DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-23 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claims 22-23, and the species of HPV, in the reply filed on 4/1/2026 is acknowledged.
The requirement for election of species is withdrawn because a search of the prior art for the elected species HPV also resulted in finding the non-elected species of a viral skin disease and warts.
Claims 1-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/1/2026.
Claims 22-23 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 does not present a closed group of alternatives in the Markush group. Applicant may consider amending the claim to recite “The method of claim 22, wherein said viral disease is selected from the group consisting of a viral skin disease; herpes zoster; chickenpox; molluscum contagiosum; warts; measles; hand, foot and mouth disease, human papillomavirus (HPV) infection, and any combination thereof.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Squiquera (US 20200179493 A1).
Squiquera teaches topically applying a composition comprising ranpirnase in order to treat HSV (“a viral skin disease”), HPV, or warts in a subject ([008]-[009], [0048]). In one embodiment, the composition further comprises a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient such as propylene glycol ([0013], [0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Squiquera et al. (Antiviral therapy 22.3 (2017): 247-255; hereafter Squiquera 2017) in view of Chiou et al. (US 20110183011 A1).
Squiquera 2017 teaches treating HPV and healing anogenital warts in subjects by topically administering a composition comprising ranpirnase (Title, Abstract Background and Methods; page 249, right column, Drug Preparation and Application paragraph). HPV is the causative agent of anogenital warts (Abstract Background).
Squiquera 2017 teaches that the drug is prepared from a frozen liquid stock or a lyophilized stock and suspended in two different inert carrier ointments to yield three different proprietary formulations (page 249, right column, Drug Preparation and Application paragraph).
However, Squiquera 2017 does not teach that the composition comprises a polyol.
Chiou teaches a topical composition comprising propylene glycol (“polyol”) with antiviral activity that is useful in treating skin lesions (Abstract). Chiou teaches that the skin lesions include warts ([0028]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Squiquera’s composition with Chiou’s antiviral propylene glycol composition in order to further increase the antiviral efficacy of the composition. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining Squiquera’s composition, which specifically treats HPV and warts, with Chiou’s composition, which is useful in treating skin lesions such as warts.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13 and 27 of copending Application No. 17/996,577 (‘577) in view of Squiquera (US 20200179493 A1).
Claim 13 of ‘577 recites a product combination comprising ranpirnase and a therapeutically effective amount of one or more additional therapeutic agents, wherein the additional therapeutic agent is a vasoconstrictor, an antibiotic, an immunomodulatory compound, a steroid, or a combination thereof. The product combination inhibits viral conjunctivitis caused by herpes simplex virus.
Claim 27 of ‘577 recites a method for of reducing or inhibiting ocular infection in a subject comprising: selecting a subject in need of reduction or inhibition of an ocular infection and administering ranpirnase and a therapeutically effective amount of a vasoconstrictor, an antibiotic, an immunomodulatory compound, a steroid or a combination thereof.
Claims 13 and 27 of ‘577 do not recite that the composition further comprises a polyol. Claims 13 and 27 of ‘577 do not recite administering the product combination to a subject to treat a viral skin disease.
Squiquera teaches topically applying a composition comprising ranpirnase to the in order to treat herpes simplex virus (“viral skin disease”) in a subject ([008]-[009], [0048]). In one embodiment, the composition further comprises a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient such as propylene glycol ([0013], [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to formulate the product combination of claim 13 of ‘577 with the pharmaceutically acceptable excipient propylene glycol and to administer the composition to treat herpes simplex virus (“a viral skin disease”), per the teaching of Squiquera. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the market for the product combination by formulating the product combination for topical delivery rather than ophthalmic delivery. Regarding the presence of the additional therapeutic agent present in the product combination, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the antibiotic in a topical formulation in order to treat any concurrent bacterial infections in the subject.
Similarly, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of claim 27 of ‘577 by adding a step of administering the ranpirnase, antibiotic, and Squiquera’s propylene glycol to the subject in order to treat HSV (“viral skin disease”) in the skin in addition to the eyes of the subject. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to treat the HSV virus in all locations of infection, which include the skin per the teaching of Squiquera, as well as the eyes (claim 13 of ‘’577 recites a product combination intended to treat an ocular infection caused by HSV).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 22-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13 and 27 of copending Application No. 17/996,577 (‘577) in view of Squiquera et al. (Antiviral therapy 22.3 (2017): 247-255; hereafter Squiquera 2017) in view of Chiou et al. (US 20110183011 A1).
Claim 13 of ‘577 recites a product combination comprising ranpirnase and a therapeutically effective amount of one or more additional therapeutic agents, wherein the additional therapeutic agent is a vasoconstrictor, an antibiotic, an immunomodulatory compound, a steroid, or a combination thereof.
Claim 27 of ‘577 recites a method for of reducing or inhibiting ocular infection in a subject comprising: selecting a subject in need of reduction or inhibition of an ocular infection and administering ranpirnase and a therapeutically effective amount of a vasoconstrictor, an antibiotic, an immunomodulatory compound, a steroid or a combination thereof.
Claims 13 and 27 of ‘577 do not recite that the composition further comprises a polyol. Claims 13 and 27 of ‘577 do not recite administering the product combination to a subject to treat HPV or warts.
Squiquera 2017 teaches treating HPV and healing anogenital warts in subjects by topically administering a composition comprising ranpirnase (Title, Abstract Background and Methods; page 249, right column, Drug Preparation and Application paragraph). HPV is the causative agent of anogenital warts (Abstract Background). Squiquera 2017 teaches that the drug is prepared from a frozen liquid stock or a lyophilized stock and suspended in two different inert carrier ointments to yield three different proprietary formulations (page 249, right column, Drug Preparation and Application paragraph). However, Squiquera 2017 does not teach that the composition comprises a polyol.
Chiou teaches a topical composition comprising propylene glycol (“polyol”) with antiviral activity that is useful in treating skin lesions (Abstract). Chiou teaches that the skin lesions include warts ([0028]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the product combination of claim 13 of ‘577 with Chiou’s topical composition comprising propylene glycol and to topically administer the composition to a subject with HPV or warts, per the teaching of Squiquera 2017. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the market for the product combination by formulating the product combination for topical delivery to treat other viruses.
Similarly, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of claim 27 of ‘577 by selecting a patient with HPV or warts and topically administering the composition treating HPV or warts. It would have been further obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the composition with Chiou’s topical composition comprising propylene glycol in order to further increase the antiviral efficacy of the composition against HPV or warts. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the method of claim 27 of ‘577 to treat HPV or warts because Squiquera 2017 teaches that ranpirnase, which is the active ingredient in the method of claim 27 ‘577, is also effective against both HPV and warts.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/LOUISE W HUMPHREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/CANDICE LEE SWIFT/Examiner, Art Unit 1657