DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 7/15/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by USPAP 2018/0288882 to Shibata or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over USPAP 2018/0288882 to Shibata in view of JP 2016079373 to Fuji, WO2018163900 to Yamatsu, and/or JP2017057271 to Ishida.
Claim 1, Shibata discloses a resin composition, comprising: an elastomer; a (meth)acrylic compound; and a thermal polymerization initiator, wherein a content of the elastomer is 50% by mass or more on the basis of a total mass of the resin composition (see entire document including [0049]-[0073]).
In the event that it is shown that the Shibata does not disclose the claimed embodiment with sufficient specificity, the invention is obvious further in view of Fuji, Yamatsu and/or Ishida. For example, Fuji discloses a resin composition, comprising: an elastomer; a (meth)acrylic compound; and a thermal polymerization initiator (see entire translation document including [0013], [0016]-[0020] and [0026]-[0028]), Yamatsu discloses a resin composition, comprising: an elastomer; a (meth)acrylic compound; and a thermal polymerization initiator (see entire translation document including the abstract, [0045] and [0054]-[0110]), and Ishida discloses a resin composition, comprising: an elastomer; a (meth)acrylic compound; and a thermal polymerization initiator (see entire translation document including the abstract, [0015]-[0046]).
Claim 2, the (meth)acrylic compound may include alkanediol di(meth)acrylate ([0063] and the Examples).
Claim 3, the (meth)acrylic compound includes a compound represented by the claimed formula ([0063] and the Examples).
Claim 4, the thermal polymerization initiator may include a peroxide [0068].
Claim 5, Fuji discloses that the peroxide may be a dialkyl peroxide [0068].
Claim 6, the elastomer may include a styrene-based elastomer ([0050]-[0057]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/15/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T PIZIALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789