DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/19/23 & 06/14/24 & 06/13/25 was/were received by the Examiner before the issuance/mailing date of the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) has/have been considered (except for anything in foreign language non-accompanied by an English translation) by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a0(1) as being anticipated by Kawada et al. (JP 2022115708).
a. Re claim 16, Kawada et al. disclose a display apparatus comprising: a substrate 120&36&35&34&32&28 (see fig. 2 and related text; see remaining of disclosure for more details) comprising a mounting surface (upper surface) and a rear surface opposite to the mounting surface; inorganic light emitting devices 24 (pg. 6-7) electrically connected to the mounting surface and comprising: a first inorganic light emitting device (24 directly under 3R) configured to emit light: a second inorganic light emitting device (24 directly under 3G) configured to emit light; and a third inorganic light emitting device (24 directly under 3B) configured to emit light; and a color layer 3 disposed further from the mounting surface than the inorganic light emitting devices, the color layer comprising: a first color conversion layer 3R (see at least pg. 13-14) through which the light emitted from the first inorganic light emitting device, the first color conversion layer comprising quantum dots 12 (see pg. 11-13, 20-21) configured to convert a color of the light emitted from the first inorganic light emitting device; a second color conversion layer 3G through which the light emitted from the second inorganic light emitting device passes, the second color conversion layer comprising quantum dots 13 (see pg. 11-13, 20-21) configured to convert a color of the light emitted from the second inorganic light emitting device; and a scattering layer 3B (see at least pg. 13-15) through which the light emitted from the third inorganic light emitting device passes, scattering particles 17 (see at least pg. 20-21) being provided in the scattering layer to scatter the light emitted from the third inorganic light emitting device and passing through the scattering layer.
b. Re claim 17, each of the first color conversion layer and the second color conversion layer comprises (i.e. is, at least in part) a quantum dot layer (all the quantum dots as a whole in the first color conversion layer) accommodating the quantum dots and provided (at least in part) at a mounting surface side (upper or lower portion) in the first color conversion layer and the second color conversion layer, respectively.
c. Re claim 18, a ratio of a thickness of the quantum dot layer to a thickness of each of the first color conversion layer and the second color conversion layer is 0.2 to 1 (it is the Examiner’s position that a quantum dot layer as defined in claim 17 rejection above would have a thickness encompassing at least half, i.e. 50%, of the thickness of layer 3 as per fig. 2, and as such, a ratio of a thickness of the quantum dot layer to a thickness of each of the first color conversion layer and the second color conversion layer is about 0.5 or more but about less than 1).
d. Re claim 19, each of the inorganic light emitting devices is a same color (i.e. blue color; see at least the last 3 paragraphs of pg. 20, and see also at least pg. 21).
e. Re claim 20, each of the inorganic light emitting devices is a blue inorganic light emitting device, and the quantum dots are configured to convert blue light to another color (see at least the last 3 paragraphs of pg. 20, and see also at least pg. 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawada et al. (JP 2022115708) in view of Lim et al. (KR 20220081407).
a. Re claim 1, Kawada et al. disclose a display apparatus comprising: a display module comprising: a substrate 120&36&35&34&32&28 (see fig. 2 and related text; see remaining of disclosure for more details) comprising a mounting surface (upper surface) and a rear surface opposite to the mounting surface; a metal plate 10 (see pg. 7) bonded to the rear surface and configured to dissipate heat from the substrate; a front cover 110 (pg. 4-5) covering the mounting surface; inorganic light emitting devices 24 (pg. 6-7) electrically connected to the mounting surface, the inorganic light emitting devices comprising: a first inorganic light emitting device (24 directly under 3R) configured to emit light; a second inorganic light emitting device (24 directly under 3G) configured to emit light; and a third inorganic light emitting device (24 directly under 3B) configured to emit light; a color layer 3 (see at least pg. 4, 9, 11-12) between the inorganic light emitting devices and the front cover, the color layer comprising: a first color conversion layer 3R (see at least pg. 13-14) through which the light emitted from the first inorganic light emitting device passes; a second color conversion layer 3G through which the light emitted from the second inorganic light emitting device passes; and a scattering layer 3B (see at least pg. 13-15) through which the light emitted from the third inorganic light emitting device passes; and scattering particles 17 (see at least pg. 20-21) provided in the scattering layer and configured to scatter the light emitted from the third inorganic light emitting device and passing through the scattering layer. But Kawada et al. do not appear to explicitly disclose the display apparatus comprising a display module array comprising a plurality of display modules that are horizontally arranged in a form of a matrix.
However, Lim et al. disclose a display apparatus comprising a display module array comprising a plurality of display modules (DP1, DP2; see fig. 2, pg. 4 as well as remaining of disclosure for more details) that are horizontally arranged in a form of a matrix.
As such, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided, via a non-inventive duplication of essential working parts, the display apparatus comprising a display module array comprising a plurality of display modules that are horizontally arranged in a form of a matrix, and this in order to provide for a highly integrated and very large display device apparatus.
b. Re claim 2, the scattering particles are provided (at least in part) at a front portion in the scattering layer (explicit on fig. 2).
c. Re claim 3, the display apparatus of claim 2, further comprises a scattering particle layer 15 (pg. 13) in which the scattering particles are provided, wherein a ratio of a thickness of the scattering particle layer to a thickness of the scattering layer is 0.3 to 1 (the ratio is 1 since layer 15 and layer 3B are equal in thickness).
d. Re claim 4, the color layer further comprises a position guide portion 1&6 (or 1 or 6; see at least pg. 8-11) between the first color conversion layer, the second color conversion layer, and the scattering layer.
e. Re claim 5, each of the plurality of display modules further comprises: a black matrix 8 (pg. 22-24) between the front cover and the position guide portion; and a color filter 2 (pg. 22-23) between the front cover and each of the first color conversion layer, the second color conversion layer, and the scattering layer.
f. Re claim 6, the color filter comprises: a first color filter R (pg. 14) between the first color conversion layer and the front cover; a second color filter G between the second color conversion layer and the front cover; and a third color filter B between the scattering layer and the front cover, wherein the black matrix is (at least in part) between the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter (explicit on fig. 2).
g. Re claim 7, each of the inorganic light emitting devices is a blue inorganic light emitting device (see at least the last 3 paragraphs of pg. 20, and see also at least pg. 21).
h. Re claim 8, each of the first color conversion layer and the second color conversion layer comprises quantum dots (12, 13; see pg. 11-13, 20-21) configured to convert blue light to another color.
i. Re claim 9, the scattering particles comprise at least one of titanium dioxide (TiO2), zinc oxide (ZnO) (see pg. 13), zirconium dioxide (ZrO2), and aluminum oxide (Al2O3).
j. Re claim 10, the scattering particles have a size of 100 nm to 500 nm (i.e. 1 micron to 5 microns; the last paragraph of pg. 12 disclose a size of 1 micron to 3 microns for the scattering particles).
k. Re claim 11, Kawada et ail. In view of Lim et al. disclose that the scattering layer further comprises a resin 15 mixed with the scattering particles, but do not appear to explicitly disclose that a proportion of a weight of the scattering particles in a total weight of the scattering particles and the resin is 2 wt % to 10 wt %. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided a proportion of a weight of the scattering particles in a total weight of the scattering particles and the resin is 2 wt % to 10 wt % as required or desired to achieve a required or desired optical performance of the scattering layer.
l. Re claim 12, the first color conversion layer comprises (i.e. is at least in part) a quantum dot layer (all the quantum dots as a whole in the first color conversion layer) accommodating quantum dots adjacent to (i.e. near) the mounting surface and configured to convert a color of light emitted from the inorganic light emitting device and wherein the second color conversion layer comprises (i.e. is, at least in part) a quantum dot layer (all the quantum dots as a whole in the second color conversion layer) accommodating quantum dots adjacent to the mounting surface and configured to convert a color of the light emitted from the second inorganic light emitting device.
m. Re claim 13, a ratio of a thickness of the quantum dot layer to a thickness of each of the first color conversion layer and the second color conversion layer is 0.2 to 1 (it is the Examiner’s position that a quantum dot layer as defined in claim 12 rejection above would have a thickness encompassing at least half, i.e. 50%, of the thickness of layer 3 as per fig. 2, and as such, a ratio of a thickness of the quantum dot layer to a thickness of each of the first color conversion layer and the second color conversion layer is about 0.5 or more but about less than 1).
n. Re claim 14, the color layer further comprises a position guide portion 1&6 (or 1 or 6) between the first color conversion layer, the second color conversion layer, and the scattering layer, and configured to absorb and reflect the light emitted from the inorganic light emitting devices.
o. Re claim 15, each of the plurality of display modules further comprises: a black matrix 8 between the front cover and the position guide portion; and a color filter 2 between the front cover and each of the first color conversion layer, the second color conversion layer, and the scattering layer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee et al. (US 2022/0415962) disclose a structure similar to the claimed invention.
/PENIEL M GUMEDZOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899