Specification
Applicant’s amendments to the instant specification filed on August 26, 2025 are acceptable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 26, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to claim 1, applicant asserts that:
“Again, independent claim 1 now specifically requires an outer end portion in a radial direction of the press fit rib protrudes further outward in the radial direction than an outer end portion in the radial direction of the salient poles. In view thereof, the claimed invention is able to provide the advantages as described in Paragraphs [0064] to [0067] of the original specification. In particular, it is possible to prevent the magnet cover 71 from coming into contact with the salient pole 32B. On the other hand and in stark contrast, as described in Paragraph [0075] and FIG. 12 of Ohori717 and further discussed next, an outer end portion in a radial direction of the claw portion 233 does not protrude further outward in the radial direction than an outer end portion in the radial direction of the salient pole 37.” Emphasis added by the examiner.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., to prevent the magnet cover 71 from coming into contact with the salient pole 32B) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In addition, Ohori717 discloses that an outer end portion in a radial direction of the claw portion 233 (“press fit rib” as claimed) protrudes further outward in the radial direction than an outer end portion in the radial direction of the salient pole (37; Figs. 9, 10, and 12).
Applicant further asserts that:
“Therefore, even if Ohori717 is combined with Horizumi and/or Ohoril87, it is not possible to avoid the contact between the magnet cover and the salient pole, and it is not possible to resolve the problems to be solved by the invention See [0005] to [0006] of the original specification, as discussed next.
Paragraph [0005] states that "The magnet cover is assembled to the magnet by press-fitting. At the time of this press-fitting, the magnet cover is pressed into the magnet. Therefore, this pressed portion may be pulled outward in the radial direction and be expanded outward in the radial direction. In accordance with this deformation, a portion that faces a salient pole in the radial direction in the magnet cover (hereinafter, referred to as a salient pole-facing portion of the magnet cover) may deform so as to shrink inward in the radial direction." while Paragraph [0006] states that "As a result, the magnet cover and the salient pole may come into contact with each other. At this time, a press fit load at the salient pole-facing portion of the magnet cover is increased, and there is a possibility that the magnet cover is deformed or broken. The magnet holder abuts a tool at the time of press-fitting of the magnet cover. Therefore, when the press fit load of the magnet cover becomes excessive, breakage may occur due to the load." Emphasis added by applicant.
Again, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., it is not possible to avoid the contact between the magnet cover and the salient pole, and it is not possible to resolve the problems to be solved by the invention See [0005] to [0006] of the original specification) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
For the foregoing reasons, the examiner contends that when combined, Horizumi, Ohori187, and Ohori717, provides all of the elements of Applicant's claimed rotor. Accordingly, the rejection to claim 1 is proper.
As to dependent claim 3, it is discussed for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horizumi (JP 2013219930, submitted by applicant), and in view of Ohori187 (JP 2021035187) and Ohori717 (JP 2021027717).
As to claim 1, Horizumi discloses a rotor (11; Fig. 2) comprising: a rotor core (13, Fig. 2) that
rotates integrally with a rotation shaft (12; Fig. 1); a plurality of magnets (14; Fig. 2) that are arranged on
an outer circumferential surface of the rotor core; a magnet cover which covers an outside of the
magnets and the rotor core (22; Fig. 2), into which the magnets are pressed (Fig. 2), which has a
cylindrical shape (Fig. 2); and a holder (22; Fig. 2), wherein the rotor core includes: a core main body portion (Fig. 2) that is fitted and fixed to the rotation shaft and has a cylindrical shape (Fig. 2); and a
plurality of salient poles (Fig. 2) that protrude outward in a radial direction from the core main body
portion and are arranged between the magnets which are adjacent to each other in a circumferential
direction (Fig. 2), and the holder includes: an annular portion (Fig. 2) that is arranged to overlap an end
surface in an axial direction of the core main body portion.
Horizumi fails to disclose a flange portion that is formed on an end portion in an axial direction
and is bent inward in a radial direction; a leg portion that protrudes outward in a radial direction from
the annular portion; and a press fit rib, and an outer end portion in a radial direction of the press fit rib protrudes further outward in the radial direction than an outer end portion in the radial direction of the salient pole.
Ohori187, however, discloses a flange portion that is formed on an end portion in an axial
direction and is bent inward in a radial direction (Fig. 6); and a leg portion that protrudes outward in a
radial direction from the annular portion (Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the rotor of Horizumi with a flange portion that
is formed on an end portion in an axial direction and is bent inward in a radial direction; and a leg
portion that protrudes outward in a radial direction from the annular portion, as disclosed by Ohori187,
to properly secure the magnet cover to the rotor.
Ohori717, however, discloses a press fit rib (Fig. 12), and an outer end portion in a radial direction of the claw portion 233 (“press fit rib” as claimed) protrudes further outward in the radial direction than an outer end portion in the radial direction of the salient pole 37 (Figs. 9, 10, and 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the rotor of Horizumi with a press fit rib, and an outer end portion in a radial direction of the claw portion protrudes further outward in the radial direction than an outer end portion in the radial direction of the salient pole as disclosed by Ohori717, to properly secure the magnet cover to the rotor.
As to claim 2, the combination of Horizumi, Ohori187, and Ohori717 discloses the rotor
according to claim 1, wherein the press fit rib is provided on the outer end section in the radial direction
of the leg portion (Fig. 12 of Ohori717), and an outer end portion in a radial direction of the press fit rib
protrudes further outward in the radial direction than a circumferential direction end portion in the
outer circumferential surface of the magnet (Fig. 12 of Ohori 717).
As to claim 4, the combination of Horizumi, Ohori187, and Ohori717 discloses the rotor
according to claim 1, wherein, in the radial direction, the magnet cover (21; Fig. 2 of Horizumi) is in
contact with a circumferential direction middle portion (Fig. 2 of Horizumi) of the press fit rib (Fig. 12 of
Ohori717) and the magnet (14; Fig. 2 of Horizumi).
As to claim 5, the combination of Horizumi, Ohori187, and Ohori717 discloses the rotor
according to claim 4, wherein the magnet is formed in an arc shape when seen from the axial direction
(Fig. 2 of Horizumi), and an outer circumferential surface of the magnet is formed in an arc shape
centered on an eccentric position to an outer circumferential surface side of the magnet further than a
rotation axis line of the rotation shaft (Fig. 7 of Ohori187).
As to claim 6, the combination of Horizumi, Ohori187, and Ohori717 discloses the rotor
according to claim 1, wherein when seen from the axial direction, a distance from a rotation axis line of
the rotation shaft to an outer circumferential surface of a circumferential direction middle portion of the
magnet is in a range from 1.5 times to 2.0 times a distance from the rotation axis line of the rotation
shaft to an outer circumferential surface of the core main body portion (Fig. 7 of Ohori187), and when
seen from the axial direction, a distance from the rotation axis line of the rotation shaft to a radial direction outer end of the salient poles is in a range from 1.5 times to 2.0 times the distance from the
rotation axis line of the rotation shaft to the outer circumferential surface of the core main body portion
(Fig. 7 of Ohori187).
As to claim 7, the combination of Horizumi, Ohori187, and Ohori717 discloses the rotor
according to claim 1; and a stator that is arranged at a further outer side in the radial direction than the
rotor and generates a magnetic field (Fig. 1 of Horizumi).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horizumi, Ohori187, and
Ohori717 as applied to claim 2, and further in view of Raimann (US 2021/0194385).
As to claim 3, the combination of Horizumi, Ohori187, and Ohori717 discloses the rotor
according to claim 2, wherein the holder (22; Fig. 2 of Horizumi) includes: an end portion on an opposite
side of the rotor core in an axial direction in the annular portion (Fig. 2 of Horizumi) and the leg portion
(Fig. 6 of Ohori187), is arranged to overlap an end surface in an axial direction of the magnet (Fig. 2 of
Horizumi), and has a circular outer shape when seen from the axial direction (Fig. 2 of Horizumi), and an
outer end portion (Fig. 2 of Horizumi) in a radial direction and a further inner position in the radial
direction than the outer end portion (Fig. 6 of Ohori187) in the radial direction of the press fit rib
throughout an entire circumference (Fig. 12 of Ohori717).
Horizumi fails to disclose a base plate.
Raimann, however, discloses a base plate (3; Fig. 1 of Raimann).
As to combination of Horizumi, Ohori187, Ohori717, and Raimann is made, the result would
read on a base plate (Fig. 1 of Raimann) that is provided on an end portion on an opposite side of the
rotor core in an axial direction in the annular portion (Fig. 2 of Horizumi) and the leg portion (Fig. 6 of
Ohori187), is arranged to overlap an end surface in an axial direction of the magnet (Fig. 2 of Horizumi),
and has a circular outer shape when seen from the axial direction (Fig. 2 of Horizumi shows circular
shape for base plate of Raimann), and an outer end portion in a radial direction (Fig. 2 of Horizumi) of the base plate (Fig.1 of Raimann) and that is located at a further inner position in the radial direction (Fig. 6 of Ohori187) than the outer end portion in the radial direction of the press fit rib (Fig. 12 of Ohori717) throughout an entire circumference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the rotor of Horizumi with a base plate, as
disclosed by Raimann, in order to connect electrical pathways of the rotor.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to ETHAN N VO whose telephone number is (571)270-7593. The examiner can
normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30am - 5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher M Koehler can be reached on 571 272 3560. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834