DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-5) in the reply filed on 08 April 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 6-24 have been canceled and claims 25-33 (directed to Group I) have been added. As such, the pending claims are 1-5 and 25-33.
Claim Objections
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 10, “the stopper” should be “the vacuum stopper”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 25-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 25, and 30, the limitation “a stopper detachably coupled to the distal opening” is indefinite because, based on the instant disclosure and the dependent claims, the stopper interacts with elements at the proximal opening in contrast to a seal being provided at the distal opening. For the sake of furthering prosecution, the stopper will be interpreted as detailed in the instant specification. The stopper will be interpreted as being detachably coupled to the proximal opening (instant ¶0033, dependent claims 3-5, 27-29, and 32-33). Claims 2-5, 26-29, and 31-33 are rejected for incorporating this limitation due to their respective dependencies on the independent claim.
Examiner notes that because of this interpretation, no drawing objections are being made in view of the claimed stopper and seal. Because the instant specification properly discloses the stopper being connected to the proximal opening and the seal being connected to the distal opening, the drawings have no objections.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the distal end portion" in 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 29, the limitation “the actuating rod is threadably coupled to the plunger” is indefinite because it is unclear if the actuating rod is now being positively claimed OR if the plunger is configured to be threadably coupled to the functionally claimed actuating rod. For examination purposes, the claim will be interpreted such that the plunger is configured to be threadably coupled to the functionally claimed actuating rod, for example by the plunger having threading to couple to an actuating rod.
Claim 32 recites the limitation "the distal end portion" in 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 33, it is unclear if the dependency of this claim is intended to be to claim 25. The subject matter of claim 33 is already claimed in claim 29, making claim 33 as is a duplicate claim. However, if the dependency is intended to be to claim 30, then claim 33 merely has an objection. Based on the pattern of similar claims in the claimset, for examination purposes, claim 33 will be interpreted as depending on claim 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 25, 27-28, 30, and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Der Jagt et al (EP 1825878, provided by applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Van Der Jagt discloses:
A cartridge (Fig. 1) for receiving an injectable drug (Abstract – active material), comprising: a body (2) comprising: a proximal end portion (6) comprising a proximal opening; a distal end portion (9) comprising a distal opening; a bore coupling the proximal opening and the distal opening (interior of body 2); a pierceable septum (10) coupled to the distal opening (9); a plunger (4) movably carried within the bore (¶0026); a volume disposed in the bore between the pierceable septum (10) and the plunger (4), the volume having a reduced pressure (¶0018, 0020 – the cartridge 3 is assembled and sealed within a vacuum chamber, resulting in the volume within the cartridge 3 having a vacuum within), the reduced pressure being less than atmospheric pressure (¶0020 - vacuum); and a stopper (5) detachably coupled to the proximal opening (6).
Regarding claim 3, Van Der Jagt discloses:
The cartridge of claim 1, further comprising a seal (11) coupled to the distal end portion (9) and covering the pierceable septum (10).
Regarding claim 4, Van Der Jagt discloses:
The cartridge of claim 1, further comprising a nut (8) detachably coupled to the proximal end portion (6) and securing the stopper (5) between the nut (8) and the plunger (4).
Regarding claim 5, Van Der Jagt discloses:
The cartridge of claim 1, wherein the plunger (4) is configured to couple to an actuating rod upon detachment of the stopper from the body (the plunger 4 is demonstrated as being coupled to an actuating rod 22 from the distal opening, and so is fully capable of being coupled to an actuating rod from the proximal open end if the stopper 5 were removed).
Regarding claim 25, Van Der Jagt discloses:
A cartridge (Fig. 1) for receiving an injectable drug (Abstract – active material), comprising: a body (2) comprising a proximal opening (6) and a distal opening (9), and a bore (interior of body 2) coupling the proximal opening (6) and the distal opening (9); a pierceable septum (10) coupled to the distal opening (9); a plunger (4) movably carried within the bore (¶0026); a volume disposed in the bore between the pierceable septum (10) and the plunger (4), the volume having a reduced pressure that is less than atmospheric pressure (¶0018, 0020 – the cartridge 3 is assembled and sealed within a vacuum chamber, resulting in the volume within the cartridge 3 having a vacuum within); and a stopper (11) detachably coupled to the proximal opening (6), wherein the plunger (4) is configured to couple to an actuating rod upon detachment of the stopper from the body (the plunger 4 is demonstrated as being coupled to an actuating rod 22 from the distal opening, and so is fully capable of being coupled to an actuating rod from the proximal open end if the stopper 5 were removed).
Regarding claim 27, Van Der Jagt discloses:
The cartridge of claim 25, further comprising a seal (11) coupled to the distal end portion (9) and configured to cover the pierceable septum (10).
Regarding claim 28, Van Der Jagt discloses:
The cartridge of claim 25, further comprising a nut (8) detachably coupled to a proximal end portion (6) of the body (2), the nut configured to secure the stopper (5) between the nut (8) and the plunger (4)
Regarding claim 30, Van Der Jagt discloses:
A cartridge (Fig. 1) for receiving an injectable drug (Abstract – active material), comprising: a body (2) comprising a proximal opening (6) and a distal opening (9), and a bore (interior of body 2) coupling the proximal opening (6) and the distal opening (9); a pierceable septum (10) coupled to the distal opening (9); a plunger (4) movably carried within the bore (¶0026); a volume disposed in the bore between the pierceable septum (10) and the plunger (4), the volume having a reduced pressure that is less than atmospheric pressure (¶0018, 0020 – the cartridge 3 is assembled and sealed within a vacuum chamber, resulting in the volume within the cartridge 3 having a vacuum within); a vacuum stopper (11) detachably coupled to the proximal opening (6); and a nut (8) detachably coupled to a proximal end portion (6) of the body (2), the nut (2) configured to secure the stopper between the nut and the plunger.
Regarding claim 32, Van Der Jagt discloses:
The cartridge of claim 31, further comprising a seal (11) coupled to the distal end portion (9) and configured to cover the pierceable septum (10).
Regarding claim 33, Van Der Jagt discloses:
The cartridge of claim 25, wherein the plunger (4) is configured to couple to an actuating rod upon detachment of the stopper from the body (the plunger 4 is demonstrated as being coupled to an actuating rod 22 from the distal opening, and so is fully capable of being coupled to an actuating rod from the proximal open end if the stopper 5 were removed), the actuating rod configured to move the plunger to expel gas (examiner notes that the actuating rod is functionally claimed and as such is fully capable of moving the plunger to expel gas if the device is filled with gas).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 26, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Der Jagt in view of Kuhn (US 2015/0013827).
Regarding claim 2, Van Der Jagt discloses the cartridge of claim 1 but is silent regarding “the volume comprises a gas having the reduced pressure.” However, Kuhn teaches a reservoir for drug delivery, thus being in the same field of endeavor, that is filled to provide a reduced pressure within the reservoir such that the gas pressure within the reservoir is at a pressure less than 200 mbar and may even create a vacuum (¶0007-0010). A pressure of 200 mbar is less than atmospheric pressure. Such a reduced pressure reduces gas or air within the drug itself (¶0015). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the cartridge of Van Der Jagt with a gas having the reduced pressure as taught by Kuhn rather than a vacuum because such a modification would be the result of a simple substitution of one known element (a filling process that results in having a gas at the reduced pressure of Kuhn) for another known element (a filling process that results in a vacuum of Van Der Jagt) to obtain predictable results (providing a cartridge with a drug with minimized air). Claims 26 and 31 would be similarly obvious to modify to incorporate “a gas having the reduced pressure.”
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Der Jagt in view of Cohen (US 3577980).
Regarding claim 29, Van Der Jagt discloses the cartridge of claim 25 but is silent regarding “the actuating rod is threadably coupled to the plunger.” However, Cohen teaches a cartridge (10; Fig. 3) for drug delivery, thus being in the same field of endeavor, with a plunger (24) that is connected to an actuating rod (26) using a threaded connection (Col. 2:12-19). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a threaded connection between the plunger and an actuating rod as taught by Cohen to provide sufficient structure to connect the two elements during drug delivery.
Conclusion
/TASNIM MEHJABIN AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783