DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application was filed on and is a U.S. national Stage application under 35 U.S.C. 371 of International Patent Application No. PCT/US22/16798 filed 02/17/2022, which claims the benefit of the priority of US Provisional application 63/150,392 filed 02/17/2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 08/16/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR
1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group I and II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/08/2026. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III drawn to a method of treatment, in the reply filed on
05/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-10 are withdrawn. Claims 11-20 are being examined on the merits in this office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 5, 8-9 are not clear. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a cysteine protease inhibitor capped with dipeptide Arg-Lys that selectively inhibits cathepsin B cleavage of peptide substrates, does not reasonably provide enablement for a cysteine protease inhibitor capped with dipeptide Arg-Lys for treatment of a disease or disorder characterized by lysosomal leakage of cathepsin B including inflammatory, neurological, metabolic and infectious diseases or conditions, and cancer. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. This is a scope of enablement rejection.
To be enabling, the specification must teach those skilled in the art how to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557,1561 (Fed. Cir., 1993). Explaining what is meant by "undue experimentation," the Federal Circuit has stated that:
The test is not merely quantitative, since a considerable amount of experimentation is permissible, if it is merely routine, or if the specification in question provides a reasonable amount of guidance with respect to the direction in which experimentation should proceed to enable the determination of how to practice a desired embodiment of the claimed invention. PPG v. Guardian, 75 F.3d 1558,1564 (Fed. Cir. 1996).
The factors that may be considered in determining whether a disclosure would require undue experimentation are set forth by In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (CAFC 1988) at 1404 wherein, citing Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546 (Bd. Apls. 1986) at 547, the court recited eight factors to consider when assessing whether or not a disclosure would require undue experimentation. These factors are:
1) the quantity of experimentation necessary
2) the amount of direction or guidance provided
3) the presence or absence of working examples
4) the nature of the invention
5) the state of the art
6) the relative skill of those in the art
7) the predictability of the art
8) the breadth of the claims.
These factors are always applied against the background understanding that scope of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability involved. In re Fisher, 57 CCPA 1099,1108,427 F.2d 833, 839,166 USPQ 18, 24 (1970). Keeping that in mind, the Wands factors are relevant to the instant fact situation for the following reasons:
The breadth of the claims and the nature of the invention
The invention is drawn to a method for treatment of a disease or disorder characterized by lysosomal leakage of cathepsin B, comprising administering to a mammalian subject in need an effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a peptidic inhibitor of cathepsin B comprising an amino-terminally capped di-peptide Arg-Lys carboxy-terminally conjugated to a cysteine protease inhibitor. The claims further recite that the disease or conditions include neurological, inflammatory, infectious, metabolic or cancer.
The instant specification defines treatment to include the disease, disorder or condition are prevented from happening ([0052] of Specification), and that “prevent” or “prevention” refers to the prevention of the onset, recurrence or spread of a disease or disorder or symptom ([0053] of Specification).
Cancer is a broad term and encompasses cancers occurring in various hard and soft tissues. Cancers caused by the lysosomal leakage of cathepsin B include breast cancer, glioblastoma, prostate, melanoma, colorectal, lung etc.
Additionally, the instant claims recite that the method treats and prevents inflammatory and neurological diseases and conditions characterized by lysosomal leakage of cathepsin B which according to Zhou et al. – (Brain Behavior and Immunity 132 (2026) 106188), include conditions such as Parkinson’s disease, Alzheimer’s disease, ischemic stroke, traumatic brain injury, spinal cord injury, acute pancreatitis.
Secondly, the term “preventing” is a potent and absolute term indicating that the method of prevention will necessarily prevent the onset of any cancer, regardless of the cause and in every instance by the administration of the claimed peptide ligand.
Since the instant specification does not provide a limiting definition of the term “preventing”, the term has been interpreted expansively. The term “preventing” encompasses a wide range of situations, from preventing a disease from occurring to preventing it from progressing, and in addition, the term is not limited by any time frame.
The applicant is claiming a method of treating that includes prevention as defined in the instant specification. Prevention, as defined by Merriam-Webster dictionary, is to keep from happening or existing, which implies taking advance measure against something possible or probable. In addition, preventing embraces complete 100% inhibition. Therefore, the evidence of 100% prevention would be more challenging to obtain than the evidence of treatment since one would have to show that the administration of the cysteine protease inhibitor, one would never develop any cancer or inflammatory and neurological diseases and conditions which include conditions such as Parkinson’s disease, Alzheimer’s disease, ischemic stroke, traumatic brain injury, spinal cord injury, acute pancreatitis.
The instant specification is bereft of evidence of treatment or prevention of any cancer and cancers in general and inflammatory and neurological diseases and conditions which include conditions such as Parkinson’s disease, Alzheimer’s disease, ischemic stroke, traumatic brain injury, spinal cord injury, acute pancreatitis. The specification does not demonstrate the efficacy of the elected cysteine protease inhibitor in treating and preventing the recited diseases and conditions. Since absolute success in preventing cancer is not reasonably possible based on the state of the art at the earliest effective filing date of the instant application, the specification, which lacks an objective showing that cancer can be actually prevented, is viewed as lacking.
The claims are thus broad insofar as to suggest that the claimed cysteine protease inhibitor can treat or prevent of any cancer and cancers in general including inflammatory and neurological diseases and conditions such as Parkinson’s disease, Alzheimer’s disease, ischemic stroke, traumatic brain injury, spinal cord injury, acute pancreatitis.
The state of the prior art and the level of predictability in the art and the relative skill of those in the art
The state of the art is such that there is evidence and established literature on the many types of cancers (National Cancer Institute-https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/understanding/what-is-cancer (NCI), page 6, paragraph 1) and each cancer has its own causative factor and different cellular behaviors (National Cancer Institute, https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/causes-prevention/patient-prevention-overview-pdq (NCI2) page 2 and 3). Treatment of cancer is complex and usually takes into consideration the type of cancer including location, its stage and genetic characteristics. Therefore treatment for one type of cancer, may not be useful in treating other types of cancers (Merck Manual - Cancer treatment Principles By Robert Gale, page 1, paragraph 1 and 2).
Given that there is no evidence in the art of a compound that has been found to generally treat all cancers, the treatment of cancer generally is not considered enabled. Most cancer drugs are known to be effective against a limited or closely related cancers (Merck Manual - Cancer therapy, By Robert Gale, page 1, and paragraph 1, 2). Therefore a compound that is effective against cancer generally would be an exception and more proof of the claimed invention would be required. Merck teaches the median 5 year survival rates of various types of cancer as shown below (Merck - cancer therapy, page 3).
Medical News Today (https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/322700 - By Christina Chun) teaches that a 5- year survival rate does not indicate whether or not treatment has removed all signs of cancer, but is useful for comparing relative severity of different types of cancer (Medical News Today, Page 1, paragraph 8).
One of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to use the claimed invention to treat or prevent cancer generally and achieve a reasonable level of success in doing so due to the absence in the art of a compound that is able to treat cancer generally. It is well established that a utility rejection is therefore proper when the scope of enablement is not reasonably correlated to the scope of the claim.
As a general rule, enablement must be commensurate with the scope of claim language. MPEP 2164.08 states, “The Federal Circuit has repeatedly held that “the specification must teach those skilled in the art how to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation’.” In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1561, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993)”. The “make and use the full scope of the invention without undue experimentation” language was repeated in 2005 in Warner-Lambert Co. v. Teva Pharmaceuticals USA Inc., 75 USPQ2d 1865, and Scripps Research Institute v. Nemerson, 78 USPQ2d 1019 asserts: “A lack of enablement for the full scope of a claim, however, is a legitimate rejection.”
The instant disclosure is focused on cathepsin B substrate cleavage assessed at pH 7.2 and 4.6 (Fig. 1-9), that Z-Arg-Lys-AOMK shows inhibition of cathepsin B in human neuroblastoma cells (Fig. 10).
With regards to cancer, Ex parte Kranz, 19 USPQ2d 1216, 1219 notes the “general unpredictability of the field [of] ... anti-cancer treatment.” In re Application of Hozumi et al., 226 USPQ 353 notes the “fact that the art of cancer chemotherapy is highly unpredictable”. It is well established that "the scope of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability of the factors involved” and physiological activity is generally considered to be an unpredictable factor.
See In re Fisher, 166 USPQ 18, at 24 (In cases involving unpredictable factors, such as most chemical reactions and physiological activity, the scope of enablement obviously varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability of the factors involved.).
As a result, the specification needs to have more details on how to make and use the invention in order to be enabling.
The relative skill of those in the art is high. However, the art of cancer treatment, or treatment and prevention of conditions such as Alzheimer’s is highly unpredictable.
The amount of direction or guidance provided and the presence or absence of working examples
The claims are drawn to a method for treatment of a disease or disorder characterized by lysosomal leakage of cathepsin B, comprising administering to a mammalian subject in need an effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a peptidic inhibitor of cathepsin B comprising an amino-terminally capped di-peptide Arg-Lys carboxy-terminally conjugated to a cysteine protease inhibitor. The claims further recite that the disease or conditions include neurological, inflammatory, infectious, metabolic or cancer. The method includes prevention of the recited diseases and conditions.
The instant specification does not include examples showing effect of the claimed cysteine protease inhibitor in treating any cancer, inflammatory and neurological diseases and conditions such as Parkinson’s disease, Alzheimer’s disease, ischemic stroke, traumatic brain injury, spinal cord injury, acute pancreatitis.
The quantity of experimentation necessary
Given the well-known unpredictability of the art as well the incomplete experimental evidence commensurate in scope with the claims, the skilled artisan would not be able to agree that the claimed cysteine protease inhibitor for treating any cancer, inflammatory and neurological diseases and conditions such as Parkinson’s disease, Alzheimer’s disease, ischemic stroke, traumatic brain injury, spinal cord injury, acute pancreatitis. In order to determine if the claimed cysteine protease inhibitor would treat the conditions above, the suitable dosage as well as clinical trials or assays that can correlate to clinical efficacy of such treatment would be needed. This is undue experimentation given the limited guidance and experimentation provided by the applicant.
In view of the Wands factors discussed above, to practice the claimed invention herein, a person of skill in the art would have to engage in unduly burdensome experimentation to assess whether administration of the claimed cysteine protease inhibitor for treating any cancer, inflammatory and neurological diseases and conditions such as Parkinson’s disease, Alzheimer’s disease, ischemic stroke, traumatic brain injury, spinal cord injury, acute pancreatitis. Thus, the rejection of these claims under 35 USC 112(a) is proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latz et al. (WO2010003092A1 – hereinafter “Latz”), in view of Kato et al. (Nat Chem Biol 1, 33–38 (2005)), Choe et al. (J. Biol. Chem. 281: 18, 12824–12832, 2006).
Latz teaches a method of treating comprising administering an inhibitor of a pH-activated protease, wherein the protease is cathepsin B (Abstract; claims 1-8), wherein the conditions include inflammatory disorder such as asthma (Page 4, line 1-30). Thus, Latz teaches the use of a peptidic inhibitor of cathepsin B to treat conditions such as inflammatory disorders (Page 19, line 15-30), that the conditions are as a result of lysosomal damage or leakage leading to the release of the pH-activated proteases into the cytosol (Page 15, line 18-27).
Latz does not teach that the inhibitor of cathepsin B is the instant cysteine protease inhibitor.
Kato teaches that acyloxymethyl ketone (AOMK) have a high selectivity for cysteine protease (Page 33, left col., last paragraph). Kato teaches that AOMK is terminally capped with a peptide or dipeptide which is conjugated to benzyloxycarbonyl (Z) resulting in the inhibitor Z-FR-AOMK (Pages 35-36). Kato teaches the inhibitor at pH of 7.4 which reads on neutral pH (Page 36, right col., last paragraph). Kato teaches AOMK terminally conjugated to single amino acids such as Lys and Arg (See Fig. 1) but does not teach Arg-Lys as a dipeptide conjugated to AOMK. Kato teaches that AOMK warhead is an ideal pharmacophore for profiling cysteine protease activities, and that AOMK probes containing both natural and non-natural amino acids so as to identify additional activity-based labeling reagents (Page 36, right col., 2nd paragraph).
Choe teaches that cathepsin B is specific for both Arg and Lys and has a unique preference for arginine and lysine (Page 12827, left col., 4th paragraph, line 1-10; Page 12827, right col., 3rd paragraph, line 5-7; also see Fig. 2 on page 12828). Examiner notes that the combination of Kato and Choe render obvious the instant cysteine protease inhibitor since Choe teaches the use of Arg and Lys since they are specific to cathepsin B.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Latz and use another type of cysteine protease inhibitor such as the one taught by Kato and Choe to treat the instant conditions since Kato teaches that the acyloxymethyl ketone (AOMK) cysteine protease inhibitor has a high selectivity for cysteine proteases and low reactivity toward weak nucleophiles (Page 33, left col., last paragraph). Additionally, it would have been obvious to use the dipeptide Arg-Lys since Choe teaches that cathepsin B was highly specific to Arg and Lys (Page 12827, left col., 4th paragraph, line 1-10). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using the method of using the cysteine protease inhibitor such as the one taught by Kato and Choe to treat the instant conditions since Kato teaches that the acyloxymethyl ketone (AOMK) cysteine protease inhibitor conjugated to benzyloxycarbonyl (Z), was highly potent and selective to cathepsin B (Page 36, right col.). The disclosures render obvious claim 11.
Regarding claims 12-13, Kato teaches that acyloxymethyl ketone (AOMK) have a high selectivity for cysteine protease (Page 33, left col., last paragraph). Kato teaches that AOMK is terminally capped with a peptide or dipeptide which is conjugated to benzyloxycarbonyl (Z) resulting in the inhibitor Z-FR-AOMK (Pages 35-36). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Latz and use another type of cysteine protease inhibitor such as the one taught by Kato to treat the instant conditions since Kato teaches that the acyloxymethyl ketone (AOMK) cysteine protease inhibitor has a high selectivity for cysteine proteases and low reactivity toward weak nucleophiles (Page 33, left col., last paragraph).
Regarding claim 14, Kato teaches that acyloxymethyl ketone (AOMK) have a high selectivity for cysteine protease (Page 33, left col., last paragraph). Kato teaches that AOMK is terminally capped with a peptide or dipeptide which is conjugated to benzyloxycarbonyl (Z) resulting in the inhibitor Z-FR-AOMK (Pages 35-36). Kato teaches AOMK terminally conjugated to single amino acids such as Lys and Arg (See Fig. 1) but does not teach Arg-Lys as a dipeptide conjugated to AOMK. However, Choe teaches inhibitors such as acyloxyimethyl ketone (AOMK) and teaches peptides conjugated to AOMK (Page 12825, right col., 4th paragraph, line 1-2; Fig. 4). Choe teaches that cathepsin B is specific for both Arg and Lys and has a unique preference for arginine and lysine (Page 12827, left col., 4th paragraph, line 1-10; Page 12827, right col., 3rd paragraph, line 5-7; also see Fig. 2 on page 12828). It would have been obvious to use the dipeptide Arg-Lys since Choe teaches that cathepsin B was highly specific to Arg and Lys (Page 12827, left col., 4th paragraph, line 1-10).
Regarding claim 15-16, Latz teaches a method of treating comprising administering an inhibitor of a pH-activated protease, wherein the protease is cathepsin B (Abstract; claims 1-8), wherein the conditions include inflammatory disorder such as asthma (Page 4, line 1-30). Latz further teaches the method for treating neurological disorders (Page 20, line 24-32; page 21, line 7-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Latz and use another type of cysteine protease inhibitor such as the one taught by Kato and Choe to treat the instant conditions since Kato teaches that the acyloxymethyl ketone (AOMK) cysteine protease inhibitor has a high selectivity for cysteine proteases and low reactivity toward weak nucleophiles (Page 33, left col., last paragraph).
Regarding claim 18, Latz teaches the method for treating inflammatory disorders associated with IL- lβ production (Page 19, line 15-20).
Claims 17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latz et al. (WO2010003092A1 – hereinafter “Latz”), in view of Kato et al. (Nat Chem Biol 1, 33–38 (2005)), Choe et al. (J. Biol. Chem. 281: 18, 12824–12832, 2006), as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Donahue et al., (J. Biol. Chem. 272:12, 1997, 29190-29199).
The teachings of Latz, Kato and Choe are disclosed above and incorporated herein by reference.
Latz does not teach using cathepsin inhibitors to treat cancer as recited in claim 17.
Donahue teaches that cathepsin B has also been shown to be relocated to the plasma membrane and that tumor cathepsin B has been shown to retain greater proteolytic activity at or above neutral pH (Page 29190, right col., line 1-5). Donahue teaches that adenoma or carcinoma with positive epithelial cells showed a diffuse cytoplasmic pattern of cathepsin B protein staining, extending from the perinuclear area to the plasma membrane (Page 29196, left col., last paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Latz and use the inhibitor of cathepsin B to treat cancer since Donahue teaches that inhibitors of cathepsin B affect enzyme activity detected in colorectal tumors (Page 29190, right col., 2nd paragraph). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using the method of Latz to treat cancer since Donahue teaches that inhibitors of cathepsin B affect enzyme activity detected in colorectal tumors (Page 29190, right col., 2nd paragraph). The disclosures render obvious claim 17.
Regarding claims 19-20, Donahue teaches that cathepsin B has also been shown to be relocated to the plasma membrane and that tumor cathepsin B has been shown to retain greater proteolytic activity at or above neutral pH (Page 29190, right col., line 1-5). Donahue teaches that adenoma or carcinoma with positive epithelial cells showed a diffuse cytoplasmic pattern of cathepsin B protein staining, extending from the perinuclear area to the plasma membrane (Page 29196, left col., last paragraph). It would have been obvious to modify the method of Latz and treat conditions such as cancer that occur at neutral pH.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MERCY H SABILA/Examiner, Art Unit 1654
/LIANKO G GARYU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1654