DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 are pending. Note that, Applicant’s response filed January 26, 2026, has been entered.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-13, 16, and 17, in the reply filed on January 26, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Applicant submits that the Examiner has not established that the combination of these specific features, particularly at least the limitation of TAED at concentration from 0 to maximally 0.1% by weight in combination with the other recited components at the specified concentrations, is disclosed or suggested by the cited prior art references. a. This is not found persuasive because the technical feature which links Groups I, II, and III, a product for machine dishwashing, does not provide a contribution over the prior art, as evidenced below, and thus, unity of invention is lacking.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 14 and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on January 26, 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation of a “bleach component”, and the claim also recites “preferably sodium percarbonate” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Note that, the Examiner asserts that the clause “preferably sodium percarbonate” is merely exemplary and has not been read as a patentable limitation. Note that, instant claims 2-13, 16, and 17 have also been rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the aminocarboxylic acid" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2,857,486 in view of WO2014/011845 and WO02/42408.
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, ‘486 teaches a multi-compartment pouch made from a water-soluble film and having at least three compartments, said multi-compartment pouch comprises in a first compartment a liquid detergent composition A, in a second compartment a solid bleaching composition B and in a third component a liquid or solid composition C, said composition A comprising at least 30% by weight, referring to the total amount of composition A, of a mixture comprising at least one anionic surfactant and at least one nonionic surfactant, and of at least 0.001 % by weight, referring to the total amount of composition A, of at least one enzyme, and having a water-content of below 10% by weight, referring to the total amount of composition A and said composition A containing no bleaching agent, said composition B comprising at least one peroxy compound bleaching agent and at least one washing alkali, and said composition C comprising at least one bleach activator. The multi-compartment pouch is in particular characterized by a selected combination of ingredients resulting in an advantageous washing and cleaning action. See Abstract. Solid compositions may have different shapes, for example powders, granules, prills or tablets. See para. 47. Preferably, the one or more anionic surfactants and the one or more nonionic surfactants are present in the liquid detergent composition A in a weight ratio of anionic surfactants to nonionic surfactants of from 10:1 to 1:10, particularly preferred from 5:1 to 1:5, especially preferred from 3:1 to 1:3 and extraordinarily preferred from 2:1 to 1:2. See para. 87. Preferably, the one or more bleaching agents in the solid bleaching composition B is or are used in an amount that the weight ratio between the surfactants of the liquid detergent composition A to the one or more bleaching agents is between 100: 1 and 1: 1, particularly preferred between 50: 1 to 2: 1, more particularly preferred between 40: 1 to 4: 1 and most particularly preferred between 30: 1 to 5:1. See para. 99. Suitable bleaches include alkali metal salts of percarbonate, etc. See paras. 100-102. Suitable bleach activators include 1,5-diacetyl-2,4-dioxohexahydro-1,3,5-triazine (DADHT), acylated glycolurils, in particular tetraacetylglycoluril (TAGU), etc. See para. 118. Note that, ‘486 does not require the use of TAED and clearly suggests embodiments that contain 0% by weight of TAED as recited by the instant claims. Besides the aforementioned anionic and nonionic surfactants and enzymes, further constituents which may be present in the liquid detergent composition A are amphoteric and cationic surfactants, builders, cobuilders, washing alkalis, bleach catalysts, sequestrants, soil release polymers, graying inhibitors, color transfer inhibitors, color fixatives, complexing agents, optical brighteners, softening components, dyes, fragrances, hydrotropes, organic solvents, and/or water. Besides the aforementioned bleaching agents and washing alkalis, further constituents which may be present in the solid bleaching composition B are bleach catalysts, dyes and/or fragrances. See paras. 125-127.
Builders suitable for use herein include builder which forms water-soluble hardness ion complexes (sequestering builder) such as citrates and polyphosphates e.g. sodium tripolyphosphate and sodium tripolyphosphate hexahydrate, potassium tripolyphosphate and mixed sodium and potassium tripolyphosphate salts and builder which forms hardness precipitates (precipitating builder) such as carbonates e.g. sodium carbonate. These builders can be present in the liquid detergent composition A with weight fractions of from 5 to 80%, referring to the amount of the liquid detergent composition A. Inorganic builders include, for example, alkali metal, ammonium- and alkanolammonium salts of polyphosphates such as, for example, tripolyphosphates, pyrophosphates and glass-like polymeric metaphosphates, phosphonates, silicates, carbonates including bicarbonates and sesquicarbonates, sulfates and aluminosilicates. Examples of silicate builders are the alkali metal silicates, in particular those with an SiO: Na₂O ratio between 1.6: 1 and 3.2: 1, and also sheet silicates, for example layered sodium disilicate or sodium sheet silicates, as described in US 4,664,839, available from Clariant under the brand SKS®. Preferred silicates are sodium silicates such as sodium disilicate, sodium metasilicate and crystalline phyllosilicates, or layered silicates. Suitable organic builders include aminocarboxylic acids such as MGDA, etc. Preferably the amino acid based compound or succinate based compound is present in the liquid detergent composition A in an amount of at least 1 wt%, preferably at least 5 wt%, more preferably at least 15 wt%, and most preferably at least 20 wt%.See para. Other builders include homopolymers and copolymers of polycarboxylic acids and their partially or completely neutralized salts, monomeric polycarboxylic acids and hydroxycarboxylic acids and their salts. Preferred salts of the abovementioned compounds are the ammonium and/or alkali metal salts, i.e. the lithium, sodium, and potassium salts, and particularly preferred salts are the sodium salts. Builders based on citrate, e.g. citric acid and its soluble salts, in particular the sodium salt, are preferred polycarboxylic acid builders, which can also be used together with zeolites and/or sheet silicates. 140-157. The liquid detergent composition A can comprise washing alkalis which increase the pH of the washing liquor. But in view of the upper pH-value of 9 of the washing liquor after addition of the liquid detergent composition A, the amount of such washing alkalis - if present in said liquid detergent composition A - is limited. But the solid bleaching composition B comprises washing alkalis which increase the pH of the washing liquor to a pH-value of the washing liquor of 9 or higher. See para. 161. Washing alkalis are typically selected from the group consisting of carbonates, hydrogencarbonates and silicates, in particular alkali metal carbonates, alkali metal hydrogencarbonates and alkali metal silicates. See para. 163. Suitable bleach catalysts include complexes of manganese, etc. Bleach catalyst, if included in composition A and/or B and/or C, are typically present in a level of from 0.01 to 10%, preferably from 0.5 to 2% by weight referring to composition A or B or C, respectively. See para. 170.
‘498 does not teach the specific amount of sodium percarbonate or a multicompartment capsule (i.e., pouch) containing a first composition which is in the form of a powder containing an alkali metal carbonate, sodium percarbonate, sodium silicate, and a bleach catalyst; a second composition which is in the form of a liquid containing a nonionic surfactant, a builder, and water; and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
‘845 teaches an automatic dishwashing detergent. See Abstract. In one embodiment, the product of the invention is a unit-dose product. Products in unit dose form include tablets, capsules, sachets, pouches, etc. In one embodiment, the unit dose is contained in a water-soluble film (including tablets, capsules, sachets, pouches). In one embodiment, the product is in the form of a water soluble pouch. A non-limiting example of a pouch material includes polyvinyl alcohol. The weight of the composition of the invention contained in the pouch (excluding the weight of the pouch material) is from about 10 to about 35 grams, in one embodiment from about 12 to about 26 grams, and in another embodiment from 14 to 22 grams. This weight is inclusive of the composition contained in one or more compartments of the unit dose form, alternatively the composition divided into one or more components wherein the components are contained in one or more compartments of the unit dose form. In one embodiment, the pouches comprise one compartment, alternatively two, or three or more compartments. In another embodiment, the pouches comprise at least two side-by-side compartments to form multi-compartment pouches. In one embodiment, the two compartments are superposed to one another. The compartments may contain components of the overall claimed composition described herein. In one embodiment, at least one of the compartments contains a powder component and the other compartment contains a non-powder component. Non-powder components can be in the form of a gel or a liquid or an aqueous liquid. The powder component can be compressed powder or non-compressed powder or mixtures thereof. In one embodiment, at least one of the compartments contains a solid component and another compartment contains a non-solid component. In another embodiment, at least one of the compartments contains a solid component and another compartment contains an aqueous liquid component. The components contained in the respective compartments can have the same or varying weight ratios to each other. The product may contain an alkalinity source, and examples of alkalinity source include, but are not limited to, an alkali hydroxide, alkali hydride, alkali oxide, alkali sesquicarbonate, alkali carbonate, alkali borate, alkali salt of mineral acid, alkali amine, alkaloid and mixtures thereof. In one embodiment, the alkalinity source is sodium carbonate, in another embodiment sodium hydroxide, in another embodiment potassium hydroxide. The alkalinity source is typically present in an amount sufficient to give the wash liquor a pH of from about 8 to about 12, more preferably from about 9 to about 11.5. The composition herein may comprise from about 1% to about 40%, more preferably from about 2% to 20% by weight of the composition of alkaline source. See page 14.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use an alkalinity source such ass an alkali metal carbonate, a sodium silicate, and alkali metal citrate in the specific amounts as recited by the instant claims in the solid composition B taught by ‘486, with a reasonable expectation of success, because ‘845 teaches the use of alkalinity sources in amounts, for example, of 35% or 40% by weight in a similar and further, ‘486 teaches the use of alkali metal carbonate, a sodium silicate, alkali metal citrates, etc., as alkalinity sources/builders in general for use in the solid composition B which would raise the pH as desired.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate the pouch as taught by ‘486 such that it has a compartment A weight for example, of 10 grams and a compartment B weight, for example, of 10 grams, with a reasonable expectation of success, because ‘845 teaches the formulation of a similar multicompartment pouch having a weight, for example, of 20 grams and further, ‘486 teaches the formulation of a multi-compartment pouch in general with varying components.
‘408 teaches a water-soluble pouch suitable for use in machine dishwashing and which comprises a plurality of compartments in generally superposed or suppressible relationship, each containing one or more detergent active or auxiliary components, and wherein the pouch has a volume of from about 5 to about 70 ml and a longitudinal/transverse aspect ratio in the range from about 2:1 to about 1:8, preferably from about 1:1 to about 1:4. The water-soluble pouch allows for optimum delivery of dishwashing detergent. See Abstract. Inorganic perhydrate salts are typically incorporated at levels in the range from about 1% to about 40% by weight, preferably from about 2% to about 30% by weight and more preferably from about 5% to about 25% by weight of composition. See page 27, lines 15-30.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use sodium percarbonate in an amount, for example, of 15% or 20% by weight in the composition taught by ‘486, with a reasonable expectation of success, because ‘408 teaches the use of sodium percarbonate in an amount, for example, of 15% or 20% by weight in a similar composition and further, ‘486 teaches the use of sodium percarbonate in general.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate a multicompartment capsule (i.e., pouch) containing a first composition which is in the form of a powder containing an alkali metal carbonate, sodium percarbonate, sodium silicate, and a bleach catalyst; a second composition which is in the form of a liquid containing a nonionic surfactant, a builder, and water; and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because the broad teachings of ‘498 in view of ‘845 and ‘408 suggest a multicompartment capsule (i.e., pouch) containing a first composition which is in the form of a powder containing an alkali metal carbonate, sodium percarbonate, sodium silicate, and a bleach catalyst; a second composition which is in the form of a liquid containing a nonionic surfactant, a builder, and water; and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Remaining references cited but not relied upon are considered to be cumulative to or less pertinent than those relied upon or discussed above.
Applicant is reminded that any evidence to be presented in accordance with 37 CFR 1.131 or 1.132 should be submitted before final rejection in order to be considered timely.
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/G.R.D/February 21, 2026