DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/16/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuet (US 2008/0208416) in view of Taylor (US 2015/0176253).
Regarding claim 1:
Yuet teaches A mobile machine (machine 12, Fig. 1) for operation on a work surface (worksite 10), the mobile machine comprising:
a frame (see at least Fig. 1 ¶0011-0012);
a traction device mounted to the frame, the traction device being configured to move the mobile machine with respect to the work surface (traction device 22);
a surface-engaging implement mounted to the frame, the surface-engaging implement having an implement position movable between an operational position, in which the surface-engaging implement at least partially contacts the work surface, and a stowed position, in which the surface-engaging implement does not contact the work surface (see at least implement 18, Fig. 1, ¶0031. The Examiner notes that the machine of Fig. 1 has implement 18, contacting the ground and is configured to move the implement vertically, not contacting the work surface, which may be considered a “stowed position”.);
at least one actuator connecting the surface-engaging implement to the frame, the at least one actuator being configured to move the surface-engaging implement between the operational position and the stowed position (actuation component to move implement 18, see at least ¶0025);
a second sensor configured to provide a machine orientation of the mobile machine with respect to a horizon (inclination sensor, see at least ¶0006); and
a controller (controller 30) configured to receive the machine orientation, and, if the machine orientation exceeds a machine orientation threshold (see at least ¶0026, Fig. 3 S44), to at least one of:
if the implement position is the operational position, move the surface-engaging implement to the stowed position,
stop the mobile machine (see at least Fig. 3, 46), or
provide an indication to an operator of the mobile machine (see at least Fig. 3, 46).
Yuet further teaches a plurality of sensors for determining information regarding the machine and the surrounding environment (data module 28, 28a, 28b).
Yuet does not explicitly teach a sensing device configured to provide the implement position of the surface-engaging implement.
However, the Examiner notes that sensors for determining position of implements are well-known, conventional components of work machines, including the exemplary dozer-type as taught by Yuet (see at least ¶0002, 0012).
Alternately or in addition, Taylor teaches a system and method of rollover prevention of a work vehicle, including a sensor configured to provide the implement position of the surface-engaging implement (see at least ¶0048, sensors 142).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the work vehicle rollover prevention system and method as taught by Yuet with the conventional implement position sensors as taught by Taylor in order to allow for conventional feedback and other control of the implement.
Regarding claim 2:
Yuet further teaches wherein the machine orientation comprises a roll angle of the mobile machine with respect to the horizon, and the machine orientation threshold comprises a roll angle threshold (see at least ¶0020).
Regarding claim 3:
Yuet further teaches wherein the machine orientation comprises a pitch angle of the mobile machine with respect to the horizon, and the machine orientation threshold comprises a pitch angle threshold (see at least ¶0020).
Regarding claim 4:
Yuet teaches the limitations as in claims 2-3 above and that other conventional sensors known in the art may be used (see at least ¶0018).
Yuet is silent as to the particular sensor type used to measure incline.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing of the invention to modify the rollover prevention system and method as taught by Yuet by utilizing any known inclination sensor type, including the exceedingly well-known IMU sensor as a matter of design choice, in order to accurately measure three dimensional inclination using a widely-available sensor type.
Regarding claim 5:
Yuet further teaches wherein the at least one actuator comprises a first hydraulic actuator configured to lift and lower the surface-engaging implement, and a second hydraulic actuator configured to tilt the surface-engaging implement (hydraulic control, see at least ¶0025. Claim limitations describe conventional dozer operation).
Regarding claim 6:
Yuet further teaches wherein moving the surface-engaging implement to the stowed position comprises at least one of:
lifting the surface-engaging implement, or
tilting the surface-engaging implement (hydraulic control, see at least ¶0025. Claim limitations describe conventional dozer operation).
Regarding claim 7:
Yuet further teaches wherein the indication comprises at least one of:
an audio alert, a visual alert, or a haptic alert (see at least ¶0037).
Regarding claim 8:
Yuet further teaches wherein, if the machine orientation falls below the machine orientation threshold, the controller is configured to move the surface-engaging implement from the stowed position to the operational position (the Examiner notes that the instant claim limitations do not positively recite a connection between the machine orientation and moving the implement. In other words, if the orientation falls below a threshold, the machine will allow normal operation, including movement of the implement, therefore the reference meets the claim limitation).
Regarding claim 9:
Yuet further teaches wherein the machine orientation falls below the machine orientation threshold if a roll angle of the mobile machine with respect to the horizon falls below a roll angle threshold (see at least ¶0018).
Regarding claim 10:
Yuet further teaches wherein the machine orientation falls below the machine orientation threshold if a pitch angle of the mobile machine with respect to the horizon falls below a pitch angle threshold (see at least ¶0018).
Regarding claims 11-20, Yuet and Taylor teaches a method and controller as in claims 1-10 above
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Ryan Rink/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619