DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 7-20 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by JP 2016079373 to Fuji or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP 2016079373 to Fuji in view of WO2018163900 to Yamatsu and/or JP2017057271 to Ishida.
Claim 1, Fuji discloses a resin composition, comprising: an elastomer; a (meth)acrylic compound; and a thermal polymerization initiator (see entire translation document including [0013], [0016]-[0020] and [0026]-[0028]). In the event that it is shown that the applied prior art does not disclose the claimed embodiment with sufficient specificity, the invention is obvious because Yamatsu and/or Ishida further disclose the claimed constituents.
Claim 2, the (meth)acrylic compound may include alkanediol di(meth)acrylate ([0016]-[0020]).
Claim 3, the (meth)acrylic compound includes a compound represented by the claimed formula ([0016]-[0020] and Formula 1).
Claim 4, the thermal polymerization initiator may include a peroxide ([0027]-[0028]).
Claim 5, Fuji discloses that the peroxide may be a dialkyl peroxide [0027].
Claim 6, the elastomer may include a styrene-based elastomer [0013].
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by WO2018163900 to Yamatsu or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over WO2018163900 to Yamatsu in view of JP 2016079373 to Fuji and/or JP2017057271 to Ishida.
Claim 1, Yamatsu discloses a resin composition, comprising: an elastomer; a (meth)acrylic compound; and a thermal polymerization initiator (see entire translation document including the abstract, [0045] and [0054]-[0110]). In the event that it is shown that the applied prior art does not disclose the claimed embodiment with sufficient specificity, the invention is obvious because Fuji and/or Ishida further discloses the claimed constituents.
Claim 2, the (meth)acrylic compound may include alkanediol di(meth)acrylate [0058].
Claim 3, the (meth)acrylic compound includes a compound represented by the claimed formula ([0060]-[0110] and Formula 1).
Claim 4, the thermal polymerization initiator may include a peroxide [0103].
Claim 5, Yamatsu discloses that the peroxide may be a dialkyl peroxide [0104].
Claim 6, the elastomer may include a styrene-based elastomer [0110].
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by JP2017057271 to Ishida or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP2017057271 to Ishida in view of JP 2016079373 to Fuji and/or WO2018163900 to Yamatsu.
Claim 1, Ishida discloses a resin composition, comprising: an elastomer; a (meth)acrylic compound; and a thermal polymerization initiator (see entire translation document including the abstract, [0015]-[0046]). In the event that it is shown that the applied prior art does not disclose the claimed embodiment with sufficient specificity, the invention is obvious because Fuji and/or Yamatsu further discloses the claimed constituents.
Claim 2, the (meth)acrylic compound may include alkanediol di(meth)acrylate [0032].
Claim 3, the (meth)acrylic compound includes a compound represented by the claimed formula [0015]-[0046]).
Claim 4, the thermal polymerization initiator may include a peroxide [0037].
Claim 5, the thermal polymerization initiator may include dialkyl peroxide [0037].
Claim 6, the elastomer may include a styrene-based elastomer ([0045]-[0046]).
Conclusion
/ANDREW T PIZIALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789