DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary amendment dated 11 August 2023 is acknowledged. Claims 1-17 as amended are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2013-018842 A (“Motofuji”).
As to claims 1, 2, and 9, Motofuji teaches a composition comprising a bifunctional (meth)acrylate having a polyoxyalkylene chain (abstract). Motofuji teaches a polyethylene glycol diacrylate, which meets Formula 1 where R11 and R12 are hydrogen, and R12 is a divalent polyoxyalkylene group, specifically polyoxyethylene as required by claim 2, and acryoylmorpholine, which meets Formula 2 where R23 is hydrogen, and R21 and R22 are bonded to each other to form a ring as required by claims 1 and 9 (para. 0198).
As to claim 16, Motofuji teaches cured product of the composition (para. 0126).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2013-018842 A (“Motofuji”) as evidenced by JP 2009-265640 A (“Makino”).
The additional reference is used to show that a recited limitation is inherent. See MPEP 2131.01.
A partial machine translation of JP 2009-265640 A is enclosed.
As to claim 8, Motofuji does not discuss the viscosity. However, Motofuji teaches the use of PE-400 diacrylate, which as evidenced by Makino, para. 0033, as having viscosity in the recited range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, 7, 11, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2013-018842 A (“Motofuji”).
The discussion of Motofuji with respect to claim 1 is incorporated by reference.
As to claim 3, while not exemplified, Motofuji teaches that the polyoxyalikylene compound may have oxypropylene groups (para. 0015), and thus is an obvious modification suggested by Motofuji.
As to claim 6, while not exemplified, Motofuji teaches the bifunctional polyoxyalkylene diacrylate may have number average molecular weight ranging from preferably 400 to 10000 (para. 0011), which includes compounds having weight average molecular weight of 5000 or more (since weight average molecular weight always equals or exceeds number average molecular weight). As such, the use of bifunctional polyoxyalkylene methacrylate in the recited range is an obvious modification suggested by Motofuji.
As to claim 7, while the recited number of oxyalkylene groups is not exemplified, Motofuji teaches the bifunctional polyoxyalkylene diacrylate may have number average molecular weight ranging from preferably 400 to 10000 (para. 0011), which range includes compounds having 100 or more oxyethylene, oxypropylene, oxybutylene groups, and as such, bifunctional polyoxyalkylene (meth)acrylates having the recited number of groups is an obvious modification implicitly suggested by Motofuji.
As to claims 11 and 15, while not exemplified, Motofuji teaches the composition may include pigments, including graphite, and alumina (para. 0078), which are thermally conductive as required by claims 11 and 15, and as such, the use of pigment (filler) that is thermally conductive is an obvious modification suggested by Motofuji.
As to claim 17, while not exemplified, Motofuji teaches the cured coating can be applied to flat panel displays for electronics, and electronic components (paras. 0001, 0002), all of which generate heat in operation; as such, an article with a heat source and cured product in contact is an obvious modification suggested by Motofuji.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2013-018842 A (“Motofuji”) as applied to claim 11, further in view of JP 2004-231913 A (“Terakawa”).
A partial machine translation of JP 2004-231913 A is enclosed.
As to claims 12-14, Motofuji teaches the use of fillers such as alumina, and the use of adhesion (coupling) agents (para. 0091), but does not discuss chemical adsorption of a coupling agent to thermally conductive filler. Terakawa teaches photopolymerizable compositions, including inorganic filler, including heat conductive fillers such as alumina, (para. 0049), and teaches that fillers are preferentially hydrophobized with a surface treatement agent such as methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane as required by claims 13 and 14. As such, the surface modification of fillers, including heat conductive fillers, in photocurable compositions is known in the art from Terakawa.
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2018-172565 A (“Watanabe”).
As to claims 1 and 2, Watanabe teaches a composition comprising a compound having an alkylene oxide chain and two or more radical polymerizing groups (para. 0010). As one example, Watanabe exemplifies di(meth)acrylate of ethylene oxide adduct of bisphenol A, which meets Chemical Formula 1 with R13 being a divalent group having a polyoxyalkylene chain, specifically oxyethylene as required by claim 2, and R11 and R12 being hydrogen or methyl.
Though the recited compound of Chemical Formula 2 is not exemplified, Watanabe teaches the use of a monomer (A), which may include dimethyl (meth)acrylamide, (meth)acryloyl morpholine, isopropyl (meth)acrylamide and others (para. 0024), which meet Chemical Formula 2 where R23 is hydrogen or methyl, and R1 and R22 are hydrogen, monovalent organic group, or bound to form a ring.
As such, the use of a compound of Chemical Formula 2 in the composition of Watanabe is an obvious modification suggested by Watanabe.
As to claim 3, while not exemplified, Watanabe teaches the alkylene oxide chain may include oxypropylene (propylene oxide) units (para. 0038), and thus the same is an obvious modification suggested by Watanabe.
As to claims 4 and 5, Watanabe teaches the use of ethylene oxide (oxyethylene) and propylene oxide (oxypropylene) as monomers, and teaches copolymers, including random copolymers (para. 0038), and thus the recited species are an obvious modification suggested by Watanabe.
As to claim 9, Watanabe teaches the composition may include (meth)acryloyl morpholine (para. 0024), which meets Formula (2) wehre R21 and R22 form a ring.
As to claim 10, Watanabe teaches the composition includes a poly (meth)acrylate with one or more radical polymerizing functional groups (abstract). Specifically, Watanabe prefers polyacrylates with acryloyl groups at both ends of the molecule (para. 0060), which meets Chemical Formual 2 where R21 and R31 are hydrogen, and R33 is a divalent group having a polyacrylate chain.
As to claim 16, Watanabe teaches curing the composition (para. 0055).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 10 is provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 10 of copending Application No. 18/546,187 (reference application). Copending claim 10 recites a composition of Chemical Formula 1, Chemical Formula 2, and Chemical Formula 3, which are identical to Chemical Formula 1, Chemical Formula 3, and Chemical Formula 2 of pending clam 10, respectively. This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10 and 11 of copending Application No. 18/546,187 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending claim 10 recites a compound comprising a compound of Chemical Formula 1 and Chemical Formula 3, which correspond to Chemical Formula 1 and Chemical Formula 2 of pending claim 1. Copending claim 11 include the additional limitation of pending claim 9.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/KREGG T BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764