DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/12/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended claims 19 and 29, Applicant argues that “Kim does not show that the plurality of semiconductor layers of the buffer layer sequence and the semiconductor layer sequence are all grown on the same substrate. Rather, Kim shows transferring the buffer layer(s) and/or the functional layers to a host substrate” (Remarks, p. 7). Fig. 2 of Kim is reproduced below, showing substrate 210, buffer layer 220, and epitaxial layer 230, which is transferred to host substrate 240.
This figure and corresponding text were cited in the previous rejection of claim 29, which contained limitations regarding epitaxially growing a semiconductor layer sequence on the growth substrate and was not addressed by Applicant in the remarks. The rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-32 and 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. PGPub 2019/0259608) in view of Weeks (U.S. PGPub 2017/0047407).
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches an arrangement comprising: a buffer layer sequence arranged on the substrate, comprising a plurality of semiconductor layers and a plurality of buffer layers, wherein the semiconductor layers and the buffer layers are arranged alternatingly, and wherein the buffer layers comprise graphene, MoS2, or WSe2, wherein the plurality of semiconductor layers of the buffer layer sequence is grown on the substrate (Fig. 4B, substrate 412, semiconductor layers 432, buffer layers 422, [0059]-[0060], [0032]), and an epitaxial semiconductor layer sequence arranged on the buffer layer sequence, wherein the epitaxial semiconductor layer sequence is grown on the substrate and the buffer layer sequence (Figs. 2A-2C, [0043], epitaxial layer 230 grown on buffer layer 220; Fig. 4B, [0060], epitaxial layers formed on graded buffer)
Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the semiconductor layers are based on a nitride semiconductor compound material.
Kim teaches wherein the substrate and epitaxial layers grown on the substrate are GaN-based materials ([0029], [0045], [0040]), and wherein the semiconductor layers are chosen and graded to lattice match the substrate and epitaxial layer at each side to reduce internal stress ([0052]).
Weeks teaches wherein a graded buffer layer chosen to reduce internal stresses ([0028]) for a GaN-based material ([0043]) is formed of a nitride semiconductor compound material ([0031])
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Weeks with Kim such that the semiconductor layers are based on a nitride semiconductor compound material for the purpose of choosing an appropriate material for growing GaN based materials while reducing internal stresses (Kim, [0052]; Weeks, [0028]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Kim and Weeks teaches wherein the epitaxial semiconductor layer sequence is based on a III/V semiconductor compound material (Kim, [0029], [0045]; Weeks, [0043]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Kim and Weeks for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 19.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Kim and Weeks teaches wherein the epitaxial semiconductor layer sequence is based on the nitride semiconductor compound material (Kim, [0029], [0045]; Weeks, [0043]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Kim and Weeks for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 19.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Kim and Weeks teaches wherein an aluminum content of the semiconductor layers increases from the substrate in a linear or stepwise manner (Weeks, [0031], [0035], Figs. 2A, 2D). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Kim and Weeks for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 19.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Kim and Weeks teaches wherein an indium content of the semiconductor layers increases from the substrate in a linear or stepwise manner (Weeks, [0031], [0035], Figs. 2A, 2D). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Kim and Weeks for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 19.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Kim and Weeks teaches wherein the semiconductor layers of the buffer layer sequence are epitaxially grown (Kim, [0052]; Weeks, [0056]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Kim and Weeks for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 19.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Kim and Weeks teaches wherein the semiconductor layers have a thickness between 50 nanometers and 2 micrometers, inclusive (Kim, [0054]). In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kim and Weeks such that the semiconductor layers have a thickness between 1 nanometer and 2 micrometer, inclusive.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Kim and Weeks teaches wherein the buffer layer may be multilayer graphene (Kim, [0032]). Examiner takes official notice that 4 layers of graphene is at least 1.3 nm thick. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kim and Weeks such that the buffer layers have a thickness between 1.3 nanometer and 500 nanometer, inclusive.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Kim and Weeks teaches wherein the substrate (In,Al,Ga)N (Kim, [0029]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Kim and Weeks for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 19.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Kim and Weeks teaches wherein the semiconductor layers of the buffer layer sequence are strain relaxed (Kim, [0055]; Weeks, [0030]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Kim and Weeks for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 19.
Regarding claim 29, Kim teaches a method for manufacturing an optoelectronic semiconductor body, the method comprising providing a growth substrate by: providing a substrate, depositing a buffer layer sequence on the substrate, the buffer layer sequence comprising a plurality of semiconductor layers and a plurality of buffer layers, wherein the semiconductor layers and the buffer layers are arranged alternatingly, and wherein the buffer layers comprise graphene, MoS2, or WSe2, wherein the plurality of semiconductor layers of the buffer layer sequence is grown on the substrate (Fig. 4B, substrate 412, semiconductor layers 432, buffer layers 422, [0059]-[0060], [0032]),
epitaxially growing a semiconductor layer sequence based on a semiconductor compound material on a main surface of the growth substrate (Fig. 2B, 230, [0045]; Fig. 4B, [0060], epitaxial layers formed on graded buffer),
wherein the epitaxial semiconductor layer sequence comprises an active zone for generating and/or detecting electromagnetic radiation ([0043], [0041]; device layer processed to form LEDs, photodetectors, solar cells)
Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the semiconductor layers are based on a nitride semiconductor compound material.
Kim teaches wherein the substrate and epitaxial layers grown on the substrate are GaN-based materials ([0029], [0045], [0040]), and wherein the semiconductor layers are chosen and graded to lattice match the substrate and epitaxial layer at each side to reduce internal stress ([0052]).
Weeks teaches wherein a graded buffer layer chosen to reduce internal stresses ([0028]) for a GaN-based material ([0043]) is formed of a nitride semiconductor compound material ([0031])
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Weeks with Kim such that the semiconductor layers are based on a nitride semiconductor compound material for the purpose of choosing an appropriate material for growing GaN based materials while reducing internal stresses (Kim, [0052]; Weeks, [0028]).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Kim and Weeks teaches, after epitaxially growing the semiconductor layer sequence, removing the epitaxial semiconductor layer sequence from the growth substrate by exfoliating (Kim, [0033], [0047]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Kim and Weeks for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 19.
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Kim and Weeks teaches arranging the epitaxial semiconductor layer sequence on a carrier (Kim, [0043], 240, Fig. 2C). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Kim and Weeks for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 19.
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Kim and Weeks teaches wherein the active zone is configured to generate or detect electromagnetic radiation with a wavelength in the visible light range ([0043], [0041]; device layer processed to form LEDs, solar cells). In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Kim and Weeks for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 19.
Regarding claim 35, Kim teaches a method for manufacturing an optoelectronic semiconductor body, the method comprising providing a growth substrate by: providing a substrate, depositing a buffer layer sequence on the substrate, the buffer layer sequence comprising a plurality of semiconductor layers and a plurality of buffer layers, wherein the semiconductor layers and the buffer layers are arranged alternatingly, and wherein the buffer layers comprise graphene, MoS2, or WSe2, wherein the plurality of semiconductor layers of the buffer layer sequence is grown on the substrate (Fig. 4B, substrate 412, semiconductor layers 432, buffer layers 422, [0059]-[0060], [0032]),
epitaxially growing a semiconductor layer sequence on a main surface of the growth substrate (Fig. 2B, 230, [0045]; Fig. 4B, [0060], epitaxial layers formed on graded buffer),
wherein the epitaxial semiconductor layer sequence comprises an active zone for generating and/or detecting electromagnetic radiation ([0043], [0041]; device layer processed to form LEDs, photodetectors, solar cells), and
after epitaxially growing the semiconductor layer sequence, removing the epitaxial semiconductor layer sequence from the growth substrate (Kim, [0033], [0047]).
Kim does not explicitly teach removing the epitaxial semiconductor layer so that a part of the buffer layer sequence remains on the epitaxial semiconductor layer sequence.
Kim teaches wherein removal of the epitaxial semiconductor layer is facilitated by the Van der Waals forces bonding the layers of the buffer layer sequence ([0023], [0028], [0033], [0057]).
Applicant’s Specification teaches wherein removal of the epitaxial semiconductor layer is facilitated by the Van der Waals forces bonding the layers of the buffer layer sequence, wherein this process may leave a part of the buffer layer sequence on the epitaxial semiconductor layer sequence ([0041]).
Where claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, regarding claimed properties or functions, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kim such that removing the epitaxial semiconductor layer so that a part of the buffer layer sequence remains on the epitaxial semiconductor layer sequence.
Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the semiconductor layers are based on a nitride semiconductor compound material.
Kim teaches wherein the substrate and epitaxial layers grown on the substrate are GaN-based materials ([0029], [0045], [0040]), and wherein the semiconductor layers are chosen and graded to lattice match the substrate and epitaxial layer at each side to reduce internal stress ([0052]).
Weeks teaches wherein a graded buffer layer chosen to reduce internal stresses ([0028]) for a GaN-based material ([0043]) is formed of a nitride semiconductor compound material ([0031])
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Weeks with Kim such that the semiconductor layers are based on a nitride semiconductor compound material for the purpose of choosing an appropriate material for growing GaN based materials while reducing internal stresses (Kim, [0052]; Weeks, [0028]).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Kim and Weeks teaches arranging the epitaxial semiconductor layer sequence on a carrier (Kim, [0043], 240, Fig. 2C). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Kim and Weeks for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 35.
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Kim and Weeks teaches wherein the epitaxial semiconductor layer sequence is based on a III/V semiconductor compound material (Kim, [0029], [0045]; Weeks, [0043]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Kim and Weeks for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 35.
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Kim and Weeks teaches wherein the epitaxial semiconductor layer sequence is based on the nitride semiconductor compound material (Kim, [0029], [0045]; Weeks, [0043]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Kim and Weeks for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 35.
Claims 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. PGPub 2019/0259608) in view of Weeks (U.S. PGPub 2017/0047407) and further in view of Snure (U.S. PGPub 2022/0216109).
Regarding claims 33-34, the combination of Kim and Weeks does not explicitly teach whether depositing the buffer layer sequence and epitaxially growing the plurality of semiconductor layers takes place in the same or different deposition chambers as growing the epitaxial semiconductor layer sequence.
Kim teaches wherein the semiconductor layers of the buffer layer sequence are formed by epitaxial growth ([0052]).
Snure teaches wherein a buffer layer comprising graphene may be formed by epitaxial growth, CVD, sputtering, or layer transfer ([0011]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Snure with Kim and Weeks such that the buffer layer sequence takes place in the same or different deposition chambers as growing the epitaxial semiconductor layer sequence according to whether the buffer layers in the buffer layer sequence are formed by the same method (epitaxial growth) as the buffer layer and can be performed in the same chamber or by a different method and require a separate chamber.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALIA SABUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812