Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kikumoto; Noriyuki et al.(US 20180350632 A1). Kikumoto teaches a substrate treating apparatus (Figure 1,11; [0190]-[0191]) comprising: a chuck (9; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]) supporting a substrate (W; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]); a liquid supply unit (25; Figure 1-Applicant’s 340; Figure 2) configured to supply a liquid to a substrate (W; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]) supported on the chuck (9; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]); a treating container (20, 20a,b; Figure 1-Applicant’s 320; Figure 2) surrounding the substrate (W; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]) supported on the chuck (9; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]); and an eccentricity (41; Figure 15; [0243]) correction unit (46-53; Figure 6B; 45C; Figure 15; [0237]-[0240],[0243]-Applicant’s 400-410,440; Figure 3) configured to correct an eccentricity (41; Figure 15; [0243]) of the substrate (W; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]) supported on the chuck (9; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]), and wherein the eccentricity (41; Figure 15; [0243]) correction unit (46-53; Figure 6B; 45C; Figure 15; [0237]-[0240],[0243]-Applicant’s 400-410,440; Figure 3) contacts a plurality of points on a side end of the substrate (W; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]) supported on the chuck (9; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]) to match a center of the substrate (W; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]) with a center of the chuck (9; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]), wherein the plurality of points includes: a first point; a second point; and a third point, wherein the eccentricity (41; Figure 15; [0243]) correction unit (46-53; Figure 6B; 45C; Figure 15; [0237]-[0240],[0243]-Applicant’s 400-410,440; Figure 3) includes: a first correction part (45C x 4; Figure 15-17; [0241]-Applicant’s 410 (420,430); Figure 3) configured to contact each of the first point and the second point sharing any one axis on a horizontal plane; and a second correction part (45C x 4; Figure 15-17; [0241]-Applicant’s 440; Figure 3,4) configured to contact the third point included in another axis which is different from the any one axis wherein the second correction part (45C x 4; Figure 15-17; [0241]-Applicant’s 440; Figure 3,4) includes: a second contact unit (81,82; Figure 17-Applicant’s 441; Figure 4) configured to contact the third point, as claimed by claim 1. Applicant’s claimed geometry and “points”, as supported by Applicant’s Figure 3, is identically taught by Kikumoto’s Figure 15. In particular, Applicant’s Figure 3 illustrates Applicant’s first correction part (Applicant’s 410 (420,430); Figure 3) and second correction part (Applicant’s 440; Figure 3,4) are meant to contact wafer “W” at the claimed three “points”. Applicant’s claimed points, thus defined, are separated by 120º arcs around Applicant’s wafer W. Kikumoto’s Figure 15 also shows Kikumoto’s first correction part (45C x 4; Figure 15-17; [0241]) and second correction part (45C x 4; Figure 15-17; [0241]) are meant to contact wafer “W” at four “points”. Kikumoto’s thus also illustrate the same “points” separated by 120º arcs with an additional correction part (45C x 4; Figure 15-17; [0241]) interspersed therebetween around Kikumoto’s wafer W. The claimed invention does not exclude Kikumoto’s fourth correction part (45C x 4; Figure 15-17; [0241]) interspersed therebetween.
Kikumoto further teaches:
The substrate treating apparatus (Figure 1,11; [0190]-[0191]) of claim 1, wherein the first correction part (45C x 4; Figure 15-17; [0241]-Applicant’s 410 (420,430); Figure 3) includes a 1-1 correction unit (left 20; Figure 16-Applicant’s 420; Figure 3) and a 1-2 correction unit (right 20; Figure 16; not numbered-Applicant’s 430; Figure 3), and wherein the 1-1 correction unit (left 20; Figure 16-Applicant’s 420; Figure 3) includes: a 1-1 contact part (left 47,46C; Figure 16-Applicant’s 422; Figure 3) configured to contact the first point; and a 1-1 driving unit (left 49C-”centering pusher”; Figure 16; [0261]-Applicant’s 426; Figure 3) configured to change a position of the 1-1 contact part (left 47,46C; Figure 16-Applicant’s 422; Figure 3), and wherein the 1-2 correction unit (right 20; Figure 16; not numbered-Applicant’s 430; Figure 3) includes: a 1-2 contact part (right 47,46; Figure 16-Applicant’s 432; Figure 3) configured to contact the second point; and a 1-2 driving unit (right 49C-”centering pusher”; Figure 16; [0261]-Applicant’s 436; Figure 3) configured to change a position of the 1-2 contact part (right 47,46; Figure 16-Applicant’s 432; Figure 3), as claimed by claim 3
The substrate treating apparatus (Figure 1,11; [0190]-[0191]) of claim 3, wherein the 1-1 driving unit (left 49C-”centering pusher”; Figure 16; [0261]-Applicant’s 426; Figure 3) and the 1-2 driving unit (right 49C-”centering pusher”; Figure 16; [0261]-Applicant’s 436; Figure 3) move the 1-1 contact part (left 47,46C; Figure 16-Applicant’s 422; Figure 3) and the 1-2 contact part (right 47,46; Figure 16-Applicant’s 432; Figure 3), respectively, on the axis (46-W-46; Figure 16) including the first point and the second point, as claimed by claim 4
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kikumoto; Noriyuki et al.(US 20180350632 A1) in view of Oono; Shigemi (US 20130206726 A1). Kikumoto is discussed above. Kikumoto further teaches:
A substrate treating apparatus (Figure 1,11; [0190]-[0191]) comprising: a housing (4; Figure 1-Applicant’s 310; Figure 3) having an inner space; a chuck (9; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]) positioned in the inner space and supporting and rotating a substrate (W; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]); a liquid supply unit (25; Figure 1-Applicant’s 340; Figure 2) configured to supply a liquid to a substrate (W; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]) supported on the chuck (9; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]) to etch an etch region of the substrate (W; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]); a treating container (20, 20a,b; Figure 1-Applicant’s 320; Figure 2) surrounding the substrate (W; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]) supported on the chuck (9; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]); a lifting/lowering unit (21; Figure 1) configured to lift and lower the treating container (20, 20a,b; Figure 1-Applicant’s 320; Figure 2); and an eccentricity (41; Figure 15; [0243]) correction unit (46-53; Figure 6B; 45C; Figure 15; [0237]-[0240],[0243]-Applicant’s 400-410,440; Figure 3) configured to contact a plurality of points among a side end of the substrate (W; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]) supported on the chuck (9; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]), to correct an eccentricity (41; Figure 15; [0243]) of the substrate (W; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]) supported on the chuck (9; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]), and wherein the plurality of points includes; a first point; a second point; a third point, wherein the eccentricity (41; Figure 15; [0243]) correction unit (46-53; Figure 6B; 45C; Figure 15; [0237]-[0240],[0243]-Applicant’s 400-410,440; Figure 3) includes: a first correction part (45C x 4; Figure 15-17; [0241]-Applicant’s 410 (420,430); Figure 3) configured to contact each of the first point and the second point sharing any one axis (46-W-46 axis; Figure 15,16) on a horizontal plane; and a second correction part (45C x 4; Figure 15-17; [0241]-Applicant’s 440; Figure 3,4) configured to contact the third point included in an axis different from the any one axis (46-W-46 axis; Figure 15,16), and wherein the second correction part (45C x 4; Figure 15-17; [0241]-Applicant’s 440; Figure 3,4) includes: a second contact unit (81,82; Figure 17-Applicant’s 441; Figure 4) configured to contact the third point; a second driving unit (central 49C - “centering pusher”; in the plane of Figure 16; [0238], [0261]-Applicant’s 426; Figure 3) configured to move the second contact unit (81,82; Figure 17-Applicant’s 441; Figure 4) forward or backward; an elastic part (59; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 445; Figure 4), the elastic part (59; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 445; Figure 4) being coupled to the second driving unit (central 49C - “centering pusher”; in the plane of Figure 16; [0238], [0261]-Applicant’s 426; Figure 3) and configured to be extended or contracted when the second driving unit (central 49C - “centering pusher”; in the plane of Figure 16; [0238], [0261]-Applicant’s 426; Figure 3) moves forward or backward; and a displacement measurement part (42C; Figure 15; [0243]) configured to measure a displacement degree with respect to different points of a rotating substrate (W; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]) - claim 20
Kikumoto does not teach Kikumoto’s elastic part (59; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 445; Figure 4) configured to provide an elastic force to Kikumoto’s second driving unit (central 49C - “centering pusher”; in the plane of Figure 16; [0238], [0261]-Applicant’s 426; Figure 3) – claim 20
Oono also teaches spring force mechanical means (324; Figure 3,4) for wafer alignment ([0059]) including Oono’s elastic part (326; Figure 4-Applicant’s 445; Figure 4) configured to provide an elastic force to Oono’s driving unit (327; Figure 4-Applicant’s 426; Figure 3) for wafer alignment ([0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Kikumoto to add Oono’s spring force mechanical means (324; Figure 4) configured to provide an elastic force.
Motivation for Kikumoto to add Oono’s spring force mechanical means (324; Figure 4) configured to provide an elastic force is for wafer alignment as taught by Oono ([0051]) and Kikumoto (“centering”; throughout; abstract)
Claims 5, 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikumoto; Noriyuki et al.(US 20180350632 A1). Kikumoto is discussed above. Kikumoto’s Kikumoto does not teach any of Kikumoto’s contact part actuations orientated perpendicular to one another (Figure 15). As a result, Kikumoto does not teach:
Kikumoto’s second correction part (45C x 4; Figure 15-17; [0241]-Applicant’s 440; Figure 3,4) moves on an axis which is perpendicular to the axis on which Kikumoto’s 1-1 contact part (left 47,46C; Figure 16-Applicant’s 422; Figure 3) and Kikumoto’s 1-2 contact part (right 47,46; Figure 16-Applicant’s 432; Figure 3) moves at a horizontal plane.. as claimed by claim 5
The substrate treating apparatus (Figure 1,11; [0190]-[0191]) of claim 1, wherein the first correction part (45C x 4; Figure 15-17; [0241]-Applicant’s 410 (420,430); Figure 3) moves in a direction parallel to the any one axis (46-W-46 axis; Figure 15,16) and the second correction part (45C x 4; Figure 15-17; [0241]-Applicant’s 440; Figure 3,4) moves in a direction perpendicular to the any one axis (46-W-46 axis; Figure 15,16) within a horizontal plane including the any one axis, as claimed by claim 11
Kikumoto further does not teach Kikumoto’s substrate treating apparatus (Figure 1,11; [0190]-[0191]) of claim 1 further comprising a housing (4; Figure 1-Applicant’s 310; Figure 3) having an inner space, and wherein Kikumoto’s eccentricity (41; Figure 15; [0243]) correction unit (46-53; Figure 6B; 45C; Figure 15; [0237]-[0240],[0243]-Applicant’s 400-410,440; Figure 3) is installed at a sidewall of Kikumoto’s housing (4; Figure 1-Applicant’s 310; Figure 3), as claimed by claim 10
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Kikumoto to arrange Kikumoto’s contact part actuations orientated perpendicular to one another (Figure 15) at alternately installed locations.
Motivation for Kikumoto to arrange Kikumoto’s contact part actuations orientated perpendicular to one another (Figure 15) is for equal and opposite force action. Motivation for Kikumoto to optimize the locations of Kikumoto’s eccentricity correction unit is for . Further, it is well established that the rearrangement of parts is considered obvious to those of ordinary skill (In re Japikse , 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle , 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975); Ex parte Chicago Rawhide Manufacturing Co. , 223 USPQ 351, 353 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1984).; MPEP 2144.04)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The allowable dependent subject matter of Claim 7 is written in independent form and requires in part wherein the second driving unit (74b+83; Figure 17-Applicant’s 442; Figure 4) moves along a guide rail (Applicant’s 444; Figure 4) formed on a top surface of a body (Applicant’s 443; Figure 4). The claimed feature is not taught or suggested by Kikumoto; Noriyuki et al.(US 20180350632 A1) as the closest prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states:
“
In particular, referring the bellows 59 of Kikumoto, the bellows 49 are merely a sealing member that prevents the entry of liquid into the interior of the unit housing; the bellows 59 are not a member used to press the contact portion against the substrate and to measure eccentricity based on the resulting displacement. In Kikumoto, the contact portion is actively driven by a linear motor, and the bellows performs no pressing function for measurement. Accordingly, the rejection of the claims for anticipation by Kikumoto, which the Examiner advanced in the alternative, is respectfully submitted to be improper, because the bellows 59 cannot correspond to the claimed "elastic part".
“
In response, the Examiner agrees and notes the above new grounds of rejection as necessitated thereby.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liquid etching/cleaning apparatus with similar functionality includes: US 20010010103 A1; US 20020074020 A1; US 20030079835 A1; US 20080057219 A1; US 20150093905 A1; US 20220059382 A1; US 20220310415 A1
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
/Rudy Zervigon/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716
//
7. (Original) The substrate treating apparatus (Figure 1,11; [0190]-[0191]) of claim 6, wherein the second driving unit (74b+83; Figure 17-Applicant’s 442; Figure 4) moves along a guide rail (Applicant’s 444; Figure 4) formed on a top surface of a body (Applicant’s 443; Figure 4), the second contact unit (81,82; Figure 17-Applicant’s 441; Figure 4) is coupled to a (first) surface of the second driving unit (74b+83; Figure 17-Applicant’s 442; Figure 4), an (second) other surface of the second driving unit (74b+83; Figure 17-Applicant’s 442; Figure 4) [facing the surface] faces the body (Applicant’s 443; Figure 4), an end of the elastic part (59; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 445; Figure 4) is coupled to the other (second) surface, and an other end of the elastic part (59; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 445; Figure 4) is coupled the body (Applicant’s 443; Figure 4) facing the other (second) surface.
Teaches:
8. (Original) The substrate treating apparatus (Figure 1,11; [0190]-[0191]) of claim 7, wherein the second correction part (45C; Figure 17; [0241]-Applicant’s 440; Figure 3,4) further includes a displacement measurement part (42C; Figure 15; [0243]) configured to measure a eccentricity (41; Figure 15; [0243]) of the substrate (W; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]) based on a displacement of the second driving unit (74b+83; Figure 17-Applicant’s 442; Figure 4) by the elastic force of the elastic part (59; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 445; Figure 4).
Does not teach:
9. (Original) The substrate treating apparatus (Figure 1,11; [0190]-[0191]) of claim 8, wherein the displacement measurement part (42C; Figure 15; [0243]) measures the displacement of the second driving unit (74b+83; Figure 17-Applicant’s 442; Figure 4) with respect to different points of the substrate (W; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]) by rotating the chuck (9; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]) while the second contact unit (81,82; Figure 17-Applicant’s 441; Figure 4) is supporting the side end of the substrate (W; Figure 1, 15; [0102], [0190]-[0191]), in a state in which the second driving unit (74b+83; Figure 17-Applicant’s 442; Figure 4) is not driven, as claimed by claim 9. The italisized claim text is considered intended use claim requirements for the pending apparatus claims. Further, it has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (Walter , 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409; MPEP 2106). Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (In re Casey,152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto , 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); MPEP2115).