Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/16/2025, 08/16/2023 was filed after. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
This office action is in response to the Preliminary amendment filed 08/16/2023.
Claims 37-41, 42-46, 47-50 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37, 42, 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU et al. ( US 20230328807, hereinafter, WU’s 807 ) in view of Xu et al. ( US 20220394807, hereinafter, Xu’s 807 ).
Regarding to the claim 37, US 20230328807 teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
receive, from at least one user equipment (a UE ) , a request to setup a radio resource control (a RRC setup request) connection with a base station over a relay (the relay UE receives a RRC setup request to a BS from the remote UE ) [see Figure 5 and Step 501 ] [see Figure 5 and Paragraphs 0059 – 0062 & Figure 6 & Paragraphs 0080 – 0087 ] ;
transmit, to the base station, a radio resource control message (a RRC setup request ) [see Figure 5 and Step 502 ] based, at least partially, on the request (from the remote UE) , wherein the radio resource control message comprises a radio resource control setup request message (after receiving the RRC setup request from the remote UE, the relay UE transmits the RRC setup request to BS ) [see Figure 5, step 502 ] [see Figure 5 and Paragraphs 0059 – 0062 & Figure 6 & Paragraphs 0080 – 0087 ];
receive, from the base station, a message including, at least, a temporary identifier for the at least one user equipment, wherein the message comprises a radio resource control setup message (the relay UE receives the response information from the BS, wherein the response information includes at least one a C-RNTI and an ID of the UE ) [see Paragraph 0061] [see Figure 5 and Paragraphs 0059 – 0062 & Figure 6 & Paragraphs 0080 – 0087 ];
transmit at least the temporary identifier to the at least one user equipment (the relay UE transmits the response information (which includes C-RNTI) to the remote UE.
However, US 20230328807 does not explicitly teach a request to establish.
US 20220394807, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receiving, from at least remote user equipment, a request to establish a radio resource control connection with the gNB over a relay UE (receiving, from at least remote user equipment, a request to establish a radio resource control connection with the gNB over a relay UE ) [see Figure 10 and Figure 11 and Figure 12 and Paragraphs 0108 & 109 ]
([0109] FIG. 11 illustrates aspects of an example scenario in which a single remote UE attempts to reestablish a RRC connection with a gNB via a relay UE, according to some embodiments. As shown, in the illustrated scenario, in 1108, a remote UE 1102 and a relay UE 1104 may be connected. In 1110, the remote UE 1102 may provide a RRC reestablishment request to the relay UE 1104. In 1112, the relay UE 1104 may provide a RRC reestablishment request to a gNB 1106 using a relay SRB and indicating identification information for the remote UE 1102. In 1114, the gNB 1106 may provide a RRC reestablishment message to the relay UE 1104 using the relay SRB. The RRC reestablishment message may include C-RNTI information for the remote UE 1102, as well as relay link configuration information, bearer configuration information, Uu data radio bearer configuration information, mapping configuration information, and/or any of various information in support of reestablishing a remote RRC connection between the gNB 1106 and the remote UE 1102. In 1116, the relay UE 1004 may provide a RRC reestablishment message to the remote UE 1102, including at least some of the information received from the gNB 1106, such as any information needed by the remote UE 1102 as part of reestablishing the remote RRC connection between the gNB 1106 and the remote UE 1102 (e.g., relay link configuration information, bearer configuration information). In 1118, the remote UE 1102 may be connected with the gNB 1106. In 1120, the remote UE 1102 may complete the RRC connection reestablishment with the gNB 1106 by providing a RRC reestablishment complete message to the relay UE 1104, and in 1122, the relay UE 1104 may provide a RRC reestablishment complete message to the gNB 1106 using the relay SRB and indicating identification information for the remote UE 1102. In 1124, the gNB 1106 may also be connected with the remote UE 1102.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230328807 in view of US 20220394807 because US 20220394807 suggests that it would be desirable to recognize and provide improved support for a broad range of desired wireless communication characteristics. Therefore, improvements in the field are desired.
Regarding to the claim 42, US 20230328807 teaches a method comprising:
receiving, with a relay user equipment (relay UE ) from at least one user equipment (remote UE ) , a request to setup a radio resource control (a RRC setup request) connection with a base station over a relay (the relay UE receives a RRC setup request to a BS from the remote UE ) [see Figure 5 and Step 501 ] [see Figure 5 and Paragraphs 0059 – 0062 & Figure 6 & Paragraphs 0080 – 0087 ] ;
transmitting, to the base station, a radio resource control message (a RRC setup request ) [see Figure 5 and Step 502 ] based, at least partially, on the request (from the remote UE) , wherein the radio resource control message comprises a radio resource control setup request message (after receiving the RRC setup request from the remote UE, the relay UE transmits the RRC setup request to BS ) [see Figure 5, step 502 ] [see Figure 5 and Paragraphs 0059 – 0062 & Figure 6 & Paragraphs 0080 – 0087 ];
receiving, from the base station, a message including, at least, a temporary identifier for the at least one user equipment, wherein the message comprises a radio resource control setup message (the relay UE receives the response information from the BS, wherein the response information includes at least one a C-RNTI and an ID of the remote UE ) [see Paragraph 0061] [see Figure 5 and Paragraphs 0059 – 0062 & Figure 6 & Paragraphs 0080 – 0087 ];
transmitting at least the temporary identifier to the at least one user equipment (the relay UE transmits the response information (which includes C-RNTI) to the remote UE.
However, US 20230328807 does not explicitly teach a request to establish.
US 20220394807, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receiving, from at least remote user equipment, a request to establish a radio resource control connection with the gNB over a relay UE (receiving, from at least remote user equipment, a request to establish a radio resource control connection with the gNB over a relay UE ) [see Figure 10 and Figure 11 and Figure 12 and Paragraphs 0108 & 109 ]
([0109] FIG. 11 illustrates aspects of an example scenario in which a single remote UE attempts to reestablish a RRC connection with a gNB via a relay UE, according to some embodiments. As shown, in the illustrated scenario, in 1108, a remote UE 1102 and a relay UE 1104 may be connected. In 1110, the remote UE 1102 may provide a RRC reestablishment request to the relay UE 1104. In 1112, the relay UE 1104 may provide a RRC reestablishment request to a gNB 1106 using a relay SRB and indicating identification information for the remote UE 1102. In 1114, the gNB 1106 may provide a RRC reestablishment message to the relay UE 1104 using the relay SRB. The RRC reestablishment message may include C-RNTI information for the remote UE 1102, as well as relay link configuration information, bearer configuration information, Uu data radio bearer configuration information, mapping configuration information, and/or any of various information in support of reestablishing a remote RRC connection between the gNB 1106 and the remote UE 1102. In 1116, the relay UE 1004 may provide a RRC reestablishment message to the remote UE 1102, including at least some of the information received from the gNB 1106, such as any information needed by the remote UE 1102 as part of reestablishing the remote RRC connection between the gNB 1106 and the remote UE 1102 (e.g., relay link configuration information, bearer configuration information). In 1118, the remote UE 1102 may be connected with the gNB 1106. In 1120, the remote UE 1102 may complete the RRC connection reestablishment with the gNB 1106 by providing a RRC reestablishment complete message to the relay UE 1104, and in 1122, the relay UE 1104 may provide a RRC reestablishment complete message to the gNB 1106 using the relay SRB and indicating identification information for the remote UE 1102. In 1124, the gNB 1106 may also be connected with the remote UE 1102.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230328807 in view of US 20220394807 because US 20220394807 suggests that it would be desirable to recognize and provide improved support for a broad range of desired wireless communication characteristics. Therefore, improvements in the field are desired.
Regarding to the claim 47, US 20230328807 teaches an apparatus comprising:
At least one processor; and at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
receive, from a relay user equipment (relay UE ) , a radio resource control message (a RRC setup request ) (the relay UE receives a RRC setup request to a BS from the remote UE ) [see Figure 5 and Step 501 ] [see Figure 5 and Paragraphs 0059 – 0062 & Figure 6 & Paragraphs 0080 – 0087 ] ;
determine that at least one user equipment is requesting to setup a radio resource control connection over a relay based, at least partially, on the received radio resource control message (the relay UE determines that at least one remote UE is requesting to setup the RRC connection ) [see Figure 5 and Step 502 and Step 503 ] [see Figure 5 and Paragraphs 0059 – 0062 & Figure 6 & Paragraphs 0080 – 0087 ] ;
transmit, to the relay user equipment, at least a temporary identifier for the at least one user equipment (the base station transmits to the relay UE at least one a C-RNTI and an ID of the remote UE ) [see Paragraph 0061] [see Figure 5 and Paragraphs 0059 – 0062 & Figure 6 & Paragraphs 0080 – 0087 ].
However, US 20230328807 does not explicitly teach a request to establish.
US 20220394807, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receiving, from at least remote user equipment, a request to establish a radio resource control connection with the gNB over a relay UE (receiving, from at least remote user equipment, a request to establish a radio resource control connection with the gNB over a relay UE ) [see Figure 10 and Figure 11 and Figure 12 and Paragraphs 0108 & 109 ]
([0109] FIG. 11 illustrates aspects of an example scenario in which a single remote UE attempts to reestablish a RRC connection with a gNB via a relay UE, according to some embodiments. As shown, in the illustrated scenario, in 1108, a remote UE 1102 and a relay UE 1104 may be connected. In 1110, the remote UE 1102 may provide a RRC reestablishment request to the relay UE 1104. In 1112, the relay UE 1104 may provide a RRC reestablishment request to a gNB 1106 using a relay SRB and indicating identification information for the remote UE 1102. In 1114, the gNB 1106 may provide a RRC reestablishment message to the relay UE 1104 using the relay SRB. The RRC reestablishment message may include C-RNTI information for the remote UE 1102, as well as relay link configuration information, bearer configuration information, Uu data radio bearer configuration information, mapping configuration information, and/or any of various information in support of reestablishing a remote RRC connection between the gNB 1106 and the remote UE 1102. In 1116, the relay UE 1004 may provide a RRC reestablishment message to the remote UE 1102, including at least some of the information received from the gNB 1106, such as any information needed by the remote UE 1102 as part of reestablishing the remote RRC connection between the gNB 1106 and the remote UE 1102 (e.g., relay link configuration information, bearer configuration information). In 1118, the remote UE 1102 may be connected with the gNB 1106. In 1120, the remote UE 1102 may complete the RRC connection reestablishment with the gNB 1106 by providing a RRC reestablishment complete message to the relay UE 1104, and in 1122, the relay UE 1104 may provide a RRC reestablishment complete message to the gNB 1106 using the relay SRB and indicating identification information for the remote UE 1102. In 1124, the gNB 1106 may also be connected with the remote UE 1102.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230328807 in view of US 20220394807 because US 20220394807 suggests that it would be desirable to recognize and provide improved support for a broad range of desired wireless communication characteristics. Therefore, improvements in the field are desired.
Claim(s) 38, 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU et al. ( US 20230328807, hereinafter, WU’s 807 ) in view of Xu et al. ( US 20220394807, hereinafter, Xu’s 807 ), and further in view of Lin et al. ( US 20220095411, hereinafter, Lin’s 411).
Regarding to the claim 38, US 20230328807 and US 20220394807 teach the limitations of the claim 37 above.
However, US 20230328807 and US 20220394807 do not teach transmit the radio resource control message over a dedicated control channel or a dedicated traffic channel, wherein the radio resource control message comprises one of: a radio resource control connection message specific for requesting to establish the radio resource control connection between the at least one user equipment and the base station over the relay, or a radio resource control connection message comprising an indication configured to request to establish the radio resource control connection between the at least one user equipment and the base station over the relay.
US 20220095411, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches transmit the radio resource control message over a dedicated control channel or a dedicated traffic channel, wherein the radio resource control message comprises one of: a radio resource control connection message specific for requesting to establish the radio resource control connection between the at least one user equipment and the base station over the relay, or a radio resource control connection message comprising an indication configured to request to establish the radio resource control connection between the at least one user equipment and the base station over the relay (a radio resource control connection message comprising an indication configured to request to establish the radio resource control connection between the at least one user equipment and the base station over the relay) [see Paragraphs 0147 & 0142 & 0031 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (US 20230328807 and US 20220394807), and further in view of US 20220095411 because US 20220095411 suggests that the disclosed embodiments relate generally to wireless communication, and, more particularly, to enable the signaling transmission between the Remote UE and the gNB to establish an end-to-end connection towards the network via Layer 2 UE-to-Network relay.
Regarding to the claim 43, US 20230328807 and US 20220394807 teach the limitations of the claim 37 above.
However, US 20230328807 and US 20220394807 do not teach transmit the radio resource control message over a dedicated control channel or a dedicated traffic channel, wherein the radio resource control message comprises one of: a radio resource control connection message specific for requesting to establish the radio resource control connection between the at least one user equipment and the base station over the relay, or a radio resource control connection message comprising an indication configured to request to establish the radio resource control connection between the at least one user equipment and the base station over the relay.
US 20220095411, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches transmit the radio resource control message over a dedicated control channel or a dedicated traffic channel, wherein the radio resource control message comprises one of: a radio resource control connection message specific for requesting to establish the radio resource control connection between the at least one user equipment and the base station over the relay, or a radio resource control connection message comprising an indication configured to request to establish the radio resource control connection between the at least one user equipment and the base station over the relay (a radio resource control connection message comprising an indication configured to request to establish the radio resource control connection between the at least one user equipment and the base station over the relay) [see Paragraphs 0147 & 0142 & 0031 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (US 20230328807 and US 20220394807), and further in view of US 20220095411 because US 20220095411 suggests that the disclosed embodiments relate generally to wireless communication, and, more particularly, to enable the signaling transmission between the Remote UE and the gNB to establish an end-to-end connection towards the network via Layer 2 UE-to-Network relay.
Claim(s) 39, 40, 41, 44, 45, 46, 48, 49, 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU et al. ( US 20230328807, hereinafter, WU’s 807 ) in view of Xu et al. ( US 20220394807, hereinafter, Xu’s 807 ), and further in view of KIM et al. ( US 20200059292, hereinafter, KIM’s 292 ).
Regarding to the claim 39, US 20230328807 and US 20220394807 teach the limitations of the claim 37 above.
However, US 20230328807 and US 20220394807 do not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus comprises a relay user equipment in one of: a radio resource control inactive state, or a radio resource control idle state.
US 20200059292, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the apparatus comprises a relay user equipment in one of: a radio resource control inactive state, or a radio resource control idle state * 0016] In one of a case in which the remote UE is aware that the relay UE is idle, a case in which uplink traffic is initially generated after the remote UE establishes a connection with the relay UE, a case in which a predetermined time has elapsed after the remote UE transmits and receives traffic via the relay UE, and a case in which the remote is not aware whether the relay UE is idle, the remote UE may transmit the message indicating generation of traffic) [see Paragraph 0016].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (US 20230328807 and US 20220394807), and further in view of US 2020059292 because US 2020059292 suggests that In an aspect of the present disclosure, a method of establishing a connection with a network by a relay user equipment (UE) having a connection to a remote UE in a wireless communication system includes receiving a relay request from the remote UE, transmitting a random access preamble to a base station (BS) after receiving the relay request, receiving a random access response in response to the random access preamble, transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) connection request message after receiving the random access response, and transmitting an RRC connection setup complete message after receiving an RRC connection setup message in response to the RRC connection request message. An establishment cause included in the RRC connection request message is determined in consideration of one or more of whether the relay UE needs to request a connection for traffic of the relay UE and priority between an establishment cause for the connection request for the traffic of the relay UE and an establishment cause set based on information provided by the remote UE.
Regarding to the claim 40, US 20230328807 and US 20220394807 teach the limitations of the claim 39 above.
However, US 20230328807 and US 20220394807 do not explicitly teach transmit, to the base station, a random access preamble, wherein the random access preamble is at least one of: a random access preamble from a set of random access preambles configured to indicate that the at least one user equipment is requesting to establish a radio resource control connection with the base station over the relay, or transmitted with a random access channel resource configured to indicate that the at least one user equipment is requesting to establish a radio resource control connection with the base station over the relay.
US 2020059292, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the random access preamble is at least one of: a random access preamble from a set of random access preambles configured to indicate that the at least one user equipment is requesting to establish a radio resource control connection with the base station over the relay, or transmitted with a random access channel resource configured to indicate that the at least one user equipment is requesting to establish a radio resource control connection with the base station over the relay ([0007] In an aspect of the present disclosure, a relay UE having a connection to a remote UE, for establishing a connection with a network in a wireless communication system includes a transceiver and a processor. The processor is configured to receive a relay request from the remote UE, to transmit a random access preamble to a BS after receiving the relay request, to receive a random access response in response to the random access preamble, to transmit an RRC connection request message after receiving the random access response, and to transmit an RRC connection setup complete message after receiving an RRC connection setup message in response to the RRC connection request message. An establishment cause included in the RRC connection request message is determined in consideration of one or more of whether the relay UE needs to request a connection for traffic of the relay UE and priority between an establishment cause for the connection request for the traffic of the relay UE and an establishment cause set based on information provided by the remote UE ) [see Paragraphs 0007 & 0006].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (US 20230328807 and US 20220394807), and further in view of US 2020059292 because US 2020059292 suggests that In an aspect of the present disclosure, a method of establishing a connection with a network by a relay user equipment (UE) having a connection to a remote UE in a wireless communication system includes receiving a relay request from the remote UE, transmitting a random access preamble to a base station (BS) after receiving the relay request, receiving a random access response in response to the random access preamble, transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) connection request message after receiving the random access response, and transmitting an RRC connection setup complete message after receiving an RRC connection setup message in response to the RRC connection request message. An establishment cause included in the RRC connection request message is determined in consideration of one or more of whether the relay UE needs to request a connection for traffic of the relay UE and priority between an establishment cause for the connection request for the traffic of the relay UE and an establishment cause set based on information provided by the remote UE.
Regarding to the claim 41, US 20230328807 further teaches wherein the radio resource control message comprises one of: an indication of an identifier of the apparatus and an indication of at least one identifier of the at least one user equipment (an indication of an identifier of the apparatus and an indication of at least one identifier of the at least one user equipment) [see Paragraph 0061 ] , or a radio resource control connection establishment cause configured to indicate that the at least one user equipment is requesting to establish a radio resource control connection with the base station over the relay.
Regarding to the claim 44, US 20230328807 and US 20220394807 teach the limitations of the claim 37 above.
However, US 20230328807 and US 20220394807 do not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus comprises a relay user equipment in one of: a radio resource control inactive state, or a radio resource control idle state.
US 2020059292, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the apparatus comprises a relay user equipment in one of: a radio resource control inactive state, or a radio resource control idle state * 0016] In one of a case in which the remote UE is aware that the relay UE is idle, a case in which uplink traffic is initially generated after the remote UE establishes a connection with the relay UE, a case in which a predetermined time has elapsed after the remote UE transmits and receives traffic via the relay UE, and a case in which the remote is not aware whether the relay UE is idle, the remote UE may transmit the message indicating generation of traffic) [see Paragraph 0016].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (US 20230328807 and US 20220394807), and further in view of US 2020059292 because US 2020059292 suggests that In an aspect of the present disclosure, a method of establishing a connection with a network by a relay user equipment (UE) having a connection to a remote UE in a wireless communication system includes receiving a relay request from the remote UE, transmitting a random access preamble to a base station (BS) after receiving the relay request, receiving a random access response in response to the random access preamble, transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) connection request message after receiving the random access response, and transmitting an RRC connection setup complete message after receiving an RRC connection setup message in response to the RRC connection request message. An establishment cause included in the RRC connection request message is determined in consideration of one or more of whether the relay UE needs to request a connection for traffic of the relay UE and priority between an establishment cause for the connection request for the traffic of the relay UE and an establishment cause set based on information provided by the remote UE.
Regarding to the claim 45, US 20230328807 and US 20220394807 teach the limitations of the claim 39 above.
However, US 20230328807 and US 20220394807 do not explicitly teach transmit, to the base station, a random access preamble, wherein the random access preamble is at least one of: a random access preamble from a set of random access preambles configured to indicate that the at least one user equipment is requesting to establish a radio resource control connection with the base station over the relay, or transmitted with a random access channel resource configured to indicate that the at least one user equipment is requesting to establish a radio resource control connection with the base station over the relay.
US 2020059292 , from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the random access preamble is at least one of: a random access preamble from a set of random access preambles configured to indicate that the at least one user equipment is requesting to establish a radio resource control connection with the base station over the relay, or transmitted with a random access channel resource configured to indicate that the at least one user equipment is requesting to establish a radio resource control connection with the base station over the relay ([0007] In an aspect of the present disclosure, a relay UE having a connection to a remote UE, for establishing a connection with a network in a wireless communication system includes a transceiver and a processor. The processor is configured to receive a relay request from the remote UE, to transmit a random access preamble to a BS after receiving the relay request, to receive a random access response in response to the random access preamble, to transmit an RRC connection request message after receiving the random access response, and to transmit an RRC connection setup complete message after receiving an RRC connection setup message in response to the RRC connection request message. An establishment cause included in the RRC connection request message is determined in consideration of one or more of whether the relay UE needs to request a connection for traffic of the relay UE and priority between an establishment cause for the connection request for the traffic of the relay UE and an establishment cause set based on information provided by the remote UE ) [see Paragraphs 0007 & 0006].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (US 20230328807 and US 20220394807), and further in view of US 2020059292 because US 2020059292 suggests that In an aspect of the present disclosure, a method of establishing a connection with a network by a relay user equipment (UE) having a connection to a remote UE in a wireless communication system includes receiving a relay request from the remote UE, transmitting a random access preamble to a base station (BS) after receiving the relay request, receiving a random access response in response to the random access preamble, transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) connection request message after receiving the random access response, and transmitting an RRC connection setup complete message after receiving an RRC connection setup message in response to the RRC connection request message. An establishment cause included in the RRC connection request message is determined in consideration of one or more of whether the relay UE needs to request a connection for traffic of the relay UE and priority between an establishment cause for the connection request for the traffic of the relay UE and an establishment cause set based on information provided by the remote UE.
Regarding to the claim 46, US 20230328807 further teaches wherein the radio resource control message comprises one of: an indication of an identifier of the apparatus and an indication of at least one identifier of the at least one user equipment (an indication of an identifier of the apparatus and an indication of at least one identifier of the at least one user equipment) [see Paragraph 0061 ] , or a radio resource control connection establishment cause configured to indicate that the at least one user equipment is requesting to establish a radio resource control connection with the base station over the relay.
Regarding to the claim 48, US 20230328807 and US 20220394807 teach the limitations of the claim 47 above.
However, US 20230328807 and US 20220394807 do not explicitly teach transmit, to the base station, a random access preamble, wherein the random access preamble is at least one of: a random access preamble from a set of random access preambles configured to indicate that the at least one user equipment is requesting to establish a radio resource control connection with the base station over the relay, or transmitted with a random access channel resource configured to indicate that the at least one user equipment is requesting to establish a radio resource control connection with the base station over the relay.
US 2020059292, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the random access preamble is at least one of: a random access preamble from a set of random access preambles configured to indicate that the at least one user equipment is requesting to establish a radio resource control connection with the base station over the relay, or transmitted with a random access channel resource configured to indicate that the at least one user equipment is requesting to establish a radio resource control connection with the base station over the relay ([0007] In an aspect of the present disclosure, a relay UE having a connection to a remote UE, for establishing a connection with a network in a wireless communication system includes a transceiver and a processor. The processor is configured to receive a relay request from the remote UE, to transmit a random access preamble to a BS after receiving the relay request, to receive a random access response in response to the random access preamble, to transmit an RRC connection request message after receiving the random access response, and to transmit an RRC connection setup complete message after receiving an RRC connection setup message in response to the RRC connection request message. An establishment cause included in the RRC connection request message is determined in consideration of one or more of whether the relay UE needs to request a connection for traffic of the relay UE and priority between an establishment cause for the connection request for the traffic of the relay UE and an establishment cause set based on information provided by the remote UE ) [see Paragraphs 0007 & 0006].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (US 20230328807 and US 20220394807), and further in view of US 2020059292 because US 2020059292 suggests that In an aspect of the present disclosure, a method of establishing a connection with a network by a relay user equipment (UE) having a connection to a remote UE in a wireless communication system includes receiving a relay request from the remote UE, transmitting a random access preamble to a base station (BS) after receiving the relay request, receiving a random access response in response to the random access preamble, transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) connection request message after receiving the random access response, and transmitting an RRC connection setup complete message after receiving an RRC connection setup message in response to the RRC connection request message. An establishment cause included in the RRC connection request message is determined in consideration of one or more of whether the relay UE needs to request a connection for traffic of the relay UE and priority between an establishment cause for the connection request for the traffic of the relay UE and an establishment cause set based on information provided by the remote UE.
Regarding to the claim 49, US 20230328807 and US 20220394807 teach the limitations of the claim 47 above.
However, US 20230328807 and US 20220394807 do not explicitly teach wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: receive a random access preamble from the relay user equipment, wherein the received random access preamble is at least one of: a random access preamble from a set of random access preambles configured to indicate that the at least one user equipment is requesting to establish the radio resource control connection over the relay (a random access preamble from a set of random access preambles configured to indicate that the at least one user equipment is requesting to establish the radio resource control connection over the relay ) [see Paragraphs 0007 & 0006] or received with a random access channel resource configured to indicate that the at least one user equipment is requesting to establish the radio resource control connection over the relay, wherein determining that the at least one user equipment is requesting to establish the radio resource control connection over the relay is further based on the received random access preamble or the random access channel resource from where the random access preamble is received.
US 2020059292, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: receive a random access preamble from the relay user equipment, wherein the received random access preamble is at least one of: a random access preamble from a set of random access preambles configured to indicate that the at least one user equipment is requesting to establish the radio resource control connection over the relay, or received with a random access channel resource configured to indicate that the at least one user equipment is requesting to establish the radio resource control connection over the relay, wherein determining that the at least one user equipment is requesting to establish the radio resource control connection over the relay is further based on the received random access preamble or the random access channel resource from where the random access preamble is received.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (US 20230328807 and US 20220394807), and further in view of US 2020059292 because US 2020059292 suggests that In an aspect of the present disclosure, a method of establishing a connection with a network by a relay user equipment (UE) having a connection to a remote UE in a wireless communication system includes receiving a relay request from the remote UE, transmitting a random access preamble to a base station (BS) after receiving the relay request, receiving a random access response in response to the random access preamble, transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) connection request message after receiving the random access response, and transmitting an RRC connection setup complete message after receiving an RRC connection setup message in response to the RRC connection request message. An establishment cause included in the RRC connection request message is determined in consideration of one or more of whether the relay UE needs to request a connection for traffic of the relay UE and priority between an establishment cause for the connection request for the traffic of the relay UE and an establishment cause set based on information provided by the remote UE.
Regarding to the claim 50, US 20230328807 and US 20220394807 teach the limitations of the claim 47 above.
However, US 20230328807 and US 20220394807 do not explicitly teach determine whether to allow the relay user equipment to transmit the radio resource control message based, at least partially, on the received random access resource; and indicate, to the relay user equipment, to transmit the radio resource control message, wherein indicating to transmit the radio resource control message comprises use of: a reserved bit of a random access response medium access control control element, or an uplink grant of the random access response medium access control control element.
US 2020059292, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches determine whether to allow the relay user equipment to transmit the radio resource control message based, at least partially, on the received random access resource; and indicate, to the relay user equipment, to transmit the radio resource control message, wherein indicating to transmit the radio resource control message comprises use of: a reserved bit of a random access response medium access control control element, or an uplink grant of the random access response medium access control control element (an uplink grant of the random access response medium access control control element
) [see Paragraphs 0007 & 0006].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (US 20230328807 and US 20220394807), and further in view of US 2020059292 because US 2020059292 suggests that In an aspect of the present disclosure, a method of establishing a connection with a network by a relay user equipment (UE) having a connection to a remote UE in a wireless communication system includes receiving a relay request from the remote UE, transmitting a random access preamble to a base station (BS) after receiving the relay request, receiving a random access response in response to the random access preamble, transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) connection request message after receiving the random access response, and transmitting an RRC connection setup complete message after receiving an RRC connection setup message in response to the RRC connection request message. An establishment cause included in the RRC connection request message is determined in consideration of one or more of whether the relay UE needs to request a connection for traffic of the relay UE and priority between an establishment cause for the connection request for the traffic of the relay UE and an establishment cause set based on information provided by the remote UE.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412