 223, per grant A. Grant A may be a CG or a dynamic grant, in examples. Further, the WTRU may be configured with a grant B for TB x with HARQ process number 13. TB x may use transmission occasions 230, 231, 232 and 234, per grant B. In examples, grant B may be a CG or a dynamic grant. For the transmissions configured by grant A, the WTRU may select an RV according to the time occasion used for transmission. Accordingly, the WTRU may select an RV providing that transmission occasion 221 will include repetition for a PUSCH repetition of the transmission in transmission occasion 220.)
Conclusion
/Elton Williams/Examiner, Art Unit 2465