DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 4/2/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 20-23 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/2/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazemi et al (US 2019/0135958).
Claim 1, 3-9, 16-17: Kazemi teaches an ethylene interpolymer composition comprising from 5 to 60 weight percent of the first ethylene interpolymer having a melt index from 0.01 to 200 dg/min, Mw/Mn of 1.7-2.4, and a density of 0.855 g/cc to 0.975 g/cc; from 20 to 95 weight percent of the second ethylene interpolymer having a melt index from 0.3 to 1000 dg/min, Mw/Mn of 1.7-2.4, and a density of 0.855 g/cc to 0.975 g/cc, and; from 0 to 30 weight percent of the third ethylene interpolymer having a melt index from 0.5 to 2000 dg/min, Mw/Mn of 1.7-5.0, and a density of 0.855 g/cc to 0.975 g/cc; [0253, 0020, 0022].
The composition has a melt index from about 0.3 to about 500 dg/minute, a density from about 0.855 to about 0.975 g/cc, a residual catalytic metal of from ≥0.03 to ≤5 ppm of hafnium, a Mw/Mn of 1.7-25 (abstract). An exemplary embodiment shows the Mn of the first copolymer is greater than that of the second and third copolymer (table 13). Case law holds that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 2: the comonomer contents in the first, second and third copolymer are each 10-90% [0187]. It makes the SCB1/SCB2 overlap the claimed range.
Claim 10: the ethylene copolymer are made with a catalyst of
, M is hafnium [0060-0062].
Claim 11-12: the first and the second copolymers each have CDBI50 of 75-95%, the third copolymer has CDBI50 of 40-95% [0021].
Claims 13-15: the composition has 0-25 mol% of an alpha-olefin, octene [0007, claims 4-6].
Claim 18: Kazemi does not teach the crystallization rate constant.
However, the teachings from Kazemi have rendered obvious the instantly claimed ingredients, amounts thereof, and the catalyst used. Therefore, it is reasonable that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the claimed physical properties to naturally arise.
Claims 1,3-7, 9-10, 13, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Degroot et al (US 2018/0223092) in view of Kazemi et al (US 2019/0135958).
Claims 1,3-7, 9-10, 13, 16-17, 19: Degroot teaches a composition comprising 52wt% of INFUSE 9007 and 48wt% of INFUSE 9507 (example 2). INFUSE 9007 has a density of 0.8666, I2 of 0.5 and Mw/Mn of 2.42, Mn of 65210; INFUSE 9507 has a density of 0.8666, I2 of 5 and Mw/Mn of 2.36, Mn of 37660. INFUSE 9007 reads on the first ethylene copolymer, INFUSE 9507 can be distributed into two parts to read on the second and third ethylene copolymers. Both have more than 13 mol% of octent.
The composition has a density of 0.8666, I2 of 1.5, Mw/Mn of 2.47.
Degroot does not teach the hafnium content of the composition.
However, Kazemi teaches a process having an increased production rate of making ethylene copolymer uses a homogeneous catalyst formulation:
, M is hafnium [0008-0017, 0060-0062]. The copolymer has a residual hafnium of 0.03-5 ppm (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize the process of Kazemi to prepare the copolymer of Degroot to increase production rate and it results in a copolymer mixture having the claimed hafnium content.
Claim 18: Kazemi does not teach the crystallization rate constant.
However, the combined teachings from Kazemi and Degroot have rendered obvious the instantly claimed ingredients, amounts thereof, and the catalyst used. Therefore, it is reasonable that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the claimed physical properties to naturally arise.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-19 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No.18/546,109. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘109 claims a composition comprising three ethylene copolymers, each has a density, Mw/Mn, I2 overlaps the claimed range.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/WENWEN CAI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 17631