DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jha et al (US Publication No. 2014/0246770).
Regarding claim 1, Jha discloses a thermal interface material for an integrated circuit, comprising: a first portion Fig 5, 524; a second portion Fig 5, 522 separate from the first portion and defining a plurality of apertures Fig 5; and a metal portion Fig 5, 520 provided between the first portion and the second portion Fig 5, the metal portion including a plurality of stubs that are received in respective apertures of the plurality of apertures defined by the second portion Fig 5.
Regarding claim 2, Jha discloses wherein the metal portion is comprised of a copper foil ¶0035.
Regarding claim 3, Jha discloses wherein at least one stub of the plurality of stubs is filled with a copper material¶0035.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jha et al (US Publication No. 2014/0246770).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Jha discloses wherein the first portion has a first thickness, the second portion has a second thickness that is less than the first thickness Fig 5 and wherein the second thickness is half as thick as the first thickness and the third thickness is half as thick as the second thickness Fig 5. Jha discloses all the limitations but silent on the thickness of the metal portion. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ (CCPA 1980).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jha et al (US Publication No. 2014/0246770) in view of Megarity et al (US Publication No. 2013/0301670).
Regarding claim 6, Jha discloses all the limitations but silent on the arrangement of the interface material. Whereas Megarity discloses wherein at least a portion of one or more of the plurality of stubs contacts a surface of the integrated circuit when the thermal interface material is coupled to the integrated circuit Fig 10A-10B. Jha and Megarity are analogous art because they are directed to semiconductor devices having TIM and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Jha because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of the TIM and incorporate the teachings of Megarity to improve isolation.
Regarding claim 7, Megarity discloses wherein the first portion, the second portion and the metal portion are compressed to form a single unit prior to being placed on a surface of the integrated circuit Fig 10A-11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-20 are allowed over the prior art of record.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: After further search and consideration of Applicant’s response, it is determined that the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach or suggest “the thermal interface material comprising: a first layer; a second layer separate from the first layer, the second layer defining at least one cavity that extends at least partially through the second layer; and a metal layer positioned between the first layer and the second layer, the metal layer including at least one post that extends from the metal layer and is at least partially received in the at least one cavity defined by the second layer”, as recited in independent claim 8; “the thermal interface material comprising: a first layer; a second layer separate from the first layer, the second layer defining at least one cavity that extends at least partially through the second layer; and a metal layer positioned between the first layer and the second layer, the metal layer including at least one post that extends from the metal layer and is at least partially received in the at least one cavity defined by the second layer”, as recited in independent claim 15.
Claims 9-14, 16-20 are also allowed as being directly or indirectly dependent of the allowed independent base claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 5/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicants’ argument that the prior art of record does not teach the plurality of apertures, the examiner disagrees and finds the argument unpersuasive. Fig 5 of Jha discloses the above claimed invention. Although Jha also provided alternative embodiments as described in ¶0032, Fig 5 illustration shows plurality of aperture/opening. Therefore, the prior art of record discloses the above claimed limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE A ENAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811