DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species 1(Embodiment I, Figs. 3A-3C), claims 1-5 in the reply filed on April 27, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 6-20 have been withdrawn. Action on the merits is as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (Jung) (US 2016/0013240 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Jung (Figs. 1, 5, 7, 8, 9 and associated text and items) discloses a pixel (items 100, 300, 500, 600) of an image sensor (item 700), the pixel (items 100, 300, 500, 600) comprising: a semiconductor substrate (items 110, 310) comprising a first surface (top surface of items 110, 310) and a second surface (bottom surface of items 110, 310); a photoelectric conversion region (items 120, 320) between the first surface (top surface of items 110, 310) and the second surface (bottom surface of items 110, 310) of the semiconductor substrate (items 110, 310); a floating diffusion region (items 130, 330) on the first surface (top surface of items 110, 310) and spaced apart from the photoelectric conversion region (items 120, 320) in a vertical direction; and a first vertical transfer gate (items 140, 340) in a first recess (item 150) extending from the first surface (top surface of items 110, 310) of the semiconductor substrate (items 110, 310) to the photoelectric conversion region (items 120, 320), the first vertical transfer gate (items 140, 340) configured to form a first transfer channel between the photoelectric conversion region (items 120, 320) and the floating diffusion region (items 130, 330, Abstract), wherein the first vertical transfer gate (items 140, 340) has a structure (left inclined sidewall of items 140, 340, Fig. 5) inclined at a first angle of less than 90 degrees with respect to the first surface (top surface of items 110, 310) of the semiconductor substrate (items 110, 310).
In regards to claim 2, Jung (Figs. 1, 5, 7, 8, 9 and associated text and items) discloses wherein the first vertical transfer gate (items 140, 340) is inclined in a direction in which a maximum voltage point (items 410, 420, 430) of the photoelectric conversion region (items 120, 320) is located.
In regards to claim 3, Jung (Figs. 1, 5, 7, 8, 9 and associated text and items) discloses wherein the maximum voltage point (items 410, 420, 430) of the photoelectric conversion region (items 120, 320) is a point in the photoelectric conversion region (items 120, 320) having a greatest doping concentration of impurities of a first conductivity type (N-type, paragraph 48).
In regards to claim 4, Jung (Figs. 1, 5, 7, 8, 9 and associated text and items) discloses wherein the semiconductor substrate (items 110, 310) is doped with impurities of a second conductivity type.
In regards to claim 5, Jung (Figs. 1, 5, 7, 8, 9 and associated text and items) discloses wherein the first vertical transfer gate (items 140, 340) contacts the photoelectric conversion region (items 120, 320). Examiner notes that the Applicant has not given a special definition to the term “contacts”, therefore certain features can be in “direct” or “indirect” contact.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (Jung) (US 2016/0013240 A1) in view of Cazaux et al. (Cazaux) (US 2012/0112247 A1).
In regards to claim 2, Jung (Figs. 1, 5, 7, 8, 9 and associated text and items) discloses wherein the first vertical transfer gate (items 140, 340) is inclined in a direction in which a voltage point (items 410, 420, 430) of the photoelectric conversion region (items 120, 320) is located, but does not specifically disclose a maximum voltage point.
Cazaux (paragraph 49) discloses a maximum voltage point.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Cazaux for the purpose of avoiding parasitic phenomena (noise) (paragraph 49).
In regards to claim 3, Jung (Figs. 1, 5, 7, 8, 9 and associated text and items) as modified by Cazaux (paragraph 49) discloses wherein the maximum voltage point (items 410, 420, 430) of the photoelectric conversion region (items 120, 320) is a point in the photoelectric conversion region (items 120, 320) having a greatest doping concentration of impurities of a first conductivity type (N-type, paragraph 48).
In regards to claim 4, Jung (Figs. 1, 5, 7, 8, 9 and associated text and items) discloses wherein the semiconductor substrate (items 110, 310) is doped with impurities of a second conductivity type.
In regards to claim 5, Jung (Figs. 1, 5, 7, 8, 9 and associated text and items) discloses wherein the first vertical transfer gate (items 140, 340) contacts the photoelectric conversion region (items 120, 320). Examiner notes that the Applicant has not given a special definition to the term “contacts”, therefore certain features can be in “direct” or “indirect” contact.
Conclusion
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 June 9, 2026