Amendments
In the reply filed 9/8/2026, Applicant has amended Claim 1.
Claims 8-9, 11-20 are pending but withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-7 and 10 are under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/08/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final Office action on 6/08/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Withdrawn Objections to the Specification
The objection to Applicant’s specification for sequence deficiencies has been withdrawn due to the filing of Applicant’s sequence listing.
Withdrawn 35 USC § 103
The prior rejection of Claims 1-7 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Reilly et al. (Mol Neurobiol, 2010, 42:124-132), in view of Whitlock et al. (IOVS, 2005, 46:1085-1091) and Kwong et al., (Gene Therapy, 2015, 22:138-145, see IDS file 8/22/2023) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment of Claim 1 to include a retinal ganglion specific promoter, which is a limitation neither O’Reilly, Whitlock nor Kwong teach. Specifically, Kwong teaches an AAV2 vector with a ubiquitous CMV-chicken beta-actin promoter.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Reilly et al. (Mol Neurobiol, 2010, 42:124-132, prior art of record), in view of Whitlock et al. (IOVS, 2005, 46:1085-1091, prior art of record) and Hanlon et al., (Front Neuor, 2017, 11:1-12, see IDS file 11/21/2025).
O’Reilly reviews the role of Hsp27 (alias HspB1) in neuroprotection of the retina.
Specifically, in regard to retinal disease of claim 1, O’Reilly teaches that the retinal disease glaucoma is an optic neuropathy, marked by a progressive degeneration of retinal ganglion cells (RGCs) that contributes to the progressive vision loss during glaucoma (p. 125, Introduction, 2nd para., p. 129, Potential as a Clinical Therapeutic). Furthermore, O’Reilly teaches that Hsp27 is induced by elevated intraocular pressure and in glaucoma models (p. 126, Induction of HspB1 by Elevated Pressure or Glaucoma Models), and that the increase of Hsp27 in the retina of the glaucomateous eye suggest that it functions as a defense mechanism of stressed or injured neurons in glaucoma (p. 127, HspB1 Neuroprotection against Elevated Intraocular Pressure and Glaucoma).
In regard to the expression of Hsp27 in RGCs as per claim 1, O’Reilly summarizes that there is a protection of RGCs conferred by Hsp27, which has direct implications for preventing vison loss (p. 129, Potential as a Clinical Therapeutic).
Finally, in regard to administering to a subject a nucleic acid encoding Hsp27 as per claim 1, O’Reilly concludes the use of gene therapy to deliver exogenous Hsp27 to the retina may help treat retinal disease (p. 130, 1st para.).
However in regard to the nucleic acid of claim 1, O’Reilly does not teach a nucleic acid encoding at least one biologically active Hsp27 protein expressed in RGCs. Nevertheless, O’Reilly cites the prior art of Whitlock et al. (2005) for the overexpression of Hsp27 in RGCs (p.128, HspB1 Inhibition of Apoptosis).
In regard to the Hsp27 nucleic acid of claim 1, Whitlock teaches a nucleic acid sequence encoding Hsp27, and induces expression of the nucleic acid in RGCs (p. 1085, Stable Overexpression rHsp27 in RGC-5 Cells). Specifically, Whitlock demonstrates that overexpression of Hsp27 protected RGCs in vitro from oxygen-glucose deprivation and calcium overload (p. 1087, Results, para. 1-3, see also Figs. 2-4).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to practice a method of treating glaucoma by gene therapy with Hsp27 as suggested in the review of O’Reilly, and use a Hsp27 nucleic acid that induces expression in RGCs as taught by Whitlock with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so for several reasons. First, O’Reilly cites the prior art of Whitlock, and it would have been obvious to turn cited relevant art for an enabling disclosure for nucleic acids of a gene of interest. Second, Whitlock concludes that retinal ischemia plays a central role in ocular diseases such as glaucoma, and that Hsp27 expression can protect retinal cells from ischemic injury (pgs. 1088-1089, Discussion, para. 1 -2). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the Hsp27 nucleic acid that expresses in RGCs to treat a glaucoma model.
However, O’Reilly and Whitlock are silent to the step of intravitreally administering the Hsp27 nucleic acid to a subject in vivo in an AAV2 vector comprising a RGC specific promoter as per claim 1.
In regard to the in vivo gene therapy step of claim 1, Hanlon et al. (2017) performed preliminary gene therapy methods for treating retinal diseases, including glaucoma, by a single intravitreal administration to the eye of a subject an AAV2 vector comprising the RGC-specific promoter NEFH operably linked a EGFP reporter (Abstract, p. 3, Materials and Methods, 2nd & 3rd para.).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to practice a method of treating glaucoma by gene therapy with Hsp27 nucleic acid operably linked to a promoter that is expressed in RGCs as suggested by O’Reilly, in view of Whitlock, and to substitute the in vivo step of intravitreally administering an AAV2 vector comprising a RGC-specific promoter as taught by Hanlon with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do as taught by Hanlon for several reasons. First, Hanlon teaches the AAV2 vector was obvious because AAV2 is the “serotype of choice” for RGC directed gene therapy approaches (p. 6, Discussion, 1st para., p. 8, 2nd para.). Second, Hanlon teaches the RGC specific promoter of NEFH because the NEFH gene was of a suitable size for the AAV genome, showed significant conservation among species, and was most enriched in RGCs thereby confining expression of gene therapy to only those cells so as to reduce potential immune responses as an advantageous safety feature, as well as a means of aiding long-term expression (p. 4, Table 1, p. 7, Discussion 1st & 3rd para.). Finally, Hanlon teaches that a single intravitreal injection of the AAV2 vector involves less surgical trauma than subretinal injection (p. 2, Introduction, 2nd para.), and resulted in transducing the vast majority of the Brn3a+ RGCs of the retina, and significantly more than a CMV base promoter at the same low dose (Abstract, p. 8, Results, Fig. 5B). Hanlon goes on to explain that this low dose would be especially advantageous as a single intravitreal injection represents the route of vector administration that enables efficient transduction of RGCs, which are the primary target for gene therapy of glaucoma (p. 9, Discussion, 3rd para.). This would have been especially relevant to the proposed method of O’Reilly who also teaches RGCs are the cell type that are affected in glaucoma.
In regard to claims 2, 7, and 10, as stated supra, O’Reilly teaches Hsp27 is neuroprotective against elevated intraocular pressure and in glaucoma animal models.
In regard to claim 3, although Whitlock provides the nucleic acids before the retinal insults in vitro or in the in vivo animal models, this is not a realistic scenario for a subject who has been just diagnosed with glaucoma. As stated supra, O’Reilly teaches glaucoma is a progressive degeneration of RGCs, and glaucoma causes RGC pathology and a progressive loss of vision. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to begin Hsp27 gene therapy as soon as possible after diagnosis (i.e., within 24 hours), so as to minimize the progressive degeneration of RGCs and progressive loss of vision.
In regard to claims 4-6, as stated supra, Hanlon teaches a single intravitreal injection of the AAV2 vector, which would have been obvious to transfect the majority of RGCs in the subject’s eye with minimal intervention with less surgical trauma.
Hence, the claimed invention as a whole was prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant's arguments filed on 9/08/2026 are acknowledged.
First, Applicant argues that although O’Reilly reviews the neuroprotective role of Hsp27 (alias HspB1) during stress of the retina, O’Reilly is purely speculative and limited to a finite set of delivery precedents such as Hsp27 gene delivery by HSV vectors. O’Reilly is silent to AAV vectors or RGC-specific promoters.
Second, Applicant argues that the reference of Kwong is directed to AAV delivery of Hsp70 with a CMV based promoter, which is not interchangeable with Hsp27. Furthermore, Applicant alleges that Kwong teaches away from the claimed invention by indicating that pharmacological induction of Hsp70 could be an alternative to AAV with some important advantages such as being given orally and inducing Hsp70 expression threw out the subject.
Third, Applicant argues that Whitlock is directed to in vitro experiments overexpressing Hsp27 in an RGC cell line subjected to ischemic stress, and it is purely speculative for Hsp27 gene therapy of retinal disease, injury, or conditions, and not tied to a RGC-specific promoter.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's third argument, a 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) based test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In instant case, O’Reilly suggest the treatment of glaucoma by expression of Hsp27 in RGCs, while Whitlock demonstrates that expression of Hsp27 in RGCs is indeed protective.
In regard to Applicant’s second arguments directed to Kwong, it must be noted that due to Applicant’s amendments, Kwong is no longer cited as prior art. Furthermore, as per Kwong teaching away from the claimed invention, MPEP 2141.02 (VI) states that "the prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed…." In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). In instant case Kwong does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the AAV based gene therapy of ocular conditions.
In regard to Applicant’s first arguments directed to the speculative nature of the cited references for treating ocular diseases, as a first matter, the scope of Applicant’s claimed methods are so broadly recited to treat, reduce the risk of, prevent or alleviate any symptom of any retinal condition. Thus, considering this breath of the claims the burden to establish a reasonable expectation of success for the claimed methods is extremely low (see more below). Furthermore, O’Reilly teaches Hsp27 “is cytoprotective” and this “cytoprotection, or more specifically neuroprotection, is particular interest to those studying the mammalian retina” (p. 125, Introduction, 2nd para.), and that Hsp27 is induced by elevated intraocular pressure and in glaucoma models (p. 126, Induction of HspB1 by Elevated Pressure or Glaucoma Models), which “suggests that it functions as a defense mechanism of stressed or injured neurons in glaucoma” (p. 127, HspB1 Neuroprotection against Elevated Intraocular Pressure and Glaucoma). As stated supra, O’Reilly cites Whitlock, who demonstrates that overexpression of Hsp27 protected RGCs in vitro from oxygen-glucose deprivation and calcium overload, and specifically teaches that “rHsp27 can modulate caspase-dependent and -independent apoptotic and necrotic events…Previous studies have provided evidence for the antiapoptotic actions of Hsp27 in response to a variety of insults” (p. 1090, Discussion, 1st & 2nd para.). Since O’Reilly teaches that “in several diseases, including glaucoma…retinal cell death occurs via this process” (p. 128, HspB1 Inhibition of Apoptosis), there was a reasonable expectation of success that expression of Hsp27 in RGCs would treat glaucoma. Finally, the prior art of Hanlon has been included as necessitated by amendment, who provides an enabling disclosure for the intravitreal administration of an AAV2 vector comprising a RGC specific promoter for targeting expression of a transgene in RGCs in vivo.
It would have been therefore predictably obvious to treat glaucoma by AAV expression of Hsp27 in RGCs when practicing the method suggested by O’Reilly et al.
In re O’Farrell, 853 F.2d 894, 903, 7 USPQ2d 1673, 1681 (Fed. Cir. 1988) (citations omitted) (The court held the claimed method would have been obvious over the prior art relied upon because one reference contained a detailed enabling methodology, a suggestion to modify the prior art to produce the claimed invention, and evidence suggesting the modification would be successful.). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential option of treating retinal disease such as glaucoma with a reasonable expectation of success. This reasonable expectation of success is supported by: (1) the reference of Hanlon et al. contained a detailed enabling methodology that could easily be applied to retinal disease such as glaucoma with transgenes such as Hsp27, (2) O’Reilly provides a suggestion to apply the taught method to treat glaucoma, and (3) the success of protecting RGCs in vitro from oxidative stress and apoptosis by expressing Hsp27 as taught by Whitlock suggest a reduction to practice of the method of O’Reilly to include in vivo gene therapy of glaucoma patients would have been successful.
Applicant is reminded, any conclusions of unpredictability have to be made in the context of this particular broadly claimed disease state (e.g., any symptom of any retinal condition). Furthermore, there was ample suggestion in the prior art that the claimed method would have worked. Absolute predictability is not a necessary prerequisite to a case of obviousness. Rather, a degree of predictability that one of ordinary skill would have found to be reasonable is sufficient. The Federal Circuit has concluded that Applicant’s “[g]ood science and useful contributions do not necessarily result in patentability.” Id. at 1364, 83 USPQ2d at 1304.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
No claims are allowed.
Examiner Contact Information
/ARTHUR S LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1631