DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 86-108 are pending and are currently under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The submission of the Information Disclosure Statement on 04/16/2024 is in compliance with 37 CFR 1.97. The information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner and signed copies have been placed in the file.
Specification – Sequence Listing
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM. (emphasis added).
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825).
A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Specific deficiency - The incorporation by reference paragraph required by 37 CFR 1.834(c)(1), 1.835(a)(2), or 1.835(b)(2) is missing, defective or incomplete.
This requirement is necessary if the application has:
(i) One or more ASCII plain text files, submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or on one or more read-only optical discs (see § 1.52(e)(8) ), identifying the names of each file, the date of creation of each file, and the size of each file in bytes, for the following document types:
(A) A "Computer Program Listing Appendix" (see § 1.96(c) );
(B) A “Sequence Listing" (see § 1.821(c) ); or
(C) "Large Tables" (see § 1.58(c) ).
(ii) An XML file for a " Sequence Listing XML" (see § 1.831(a) ), submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or on one or more read-only optical discs (see § 1.52(e)(8) ), identifying the names of each file, the date of creation of each file, and the size of each file in bytes.
Required response - Applicant must:
• Provide a substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation by reference paragraph, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions
Claim Rejections – Improper Markush
Claims 86-89 are rejected on the judicially-created basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). The improper Markush grouping includes species of the claimed invention that do not share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. The members of the improper Markush grouping do not share a substantial feature and/or a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature for the following reasons: Claims 86-89 are directed to a large multitude of sequences that have no common searchable structure and function.
When the Markush grouping is for alternatives of chemical compounds, they shall be regarded as being of a similar nature where the following criteria are fulfilled:
(A) All alternatives have a common property or activity; and
(B) (1) A common structure is present, i.e., a significant structural element is shared by all of the alternatives; or
(B) (2) In cases where the common structure cannot be the unifying criteria, all alternatives belong to a recognized class of chemical compounds in the art to which the invention pertains.
In paragraph (B)(1), above, the words “significant structural element is shared by all of the alternatives” refer to cases where the compounds share a common chemical structure which occupies a large portion of their structures, or in case the compounds have in common only a small portion of their structures, the commonly shared structure constitutes a structurally distinctive portion in view of existing prior art, and the common structure is essential to the common property or activity. The structural element may be a single component or a combination of individual components linked together.
In paragraph (B)(2), above, the words “recognized class of chemical compounds” mean that there is an expectation from the knowledge in the art that members of the class will behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention. In other words, each member could be substituted one for the other, with the expectation that the same intended result would be achieved.
In order for the members of the Markush group to belong to “recognized class of chemical compounds” there must be an expectation that the members of the class will behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention. In other words, each member of the class could be substituted one for the other with the expectation that the same intended result would be achieved.
In the instant case, activity of any specific nucleic acid molecule is dependent upon the specific sequence of nucleotides. Claims 86-89 are drawn to modified oligonucleotides having from 12-50 linked nucleosides and having at least 8-20 contiguous nucleotides of at least 85% similarity to a NLRP3 nucleic acid. Table 2 of the specification describes a vast number of sequence targeted to different regions of the NLRP3 gene having 16 nucleotides in length that target different regions of the gene and have very different amounts of reduction in expression of the gene ranging from non-detectable to over 90% reduction compared to a control. The specification does not describe the vast number of oligonucleotides having from 12-50 linked nucleosides and having at least 8-20 contiguous nucleotides of at least 85% similarity to a NLRP3 nucleic acid with the function claimed further, there is no expectation that any one of the nucleotide sequences as claimed can be substituted for any of the other with a completely different sequence with the expectation of the same activity, as demonstrated in the table.
In response to this rejection, Applicant should either amend the claim(s) to recite only individual species or grouping of species that share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature, or present a sufficient showing that the species recited in the alternative of the claims(s) in fact share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. This is a rejection on the merits and may be appealed to the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 134 and 37 CFR 41.31(a)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 86-92, 95, 96, 100, 101, 103-108 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang et al. (US 20170145412).
Regarding claims 86-89, 100, 101, 103 and 104, Jiang et al. teach an oligonucleotide compound having SEQ ID No. 68 that is 19 nucleotides in length and has at least 13 consecutive nucleotides complementary to SEQ ID No. 1 and comprises at least 8 contiguous nucleotides of instant SEQ ID No. 112 and wherein the oligonucleotide can be single stranded or a duplex.
SEQ 112 GAATTTGCCATAGTTT
SEQ 68 TTTGCCATAGTTTTCCAGA
Regarding claims 90-92, 95, 96, Jiang et al. teach the oligonucleotide can have a modified sugar moiety and modified base and phosphorothioate linkage (0107-0111, 0067, 0081, 0097).
Regarding claims 105-108, Jiang et al. teach methods of reducing the amount of NLRP3 in a cell and treating chronic kidney disease (0122-0125).
Thus Jiang et al. anticipates the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 93, 94 and 97-99 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US 20170145412) and Revenko et al. (US 20180273577).
Jiang et al. (US 20170145412) is relied upon as above. Jiang et al. do not teach gapmers with the modifications as in claims 93-94 an conjugates as in claims 97-99.
Revenko et al. teach gapmer antisense oligonucleotides wherein the oligonucleotides consist of 16 to 30 linked nucleosides and comprising wings of eCt nucleotides and gap segments of deoxynucleotides (0213). Revenko et al. further teach 1-3 N-Acetylgalactosamine conjugates (0329). It would have been obvious to incorporate these modifications and conjugates into the oligonucleotide in any configuration to improve stability and cell targeting in methods of inhibiting the expression of NLRP3.
Thus in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
Claim 102 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US 20170145412) and Iwamoto et al. ("Control of phosphorothioate stereochemistry substantially increases the efficacy of antisense oligonucleotides." Nature biotechnology 35.9 (2017): 845-851).
Jiang et al. (US 20170145412) is relied upon as above. Jiang et al. do not teach the oligonucleotide with a with a stereochemical configuration.
Iwamoto et al. teach antisense oligonucleotides with stereochemical configurations that promotes target RNA cleavage by RNase H1 in vitro, increased stability and provides a more durable response in mice (see Figure 1, pg. 847 and Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to incorporate these modifications into the antisense oligonucleotide to improve stability and activity in cells and subjects.
Thus in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Written Description
Claims 86-108 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed by him. The courts have stated:
To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Gostelli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) ("[T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious" and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d at 1966; Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398.
The fundamental factual inquiry is whether the specification conveys with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, applicant was in possession of the invention as now claimed. See, e.g., Vas-Cath, Inc., 935 F.2d at 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d at 1117.
The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the application. These include: (1) Actual reduction to practice, (2) Disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas, (3) Sufficient relevant identifying characteristics (such as: i. Complete structure, ii. Partial Structure, iii. Physical and/or chemical properties, iv. Functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed structure, and v. Correlation between function and structure), (4) Method of making the claimed invention, (5) Level of skill and knowledge in the art, and (6) Predictability in the art.
Moreover, the written description requirement for a genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by “…disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between functional and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.” Thus when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus.
The claims are drawn to a genus of oligomeric compounds from 12-50 nucleotides in length having modifications and having at least 8 nucleotides that are at least 85% complementary to a NLRP3 nucleic acid that are capable of reducing expression of the gene and treating or preventing kidney disease, cardiac disorders or liver disorders in a subject.
The specification describes oligonucleotides that inhibition of expression of NLRP3 in cells led to a decrease in expression in transgenic mouse liver, heart and kidney (see Table 62), wherein the oligonucleotides have a gapmer modification and are 16 nucleotides in length.
The specification and claims do not indicate what distinguishing characteristics of these 16 nucleotide gapmer modified oligonucleotides described in the specification that are concisely shared by the members of the broad genus of oligonucleotides from 12-50 nucleotides in length having modifications and having at least 8 nucleotides that are at least 85% complementary to a NLRP3 nucleic acid that would convey to one of skill in the art that these oligonucleotides represent the entire genus. A review of the specification shows that it provides no description or guidance that would allow one of skill to distinguish the functional species of the recited structural genus from the non-functional members without empirical determination.
Since the disclosure and the prior art fail to describe the common attributes and characteristics concisely identifying members of the proposed genus, and because the claimed genus is highly variant comprising a vast number of oligonucleotide sequences, one of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the disclosure fails to provide a representative number of species to describe the genus claimed.
"A sufficient description of a genus . . . requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can "visualize or recognize" the members of the genus" (AbbVie, 759 F.3d at 1297, reiterating Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568-69) (emphasis added).
Further, “Possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus or how to identify their common structural features.” Ex parte Kubin, 83 USPQ2d 1410, 1417 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 2007) citing University of Rochester, 358 F.3d at 927, 69 USPQ2d at 1895. Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19USPQ2d 1111, clearly states that “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” (See page 1117.) The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed.” (See Vas-Cath at page 1116).
The MPEP further states that if a biomolecule is described only by a functional characteristic, without any disclosed correlation between function and structure of the sequence, it is “not sufficient characteristic for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the claimed sequence.” MPEP 2163. The MPEP does state that for generic claim the genus can be adequately described if the disclosure presents a sufficient number of representative species that encompass the genus. MPEP 2163. If the genus has a substantial variance, the disclosure must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within that genus. See MPEP 2163. Although the MPEP does not define what constitute a sufficient number of representative, the Courts have indicated what do not constitute a representative number species to adequately describe a broad generic. In Gosteli, the Court determined that the disclosure of two chemical compounds within a subgenus did not describe that subgenus. In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d at 1012, 10 USPQ2d at 1618.
Thus the specification and claims lack written description because it is clear that Applicant did not have possession of every oligonucleotide with the function of inhibiting expression of NLRP3 in cells and treating, preventing or ameliorating any kidney disease, kidney injury, cardiac disorder, cardiac injury or liver disorder as claimed.
The description requirement of the patent statute requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention. See In re Wilder, 736 F.2d 1516, 1521,222 USPQ 369,372-372 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (affirming rejection because the specification does "little more than outlin[e] goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate."). Accordingly, it is deemed that the specification fails to provide adequate written description for the genus of the claims and does not reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the entire scope of the claimed invention.
Enablement
Claims 107 and 108 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification,
while being enabling for methods of decreasing expression of NLRP3 expression in transgenic mice using oligonucleotides targeted to NLRP3 and measuring expression in the liver, heart and kidneys.
does not reasonably provide enablement for inhibiting expression of NLRP3 in subjects and treating, preventing or ameliorating any kidney disease, kidney injury, cardiac disorder, cardiac injury or liver disorder as claimed. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The following factors have been considered in the analysis of enablement: (1) the breadth of the claims, (2) the nature of the invention, (3) the state of the prior art, (4) the level of one of ordinary skill, (5) the level of predictability in the art, (6) the amount of direction provided by the inventor, (7) the existence of working examples, (8) the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
The breadth of the claims and the nature of the invention:
The breadth of the claims and nature of the invention are drawn to methods of administering a broad genus of oligonucleotides targeted to NLRP3 and treatment or prevention of any kidney disease, kidney injury, cardiac disorder, cardiac injury or liver disorder
Whether the specification would have been enabling as of the filing date involves consideration of the nature of the invention, the state of the prior art, and the level of skill in the art. The state of the prior art is what one skilled in the art would have known, at the time the application was filed, about the subject matter to which the claimed invention pertains. The relative skill of those in the art refers to the skill of those in the art in relation to the subject matter to which the claimed invention pertains at the time the application was filed. See MPEP § 2164.05(b). The state of the prior art provides evidence for the degree of predictability in the art and is related to the amount of direction or guidance needed in the specification as filed to meet the enablement requirement. The state of the prior art is also related to the need for working examples in the specification.
The state of the prior art:
The prior art of Mamun et al. ("Role of NLRP3 inflammasome in liver disease." Journal of Digestive Diseases 21.8 (2020): 430-436) teach that the activation of the NLRP3 inflammasome leads to the development of Alcohol liver disease (ALD), but the actual role played by the NLRP3 inflammasome in this development needs to be investigated in more detail. Mamun et al. also teach shows that inhibiting the NLRP3 inflammasome prevents hepatic inflammation and steatosis and teach activation of the NLRP3 inflammasome in hepatocytes, monocytes and macrophages has various functions and suggests further investigations are needed to explain the pathogenic role of NLRP3 inflammasome in HCV infection in more detail.
The prior art of Kim et al. ("The role of inflammasome-dependent and inflammasome-independent NLRP3 in the kidney." Cells 8.11 (2019): 1389) teach the role of NLRP3 and NLRP3 inhibitors in chronic kidney disease (abstract) but suggests it is necessary to understand the exact mechanisms of action of NLRP3 and treatments should be investigated further (page 16).
A review of the prior art does not provide a correlation between administration of oligonucleotides as claimed and treating, preventing or ameliorating any kidney disease, kidney injury, cardiac disorder, cardiac injury or liver disorder as claimed.
The level of one of ordinary skill:
While the level of one of ordinary skill practicing said invention would be high, the level of predictability is considered variable as evident in the prior art discussed above and is not considered to provide sufficient enablement to practice the claimed invention.
Because the state of the prior art does not provide evidence of the degree of predictability that methods for treating, preventing or ameliorating any kidney disease, kidney injury, cardiac disorder, cardiac injury or liver disorder in a subject can occur by administering to the subject an oligonucleotide targeted to NLRP3, one of ordinary skill in the art would look for guidance or direction in the instant specification.
The level of predictability in the art:
“The “predictability or lack thereof” in the art refers to the ability of one skilled in the art to extrapolate the disclosed or known results to the claimed invention. If one skilled in the art can readily anticipate the effect of a change within the subject matter to which the claimed invention pertains, then there is predictability in the art. On the other hand, if one skilled in the art cannot readily anticipate the effect of a change within the subject matter to which that claimed invention pertains, then there is lack of predictability in the art. Accordingly, what is known in the art provides evidence as to the question of predictability.” (MPEP 2164.03).
The amount of direction provided by the inventor:
The amount of guidance or direction needed to enable the invention is inversely related to the amount of knowledge in the state of the art as well as the predictability in the art. In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970). The “amount of guidance or direction” refers to that information in the application, as originally filed, that teaches exactly how to make or use the invention. The more that is known in the prior art about the nature of the invention, how to make, and how to use the invention, and the more predictable the art is, the less information needs to be explicitly stated in the specification. In contrast, if little is known in the prior art about the nature of the invention and the art is unpredictable, the specification would need more detail as to how to make and use the invention in order to be enabling. >See, e.g., Chiron Corp. v. Genentech Inc., 363 F.3d 1247, 1254, 70 USPQ2d 1321, 1326 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
The existence of working examples:
The working embodiment in the instant application describes methods of decreasing expression of NLRP3 expression in transgenic mice using oligonucleotides targeted to NLRP3 and measuring expression in the liver, heart and kidneys. The working embodiments do not describe treating or preventing the vast number of conditions and diseases as claimed and little is known in the prior art as explained above.
The standard of an enabling disclosure is not the ability to make and test if the invention works but one of the ability to make and use with a reasonable expectation of success. A patent is granted for a completed invention, not the general suggestion of an idea (MPEP 2164.03 and Chiron Corp. v. Genentech Inc., 363 F.3d 1247, 1254, 70 USPQ2d 1321, 1325-26 (Fed. Cir. 2004). The instant invention suggests administration of any of the vast number of oligonucleotide sequences targeted to NLRP3 as claimed to a subject and treating, preventing or ameliorating any kidney disease, kidney injury, cardiac disorder, cardiac injury or liver disorder.
While the MPEP 2164.02 states the specification need not contain an example if the invention is otherwise disclosed in such manner that one skilled in the art will be able to practice it without an undue amount of experimentation. In re Borkowski, 422 F.2d 904, 908, 164 USPQ 642, 645 (CCPA 1970), the lack of a working example, however, is a factor to be considered, especially in a case involving an unpredictable and undeveloped art.
The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure:
Without further guidance, one of skill in the art would have to practice a substantial amount of trial and error experimentation, an amount considered undue and not routine, to practice the instantly claimed invention.
Conclusion
Patent applicants with problems or questions regarding electronic images that can be viewed in the Patent Application Information Retrieval system (PAIR) can now contact the USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center (Patent EBC) for assistance. Representatives are available to answer your questions daily from 6 am to midnight (EST). The toll free number is (866) 217-9197. When calling please have your application serial or patent number, the type of document you are having an image problem with, the number of pages and the specific nature of the problem. The Patent Electronic Business Center will notify applicants of the resolution of the problem within 5-7 business days. Applicants can also check PAIR to confirm that the problem has been corrected. The USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center is a complete service center supporting all patent business on the Internet. The USPTO’s PAIR system provides Internet-based access to patent application status and history information. It also enables applicants to view the scanned images of their own application file folder(s) as well as general patent information available to the public. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov.
For all other customer support, please call the USPTO Call Center (UCC) at 800-786-9199.
/KIMBERLY CHONG/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 1636