DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/05/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
An amendment filed on 02/06/2026 in response to the Office Action mailed on 11/06/2025 is
being acknowledged and entered into the record. The present Final rejection is made by taking into fully
consideration all the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-5 of the remarks, filed on 02/06/2026, with respect to the 112(b) rejection of Claims 2, 5 and 8 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of Claims 2, 5 and 8 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-5 of the remarks, filed on 02/06/2026, with respect to the 112(b) rejection of Claims 11-13 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claims 11 and 13 introduces a new limitation “a pad”. However, according to Fig. 3A and paragraph 0024 of originally filed disclosure of the instant application, it appears that the pad 204 is the same unitary pad disclosed in Claim 1 and hence should be referred to as “the unitary pad”. Therefore, the rejection of Claims 11-13 is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7 of the remarks, filed on 02/06/2026, with respect to the rejections of claim 1 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of a different interpretation of previously applied prior of Zou I and in combination with Zou II and newly found prior art reference of Wang . Zou I in combination with Wang et al. teaches the new limitations of amended claim 1 as outlined in the rejection below.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8of the remarks, filed on 02/06/2026, with respect to the rejections of claim 13 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of 103 rejection is made in view of a different interpretation of previously applied prior of Zou I and in combination with Zou II, Li and newly found prior art reference of Wang. Wang et al. teaches the new limitations of amended claim 3 as outlined in the rejection below.
On pages 8-9 of the remarks filed on 02/06/2026, with respect to the 103 rejection of dependent claim 7, Applicant argues that Zhang fails to cure the deficiency of Zo I/Zou II/Li. This argument is fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of 103 rejection is made in view of previously applied prior references in combination with newly found prior art reference of Wang.
On page 9 of the remarks filed on 02/06/2026, with respect to the 103 rejection of dependent claims 9 and 10, Applicant argues that Chaji fails to cure the deficiency of Zo I/Zou II/Li/Zhang. This argument is fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of 103 rejection is made in view of previously applied prior references in combination with newly found prior art reference of Wang.
On page 9 of the remarks filed on 02/06/2026, with respect to the 103 rejection of dependent claims 11 and 12, Applicant argues that Bibl fails to cure the deficiency of Zo I/Zou II. This argument is fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of 103 rejection is made in view of previously applied prior references in combination with newly found prior art reference of Wang.
On page 9 of the remarks filed on 02/06/2026, with respect to the 103 rejection of dependent claims 13, Applicant argues that Zhang fails to cure the deficiency of Zo I/Zou II/Bibl. This argument is fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of 103 rejection is made in view of previously applied prior references in combination with newly found prior art reference of Wang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the new limitation “depending on the composition of the soft material, the soft material is not heated during the transfer”. However, there is no support for this new limitation anywhere in the specification. Paragraphs 0019, 0021 and 0033 of the originally filed disclosure list examples of the soft material but does not provide details as to which of these exemplary materials are not heated.
Claims 2-14 are rejected due to their dependency on Claim 1.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 introduces a new limitation “a pad”. However, according to Fig. 3A and paragraph 0024 of originally filed disclosure of the instant application, it appears that the pad 204 is the same unitary pad disclosed in Claim 1.
Thus, for the purpose of examination, the above limitation will be interpreted as referring back to the “unitary pads” recited in claim 1.
Claim 12 is rejected due to its dependency on Claim 11.
Claim 13 introduces a new limitation “a pad”. However, according to Fig. 3A and paragraph 0024 of the originally filed disclosure of the instant application, it appears that the pad 204 is the same unitary pad disclosed in Claim 1.
Thus, for the purpose of examination, the above limitation will be interpreted as referring back to the “unitary pads” recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (US 20200075560 A1), herein referred to as Zou I, in view of Wang et al. (US 20210272935 A1) and second reference Zou et al. (US 20170330857 A1), herein referred to as Zou II.
Regarding Claim 1, Zou I teaches a method to transfer microdevices the method comprising:
forming a buffer layer on a donor substrate;
having microdevices 3 located on a top of the buffer layer (see annotated Fig. 5a: 3, 1, paragraph 0039);
having a system substrate 2 with transferred microdevices 3 on unitary pads 4 made of a soft material (see annotated Fig. 5a: 2, 3, 4, paragraph 0039, 0040);
Note that the material of the pads 4 is a conductive adhesive (see paragraph 0040), which is the same material disclosed by the Applicant for the pads (see paragraph 0021 of originally filed disclosure).
having other unitary pads 4 consisting of the soft material on the system substrate 2 without microdevices 3 (see annotated Fig. 5a: 2, 3, 22, 4);
bringing the donor 1 and system substrate 2 closer such that selected microdevices 3 to be transferred are close to associated pads unitary pads 4 on the system substrate 2 (see annotated Fig. 5a: 2, 3, 22, 4);
and transferring the selected microdevices 3 to the associated unitary pads 4 (see annotated Fig. 5a: 2, 3, 4);
wherein, depending on the composition of the soft material, the soft material is not heated during the transfer.
Zou II teaches a method to transfer microdevices the method comprising the following limitation not disclose in Zou I,
forming a buffer layer 305 on a donor substrate 306, having microdevices 302 located on a top of the buffer layer 305 (see Fig. 6E: 302, 305, 306, paragraph 0128).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Zou I and Zou II in order to form a buffer layer on the donor substrate and have the microdevices located on a top of the buffer layer. Doing so would enable the microdevices to be temporarily bonded to the donor substrate through the buffer layer, as recognized by Zou II (paragraph 0128).
Annotated Fig. 5a of Zou I (US 20200075560 A1)
Wang et al. teaches a method to transfer microdevices the method comprising the following limitation not disclose in Zou I,
wherein, depending on the composition of the soft material, the soft material is not heated during the transfer (see Claim 12 and 15).
Note that Wang et al. teaches different adhesive layers and some of them require thermal or optical irradiated to aid the transfer (see Claim 12), while some soft adhesive layers require the application of mechanical force to aid the transfer (see Claim 15, paragraph 0036).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Zou I and Wang et al. and modify the soft material of Zou I with that of Wang et al. so that depending on the composition of the soft material, the soft material is not heated during the transfer. Doing so would eliminate thermal stress, thereby minimizing cracking and delamination.
Claims 3-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (US 20200075560 A1), herein referred to as Zou I, in view of Wang et al. (US 20210272935 A1), second reference Zou et al. (US 20170330857 A1), herein referred to as Zou II, and LI et al. (US 20220230587 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Zou I teaches a method to transfer microdevices the method comprising:
forming a buffer layer on a donor substrate;
having microdevices 3 located on a top of the buffer layer (see annotated Fig. 5a: 3, 1, paragraph 0039);
having a system substrate 2 with transferred microdevices 3 on pads 22, 4, with the pads 22,4 having a hard material base 22 and a soft shell 4 (see annotated Fig. 5a: 2, 3, 22, 4, paragraph 0039, 0040);
Note that the material 4 of the pads 22,4 is a conductive adhesive (see paragraph 0040), which is the same material disclosed by the Applicant for the pads (see paragraph 0021 of originally filed disclosure).
having other pads 22,4 consisting of the hard material base 22 and the soft shell 4 on the system substrate 2 without microdevices 3 (see annotated Fig. 5a: 2, 3, 22, 4;
and bringing the donor 1 and system substrate 2 closer such that selected microdevices 3 to be transferred are close to associated pads 22, 4 on the system substrate 2 (see annotated Fig. 5a: 2, 3, 22, 4).
and transferring the selected microdevices 3 to the associated pads 22, 4 (see annotated Fig. 5a: 2, 3, 4);
wherein, depending on the composition of the soft shell, the soft shell is not heated during the transfer.
Zou II teaches a method to transfer microdevices the method comprising the following limitation not disclosed in Zou I,
forming a buffer layer 305 on a donor substrate 306, having microdevices 302 located on a top of the buffer layer 305 (see Fig. 6E: 302, 305, 306, paragraph 0128).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Zou I and Zou II in order to form a buffer layer on the donor substrate and have the microdevices located on a top of the buffer layer. Doing so would enable the microdevices to be temporarily bonded to the donor substrate through the barrier layer, as recognized by Zou II (paragraph 0128).
LI et al. teaches a method to transfer microdevices, comprising the following limitation not disclosed in Zou I,
wherein the pads 1250 are made of a hard material base (i.e., gold, palladium or indium, see Fig. 19: 1250, paragraph 0134).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Zou I and LI et al. in order to have the pads have a hard material base. Doing so would ensure the pads are not deformed or damaged during the transfer of the microdevices.
Wang et al. teaches a method to transfer microdevices the method comprising the following limitation not disclose in Zou I,
wherein, depending on the composition of the soft shell, the soft shell is not heated during the transfer (see Claim 12 and 15).
Note that Wang et al. teaches different adhesive layers and some of them require thermal or optical irradiation to aid the transfer (see Claim 12), while some soft adhesive layers require the application of mechanical force to aid the transfer (see Claim 15, paragraph 0036).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Zou I and Wang et al. and modify the soft material of Zou I with that of Wang et al. so that depending on the composition of the soft shell, the soft shell is not heated during the transfer. Doing so would eliminate thermal stress, thereby minimizing cracking and delamination.
Regarding Claim 4, Zou II teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the buffer layer 305 is formed by a patterning or an etching process and is a polymer, a dielectric or a metal (paragraph 0128, 0130).
Note that the buffer layer is formed of a resist, which is a well-known polymer material.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Zou I and LI et al. teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the soft shell 4 of the pad 22, 4 covers only a top surface of the hard material base 22 or at least one sidewall of the hard material base 22 (see annotated Fig. 5a of Zou I: 22, 4).
Regarding Claim 6, Zou I teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the soft shell 4 is one of indium or a soft adhesive (as taught by Zou I, see paragraph 0040), and the combination of Zou I and LI et al. teaches wherein the hard material base 22 is one of Al, Gold, or dielectric such as silicon oxide or silicon nitride, or polymers such as BCB, SU8 (see annotated Fig. 5a of Zou I: 22, and paragraph 0134 of LI et al.).
Regarding Claim 8, Zou I fails to teach the method of claim 5, wherein electrodes are formed to connect the pads to the system substrate.
However, Zou II teaches wherein electrodes 205 are formed to connect the pads 205’ to the system substrate 204 (see Fig. 4A: 205, 205’, 204, paragraph 0094).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Zou I and Zou II in order to have electrodes formed to connect the pads to the system substrate. Doing so would establish electrical connection between the microdevices and the system substrate, as recognized by Zou II (paragraph 0094).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou I (US 20200075560 A1), in view of second reference Zou II (US 20170330857 A1), Wang et al. (US 20210272935 A1), and LI et al. (US 20220230587 A1), as applied to Claim 3 above, further in view of Zhang et al. (US 20190305069 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Zou I, Zou II, Wang et al. and LI et al. fails to teach the method of claim 3, wherein a post is developed on the system substrate such that it touches the donor substrate during the transfer eliminating damages on the pads, microdevices and system substrate.
However, Zhang et al. teaches a method to transfer microdevices, wherein a post 525A is developed on the system substrate 520 (Fig. 5I: 520, 525A, paragraph 0079).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Zou I and Zhang et al. in order to have a post developed on the system substrate such that it touches the donor substrate during a transfer eliminating damages on the pads, microdevices and system substrate. Doing so would eliminate damages on the pads and microdevices.
Zhang et al. does not explicitly teach such that the post touches the donor substrate during a transfer eliminating damages on the pads, microdevices and system substrate. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that when the post of Zhang et al. are developed on the system substrate of Zou I, the posts will touch the donor substrate during a transfer eliminating damages on the pads, microdevices and system substrate.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou I (US 20200075560 A1), in view of Zou II (US 20170330857 A1), Wang et al. (US 20210272935 A1), and LI et al. (US 20220230587 A1), as applied to Claim 3 above, further in view of Zhang et al. (US 20190305069 A1), as applied to Claim 7 above, further in view of Chaji et al. (US 20190096774 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Zou I, Zou II, Wang et al., Li et al. and Zhang et al. fails to teach the method of claim 7, wherein posts are also formed on the donor substrate.
However, Chaji et al. teaches a method to transfer microdevices, wherein posts 132 are formed on the donor substrate 110 (Fig. 1E: 132, 110, paragraph 0072).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Zou I and Chaji et al. in order to have posts also formed on the donor substrate. Doing so would enable the posts to serve as spacers, thereby minimizing damage to the microdevices during transfer.
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang et al. teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the posts 525A are made of metals or dielectric or polymer (paragraph 0012, 0019).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou I (US 20200075560 A1), in view of in view of Wang et al. (US 20210272935 A1) and Zou II (US 20170330857 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Bibl et al. (US 20190259907 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Zou I and Zou II fails to teach the method of claim 1, wherein an electrode is extended over top of a stage and a pad is formed on top of the electrode.
However, Bibl et al. teaches a method to transfer microdevices, wherein an electrode 210 is extended over top of a stage 202 (Fig. 4: 210, 202, paragraph 0049).
Note that the posts 202 are interpreted as the stage and the contact pads 210 are interpreted as the electrode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Zou I and Bibl et al. in order to have an electrode extended over top of a stage. Doing so would increase the gap between the donor and system substrates, thereby preventing damage to the pads and microdevices during transfer.
While Bibl et al. fails to explicitly teach the pad is formed on top of the electrode, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that when the electrode/stage of Bibl et al. is disposed on the system substrate of Zou I, the pads can be formed on top of the electrode.
Note that Claim 11 is examined based on the interpretation provided under the 112(b) rejection above.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Zou I, Zou II and Bibl et al. fails to explicitly teach the method of claim 11, wherein a gap between donor substrate and system substrate increases by a height of the stage during transfer. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that when the stage of Bibl et al. is disposed on the system substrate of Zou I, a gap between donor substrate and system substrate increases by a height of the stage during transfer (since the stage of Bibl et al. would come in between the donor and system substrates, the gap between the two substrates will be inevitably increased by a distance equivalent to the height of the stage).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou I (US 20200075560 A1), in view of Zou II (US 20170330857 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Bibl et al. (US 20190259907 A1) and Zhang et al. (US 20190305069 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Zou I, Zou II fails to explicitly teach the method of claim 1, wherein there is a post on top of a stage and the pads are formed on top of an electrode.
However, Zhang et al. teaches a method to transfer microdevices, wherein there is a post 525A on top of a stage 523 (Fig. 5I: 523, 525A, paragraph 0079).
Note that the metal film 523 of Fig. 5I is interpreted as the stage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Zou I and Zhang et al. in order to have a post on top of a stage. Doing so would eliminate damages on the pads, microdevices and system substrate during transfer.
Furthermore, Bibl et al. teaches a method to transfer microdevices, wherein an electrode 210 is extended over top of a stage 202 (Fig. 4: 210, 202, paragraph 0049). Further, the combination of Bibl et al. and Zou I suggests wherein the pads are formed on top of an electrode (see rejection of Claim 11 above).
Note that the posts 202 in Fig. 4 of Bibl et al. are interpreted as the stage and the contact pads 210 in Fig. 4 of Bibl et al. are interpreted as the electrode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Zou I and Bibl et al. in order to have the pads formed on top of an electrode. Doing so would increase the gap between the donor and system substrates, thereby preventing damage to the pads and microdevices during transfer.
Note that Claim 13 is examined based on the interpretation provided under the 112(b) rejection above.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (US 20200075560 A1), herein referred to as Zou I, in view of second reference Zou et al. (US 20170330857 A1), herein referred to as Zou II, and LI et al. (US 20220230587 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Zou I teaches a method to transfer microdevices the method comprising:
forming a buffer layer on a donor substrate;
having microdevices 3 located on a top of the buffer layer (see annotated Fig. 5a: 3, 1, paragraph 0039);
having a system substrate 2 with transferred microdevices 3 on pads 22 consisting of a hard material base 22 (see annotated Fig. 5a: 2, 3, 22, paragraph 0039, 0040);
having other pads 22 consisting of the hard material base 22 on the system substrate 2 without microdevices 3 (see annotated Fig. 5a: 2, 3, 22);
and bringing the donor 1 and system substrate 2 closer such that selected microdevices 3 to be transferred are close to associated pads 22 on the system substrate 2 (see annotated Fig. 5a: 2, 3, 22).
and transferring the selected microdevices 3 to the associated pads 22 (see annotated Fig. 5a: 2, 3, 4);
Zou II teaches a method to transfer microdevices the method comprising the following limitation not disclosed in Zou I,
forming a buffer layer 305 on a donor substrate 306, having microdevices 302 located on a top of the buffer layer 305 (see Fig. 6E: 302, 305, 306, paragraph 0128).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Zou I and Zou II in order to form a buffer layer on the donor substrate and have the microdevices located on a top of the buffer layer. Doing so would enable the microdevices to be temporarily bonded to the donor substrate through the barrier layer, as recognized by Zou II (paragraph 0128).
LI et al. teaches a method to transfer microdevices, comprising the following limitation not disclosed in Zou I,
wherein the pads 1250 are made of a hard material base (i.e., gold, palladium or indium, see Fig. 19: 1250, paragraph 0134).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Zou I and LI et al. in order to have the pads have a hard material base. Doing so would ensure the pads are not deformed or damaged during the transfer of the microdevices.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMNA FATHIMA IQBAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2817 05/26/2026
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817