DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 18 Jun 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-8 are pending in the application with claim 2 canceled. Claims 1 and 3 are currently amended with claims 4-8 newly added. Applicant’s amendment to the Claims have overcome each and every 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 23 Mar 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 Jun 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Applicant’s discussion of claim 1 is only found to feature discussion of the alleged benefits of the claimed invention without pointing to specific reasons why the cited prior art would fail to read on the claim (Pg. 6-8).
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 5 and 7-8 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, Ln. 2 recites “the patient” which should read “a patient” as it is a first introduction
Claim 5 improperly ends with a comma
Claim 7, Ln. 2 recites “the inhaled air” which should read “inhaled air” as it is a first introduction
Claim 8, Ln. 2 recites “the inhaled air” which should read “inhaled air” as it is a first introduction
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “detecting an air flow of inhaled air by the inhaled air sensor in the mask or the mouthpiece.” Claim 6 thus refers back to the inhaled air sensor of claim 1. However, the inhaled air sensor of claim 1 is “connected to the air purifier” and thus not at a suitable location to detect air flow “in the mask or the mouthpiece.” The claim thus appears to be attempting to define the inhaled air sensor as simultaneously at two different locations. The overall scope of the claim thus amounts to new matter not disclosed in the application as originally filed, with a single inhaled air sensor being located both “connected to the air purifier” and also detecting air flow “in the mask or the mouthpiece.”
Claim 7 recites the limitation “detecting an air pressure of the inhaled air by the inhaled air sensor in the mask or the mouthpiece.” Claim 7 thus refers back to the inhaled air sensor of claim 1. However, the inhaled air sensor of claim 1 is “connected to the air purifier” and thus not at a suitable location to detect air pressure “in the mask or the mouthpiece.” The claim thus appears to be attempting to define the inhaled air sensor as simultaneously at two different locations. The overall scope of the claim thus amounts to new matter not disclosed in the application as originally filed, with a single inhaled air sensor being located both “connected to the air purifier” and also detecting air pressure “in the mask or the mouthpiece.”
Claim 8 recites the limitation “detecting an air temperature of the inhaled air by the inhaled air sensor in the mask or the mouthpiece.” Claim 8 thus refers back to the inhaled air sensor of claim 1. However, the inhaled air sensor of claim 1 is “connected to the air purifier” and thus not at a suitable location to detect air temperature “in the mask or the mouthpiece.” The claim thus appears to be attempting to define the inhaled air sensor as simultaneously at two different locations. The overall scope of the claim thus amounts to new matter not disclosed in the application as originally filed, with a single inhaled air sensor being located both “connected to the air purifier” and also detecting air temperature “in the mask or the mouthpiece.”
Claim(s) 1 and 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the drug fine particle generator being configured to be operated only when a sensing signal is input” in Ln. 18-20 which deems the claim indefinite. The language “when a sensing signal is input” is overly broad as it fails to identify where the sensing signal is coming from or how it is input. The sensing signal is recited in disconnection from other limitations of the claim which leads to confusion. Thus, the claim recites a function, i.e. a sensing signal, without clearing identifying the structure in the claim capable of performing the function (see MPEP 2173.05(g)). It is suggested to specify the source of the sensing signal, such as the inhaled air sensor recited earlier in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “detecting an air flow of inhaled air by the inhaled air sensor in the mask or the mouthpiece” which deems the claim indefinite. The inhaled air sensor of claim 1 is “connected to the air purifier” and thus not at a suitable location to detect air flow “in the mask or the mouthpiece.” It is thus unclear how applicant understands the (single) inhaled air sensor as located both “connected to the air purifier” and also detecting air flow “in the mask or the mouthpiece.”
Claim 7 recites the limitation “detecting an air pressure of the inhaled air by the inhaled air sensor in the mask or the mouthpiece” which deems the claim indefinite. The inhaled air sensor of claim 1 is “connected to the air purifier” and thus not at a suitable location to detect air pressure “in the mask or the mouthpiece.” It is thus unclear how applicant understands the (single) inhaled air sensor as located both “connected to the air purifier” and also detecting air pressure “in the mask or the mouthpiece.”
Claim 8 recites the limitation “detecting an air temperature of the inhaled air by the inhaled air sensor in the mask or the mouthpiece” which deems the claim indefinite. The inhaled air sensor of claim 1 is “connected to the air purifier” and thus not at a suitable location to detect air temperature “in the mask or the mouthpiece.” It is thus unclear how applicant understands the (single) inhaled air sensor as located both “connected to the air purifier” and also detecting air temperature “in the mask or the mouthpiece.”
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “heating and humidifying apparatus being configured to generate second air by adjusting a temperature and a humidity of the first air” in claim 1 and “fine particle generating element” in claim 3.
The corresponding structure for the heating and humidifying apparatus is best understood from the specification as at least: heating and humidifying apparatus 3 in the form of a heating humidifier common in the art (e.g. Fig. 1).
The corresponding structure for the fine particle generating element is best understood from the specification as at least: fine particle generating element 34 which performs ultrasonic vibration (e.g. ¶¶25 & 27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montgomery (U.S. Pub. 2013/0014759) in view of Smaldone (U.S. Pub. 2021/0236750) and further in view of Parker et al. (U.S. Pub. 2007/0157931).
Regarding claim 1, Montgomery discloses an aerosol drug supply apparatus (Fig. 1; ¶0025) for a respirator (¶0025), the aerosol drug supply apparatus comprising: an air purifier (Fig. 1 #1; ¶0025) configured to discharge first air in which an oxygen concentration, a pressure, and a speed thereof are set (¶0028 – delivered air has some oxygen in it, positive pressure, air has some flow rate); a first tube (Fig. 1 between #1 and #4) along which the first air moves; a humidifying apparatus (Fig. 1 #4; ¶0025) connected to the first tube, the humidifying apparatus being configured to generate second air by a humidity of the first air (¶¶0025, 0037), and the humidifying apparatus being configured to discharge the second air; a second tube (Fig. 1 between #4 and #5) which is connected to the humidifying apparatus and along which the second air moves; a T-tube (Fig. 1 at #5) having a straight tube (Fig. 1 inline with inspiration flow) that has one side thereof provided with a branch tube (Fig. 1 to which nebulizer 5 is attached; ¶¶0025, 0036), the straight tube being directly connected to the second tube (Fig. 1), thereby allowing the second air to pass therethrough; a drug fine particle generator (Fig. 1 #5; ¶¶0025, 0036) mounted on the branch tube, the drug fine particle generator being configured to be operated only when a sensing signal is input (¶0025 – activation by patient inspiration requires a signal), and the drug fine particle generator being configured to spray a drug in a fine particle state to the second air (¶¶0035-0037); a Y-tube (Fig. 1 connecting inspiratory limb and expiratory limb to #6), the Y-tube having another side connected to a mask or a mouthpiece (¶0038 – endotracheal tubing is readable on a mouthpiece); and a return tube (Fig. 1 #3; ¶0025) having one side connected to the Y-tube (Fig. 1), the return tube having another side connected to the air purifier (Fig. 1), thereby allowing exhaled air to flow therethrough. It is noted that the “air purifier” is not expressly recited as either including any structure which performs purifying or as functionally performing any purifying of air. Thus, the term “purifier” is only understood as intended functionality and is given limited patentable weight (see MPEP 2114).
Montgomery fails to disclose an inhaled air sensor connected to the air purifier, the inhaled air sensor being configured to sense the first air. Montgomery fails to explicitly disclose the humidifying apparatus also performs heating; and the Y-tube having one side directly connected to the T-tube.
The illustration of Fig. 1 of Montgomery shows an additional piece of tubing between in-line nebulizer 5 and the wye piece, which means they are not “connected” in the illustration. However, Montgomery teaches it is preferred to locate the nebulizer proximate to the patient near the wye piece (¶0028). One of ordinary skill in the art would thus have considered it prima facie obvious to have specified in Montgomery the in-line nebulizer 5 as connected to the wye piece as fulfilling a preferred intention of Montgomery to locate the nebulizer as close to the patient as possible while still maintaining the nebulizer in a position upstream of the wye piece (e.g. ¶0028 and Fig. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Montgomery the Y-tube having one side directly connected to the T-tube in order to provide the benefit of locate the drug fine particle generator (i.e. the nebulizer of Montgomery) as close to the patient as possible while still maintaining the drug fine particle generator in a position upstream of the Y-tube in view of the preference of this type of positioning as taught by Montgomery.
Smaldone teaches a ventilator circuit including a nebulizer (e.g. Figs. 1 & 5; ¶¶0034, 0048) including an inhaled air sensor (Figs. 1 & 5 #114; ¶0037) connected to a ventilator (Figs. 1 & 5 #102; ¶0037), the inhaled air sensor being configured to sense air exiting the ventilator and to generate a sensing signal (¶0037); and a nebulizer (Figs. 1 & 5 #101; ¶0037) being configured to be operated only when the sensing signal is input (¶0037 – nebulizer turned off when inhalation phase no longer detected). Smaldone teaches an inhaled air sensor controlling operation of a nebulizer as providing the benefit of synchronizing nebulizer delivery to only occur upon breath-actuation (¶¶0037-0039). It is additionally noted that Montgomery teaches a desire for the nebulizer to be activated by patient inspiration (¶0025).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Montgomery an inhaled air sensor connected to the air purifier, the inhaled air sensor being configured to sense the first air in order to provide the benefit of controlling operation of the drug fine particle generator (i.e. the nebulizer of Montgomery) to only delivery nebulized drug upon breath-actuation in view of Smaldone.
Parker teaches a ventilator circuit including a nebulizer (Fig. 2; ¶¶0077, 0080) and teaches the circuit used with a humidifier obviously controlled to provide heating to its humidified air (¶0170 – different temperatures of gases delivered). One of ordinary skill in the art would have obviously recognized that heating is a common function of humidifiers in the respiratory art as heating of the humidified gas helps ensure patient comfort by providing the humidified gas close to a normal physiological temperature.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Montgomery the humidifying apparatus also performs heating in order to provide the benefit of heating the humidified air to help ensure patient comfort by providing the humidified air close to a normal physiological temperature both in view of Parker and the common use of humidifiers in the respiratory art.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montgomery (U.S. Pub. 2013/0014759) in view of Smaldone (U.S. Pub. 2021/0236750) and further in view of Parker et al. (U.S. Pub. 2007/0157931) and further in view of Porter et al. (U.S. Pub. 2018/0272081).
Regarding claim 4, Montgomery teaches the invention as modified above but fails to teach the sensing signal is a signal generated by a chest sensor, configured to be mounted on a patient's chest, and wherein the chest sensor is configured to detect when the patient's chest expands.
Porter teaches an aerosol delivery system (Fig. 2; ¶0031) including breath sensors (Fig. 2 #34; ¶0033) to control aerosol delivery based on a patient’s breath cycle (¶0033) which can take various forms, to include an impedance plethysmography sensor (Fig. 3 #40; ¶0035). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the impedance plethysmography sensor 40 of Fig. 3 as being a chest sensor which detects when the patient's chest expands. Porter thus teaches a chest sensor as an obvious design choice option of a breath sensor known in the art to be usable for controlling aerosol delivery based on a patient’s breath cycle.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in the modified Montgomery the sensing signal is a signal generated by a chest sensor, configured to be mounted on a patient's chest, and wherein the chest sensor is configured to detect when the patient's chest expands in order to provide the benefit of adding an additional form of breath sensor known in the art to be usable for controlling aerosol delivery based on a patient’s breath cycle in view of Porter.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montgomery (U.S. Pub. 2013/0014759) in view of Smaldone (U.S. Pub. 2021/0236750) and further in view of Parker et al. (U.S. Pub. 2007/0157931) and further in view of Spandorfer (U.S. Pub. 2016/0136368).
Regarding claim 5, Montgomery teaches the invention as modified above but fails to teach the sensing signal is a specific brain wave signal generated when a patient is breathing.
Spandorfer teaches an automated aerosol drug dispensing system (Fig. 1; ¶¶0005, 0025) and teaches “smart” automated actuation of dispensing can be performed in response to a variety of patient physiological measures, to include EEG (¶0044). One of ordinary skill in the art would obviously recognize that EEG is used to monitor brain waves. Spandorfer thus teaches EEG, as a brain wave sensor, as an obvious design choice option of patient physiologic sensor known in the art to be usable for controlling automated actuation of aerosol delivery.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in the modified Montgomery the sensing signal is a specific brain wave signal generated when a patient is breathing in order to provide the benefit of adding an additional form of patient physiological measure known in the art to be usable for controlling automated actuation of aerosol delivery in view of Spandorfer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim(s) 6-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the claim remains allowed over the prior art for the same reasons discussed in the preceding Office action.
Regarding claims 6-8, Montgomery fails to teach or suggest the inhaled air sensor located both “connected to the air purifier” and also detecting air flow, pressure or temperature “in the mask or the mouthpiece.” Montgomery fails to locate its cited air purifier in a location which is at “the mask or the mouthpiece.” Note is made of the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH D. BOECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785