DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 5-9) and Species 1 (SEQ ID NO: 1) in the reply filed on 06/12/2026 is acknowledged. Upon further consideration and the interest of compact prosecution, the examiner has extended examination to SEQ ID NOs: 1-2.
Claims 1-3 and 10-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/12/2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3 and 5-19 are pending. Claim 4 is cancelled. Claims 1-3 and 10-19 are withdrawn. Accordingly, claims 5-9 are under examination in this Office action.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. PCT/IB2022/051541 filed on 02/22/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/09/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: pages 13 and 17 of the specification recite amino acid sequences without an accompanying SEQ ID NO. Applicant is advised to identify each and every occurrence throughout the specification of nucleic acid and amino acid sequences that are not accompanied by a SEQ ID NO and correct as detailed below in the sequence compliance section. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because FIG. 1, 3, and 7 recite nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences without corresponding SEQ ID NOs either in each respective figure or in each brief description of the drawings. Applicant is advised to identify each and every occurrence of nucleic acid and amino acid sequences that are not accompanied by a SEQ ID NO and correct as detailed below in the sequence compliance section.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d). Sequence identifiers for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings. FIG. 1, 3, and 7 recite nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences without corresponding SEQ ID NOs either in each respective figure or in each brief description of the drawings.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Replacement and annotated drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d). See pages 13 and 17, which each recite amino acid sequences without accompanying SEQ ID NOs.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 5 depends from claim 1, which is withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected invention; thus, claim 5 recites subject matter withdrawn. However, in the interest of compact prosecution and customer service, the examiner is considering claim 5 to recite the limitations of claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (B.R.I.) consistent with the specification, Claims 5 and 9 depend from claim 1, which recites “a compound capable of binding to human ACE2 protein and inhibiting interaction between a viral spike protein and residue k353 of the extracellular region of the human ACE2 protein.” The claims do not recite any structural limitations for the compound, nor do they limit the compound to DNA aptamers or to any particular chemical class. While the specification describes “a compound” as being represented preferably by DNA aptamers capable of inhibiting the interaction of the residue K353 of the extra-cellular region of the human protein ACE2 with the viral protein SPIKE, the specification does not provide a definition of the term “a compound,” see detailed description of the invention. Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art would interpret the term “a compound” as a broad genus encompassing any molecular entity capable of performing the recited function, including, but not limited to, DNA aptamers, RNA aptamers, peptide aptamers, peptides, proteins, antibodies, antibody fragments, RNAi molecules, antisense oligonucleotides, small molecules, large molecules, polymers, peptidomimetics, other synthetic compounds, and naturally occurring compounds that satisfy the recited functional language of claim 1. Claims 5 and 9 therefore encompass a method of preventing or treating any infectious disease caused by any virus that causes infection by administering any compound capable of performing the recited function.
The recitation of Wuhan variant, United Kingdom variant (B.1.1.7), South African variant (B.1.53) and Brazilian variant (P.1) in claim 8 is being interpreted in view of the prior art as each being a single, specific viral genome of the SARS-CoV-2 viral strain (Gander K. “What Variant, Strain, and Mutation Mean When We Talk About COVID,” Newsweek, published 02/02/2021, accessed 07/12/2026).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method for preventing and/or treating infectious disease caused by a virus of the Orthocoronavirinae subfamily, selected from the group consisting of SARS-CoV and HCoC-NL63, said method comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of a compound having one of the following sequences: SEQ ID NO: 1-2, does not reasonably provide enablement for a method for preventing and/or treating infectious disease caused by any virus in a subject, said method comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of any compound capable of binding to human ACE2 protein and inhibiting interaction between a viral spike protein and residue k353 of the extracellular region of the human ACE2 protein. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The disclosure is sufficient to enable a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) to practice methods employing the specific DNA aptamers disclosed as SEQ ID NO: 1 and SEQ ID NO: 2 against ACE2-binding coronaviruses under the experimental conditions described in the specification including specific viral species of the Orthocoronavirinae subfamily, specific DNA aptamer compounds, specific treatment conditions, and specific functional limitation. However, the claims are not limited to these aptamers, vial species, or treatment conditions. Instead, the claims encompass every compound satisfying the recited functional limitation regardless of chemical class, structure, affinity, pharmacokinetic properties, stability, route of administration, dosage regime, or formulation.
To determine whether a claim is enabled, it is evaluated using the factors set forth in In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988). An analysis of the Wands factors indicated that enabling a method across the scope of claims 5 and 9 would require undue experimentation:
The Breath of the Claim(s): the scope of claims 5 and 9 are exceptionally broad. The claims encompass preventing or treating any viral infectious disease in a subject using any compound capable of binding hACE2 and inhibiting the interaction between a viral spike protein and residue K353 of hAVE2. No structural limitations are imposed on the compound nor are any limitations imposed on the type of infectious disease other than it is caused by a virus. Thus, the claims encompass chemically unrelated classes of molecules including DNA aptamers, RNA aptamers, peptide aptamers, peptides, proteins, antibodies, antibody fragments, RNAi molecules, small molecules, polymers, peptidomimetics, and other synthetic compounds that satisfy the recited functional result.
Nature of the Invention: This invention pertains to short nucleic-acid compounds, called aptamers, that bind to the human ACE2 (hACE2) receptor. The inventive concept is to block SARS-CoV-2 from attaching to hACE2 and entering cells. Instead of attacking the virus directly, the invention shields the cell receptor that the virus uses as its entry point. The invention focuses on a specific hACE2 residue, K353, which is part of the viral docking site. They selected aptamers by screening a large oligonucleotide library against ACE2-mimicking peptide targets. Two aptamers, especially aptamer 6 (SEQ ID NO: 1), were found to reduce Spike-ACE2 binding. The disclosure further states that the invention may work against SARS-CoV-2 variants and other coronaviruses that engage with hACE2.
The State of the Prior Art: Aptamers are oligonucleotide sequences with a length of about 25–80 bases which have abilities to bind to specific target molecules that rival those of monoclonal antibodies. They are attracting great attention in diverse clinical translations on account of their various advantages, including prolonged storage life, little batch-to-batch differences, very low immunogenicity, and feasibility of chemical modifications for enhancing stability, prolonging the half-life in serum, and targeted delivery. The art is heavily entrenched on solving the unpredictability by developing advanced techniques for producing aptamers with high performance consistently and efficiently as well as requiring less cost and resources but offering a great chance of success. Furthermore, the art is heavily exploring the diverse modifications of aptamers for therapeutic applications including therapeutic agents, aptamer–drug conjugates, and targeted delivery materials. See Ni S., et al., (ACS Appl Mater Interfaces.;13(8):9500-9519, published 06/30/2020).
The level of Ordinary Skill in the Art: a PhD trained scientist with several years of highly specialized post-doctoral research experience.
The Level of Predictability in the Art: the therapeutic performance of ACE2-boinding compounds is unpredictable. Although compounds may bind the same target protein, binding affinity alone does not predict successful therapeutic activity of a specific type. As recognized in the prior art regarding, for example, nucleic acid aptamers, performance id influenced by numerous including stability, preparation, target potential, size, modifiability, affinity, specificity, and tissue uptake/kidney filtration, see Ni et al. Ni further teaches therapeutic aptamers routinely require empirical optimization following SELEX before they become suitable drug candidates. Furthermore, the unpredictability of the present invention is illustrated by Applicant’s own disclosure. Although numerous candidate ACE2-binding aptamers were identified and evaluated, only a limited number demonstrated substantial inhibition of spike protein binding, while many other candidate aptamers exhibited little or no blocking activity despite being generated against the same target. Thus, Applicant’s own experimental data demonstrates that successful antiviral activity cannot reasonably predicted merely from the ability to bind hACE2, but instead requires substantial empirical screening and testing.
The Amount of Direction Provided by the Inventor: the specification provides guidance regarding the identification of ACE2-binding DNA aptamers by describing the use of SELEX and further presents molecular docking modeling of selected aptamers binding near the hACE2 hotspot K353 residue. The specification also compares binding poses among certain aptamers, explaining, for example, that one aptamer (Apt 1 - SEQ ID NO:5) does not create sufficient steric hinderance to prevent spike protein binding, whereas other aptamers (namely, Apt 6 – SEQ ID NO: 1) are predicted to interfere with spike protein interaction. However, these teachings are limited to a small number of specific DNA aptamers disclosed in the application. The specification does not provide predictive structural principles or design rules that would enable a PHOSITA to identify, from the enormous genus encompassed by the claims, additional compounds capable of both binding hACE2 and therapeutically inhibiting viral infection. Instead, A PHOSITA would still be required to generate numerous candidate compounds and experimentally determine whether each possesses the required binding orientations, steric interference, antiviral efficacy, pharmacological properties, and therapeutic utility. Thus, despite providing some guidance for the disclosed embodiments, the specification does not provide sufficient direction to enable the full scope of the claimed invention without undue influence.
The Existence of Working Examples: the specification does not disclose any working examples demonstrating the use of compounds outside the disclosed DNA aptamers, nor does it demonstrate successful treatment or prevention across the full breath of infection disease, subjects, formulations, routes of administration, or therapeutic regiments encompassed by the claims. Accordingly, the working examples are not commensurate in scope with the breadth of the claimed invention.
The Quantity of Experimentation Needed to Make or Use the Invention Based on the Content of the Disclosure: To practice the full scope of claims 5 and 9, a PHOSITA would be required to undertake extensive and iterative, open-ended experimentation. Such experimentation would include identifying or generating numerous candidate compounds without any structure function correlation, determine whether each compound binds hACE2 at the appropriate epitope and orientation to inhibit spike protein interaction with residue K353 of hACE2, evaluating efficacy against an open-ended genus of infectious disease encompassed by the claims , optimizing affinity, specificity, pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic properties, selecting appropriate formulations, routes of administration, and dosing regimens, and confirming therapeutic efficacy and safety in relevant models. The specification no predictive framework by which a PHOSITA could determine, without substantial empirical investigation, which compounds across the broad functional genus would possess the claimed therapeutic activity. Indeed, the Applicant’s own experimental data demonstrate that many candidate hACE2-binding compounds, even limited to just DNA aptamers, fail to effectively inhibit spike protein binding, requiring substantial screening to identify successful compounds, Consequently, practicing the full scope of the claimed invention would require open-ended and undue experimentation rather than routine optimization.
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Adequate written description support for a claimed genus may be provided by describing sufficient identifying characteristics, describing a representative number of species, actual reduction to practice, disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas, complete or partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure and any working examples, method of making the claimed invention, level of skill and knowledge in the art as well as predictability in the art are other determinants that are used to analyze whether applicants had possession of the claimed genus. The present specification fails to meet these requirements for the following reasons.
Claims 5-9 depend from claim 1, which recites “a compound capable of binding to human ACE2 protein and inhibiting interaction between a viral spike protein and residue K353 of the extracellular region of the human ACE2 protein.” Under B.R.I., the claims are not limited by any structural characteristics, chemical compositions, or molecular class (see claim interpretation above). Rather, the claim encompass methods of preventing and/or treating any infectious disease caused by any virus through administration of any compound that satisfies the recited functional limitations. Thus, the claimed genus encompassed structurally diverse compounds, including but not limited to DNA aptamers, RNA aptamers, peptide aptamers, peptides, proteins, antibodies, antibody fragments, RNAi molecules, antisense oligonucleotides, small molecules, large molecules, polymers, peptidomimetics, other synthetic compounds, and naturally occurring compounds capable of performing the claimed function.
The specification describes the generation of DNA aptamers using SELEX and characterizes a limited number of candidate DNA aptamers for binding ACE2. The disclosure provides molecular docking analyses and identifies interactions near the ACE2 K353 hotspot for certain disclosed aptamers. Experimental data further demonstrates that only a limited subset of the disclosed aptamers exhibit substantial inhibition of spike protein binding, with aptamer 6 (SEQ ID NO: 1) maintaining inhibitory activity across the tested concentrations and aptamer 14 (SEQ ID NO: 2) exhibiting reduced inhibitory activity at lower concentrations (see, e.g., FIG. 8). The remaining candidate aptamers demonstrate little or no functional inhibition despite targeting the same receptor. The specification does not identify structural features common to aptamer compounds, much less applicable to any compound class, that confer the capability to produce the claimed therapeutic function, nor does it identify sequence motifs, conserved secondary structures, binding parameters, or other structural characteristics that permit a PHOSITA to recognize members of the claimed genus beyond the specifically disclosed aptamers. Accordingly, the specification provides possession of only a small number of species rather than the broad functional genus recited in the claims.
At the time of the effective filing date, the prior art recognized that aptamers are typically discovered through empirical SELEX selection followed by experimental characterization, and that aptamer function depends upon complex three-dimensional folding and target-specific interactions rather than a universal recognized structural motif. The prior art does not identify common structural characteristics that would permit a PHOSITA to predict, based solely on sequence or general structural features, whether a compound, particularly a DNA aptamer, would bind ACE2 and inhibit interaction between a spike protein and residue K353. Instead, aptamer discovery remained an iterative screening process in which functional activity was determined experimentally rather than predicted from shred structural characteristics. See Ni S., et al., (ACS Appl Mater Interfaces.;13(8):9500-9519, published 06/30/2020).
Accordingly, neither the specification nor the state of the art provides a representative number of species or identifies common structural features sufficient to demonstrate possession of the full functional genus of “a compound” recited in claims 5-9. Therefore, the disclosure fails to reasonably convey to a PHOSITA that the inventors were in possession of the full scope of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Maddon PJ., (US20220056153A1, effective filing date 04/13/2020).
Regarding claims 5-7, Maddon teaches a compound capable of binding to human ACE2 protein and inhibiting interaction between a viral spike protein and residue k353 of the extracellular region of the human ACE2 protein (claim 1: “a monoclonal antibody that (i) specifically binds to the extracellular portion of human angiotensin converting enzyme 2 (hACE2); (ii) specifically inhibits binding of SARS-CoV-2 to the extracellular portion of hACE2…” and claim 7: “the monoclonal antibody of claim 1, wherein the monoclonal antibody specifically binds to an epitope on hACE2 comprising an amino acid residue selected from the group consisting of … Lys353 …”). Maddon further teaches a method for preventing and/or treating an infectious disease caused by a virus in a subject, said method comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of the monoclonal antibody that ) specifically binds to the extracellular portion of hACE2 and specifically inhibits binding of SARS-CoV-2 to residue K353 of the extracellular portion of hACE2 (claim 16: “a method for reducing the likelihood of a human subject's becoming infected with SARS-CoV-2 comprising administering to the subject a prophylactically effective amount of the monoclonal antibody of claim 1,” and claim 18: “a method for treating a human subject who is infected with SARS-CoV-2 comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of the monoclonal antibody of claim 1.”).
Regarding claim 8, Maddon teaches wherein said variant is selected from the group consisting of: Wuhan variant…([0044]: “SARS-CoV-2 includes, without limitation, the following variants: Wuhan-1…”).
Regarding claim 9, Maddon teaches wherein said subject is a patient who is high risk of becoming infected…([0031]: “a subject who experienced a high-risk event (e.g., one in which he/she came into contact with the bodily fluids of an infected human subject, such as by inhaling droplets of virus-containing saliva or touching a virus-containing surface),” and [0033]: “the subject is at least… 90 years old,” as evidenced by the instant specification a high-risk subject is the elderly, see paragraph 0078).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/COREY LANE BRETZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1635
/RAM R SHUKLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1635