Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 15, 17-19, 27, 29, 31, 37, 51 and 53-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Endo (US 5596214).
Regarding claim 1, Endo discloses a ferroelectric field-effect transistor comprising:
a substrate (1) [Figs. 3-4];
a source (6) disposed over a first region of the substrate [Figs. 3-4];
a drain (7) disposed over a second region of the substrate, wherein the second region is spaced apart from the first region [Figs. 3-4];
a channel (CH) comprised of a semiconductor material within a third region that is between the first region and the second region [Fig. 3, annotated below; and col. 7, lines 3-5]; and
a gate stack (3,11/12,5) [Figs. 3-4] comprising:
an interfacial layer (3) disposed over the channel, wherein the interfacial layer (3) comprises thermally grown silicon nitride [col. 14, lines 57-60], and wherein a ratio of a permittivity of the interfacial layer to a permittivity of silicon dioxide is greater than 2 [col. 12, lines 33-38], thereby reducing an electric field in the interfacial layer relative to a silicon dioxide interfacial layer to increase a time-to-breakdown of the gate stack [The court has held that [w]hen the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971); Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985); and Northam Warren Corp. v. D. F. Newfield Co., 7 F. Supp. 773, 22 USPQ 313 (E.D.N.Y. 1934)]; and
a layer of ferroelectric material (11/12) disposed over the interfacial layer (3) [Figs. 3-4, col. 15, lines 4-6, and col. 17, lines 25-30].
[AltContent: textbox (CH)]
Regarding claim 15, Endo discloses wherein the channel (CH) comprises a crystalline, poly-crystalline,
Regarding claim 17. Endo discloses wherein the interfacial layer (3) has a permittivity that is larger than 4 [col. 12, lines 33-38].
Regarding claim 18, Endo discloses wherein the interfacial layer (3) comprises high permittivity (k>4) insulators [col. 12, lines 33-38 and col. 14, lines 57-60].
Regarding claim 19, Endo discloses wherein the high permittivity (k>4) insulators comprise silicon nitride,
Regarding claim 27, Endo discloses wherein the ferroelectric material (11/12) comprises a perovskite material (e.g. BST) [col. 15, lines 3-6, and Table 1].
Regarding claim 29, endo discloses a method of fabricating a ferroelectric field-effect transistor comprising:
providing a substrate (1) [Figs. 3-4];
disposing a source (6) over a first region of the substrate [Figs. 3-4];
disposing a drain (7) over a second region of the substrate [Figs. 3-4], wherein the second region is spaced apart from the first region forming a channel (CH) between the source and the drain [Fig. 3, annotated above];
forming a gate stack (3,11/12,5) [Figs. 3-4] by:
disposing an interfacial layer (3) over the channel (CH) [Fig. 3, annotated above], wherein the interfacial layer comprises thermally grown silicon nitride [col. 14, lines 57-60], and wherein a ratio of a permittivity of the interfacial layer to a permittivity of silicon dioxide is greater than 2 [col. 12, lines 33-38], thereby reducing an electric field in the interfacial layer relative to a silicon dioxide interfacial layer to increase a time-to- breakdown of the gate stack [The court has held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)]; and
disposing a layer of ferroelectric material (11/12) over the interfacial layer (3) [Figs. 3-4, col. 15, lines 4-6, and col. 17, lines 25-30].
Regarding claim 31. Endo discloses wherein the interfacial layer (3) has a permittivity that is larger than 4 [col. 12, lines 33-38].
Regarding claim 37, Endo discloses wherein the ferroelectric material (11/12) comprises a perovskite material (e.g. BST) [col. 15, lines 3-6, and Table 1].
Regarding claim 51, Endo discloses wherein the channel (CH) comprises a crystalline, poly-crystalline, or amorphous form of two-dimensional semiconductors [col. 14, lines 50-51: “p-type silicon substrate”].
Regarding claim 53, Endo discloses wherein the interfacial layer (3) comprises high permittivity (k>4) insulators [col. 12, lines 33-38 and col. 14, lines 57-60].
Regarding claim 54, Endo discloses wherein the high permittivity (k>4) insulators comprise silicon nitride, hafnium oxide, zirconium oxide, silicon- oxynitride, hafnium oxynitride, zirconium oxynitride, lanthanum oxide, other doped binary oxides, and combinations thereof [col. 12, lines 33-38 and col. 14, lines 57-60].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-25 and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo (US 5596214) in view of Young et al. (US 2020/0176585).
Regarding claims 21-25 and 33-35, Endo is silent with respect to the ferroelectric material comprising a binary material.
However,
Regarding claim 21, Young teaches wherein the ferroelectric material (232) comprises a binary material [paragraph 0035].
Regarding claim 22, Young teaches wherein the binary material is hafnium oxide [paragraph 0035].
Regarding claim 23, Young teaches wherein the hafnium oxide is zirconium doped zirconium-doped [paragraph 0035].
Regarding claim 24, Young teaches wherein the hafnium oxide is doped with a dopant atom [paragraph 0035].
Regarding claim 25, Young teaches wherein the dopant atom is from the group consisting of aluminum, yttrium, and silicon [paragraph 0035].
Regarding claim 33, Young teaches wherein the ferroelectric material (232) comprises a binary material [paragraph 0035].
Regarding claim 34, Young teaches wherein the binary material is hafnium oxide [paragraph 0035].
Regarding claim 35, Young teaches wherein the hafnium oxide is zirconium-doped [paragraph 0035].
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify Endo by including a ferroelectric material comprising a binary material as taught by Young because helps to improve transistor performance [paragraph 0043].
Claims 28 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo (US 5596214).
Regarding claims 28 and 38, Endo, as stated before, teaches the same claimed the interfacial material [See col. 12, lines 33-38 and col. 14, lines 57-60]. Hence, it is assumed that the interface in Young also provides an endurance of greater than 1012 cycles.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16, 20, 26, 36, 52 and 55 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 15, 17-19, 21-25,27-29, 31, 33-35, 37-38, 51 and 53-54 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yosuda (US 7781824) teaches memory cell comprising a SiO2/Si3N4) interface layer 102 and ferroelectric (HFON) 103 [See Fig. 26].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/Jose R Diaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815