DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Nakanishi et al. US 2017/0301665 A1 (“Nakanishi”).
As to claim 1, Nakanishi discloses an I/O circuit formed by freely combining a plurality of kinds of standard cells included in a cell library,
wherein the plurality of kinds of standard cells include at least a first standard cell and a second standard cell (Paragraphs 7 or 50),
the first standard cell includes a first protection element (Figure 3 or Paragraphs 7 or 52 – e.g., the combination of a standard cell Elements 11 and 23-24 and protection circuit Element 21) and
a first power line formed in a region over the first protection element so as to conduct to the first protection element (Figure 3 or Paragraphs 7 or 52 – e.g., line 31), and
the second standard cell (Figure 3 or Paragraphs 7 or 52 – e.g., the combination of a standard cell Elements 12 and 25 and protection circuit Element 22) includes a second protection element formed in a layout identical with a layout of the first protection element (Figure 3 or Paragraph 57 – e.g., protection cells 21 and 22 have the same configuration) and
a second power line formed in a region over the second protection element so as to conduct to the second protection element while being isolated from the first power line (Figure 3 or Paragraphs 7 or 52 – e.g., line 32, Paragraph 60 – “can protect the second circuit from a surge occurring at the first circuit”).
As to claim 2, Nakanishi discloses the circuit of claim 1. Nakanishi further discloses wherein the plurality of kinds of standard cells are arrayed along a first direction, and the first power line is laid along the first direction (Figures 2-3 or Paragraphs 50-52 – e.g., “standard cells…disposed along the extending direction of power line”).
As to claim 7, Nakanishi discloses the circuit of claim 1. Nakanishi further discloses a first internal circuit connected to the first standard cell, the first internal circuit being configured to receive electric power from the first power line; and a second internal circuit connected to the second standard cell, the second internal circuit being configured to receive electric power from the second power line (Figure 3 – e.g., cells connected to VDD and VSS lines).
Claim 9 recites elements similar to claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons.
As to claim 10, Nakanishi discloses the circuit of claim 9. Nakanishi further discloses a step of selecting, arranging, and freely combining the plurality of kinds of standard cells included in the cell library; and a step of laying power lines and signal lines so as to connect the plurality of kinds of freely combined standard cells to other circuit blocks (Figure 25 or Paragraphs 199-202 – e.g., cell arrangement and wiring steps).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi.
As to claim 8, Nakanishi discloses the circuit of claim 7. Nakanishi does not explicitly disclose a pad configured to have the first and second standard cells both connected thereto. However, Nakanishi does teach the use of pins or pads for both external and internal connections, including the use of a shared pad with the protection circuit (Nakanishi Paragraphs 3, 42 or 168-170). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a pad configured to have the first and second standard cells both connected thereto because doing would allow the circuit to be configured in a way which would be protected from electrical surges.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest a I/O circuit having the combination of elements of the claims including, among other elements, the circuit element arrangement of claim 3 in combination with the cell, protection element, and powerline configuration of the independent claims.
Conclusion
/BRYCE M AISAKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851