DETAILED ACTION
The claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11, 13, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hande et al (US Publication No. 2020/0389813 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Hande teaches a method, comprising: establishing, by a processor of an apparatus, a communication with a network node of a wireless network (paragraph 0035; 0069-0072; Fig. 5, 7 disclose the UE 120 associated with an application client 710 (e.g., HMD 540 of FIG. 5) communicating files to the RAN 110 or the AS 140), and performing, by the processor, an operation with respect to extended reality (XR)-related computation offloading from a user end to result in XR enhancement at the user end (paragraph 0035; 0069-0072; Fig. 5, 7 disclose traffic flow 600 may be associated with a certain communication parameters, such as GBR, PBR, and/or PDB that may be configured by the BS 110a or UE 120a based on target metrics (e.g., FER and/or FDB) of each of the files).
With respect to claim 2, Hande teaches wherein the operation comprises labeling of data transmitted across one or more layers between an XR application server and the network node with delay information to assist and optimize network scheduling (paragraph 0057 disclose the traffic flow 600 may be controlled via packet filters and metrics according to PER and PDB. However, XR applications might specify metrics on a group of packets (e.g., file). For instance, XR applications may specify an FER rather than PER, or a FDB instead of a PDB. Moreover, the reliability requirements of files may vary. In some cases, an XR application may specify a policy with regards to file handling. For instance, an application may specify that a file may be used only if all packets of a file are received, or that a contiguous stream of packets up to the first packet in error may be used).
With respect to claim 3, Hande teaches wherein the labeling of the data with the delay information comprises labeling the data with the delay information at a packet level (paragraph 0057-0058 disclose the traffic flow 600 may be controlled via packet filters and metrics according to PER and PDB. However, XR applications might specify metrics on a group of packets (e.g., file). For instance, XR applications may specify an FER rather than PER, or a FDB instead of a PDB. Moreover, the reliability requirements of files may vary. In some cases, an XR application may specify a policy with regards to file handling. For instance, an application may specify that a file may be used only if all packets of a file are received, or that a contiguous stream of packets up to the first packet in error may be used).
With respect to claim 4, Hande teaches wherein the labeling of the data with the delay information at the packet level comprises labeling each packet with a respective priority level corresponding to a respective amount of remaining or consumed delay (paragraph 0036 disclose the one or more target metrics comprise a target file delay budget (FDB) associated with the file, and wherein determining one or more communication parameters for communicating the plurality of packets further comprises setting a packet delivery deadline of each of the plurality of packets to meet the target FDB).
With respect to claim 5, Hande teaches wherein the operation further comprises offloading based on the labeled delay information to result in one or more packets with a smaller remaining delay budget are processed at an edge server while one or more other packets with a larger remaining delay budget are processed at a remote server (paragraph 0036; 0057-0058 disclose the traffic flow 600 may be controlled via packet filters and metrics according to PER and PDB. However, XR applications might specify metrics on a group of packets (e.g., file). For instance, XR applications may specify an FER rather than PER, or a FDB instead of a PDB. Moreover, the reliability requirements of files may vary. In some cases, an XR application may specify a policy with regards to file handling. For instance, an application may specify that a file may be used only if all packets of a file are received, or that a contiguous stream of packets up to the first packet in error may be used).
With respect to claim 7, Hande teaches wherein the labeling of the data with the delay information comprises performing packet segmentation to result in new packets sharing a same residual delay budget (paragraph 0036; 0057-0058 disclose the traffic flow 600 may be controlled via packet filters and metrics according to PER and PDB. However, XR applications might specify metrics on a group of packets (e.g., file)).
With respect to claim 8, Hande teaches wherein the labeling of the data with the delay information comprises performing packet concatenation on a plurality of packets to result in new packets using a lowest delay budget among a plurality of delay budgets associated with the plurality of packets (paragraph 0036; 0057-0058 disclose the traffic flow 600 may be controlled via packet filters and metrics according to PER and PDB. However, XR applications might specify metrics on a group of packets (e.g., file)).
With respect to claim 9, Hande teaches wherein the operation comprises communicating quality of service (QoS) metrics characterizing a network operation of the network node to an XR application server (paragraph 0035; 0069-0072; Fig. 5, 7 disclose traffic flow 600 may be associated with a certain communication parameters, such as GBR, PBR, and/or PDB that may be configured by the BS 110a or UE 120a based on target metrics (e.g., FER and/or FDB) of each of the files).
With respect to claim 10, Hande teaches wherein the QoS metrics comprise a bit rate, an amount of latency and a level of reliability supported by the wireless network at a specific time (paragraph 0047 disclose the traffic requirements for a service may be summarized via a set of target metrics (e.g., QoS parameters) and associated with the traffic flow that supports that service. The parameters may include a file error rate (FER) or a packet error rate (PER), a file delay budget (FDB) or a packet delay budget (PDB), and/or a guaranteed bit rate (GBR) (not shown). The FER/PER may be the ratio, in percent, of successfully received files/packets).
With respect to claim 11, Hande teaches wherein the operation comprises signaling to an XR application server information related to a mobility event performed by the network node to result in the XR application server using the information in sending a quality of service (QoS) flow, encoding, rendering adjustment, and performing codec adaptation (paragraph 0047-0051 disclose the traffic requirements for a service may be summarized via a set of target metrics (e.g., QoS parameters) and associated with the traffic flow that supports that service).
With respect to claim 13, Hande teaches wherein the operation comprises signaling to an XR application server information on a prediction about a mobility event or a traffic-related event to result in the XR application server using the information in sending a quality of service (QoS) flow, encoding, rendering adjustment, and performing codec adaptation (paragraph 0047-0051 disclose the traffic requirements for a service may be summarized via a set of target metrics (e.g., QoS parameters) and associated with the traffic flow that supports that service).
With respect to claim 15, Hande teaches wherein the operation comprises communicating quality of service (QoS) metrics characterizing an XR application server to the network node (paragraph 0035; 0069-0072; Fig. 5, 7 disclose traffic flow 600 may be associated with a certain communication parameters, such as GBR, PBR, and/or PDB that may be configured by the BS 110a or UE 120a based on target metrics (e.g., FER and/or FDB) of each of the files).
With respect to claim 17, Hande teaches wherein the operation comprises signaling to an XR application server information about an event that impacts performance of the network node, and wherein the event comprises one or more of channel degradation, beam blockage, interference, and bandwidth part (BWP) switching (paragraph 0066).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 12, 14, 16, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CHEIKH T NDIAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447
11/1/2025