DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-13 in the reply filed on December 18, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 14-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office Action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office Action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the unit “MHZ” should be “MHz”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prasad et al. (US20200357640).
Regarding claim 1, Prasad discloses a method for forming a semiconductor structure (paragraph 0009 and abstract), comprising: providing a substrate (silicon blanket wafer, paragraph 0036); forming an initial carbon film layer on a surface of the substrate (as deposited amorphous carbon film reads on an initial carbon film layer, paragraph 0036), wherein the initial carbon film layer includes SP2 hybrid bonds (C=C graphitic character indicating SP2 hybrid bonds, paragraph 0033); and implanting modifying ions into the initial carbon film layer (paragraph 0067), wherein the modifying ions convert the SP2 hybrid bonds into SP3 hybrid bonds to obtain a target carbon film layer (paragraphs 0033 and 0112).
Regarding claim 2, Prasad discloses wherein a hardness of the target carbon film layer is greater than a hardness of the initial carbon film layer (paragraph 0112).
Regarding claim 3, Prasad discloses wherein an etching selectivity of the target carbon film layer is higher than an etching selectivity of the initial carbon film layer (paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 4, Prasad discloses wherein a step of forming the initial carbon film layer having SP2 hybrid bonds comprises: plasma-bombarding a carbon-containing gas at a first preset temperature, a first preset power, a first preset frequency, and a first preset pressure to form an initial carbon film attached to the surface of the substrate (paragraphs 0050 and 0056).
Regarding claim 7, Prasad discloses wherein a step of implanting the modifying ions into the initial carbon film layer to convert the SP2 hybrid bonds into SP3 hybrid bonds to obtain the target carbon film layer comprises: ionizing a modifying gas at a second preset temperature to form the modifying ions (the temperature at which the ions of the raw materials are formed reads on a second preset temperature, paragraph 0066); accelerating the modifying ions to form a high-energy ion beam (paragraph 0069); and injecting the high-energy ion beam into the initial carbon film layer to form the target carbon film layer after the high-energy ion beam passes through an electric field (paragraph 0069).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Prasad et al. (US20200357640) as applied to claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 5, Prasad discloses wherein the carbon-containing gas comprises C3H6 (paragraph 0036). Because cyclopropane is one of two structural isomers of C3H6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to choose cyclopropane out of the two possible choices for C3H6, in the method of Prasad, with a reasonable expectation of success. It has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is obvious. See MPEP 2143 I.(E).
Regarding claim 6, Prasad discloses wherein the first preset temperature has a range of about 300° C to about 700° C (paragraph 0056), the first preset power has a range of 2000 W to 2500 W (paragraph 0087), and the first preset frequency has a range of 1 MHz to 200 MHZ (paragraph 0050), and the first preset pressure has a range of 5 torr to 8 torr (paragraph 0056). The temperature range and the frequency ranges encompass the corresponding ranges recited in the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Prasad et al. (US20200357640) as applied to claim 7 above, in view of Colvin et al. (US20180144904).
Regarding claim 8, Prasad discloses wherein the modifying gas is carbon precursor material, and wherein the modifying ions are carbon ions (paragraph 0066). Prasad is silent about the carbon precursor is carbon monoxide. However, Calvin teaches that carbon monoxide is a common dopant gas source for carbon implantation (paragraph 0006). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a known carbon implantation precursor material such as carbon monoxide as taught by Colvin, in the method of Prasad for ion implantation, with a reasonable expectation of success. It has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. See MPEP 2143 I.(A).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Prasad et al. (US20200357640) as applied to claim 7 above, in view of Nguyen et al. (US20140273524).
Regarding claim 9, Prasad discloses wherein the modifying gas is boron precursor material, and wherein the modifying ions are boron ions (paragraph 0066). Prasad is silent about the boron precursor is diborane. However, Nguyen teaches that diborane is a precursor material for boron implantation doping (paragraph 0038). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a known boron implantation precursor material such as diborane as taught by Nguyen, in the method of Prasad for ion implantation, with a reasonable expectation of success. It has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. See MPEP 2143 I.(A).
Claims 10- 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Prasad et al. (US20200357640) as applied to claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 10, Prasad discloses wherein the second preset temperature is in a range from about 0 degree Celsius to about 50 degree Celsius (paragraph 0072), which encompasses the range recited in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 11, Prasad discloses wherein a thickness of the initial carbon film layer comprises a range of 10 nm-500 nm (paragraph 0087), which encompasses the range recited in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 12, Prasad is silent about wherein an implantation depth of the modifying ions of the initial carbon film layer is less than ⅔ of a thickness of the initial carbon film layer. However, Prasad teaches that the implant energy can be adjusted to control the depth of the implantation target (paragraph 0069). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range by routine experimentation and there is no evidence of the criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding claim 13, Prasad discloses wherein an implantation amount of the modifying ions is in a range of 5×1014 ions/cm2 to 2x1015 ions/cm2 (paragraph 0087), which overlaps with the range recited in the instant claim.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JIONG-PING LU whose telephone number is (571) 270-1135. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 9:00am – 5:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua L Allen, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JIONG-PING LU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713