DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-15 filed on 8/16/2023 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/16/2023 was filed before the first Office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a meat substitute provided with a flavor agent coating with no further information except that the flavor agent coating optionally is between 0.1% to 5% of the weight of the meat substitute. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 recites “flavor precursors” with an optional listing. The scope of the claimed “flavor precursors” is not known.
Claim 6 and 7, 13 and 14 recites a number of optional amounts without specifying a claimed range rendering the scope of the claim unclear. Furthermore the optional amounts are narrower recitation of the broadly claimed values for the claimed component, rendering the claims indefinite.
Claim 8 is unclear and broadly interpreted to recite a flavor agent coating comprising oil that may be a plant oil. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 15 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Nadal et al. (WO2020232347A1) in view of Shen (Yeast Extract a great off note blocker), Mao et al. (US2016235094A1) and Varadan et al., (US10172380 B2) cited in an IDS.
Regarding claim 1 and 2, Nadal and Varadan (Examples 10 and 11) disclose a meat substitute that is a meat substitute hamburger [0078].
Regarding the coating Nadal discloses a sprayed on coating comprising an oil base. [0086], thereby implicitly disclosing a method as in claim 15.
Regarding claims 3-7, Nadal does not specifically disclose an yeast extract coating. However Shen discloses benefits of an yeast extract coating to improve palatability of a meat substitute, but does not specifically disclose application as a coating. Mao however discloses applying yeast extract as a coating on meat substitute pet food products to improve their palatability.
As Nadal, Shen and Mao are directed to food products, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply yeast extract as a coating in an oil base on a meat substitute product with a reasonable expectation of successfully improving the palatability and meat flavor of such a product.
An yeast extract as a flavor in Shen is expected to have a composition including limitations an in claims 3-7 as it provides flavor precursors of meat.
Regarding claim 8 Nadal discloses an oil that is a plant oil.
Regarding claim 9 and 10, Nadal and Varadan disclose an uncooked meat substitute that may be shaped as a hamburger and Varadan (Example 11) discloses a hamburger as in claims 10 and 11, wherein the meat like dough may comprise texturized soy protein.
Claim 12-14 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al. (US2013243916A1) in view of Nadal et al and further in view of Shen.
Regarding claim 12 Mao discloses a coating for a food product comprising 1-80% dry yeast extract which encompasses the claimed range. Nadal discloses spraying flavoring on a base of oil applied to a food product [0086]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined dry yeast extract with oil to ensure adherence of the dry extract to the surface of the meat substitute with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Shen discloses an yeast extract that is specifically applicable to a meat substitute. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select the extract for the targeted application of improving the flavor and taste of a meat substitute with a reasonable expectation of success. An yeast extract as a flavor in Shen is expected to have a composition including limitations as claimed as it provides flavor precursors of meat.
Claims 1-15 are therefore prima facie obvious in view of the art.
Correspondence
/SUBBALAKSHMI PRAKASH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793