DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to application number 18/546,282, amendment and remarks, dated on 03/12/2026.
Claims 30 and 32-47 pending.
Claims 1-29 and 31 canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant in page 10 of remarks argues that “Kim qualifies as prior art only if the Korean priority application (KR 10-2020-0130500) supports the subject matter relied upon in the rejection. Applicant has not located an available copy of the priority application and requests that the Office provide a translated copy for verification of the priority claim”.
It is noted that the prior art, Kim document has been published as the Patent Application publication No. US 2023/0397284 A1 by the United State Patent office, dated 12/7/2023. The Patent Application publication No. US 2023/0397284 A1 claims priority to the Korean priority application (KR 10-2020-0130500). The claim priority to the Korean priority application (KR 10-2020-0130500) has been certified by the Korean Intellectual Property Office and verified by the United State Patent office. The requested Korean priority application (KR 10-2020-0130500) and translation are provided as the attachment to this office action.
Applicant in page 11 or remarks argues that “As the filed application explains, one problem with conventional fast MCG link recovery procedures is that conventional MCG failure information does not give the base station any basis for determining and counteracting the cause of the MCG connection failure. That problem is amplified by the fact that, while the involved UE might log more details in a Radio Link Failure (RLF) report, that report is deleted if fast MCG link recovery is successful. See p. 7 of the Applicant's filed application”.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant in page 11 or remarks argues that “The elapsed-time information mentioned in the rejection arguments (see paragraph 67 of Kim) is not included in the MCGFailureInformation sent by Kim's UE. See paragraphs 86-93 of Kim, detailing the contents of the MCGFailureInformation, and see paragraph 94 of Kim, detailing the timing/basis for subsequent sending of an RLF report by Kim's UE”.
Kim discloses that when MCG failure occurs, the UE declares the RLF. The RLF report that is stored in the UE and the MCGFailureInformation including various elapse times up to the MCG connection failure time are transmitted to the BS/network for the fast MCG link recovery, see following exemplary paragraphs (Information collected when RLF occurs in the UE may be useful for optimizing a cell area. Therefore, when RLF occurs, this information may be stored in the UE. Then, when the UE is successfully switched to the connected mode, the UE may report the information to a BS. The report is called an RLF report, and the RLF report may include, for example, at least one of the followings as RLF report content collected when RLF occurs. plmn-IdentityList: A list of public land mobile network (PLMN) identifiers (PLMN IDs) to which a cell belongs measResultLastServCell: A signal quality measured from the last serving cell of the UE measResultNeighCells: Signal qualities measured from neighbor cells of the UE locationInfo: Location information about the UE failedPCellId: A physical cell ID of a primary cell (PCell) in which RLF has been detected.] previousPCellId: A global cell ID of a primary cell in which a last RRC reconfiguration message has been received timeConnFailure: An elapsed time after the last RRC reconfiguration message has been received C-RNTI used in the source PCell: A cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) used in a source primary cell connectionFailureType: Indicates whether connection failure is caused by RLF or handover failure; ¶60-¶69; Table 2; Upon occurrence of RLF in a connection to the MN, the UE transmits an MCGFailureInformation message to the SN BS 510 (or another BS) (520). For example, the MCGFailureInformation message may include at least one of the following pieces of information in MCG failure report information, FailureReportMCG. failureType-r16 {t310-Expiry, randomAccessProblem, rlc-MaxNumRetx, t312-Expiry-r16, lbt-Failure-r16, beamFailureRecoveryFailure-r16, bh-RLF-r16, spare1}, measResultFreqList-r16, measResultFreqListEUTRA-r16, measResultSCG-r16, measResultSCG-EUTRA-r16, measResultFreqListUTRA-FDD-r16; ¶86-¶92; ¶93; When MCG failure occurs and thus RLF is declared, the UE stores valid information at a corresponding time. That is, RLF report content including information to be included in an RLF report is stored in the UE. After the UE is switched to the connected mode, the UE may transmit the RLF report including the RLF report content to a BS. The fast MCG link recovery operation is performed after the RLF occurs. In the following embodiments, as fast MCG link recovery triggered after the RLF is successful or failed, methods of processing an RLF report are proposed. For example, upon receipt of an RRCRelease message or an RRCReconfiguration message that configures handover from the BS within a specific time after transmitting MCGFailureInformation, the UE may determine that the fast MCG link recovery is successful. Otherwise, the UE may consider that the fast MCG link recovery is failed; ¶94; Referring to FIG. 6, an MN BS 610 may include configuration information for fast MCG link recovery in a predetermined RRC message, for example, an RRCReconfiguration message transmitted to a UE 605 configured with dual connectivity (620). The configuration information may include a setting value for a T316 timer. In an embodiment, the configuration information may include an indicator instructing whether to store information related to fast MCG link recovery failure as content of an RLF report, when the fast MCG link recovery failure occurs; ¶96; ¶97; ¶100; In step 710, the UE may collect valid information in relation to the MCG failure and store the information in RLF report content; ¶110).
Applicant in page 11 or remarks argues in regard to claim 40 that “Liu explains that a UE may determine whether a radio link failure arises from being handed over too late or too early, with the UE indicating those details in an RLF report sent by the UE. As such, Liu does not disclose classification by a base station, in which the base station classifies an MCG failure event based on MCG failure information that comprises an elapsed time from time of reception at a wireless device of a last RRC reconfiguration message that was associated with the MCG and included reconfiguration with sync and a time of detection of the MCG failure event by the wireless device. Moreover, Liu's RLF reporting does not occur during an MCG connection failure, but rather as part of RLF reporting occurring, for example, connection reestablishment”.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Kim discloses a method performed by a base station (BS/SN/MN/network; Figs. 4-6) for classifying mobility failure (mobility management and declaring RLF; ¶59), the method comprising: receiving, from a wireless device (UE; Figs. 2, 4-10), operating with a Master Cell Group (MCG), MCG Failure Information, wherein the MCG Failure Information is received for fast MCG link recovery and is associated with a detection by the wireless device of a failure event in the MCG, and wherein the failure event is at least one of: a Radio Link Failure (RLF) and a Handover Failure (HOF) (Fig. 3 shows the Master Cell Group (MCG) failures including the Radio Link Failure (RLF) and the Handover Failure (HOF); Fig. 4, el. 420; identifying MCG failure; Fig. 7, el. 705; Fig. 9, el. 905; abstract; ¶74); and the MCG Failure Information comprises an elapsed time between time of reception by the wireless device of a last Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message that was associated with the MCG and included reconfiguration with sync (reconfiguration with sync; Fig. 2 shows detecting and sending indication of the out-of-sync to upper layer of the UE; Fig. 9, el. 920 shows the UE receiving the Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message with reconfigurationwithsync; table 2) and time of the detection of the failure event (the UE logging the MCG Failure Information subsequent to detection of the MCG Failure event such as the elapse time of the MCG Failure events and the elapse time between the MCG Failure events associated with the failure events; ¶60-¶69; Table 2; ¶86-¶92; ¶93; ¶94; ¶96; ¶97; ¶100; ¶110); and
Liu in the same filed of endeavor, method and device for providing feedback about radio link failure (RLF) events (abstract) for an MCG (herein, the RLF event may be for an MCG in a dual-connectivity configuration; ¶14; In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the RLF event may be for an MCG in a dual-connectivity configuration. Some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for identifying a measurement for an MCG and a measurement for at least one SCG in a dual-connectivity configuration based on receiving the RLF report, where the message includes the measurements; ¶173; In some examples, the dual-connectivity manager 1435 may identify an identifier of a primary secondary cell in a dual-connectivity configuration when a last RRC reconfiguration message including mobility control information was received, where the RLF report includes the identifier. In some cases, the RLF event is for an MCG in a dual-connectivity configuration; ¶375; Example 14: The method of any of examples 1-13, wherein the RLF event is for an MCG in a dual-connectivity configuration; ¶504) discloses classifying the failure event (the RLF) based on the MCG Failure Information (classifying the MCG failure event based on the MCG Failure Information (too-late, too-early, wrong-cell); identifying whether the RLF event associated with the conditional handover may be based on a too-late handover scenario from a source cell to one of the one or more candidate target cells or a wrong-cell handover scenario to a wrong cell. In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the RLF report includes information indicating whether the RLF event associated with the conditional handover may be based on the too-late handover scenario or the wrong-cell handover scenario; ¶108; FIG. 2A illustrates a too-late handover procedure 200-a; ¶246; FIG. 2B illustrates a too-early handover procedure 200-b; ¶247; FIG. 2C illustrates a wrong-cell handover procedure 200-c; ¶248) by a base station (implementation by a base station; non-transitory computer-readable medium; ¶173; the dual-connectivity manager; ¶375).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 30, 32-39 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated or alternatively unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2023/0397284 A1).
Claim 30, Kim discloses a method performed by a wireless device (UE; Figs. 2, 4-10), the method comprising:
detecting a failure event in a Master Cell Group (MCG), wherein the failure event is at least one of a Radio Link Failure (RLF) and a Handover Failure (HOF) (Fig. 3 shows the Master Cell Group (MCG) failures including the Radio Link Failure (RLF) and the Handover Failure (HOF); Fig. 4, el. 420; identifying MCG failure; Fig. 7, el. 705; Fig. 9, el. 905; abstract; connectionFailureType: Indicates whether connection failure is caused by RLF or handover failure; ¶60; In the REL-16 NR standard, a fast MCG link recovery technology was introduced to overcome the above disadvantages. In the fast MCG link recovery technology, when the UE 415 with dual connectivity has a problem with the connection to the MN 405, the UE 415 may declare RLF and then transmit an RRC message notifying MCG failure 420, for example, an MCGFailureInformation message to the SN 410; ¶74);
logging MCG Failure Information associated with the failure event subsequent to detection of the failure event, wherein the MCG Failure Information comprises an elapsed time between time of reception of a last Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message, including reconfiguration with sync (reconfiguration with sync; Fig. 2 shows detecting and sending indication of the out-of-sync to upper layer of the UE; Fig. 9, el. 920 shows the UE receiving the Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message with reconfigurationwithsync; table 2), associated with the MCG, and time of the detection of the failure event (the UE logging the MCG Failure Information subsequent to detection of the MCG Failure event such as the elapse time of the MCG Failure events and the elapse time between the MCG Failure events associated with the failure events; Information collected when RLF occurs in the UE may be useful for optimizing a cell area. Therefore, when RLF occurs, this information may be stored in the UE. Then, when the UE is successfully switched to the connected mode, the UE may report the information to a BS. The report is called an RLF report, and the RLF report may include, for example, at least one of the followings as RLF report content collected when RLF occurs. plmn-IdentityList: A list of public land mobile network (PLMN) identifiers (PLMN IDs) to which a cell belongs measResultLastServCell: A signal quality measured from the last serving cell of the UE measResultNeighCells: Signal qualities measured from neighbor cells of the UE locationInfo: Location information about the UE failedPCellId: A physical cell ID of a primary cell (PCell) in which RLF has been detected.] previousPCellId: A global cell ID of a primary cell in which a last RRC reconfiguration message has been received timeConnFailure: An elapsed time after the last RRC reconfiguration message has been received C-RNTI used in the source PCell: A cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) used in a source primary cell connectionFailureType: Indicates whether connection failure is caused by RLF or handover failure; ¶60-¶69; Table 2; Upon occurrence of RLF in a connection to the MN, the UE transmits an MCGFailureInformation message to the SN BS 510 (or another BS) (520). For example, the MCGFailureInformation message may include at least one of the following pieces of information in MCG failure report information, FailureReportMCG. failureType-r16 {t310-Expiry, randomAccessProblem, rlc-MaxNumRetx, t312-Expiry-r16, lbt-Failure-r16, beamFailureRecoveryFailure-r16, bh-RLF-r16, spare1}, measResultFreqList-r16, measResultFreqListEUTRA-r16, measResultSCG-r16, measResultSCG-EUTRA-r16, measResultFreqListUTRA-FDD-r16; ¶86-¶92; ¶93; When MCG failure occurs and thus RLF is declared, the UE stores valid information at a corresponding time. That is, RLF report content including information to be included in an RLF report is stored in the UE. After the UE is switched to the connected mode, the UE may transmit the RLF report including the RLF report content to a BS. The fast MCG link recovery operation is performed after the RLF occurs. In the following embodiments, as fast MCG link recovery triggered after the RLF is successful or failed, methods of processing an RLF report are proposed. For example, upon receipt of an RRCRelease message or an RRCReconfiguration message that configures handover from the BS within a specific time after transmitting MCGFailureInformation, the UE may determine that the fast MCG link recovery is successful. Otherwise, the UE may consider that the fast MCG link recovery is failed; ¶94; Referring to FIG. 6, an MN BS 610 may include configuration information for fast MCG link recovery in a predetermined RRC message, for example, an RRCReconfiguration message transmitted to a UE 605 configured with dual connectivity (620). The configuration information may include a setting value for a T316 timer. In an embodiment, the configuration information may include an indicator instructing whether to store information related to fast MCG link recovery failure as content of an RLF report, when the fast MCG link recovery failure occurs; ¶96; ¶97; ¶100; In step 710, the UE may collect valid information in relation to the MCG failure and store the information in RLF report content; ¶110); and
transmitting the MCG Failure Information to a base station in a fast MCG link recovery procedure (abstract; Figs. 4-6, show the UE transmitting the MCGFailureInformation and the RLF report to the base station (SN/MN/network); transmitting MCGFailureInformation; Fig. 7 & 9, els. 720, 920; The present disclosure relates to a 5G or pre-5G communication system for supporting a higher data transmission rate than a 4G communication system such as LTE. A method for managing a link in a wireless communication may comprise the steps of: collecting and storing RLF report content for an RLF report when DC-related MCG failure is detected; transmitting an MCG failure information message related to the MCG failure to a first base station; when a response message related to the MCG failure is not received within a predetermined time period after the MCG failure information message is transmitted, adding, to the stored RLF report content, an indicator indicating that fast MCG link recovery has not been successfully completed; and transmitting an RLF report including the stored RLF report content to a second base station during a wireless link re-establishment procedure after the MCG failure; abstract; ¶13; In the REL-16 NR standard, a fast MCG link recovery technology was introduced to overcome the above disadvantages. In the fast MCG link recovery technology, when the UE 415 with dual connectivity has a problem with the connection to the MN 405, the UE 415 may declare RLF and then transmit an RRC message notifying MCG failure 420, for example, an MCGFailureInformation message to the SN 410; ¶74; ¶95; The UE 605 may declare RLF according to a predetermined condition, and set and store information for RLF reporting (e.g., including RLF report content or RLF report variables) (625). The UE 605 may transmit an MCGFailureInformation message to an SN BS 615 via a split SRB or SRB3 (630 and 635). The SN BS 615, which has received the MCGFailureInformation message, may transmit the MCGFailureInformation message to the MN BS 610; ¶97; ¶105).
Claim 32, Kim discloses wherein the MCG Failure Information further comprises an elapsed time between time of successful execution of the last RRC reconfiguration message, including reconfiguration with sync, associated with the MCG and time of the detection of the failure (logging the MCG Failure Information subsequent to detection of the failure event and including the various elapse times of the MCG failure events and the various elapse times between the MCG Failure events (timeConnFailure) associated with the failure events; Information collected when RLF occurs in the UE may be useful for optimizing a cell area. Therefore, when RLF occurs, this information may be stored in the UE. Then, when the UE is successfully switched to the connected mode, the UE may report the information to a BS. The report is called an RLF report, and the RLF report may include, for example, at least one of the followings as RLF report content collected when RLF occurs. plmn-IdentityList: A list of public land mobile network (PLMN) identifiers (PLMN IDs) to which a cell belongs measResultLastServCell: A signal quality measured from the last serving cell of the UE measResultNeighCells: Signal qualities measured from neighbor cells of the UE locationInfo: Location information about the UE failedPCellId: A physical cell ID of a primary cell (PCell) in which RLF has been detected.] previousPCellId: A global cell ID of a primary cell in which a last RRC reconfiguration message has been received timeConnFailure: An elapsed time after the last RRC reconfiguration message has been received C-RNTI used in the source PCell: A cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) used in a source primary cell connectionFailureType: Indicates whether connection failure is caused by RLF or handover failure; ¶60-¶69; Table 2; Upon occurrence of RLF in a connection to the MN, the UE transmits an MCGFailureInformation message to the SN BS 510 (or another BS) (520). For example, the MCGFailureInformation message may include at least one of the following pieces of information in MCG failure report information, FailureReportMCG. failureType-r16 {t310-Expiry, randomAccessProblem, rlc-MaxNumRetx, t312-Expiry-r16, lbt-Failure-r16, beamFailureRecoveryFailure-r16, bh-RLF-r16, spare1}, measResultFreqList-r16, measResultFreqListEUTRA-r16, measResultSCG-r16, measResultSCG-EUTRA-r16, measResultFreqListUTRA-FDD-r16; ¶86-¶92).
Claim 33, Kim discloses logging additional information in a RLF report after a fast MCG link recovery procedure, wherein the additional information indicates an outcome of the fast MCG link recovery procedure (the RLF report indicating the fast MCG link recovery procedure failure or success; abstract; ¶13; ¶60; When MCG failure occurs and thus RLF is declared, the UE stores valid information at a corresponding time. That is, RLF report content including information to be included in an RLF report is stored in the UE. After the UE is switched to the connected mode, the UE may transmit the RLF report including the RLF report content to a BS. The fast MCG link recovery operation is performed after the RLF occurs. In the following embodiments, as fast MCG link recovery triggered after the RLF is successful or failed, methods of processing an RLF report are proposed. For example, upon receipt of an RRCRelease message or an RRCReconfiguration message that configures handover from the BS within a specific time after transmitting MCGFailureInformation, the UE may determine that the fast MCG link recovery is successful. Otherwise, the UE may consider that the fast MCG link recovery is failed; ¶94; ¶95; In a conventional RLF report, the UE 605 may only detect that the T316 timer has expired without identifying the fast MCG link recovery failure. To optimize the fast MCG link recovery operation, the UE 605, a network node, and/or a mobile communication operator needs to recognize failure or success of the fast MCG link recovery. In an embodiment of the disclosure, when the T316 timer expires (645), the UE 605 may add an indicator (e.g., a 1-bit indicator) indicating that the fast MCG link recovery operation has not been successfully completed (or the T316 timer has expired) to the RLF report content (645). In an embodiment, the UE 605 may further include all or some information (e.g., failureType information) included in the MCGFailureInformation message in the RLF report content. In an embodiment, the UE 605 may additionally include, in the RLF report content, an indicator indicating that a radio bearer used to transmit the MCGFailureInformation message is a split SRB or SRB3; ¶99-¶100; ¶105; In step 730, the UE may add an indicator indicating that the fast MCG link recovery has failed to the RLF content. Subsequently, the UE may transmit an RLF report including the RLF report content to the SN BS, while performing an RRC re-establishment according to a predetermined procedure; ¶114); and
transmitting the RLF report to the base station (abstract; Fig. 6 shows transmitting the RLF report to the base station; ¶9; ¶70; The SN BS 615 may request the RLF report by transmitting a UEInformationRequest message to the UE 605 in response to the RLF report availability indicator (665). Upon detection of the request, the UE 605 may transmit the RLF report including the stored RLF report content to the SN BS 615, using a UEInformationResponse message (670); ¶104; ¶109; In step 730, the UE may add an indicator indicating that the fast MCG link recovery has failed to the RLF content. Subsequently, the UE may transmit an RLF report including the RLF report content to the SN BS, while performing an RRC re-establishment according to a predetermined procedure; ¶114),
wherein the additional information comprises an indication of whether the wireless device was configured for fast MCG link recovery procedure at the time of the detection of the RLF event (indication of the UE was configured for fast MCG link recovery procedure; abstract; ¶13; Referring to FIG. 6, an MN BS 610 may include configuration information for fast MCG link recovery in a predetermined RRC message, for example, an RRCReconfiguration message transmitted to a UE 605 configured with dual connectivity (620). The configuration information may include a setting value for a T316 timer. In an embodiment, the configuration information may include an indicator instructing whether to store information related to fast MCG link recovery failure as content of an RLF report, when the fast MCG link recovery failure occurs; ¶96; In an embodiment of the disclosure, when the T316 timer expires (645), the UE 605 may add an indicator (e.g., a 1-bit indicator) indicating that the fast MCG link recovery operation has not been successfully completed (or the T316 timer has expired) to the RLF report content (645). In an embodiment, the UE 605 may further include all or some information (e.g., failureType information) included in the MCGFailureInformation message in the RLF report content. In an embodiment, the UE 605 may additionally include, in the RLF report content, an indicator indicating that a radio bearer used to transmit the MCGFailureInformation message is a split SRB or SRB3; ¶100; Fig. 7, el. 730 show the UE adding indication of the fast MCG link recovery that the UE was configured for fast MCG link recovery procedure at the time of the detection of the RLF event; the UE may determine whether a split SRB or SRB3 has been configured between the UE and an SN BS, and fast MCG link recovery has also been configured; ¶111; In step 730, the UE may add an indicator indicating that the fast MCG link recovery has failed to the RLF content. Subsequently, the UE may transmit an RLF report including the RLF report content to the SN BS, while performing an RRC re-establishment according to a predetermined procedure; ¶114).
Claim 34, Kim discloses wherein the additional information comprises an indication that the wireless device performed a fast MCG link recovery procedure and the fast MCG link recovery procedure failed (RLF report content including indication of the fast MCG link recovery procedure success or failure; abstract; ¶11; ¶13; When MCG failure occurs and thus RLF is declared, the UE stores valid information at a corresponding time. That is, RLF report content including information to be included in an RLF report is stored in the UE. After the UE is switched to the connected mode, the UE may transmit the RLF report including the RLF report content to a BS. The fast MCG link recovery operation is performed after the RLF occurs. In the following embodiments, as fast MCG link recovery triggered after the RLF is successful or failed, methods of processing an RLF report are proposed. For example, upon receipt of an RRCRelease message or an RRCReconfiguration message that configures handover from the BS within a specific time after transmitting MCGFailureInformation, the UE may determine that the fast MCG link recovery is successful. Otherwise, the UE may consider that the fast MCG link recovery is failed; ¶94; In a conventional RLF report, the UE 605 may only detect that the T316 timer has expired without identifying the fast MCG link recovery failure. To optimize the fast MCG link recovery operation, the UE 605, a network node, and/or a mobile communication operator needs to recognize failure or success of the fast MCG link recovery; ¶99; Fig. 6, el. 650; In an embodiment of the disclosure, when the T316 timer expires (645), the UE 605 may add an indicator (e.g., a 1-bit indicator) indicating that the fast MCG link recovery operation has not been successfully completed (or the T316 timer has expired) to the RLF report content (645). In an embodiment, the UE 605 may further include all or some information (e.g., failureType information) included in the MCGFailureInformation message in the RLF report content. In an embodiment, the UE 605 may additionally include, in the RLF report content, an indicator indicating that a radio bearer used to transmit the MCGFailureInformation message is a split SRB or SRB3; ¶100; As described above, the RLF report may include an indicator indicating that the fast MCG link recovery operation has not been successfully completed (or the T316 timer has expired). In an embodiment, the SN BS 615 may transmit the RLF report to the MN BS 610 or directly to an upper network node. The MN BS 610 (or the SN BS 615) may improve the fast MCG link recovery operation for the UE 605 based on the information of the RLF report. For example, the MN BS 610 (or the SN BS 615) may generate configuration information related to the fast MCG link recovery operation for the UE 605 based on the indicator and other information in the RLF report, and provide the configuration information to the UE; ¶105), wherein the additional information further comprises at least one of:
cell ID of the cell in which the wireless device attempted reestablishment after T316 expiry (UE attempting reestablishment after T316 expiry; When identifying that the T316 timer has expired and the fast MCG link recovery has failed, the UE 605 may initiate an RRC connection re-establishment operation (655); ¶102) (the RLF context/report including the cell ID of the cells; failedPCellId: A physical cell ID of a primary cell (PCell) in which RLF has been detected; ¶65; previousPCellId: A global cell ID of a primary cell in which a last RRC reconfiguration message has been received; ¶66; C-RNTI used in the source PCell: A cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) used in a source primary cell; ¶68),
an indication of whether the cell in which the wireless device attempted reestablishment after T316 expiry was in a list of Conditional Handover (CHO) candidate cells (target cell being in the CHO candidate cell; see Liu ¶19; ¶101; ¶102; ¶268),
an elapsed time between time of the detection of the failure event in the MCG and time of reestablishment in a cell after T316 expiry, or an elapsed time between time of execution of the handover that resulted in the HOF event and time of establishment in a cell after T316 expiry, an elapsed time between time of the detection of the failure event in the MCG and time the wireless device entering an idle mode due to no suitable cell found after T316 expiry and possible failure of reestablishment in another cell (no suitable cell found UE entering an idle mode; After the RLF declaration, the UE may start a predetermined timer T311 and search for a new suitable cell. When the UE fails in detecting a new suitable cell until T311 expires, the UE may be switched to an idle mode (325). Upon detection of a new suitable cell before the timer expires, the UE may start the T301 timer and perform an RRC connection re-establishment procedure with the suitable cell (320); ¶54; table 1) (the MCG Failure Information subsequent to detection of the failure event including the elapse time of the MCG Failure events and the elapse time between the MCG Failure events (timeConnFailure) associated with the failure events; Information collected when RLF occurs in the UE may be useful for optimizing a cell area. Therefore, when RLF occurs, this information may be stored in the UE. Then, when the UE is successfully switched to the connected mode, the UE may report the information to a BS. The report is called an RLF report, and the RLF report may include, for example, at least one of the followings as RLF report content collected when RLF occurs. plmn-IdentityList: A list of public land mobile network (PLMN) identifiers (PLMN IDs) to which a cell belongs measResultLastServCell: A signal quality measured from the last serving cell of the UE measResultNeighCells: Signal qualities measured from neighbor cells of the UE locationInfo: Location information about the UE failedPCellId: A physical cell ID of a primary cell (PCell) in which RLF has been detected.] previousPCellId: A global cell ID of a primary cell in which a last RRC reconfiguration message has been received timeConnFailure: An elapsed time after the last RRC reconfiguration message has been received C-RNTI used in the source PCell: A cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) used in a source primary cell connectionFailureType: Indicates whether connection failure is caused by RLF or handover failure; ¶60-¶69; Table 2; Upon occurrence of RLF in a connection to the MN, the UE transmits an MCGFailureInformation message to the SN BS 510 (or another BS) (520). For example, the MCGFailureInformation message may include at least one of the following pieces of information in MCG failure report information, FailureReportMCG. failureType-r16 {t310-Expiry, randomAccessProblem, rlc-MaxNumRetx, t312-Expiry-r16, lbt-Failure-r16, beamFailureRecoveryFailure-r16, bh-RLF-r16, spare1}, measResultFreqList-r16, measResultFreqListEUTRA-r16, measResultSCG-r16, measResultSCG-EUTRA-r16, measResultFreqListUTRA-FDD-r16; ¶86-¶92), and
an indication of T316 expiry (the RLF context/report including indication of T316 expiry; Fig. 6; ¶87; In an embodiment of the disclosure, when the T316 timer expires (645), the UE 605 may add an indicator (e.g., a 1-bit indicator) indicating that the fast MCG link recovery operation has not been successfully completed (or the T316 timer has expired) to the RLF report content (645). In an embodiment, the UE 605 may further include all or some information (e.g., failureType information) included in the MCGFailureInformation message in the RLF report content. In an embodiment, the UE 605 may additionally include, in the RLF report content, an indicator indicating that a radio bearer used to transmit the MCGFailureInformation message is a split SRB or SRB3; ¶100; As described above, the RLF report may include an indicator indicating that the fast MCG link recovery operation has not been successfully completed (or the T316 timer has expired); ¶105; As described above, when the UE 605 has failed to receive a response message to the MCGFailureInformation message (e.g., RRCRelease or RRCReconfiguration) for a predetermined time (e.g., T316) after transmitting the MCGFailureInformation message (635), the UE 605 may transmit an RLF report including a related indicator, for example, an indicator indicating that the fast MCG link recovery operation has not been successfully completed (or the T316 timer has expired) and/or an indicator indicating whether the MCGFailureInformation message was transmitted via a split SRB or SRB3 to a BS with which RRC re-establishment is to be performed; ¶107).
Claim 35, Kim discloses wherein the additional information comprises an indication that the wireless device had a Conditional Handover (CHO) configuration at the time of the detection of the RLF or the HOF (indicating the UE having a Conditional Handover (CHO) configuration received by RRC Reconfiguration at the time expiration of the HOF/RLF; table 2; see also Liu; ¶17; ¶57; ¶265).
Claim 36, Kim discloses wherein the additional information comprises an indication that the wireless device performed a fast MCG link recovery procedure, and that the fast MCG link recovery procedure succeeded (RLF report content including indication of the fast MCG link recovery procedure success or failure; abstract; ¶11; ¶13; When MCG failure occurs and thus RLF is declared, the UE stores valid information at a corresponding time. That is, RLF report content including information to be included in an RLF report is stored in the UE. After the UE is switched to the connected mode, the UE may transmit the RLF report including the RLF report content to a BS. The fast MCG link recovery operation is performed after the RLF occurs. In the following embodiments, as fast MCG link recovery triggered after the RLF is successful or failed, methods of processing an RLF report are proposed. For example, upon receipt of an RRCRelease message or an RRCReconfiguration message that configures handover from the BS within a specific time after transmitting MCGFailureInformation, the UE may determine that the fast MCG link recovery is successful. Otherwise, the UE may consider that the fast MCG link recovery is failed; ¶94; In a conventional RLF report, the UE 605 may only detect that the T316 timer has expired without identifying the fast MCG link recovery failure. To optimize the fast MCG link recovery operation, the UE 605, a network node, and/or a mobile communication operator needs to recognize failure or success of the fast MCG link recovery; ¶99; Fig. 6, el. 650; In an embodiment of the disclosure, when the T316 timer expires (645), the UE 605 may add an indicator (e.g., a 1-bit indicator) indicating that the fast MCG link recovery operation has not been successfully completed (or the T316 timer has expired) to the RLF report content (645). In an embodiment, the UE 605 may further include all or some information (e.g., failureType information) included in the MCGFailureInformation message in the RLF report content. In an embodiment, the UE 605 may additionally include, in the RLF report content, an indicator indicating that a radio bearer used to transmit the MCGFailureInformation message is a split SRB or SRB3; ¶100; As described above, the RLF report may include an indicator indicating that the fast MCG link recovery operation has not been successfully completed (or the T316 timer has expired). In an embodiment, the SN BS 615 may transmit the RLF report to the MN BS 610 or directly to an upper network node. The MN BS 610 (or the SN BS 615) may improve the fast MCG link recovery operation for the UE 605 based on the information of the RLF report. For example, the MN BS 610 (or the SN BS 615) may generate configuration information related to the fast MCG link recovery operation for the UE 605 based on the indicator and other information in the RLF report, and provide the configuration information to the UE; ¶105).
Claim 37, Kim discloses wherein the additional information further comprises at least one of:
cell ID of the cell in which the handover (HO) was executed (the RLF context/report including the cell ID of the cells that HO was executed and failed (as shown as Fig. 4, case 4); failedPCellId: A physical cell ID of a primary cell (PCell) in which RLF has been detected; ¶65; previousPCellId: A global cell ID of a primary cell in which a last RRC reconfiguration message has been received; ¶66; C-RNTI used in the source PCell: A cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) used in a source primary cell; ¶68; Liu; ¶268),
an indication of whether the executed handover was in response to a received HO command or in response of a CHO configuration (an indication of handover failure (result of a HO command or measurement); connectionFailureType: Indicates whether connection failure is caused by RLF or handover failure; ¶69; Liu; ¶268),
an indication of whether the executed handover was successful or not (an indication of handover failure (result of a HO command or measurement); connectionFailureType: Indicates whether connection failure is caused by RLF or handover failure; ¶69)
cell ID of the cell in which the wireless device attempted reestablishment if the executed handover was not successful (the RLF context/report including the cell ID of the cells that HO was executed and failed (as shown as Fig. 4, case 4); failedPCellId: A physical cell ID of a primary cell (PCell) in which RLF has been detected; ¶65; previousPCellId: A global cell ID of a primary cell in which a last RRC reconfiguration message has been received; ¶66; C-RNTI used in the source PCell: A cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) used in a source primary cell; ¶68),
an indication that no suitable cell was found upon failure of the handover towards a target cell and possible failure of reestablishment attempt (generating and sending the RLF content/report upon failure of handover towards a target cell and a connection reestablishment; Referring to (4) of FIG. 3, the UE may declare RLF upon failure of handover. Upon receipt of an RRC message including a mobilityControlInfo information element (IE), for example, an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message (345), the UE may start a timer T304 (345). A setting value of T304 may be provided by mobilityControlInfo. When the UE fails in successfully completing random access to a target cell before the T304 timer expires, the UE may declare RLF (350); ¶59),
an elapsed time between time of the detection of the failure event in the MCG and time of the HO execution before T316 expiry, or an elapsed time between time of execution of the handover that resulted in the HOF event and time of the HO execution before T316 expiry, an elapsed time between time of the detection of the failure event in the MCG and a point in time at which the HO execution is declared successful or completed, or an elapsed time between time of execution of the handover that resulted in the HOF event and a point in time at which the HO execution is declared successful or completed, an elapsed time between time of the failure event in the MCG and a point in time at which the HO execution is declared unsuccessful, or an elapsed time between time of execution of the handover that resulted in the HOF event and a point in time at which the HO execution is declared unsuccessful, an elapsed time between time of the detection of the failure event in the MCG and time of successful reestablishment after unsuccessful HO execution, or an elapsed time between time of execution of the handover that resulted in the HOF event and time of successful reestablishment after unsuccessful HO execution, and an elapsed time between time of the detection of the failure event in the MCG and time of the wireless device entering an idle mode after unsuccessful reestablishment and unsuccessful HO execution (UE entering an idle mode; After the RLF declaration, the UE may start a predetermined timer T311 and search for a new suitable cell. When the UE fails in detecting a new suitable cell until T311 expires, the UE may be switched to an idle mode (325). Upon detection of a new suitable cell before the timer expires, the UE may start the T301 timer and perform an RRC connection re-establishment procedure with the suitable cell (320); ¶54; table 1)(logging the MCG Failure Information subsequent to detection of the failure event and including the various elapse times of the MCG failure events and the various elapse times between the MCG Failure events (timeConnFailure) associated with the failure events; Information collected when RLF occurs in the UE may be useful for optimizing a cell area. Therefore, when RLF occurs, this information may be stored in the UE. Then, when the UE is successfully switched to the connected mode, the UE may report the information to a BS. The report is called an RLF report, and the RLF report may include, for example, at least one of the followings as RLF report content collected when RLF occurs. plmn-IdentityList: A list of public land mobile network (PLMN) identifiers (PLMN IDs) to which a cell belongs measResultLastServCell: A signal quality measured from the last serving cell of the UE measResultNeighCells: Signal qualities measured from neighbor cells of the UE locationInfo: Location information about the UE failedPCellId: A physical cell ID of a primary cell (PCell) in which RLF has been detected.] previousPCellId: A global cell ID of a primary cell in which a last RRC reconfiguration message has been received timeConnFailure: An elapsed time after the last RRC reconfiguration message has been received C-RNTI used in the source PCell: A cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) used in a source primary cell connectionFailureType: Indicates whether connection failure is caused by RLF or handover failure; ¶60-¶69; Table 2; Upon occurrence of RLF in a connection to the MN, the UE transmits an MCGFailureInformation message to the SN BS 510 (or another BS) (520). For example, the MCGFailureInformation message may include at least one of the following pieces of information in MCG failure report information, FailureReportMCG. failureType-r16 {t310-Expiry, randomAccessProblem, rlc-MaxNumRetx, t312-Expiry-r16, lbt-Failure-r16, beamFailureRecoveryFailure-r16, bh-RLF-r16, spare1}, measResultFreqList-r16, measResultFreqListEUTRA-r16, measResultSCG-r16, measResultSCG-EUTRA-r16, measResultFreqListUTRA-FDD-r16; ¶86-¶92).
Claim 38, Kim discloses performing at least one of:
determining that the fast MCG link recovery procedure has failed if T316 expired before the wireless device receives a handover (HO) command (determining that the fast MCG link recovery procedure has failed if T316 expired before receiving RRCRelease or RRCReconfiguration to perform handover; In an embodiment of the disclosure, when the T316 timer expires (645), the UE 605 may add an indicator (e.g., a 1-bit indicator) indicating that the fast MCG link recovery operation has not been successfully completed (or the T316 timer has expired) to the RLF report content (645). In an embodiment, the UE 605 may further include all or some information (e.g., failure Type information) included in the MCGFailureInformation message in the RLF report content. In an embodiment, the UE 605 may additionally include, in the RLF report content, an indicator indicating that a radio bearer used to transmit the MCGFailureInformation message is a split SRB or SRB3; ¶100; As described above, when the UE 605 has failed to receive a response message to the MCGFailureInformation message (e.g., RRCRelease or RRCReconfiguration) for a predetermined time (e.g., T316) after transmitting the MCGFailureInformation message (635), the UE 605 may transmit an RLF report including a related indicator, for example, an indicator indicating that the fast MCG link recovery operation has not been successfully completed (or the T316 timer has expired) and/or an indicator indicating whether the MCGFailureInformation message was transmitted via a split SRB or SRB3 to a BS with which RRC re-establishment is to be performed; ¶107) or if before the wireless device executes a previously configured CHO configuration; and
determining that the fast MCG link recovery procedure has succeeded if the wireless device has executed handover towards a Primary Cell (PCell), or if the wireless device received a RRC release message before T316 expiry (determining that the fast MCG link recovery procedure has succeeded if the UE has performed handover of the PCell or receiving response message to the MCGFailureInformation message (e.g., RRCRelease or RRCReconfiguration and stopping the T316 timer; Table 2; Specifically, the T316 timer starts when the MCGFailureInformation message is transmitted, and stops when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. [0079] When the RRCRelease message for releasing an RRC connection is received. [0080] When an RRCReconfiguration message including a reconfigurationWithSync IE, which instructs execution of reconfiguration including synchronization of a PCell is received. [0081] When a MobilityFromNRCommand message used to command an inter-RAT handover is received. [0082] When the re-establishment procedure is initiated; ¶78; A case in which the UE 415 fails in receiving the RRCRelease message or the RRCReconfiguration message that configures handover until expiration of the T316 despite transmission of the MCGFailureInformation message from the UE 415 is referred to as fast MCG link recovery failure. Upon occurrence of the fast MCG link recovery failure, the UE initiates the RRC connection re-establishment procedure; ¶84; As described above, when the UE 605 has failed to receive a response message to the MCGFailureInformation message (e.g., RRCRelease or RRCReconfiguration) for a predetermined time (e.g., T316) after transmitting the MCGFailureInformation message (635), the UE 605 may transmit an RLF report including a related indicator, for example, an indicator indicating that the fast MCG link recovery operation has not been successfully completed (or the T316 timer has expired) and/or an indicator indicating whether the MCGFailureInformation message was transmitted via a split SRB or SRB3 to a BS with which RRC re-establishment is to be performed; ¶107; ¶125; In step 925, the UE may receive an RRCRelease message or an RRCReconfiguration message that configures handover and stop the T316 timer, after the transmission of the MCGFailureInformation message; ¶136).
Claim 39, Kim discloses maintaining the RLF report after handover execution (maintaining (alternative to deleting) the RLF context/report after handover execution; collecting and storing the MCG failure information in the UE; ¶60; ¶110; ¶117; FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating a signal flow for an operation of deleting RLF report content, upon success of fast MCG link recovery according to an embodiment of the disclosure; ¶118; In a first method according to an embodiment, a UE 805 may be configured or pre-designed by the network to delete RLF report content stored in the UE 805 when a predetermined condition is satisfied. Referring to FIG. 8, an MN BS 810 may include a predetermined indicator (allowdiscardRLF-report in FIG. 8) in an RRCReconfiguration message which is transmitted to the UE 805 to configure fast MCG link recovery (820). The indicator may be set to a value indicating whether to delete the RLF report content stored in the UE 805, when the predetermined condition is satisfied. In an embodiment, the UE 805 may be configured to delete the stored RLF report content, when the condition is satisfied without a setting of the network; ¶119; the condition for deleting the RLF report content stored in the UE 805 may include at least one of the followings below. [0121] When the T316 Timer is stopped (860) [0122] When an RRCRelease or an RRCReconfiguration message including handover configuration information is received from the network (850 and 855) [0123] When transmission of the MCGFailureInformation message is successfully completed (i.e., an ACK is received for the transmission of the message) (830 and 835); ¶120; In step 940, when not identifying that deletion of the RLF report content has been configured, the UE may maintain the stored RLF report content; ¶138).
Claim 46, analyzed with respect to claim 30, the further limitation of claim 46 disclosed by Kim, a wireless device (UE; Figs. 2, 4-10) comprising processing circuitry (controller of the UE; Fig. 10, el. 1040) and power supply circuitry (power supply circuitry of the UE; Fig. 10) (Referring to FIG. 10, the UE may include a radio frequency (RF) processor 1010, a baseband processor 1020, a storage 1030, and a controller 1040; ¶141).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 40-45 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2023/0397284 A1) in view of Liu et. al. (US 2022/0141735 A1).
Claim 40, Kim discloses a method performed by a base station (base station/SN/MN/network; Figs. 4-6) for classifying mobility failure (mobility management and declaring RLF; Referring to (4) of FIG. 3, the UE may declare RLF upon failure of handover. Upon receipt of an RRC message including a mobilityControlInfo information element (IE), for example, an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message (345), the UE may start a timer T304 (345). A setting value of T304 may be provided by mobilityControlInfo. When the UE fails in successfully completing random access to a target cell before the T304 timer expires, the UE may declare RLF (350); ¶59), the method comprising:
receiving, from a wireless device (UE; Figs. 2, 4-10), operating with a Master Cell Group (MCG), MCG Failure Information, wherein the MCG Failure Information is received for fast MCG link recovery and is associated with a detection by the wireless device of a failure event in the MCG, and wherein the failure event is at least one of: a Radio Link Failure (RLF) and a Handover Failure (HOF) (Fig. 3 shows the Master Cell Group (MCG) failures including the Radio Link Failure (RLF) and the Handover Failure (HOF); Fig. 4, el. 420; identifying MCG failure; Fig. 7, el. 705; Fig. 9, el. 905; abstract; connectionFailureType: Indicates whether connection failure is caused by RLF or handover failure; ¶60; In the REL-16 NR standard, a fast MCG link recovery technology was introduced to overcome the above disadvantages. In the fast MCG link recovery technology, when the UE 415 with dual connectivity has a problem with the connection to the MN 405, the UE 415 may declare RLF and then transmit an RRC message notifying MCG failure 420, for example, an MCGFailureInformation message to the SN 410; ¶74); and
and the MCG Failure Information comprises an elapsed time between time of reception by the wireless device of a last Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message that was associated with the MCG and included reconfiguration with sync (reconfiguration with sync; Fig. 2 shows detecting and sending indication of the out-of-sync to upper layer of the UE; Fig. 9, el. 920 shows the UE receiving the Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message with reconfigurationwithsync; table 2) and time of the detection of the failure event (the UE logging the MCG Failure Information subsequent to detection of the MCG Failure event such as the elapse time of the MCG Failure events and the elapse time between the MCG Failure events associated with the failure events; Information collected when RLF occurs in the UE may be useful for optimizing a cell area. Therefore, when RLF occurs, this information may be stored in the UE. Then, when the UE is successfully switched to the connected mode, the UE may report the information to a BS. The report is called an RLF report, and the RLF report may include, for example, at least one of the followings as RLF report content collected when RLF occurs. plmn-IdentityList: A list of public land mobile network (PLMN) identifiers (PLMN IDs) to which a cell belongs measResultLastServCell: A signal quality measured from the last serving cell of the UE measResultNeighCells: Signal qualities measured from neighbor cells of the UE locationInfo: Location information about the UE failedPCellId: A physical cell ID of a primary cell (PCell) in which RLF has been detected.] previousPCellId: A global cell ID of a primary cell in which a last RRC reconfiguration message has been received timeConnFailure: An elapsed time after the last RRC reconfiguration message has been received C-RNTI used in the source PCell: A cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) used in a source primary cell connectionFailureType: Indicates whether connection failure is caused by RLF or handover failure; ¶60-¶69; Table 2; Upon occurrence of RLF in a connection to the MN, the UE transmits an MCGFailureInformation message to the SN BS 510 (or another BS) (520). For example, the MCGFailureInformation message may include at least one of the following pieces of information in MCG failure report information, FailureReportMCG. failureType-r16 {t310-Expiry, randomAccessProblem, rlc-MaxNumRetx, t312-Expiry-r16, lbt-Failure-r16, beamFailureRecoveryFailure-r16, bh-RLF-r16, spare1}, measResultFreqList-r16, measResultFreqListEUTRA-r16, measResultSCG-r16, measResultSCG-EUTRA-r16, measResultFreqListUTRA-FDD-r16; ¶86-¶92; ¶93; When MCG failure occurs and thus RLF is declared, the UE stores valid information at a corresponding time. That is, RLF report content including information to be included in an RLF report is stored in the UE. After the UE is switched to the connected mode, the UE may transmit the RLF report including the RLF report content to a BS. The fast MCG link recovery operation is performed after the RLF occurs. In the following embodiments, as fast MCG link recovery triggered after the RLF is successful or failed, methods of processing an RLF report are proposed. For example, upon receipt of an RRCRelease message or an RRCReconfiguration message that configures handover from the BS within a specific time after transmitting MCGFailureInformation, the UE may determine that the fast MCG link recovery is successful. Otherwise, the UE may consider that the fast MCG link recovery is failed; ¶94; Referring to FIG. 6, an MN BS 610 may include configuration information for fast MCG link recovery in a predetermined RRC message, for example, an RRCReconfiguration message transmitted to a UE 605 configured with dual connectivity (620). The configuration information may include a setting value for a T316 timer. In an embodiment, the configuration information may include an indicator instructing whether to store information related to fast MCG link recovery failure as content of an RLF report, when the fast MCG link recovery failure occurs; ¶96; ¶97; ¶100; In step 710, the UE may collect valid information in relation to the MCG failure and store the information in RLF report content; ¶110).
Liu in the same filed of endeavor, methods, systems, and devices for providing feedback about radio link failure (RLF) events (abstract) for an MCG (herein, the RLF event may be for an MCG in a dual-connectivity configuration; ¶14; ¶173; ¶375; ¶504) discloses classifying the failure event based on the MCG Failure Information (classifying the MCG failure event; identifying whether the RLF event associated with the conditional handover may be based on a too-late handover scenario from a source cell to one of the one or more candidate target cells or a wrong-cell handover scenario to a wrong cell. In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the RLF report includes information indicating whether the RLF event associated with the conditional handover may be based on the too-late handover scenario or the wrong-cell handover scenario; ¶108; FIG. 2A illustrates a too-late handover procedure 200-a; ¶246; FIG. 2B illustrates a too-early handover procedure 200-b; ¶247; FIG. 2C illustrates a wrong-cell handover procedure 200-c; ¶248).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to classify the failure event based on the MCG Failure Information, as taught by Liu to modify Kim’s teaching in order to provide a techniques for communicating mobility information (title) and to manage mobility information (¶2).
Claim 41, Kim in view of Liu discloses receiving, from the wireless device, a Radio Link Failure (RLF) report associated with the failure event (Kim; abstract; Figs. 4-6, show the UE transmitting the MCGFailureInformation and the RLF report to the base station (SN/MN/network); transmitting MCGFailureInformation; Fig. 7 & 9, els. 720, 920; abstract ¶13; In the REL-16 NR standard, a fast MCG link recovery technology was introduced to overcome the above disadvantages. In the fast MCG link recovery technology, when the UE 415 with dual connectivity has a problem with the connection to the MN 405, the UE 415 may declare RLF and then transmit an RRC message notifying MCG failure 420, for example, an MCGFailureInformation message to the SN 410; ¶74; ¶95; The UE 605 may declare RLF according to a predetermined condition, and set and store information for RLF reporting (e.g., including RLF report content or RLF report variables) (625). The UE 605 may transmit an MCGFailureInformation message to an SN BS 615 via a split SRB or SRB3 (630 and 635). The SN BS 615, which has received the MCGFailureInformation message, may transmit the MCGFailureInformation message to the MN BS 610; ¶97; ¶105); and
classifying the failure event based on the MCG Failure Information and the RLF report (Liu; classifying the MCG failure event; FIG. 2A illustrates a too-late handover procedure 200-a; ¶246; FIG. 2B illustrates a too-early handover procedure 200-b; ¶247; FIG. 2C illustrates a wrong-cell handover procedure 200-c; ¶248).
Claim 42, Kim in view of Liu discloses wherein classifying the failure event is based on:
comparison between a radio link quality at the time of the failure event of at least one of: a source cell associated with the failure event and a target cell associated with the detection of the failure event and radio link quality of one or more neighboring cells at the time of the failure event (Kim; The report is called an RLF report, and the RLF report may include, for example, at least one of the followings as RLF report content collected when RLF occurs. plmn-IdentityList: A list of public land mobile network (PLMN) identifiers (PLMN IDs) to which a cell belongs measResultLastServCell: A signal quality measured from the last serving cell of the UE measResultNeighCells: Signal qualities measured from neighbor cells of the UE locationInfo: Location information about the UE failedPCellId: A physical cell ID of a primary cell (PCell) in which RLF has been detected previousPCellId: A global cell ID of a primary cell in which a last RRC reconfiguration message has been received timeConnFailure: An elapsed time after the last RRC reconfiguration message has been received C-RNTI used in the source PCell: A cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) used in a source primary cell connectionFailureType: Indicates whether connection failure is caused by RLF or handover failure; ¶60-¶69), and
a duration in which the wireless device was dwelling or visiting at a last serving cell before the failure event (Kim; duration/elapsed time until the failure event in the serving cell; Fig. 3; ¶87-¶93; timeConnFailure: An elapsed time after the last RRC reconfiguration message has been received; ¶67).
Claim 43, Kim in view of Liu discloses wherein classifying the failure event comprises classifying the failure event as one of: too late handover, too early handover, handover to wrong cell, late conditional handover, early conditional handover, and conditional handover to wrong cell (Liu; FIG. 2A illustrates a too-late handover procedure 200-a. In the too-late handover procedure, the UE 215-a may experience an RLF event 220-a with the cell 205-a, which may be a source cell, before the handover procedure is initiated or completed. Thus, a handover from a cell 205-a may be initiated too late and the UE 215-a may experience an RLF event with the source. The UE 215-a may attempt to reestablish an RRC connection 225-a and/or a radio link with a cell 205-b, which may be a target cell. After successfully reestablishing the RRC connection 225-a, the UE 215-a may transmit an RLF report including RLF information to the cell 205-b. The RLF report may allow the UE 215-a to assist the network in reducing the frequency of RLF events by adjusting one or more handover parameters; ¶246; FIG. 2B illustrates a too-early handover procedure 200-b. In the too-early handover procedure, the UE 215-b may experience an RLF event 220-b with a cell 205-d, which may be a target cell, before the handover procedure is initiated or completed. Thus, a handover from a cell 205-c may be initiated too early and the UE 215-b may experience an RLF event with the target. The UE 215-b may attempt to reestablish an RRC connection 225-b and/or a radio link with the cell 205-c, which may be a source cell. After successfully reestablishing the RRC connection 225-b, the UE 215-b may transmit an RLF report including RLF information to the cell 205-c. The RLF report may allow the UE 215-b to assist the network in reducing the frequency of RLF events by adjusting one or more handover parameters;¶247; FIG. 2C illustrates a wrong-cell handover procedure 200-c. In the wrong-cell handover procedure, a handover from a cell 205-e may be initiated with a cell 205-f rather than a cell 205-g. The UE 215-c may experience an RLF event 220-c with the cell 205-f, which may be a target cell, before the handover procedure is initiated or completed. The UE 215-c may attempt to reestablish an RRC connection 225-c and/or a radio link with the cell 205-g, which may be a third cell. After successfully reestablishing the RRC connection 225-c, the UE 215-c may transmit an RLF report including RLF information to the cell 205-g. The RLF report may allow the UE 215-c to assist the network in reducing the frequency of RLF events by adjusting one or more handover parameters; ¶248).
Claim 44, analyzed with respect to claim 30.
Claim 45, analyzed with respect to claim 33.
Claim 47, analyzed with respect to claim 40, the further limitation of claim 47 disclosed by Kim, a base station (base station/SN/MN/network; Figs. 4-6) comprising: processing circuitry (controller of the BS; Fig. 11, el. 1150) and power supply circuitry (power supply circuitry of the BS; Fig. 11) (Referring to FIG. 11, the BS may include an RF processor 1110, a baseband processor 1120, a backhaul communication unit 1130, a storage 1140, and a controller 1150; ¶151).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KOUROUSH MOHEBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471