DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of the species of T7, metal or cation and the election of all four components in claim 1 in the reply filed on 3/30/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-10, 12-18, 20, 29 are pending. Claims 11,19,21-28 have been cancelled.
An action on the merits is set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 12-18, 20, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-10, 12-18, 20, 29 are indefinite over the phrase “composition, system or kit” in claim 1. This phrase is unclear as it is not clear, structurally, what the differences between the three types are being attempted by the claims.
Claim 5 is indefinite over the recitation of the parentheses. It is not clear if the claims are attempting to limit the claims to 2’ O-methylation or how the parentheses limit the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-10, 12-18, 20, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spoonamore et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0195864 June 27, 2019)..
With regard to claim 1, Spoonamore et al teaches compositions comprises an RNA polymerase (para 214), an aTF (paras 84-85), an engineered template (para 85), and fluorophore quencher pairs on a dsDNA (signal gate) (para 100).
With regard to claim 2, Spoonamore et al teaches a method wherein the dsDNA is a single gate molecule that is a fluorophore and quencher pair on different strands (para 100 -108).
With regard to claim 9, Spoonamore et al. teaches all the required structure of claim 1 and as such the RNA would be capable of not forming an intramolecular secondary structure.
With regard to claim 10, Spoonamore et al. teaches a T7 RNA polymerase (para 215).
With regard to claim 12, Spoonamore et al. teaches an aTF that represses (para 107).
With regard to claim 13, Spoonamore teaches a structure of aTF which activates when bound to an operator (para 18-27).
With regard to claims 11-17, the claims are drawn to intended uses of the analyte and aTF, Spoonamore et al. teaches an aTF which would be capable of binding to the operator in the absence of a ligand (para 84).
With regard to claim 18, Spoonamore teaches tetR, arsr, marr class (para 14 and 142).
With regard to claim 20, Spoonamore et al. teaches the analyte is a member of tetracycline (para 130).
With regard to claim 29, Spoonamore et al. teaches contacting the sample with components of the composition and detection signal (para 85-110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spoonamore et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0195864 June 27, 2019) in view of in view of Canaani et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0300884 October 3,2019).
Spoonamore et al teaches compositions comprises an RNA polymerase (para 214), an aTF (paras 84-85), an engineered template (para 85), and fluorophore quencher pairs on a dsDNA (signal gate) (para 100). Spoonamore et al teaches a method wherein the dsDNA is a single gate molecule that is a fluorophore and quencher pair on different strands (para 100 -108).
However, Spoonamore does not teach the structural positions of the fluorophore and quencher.
With regard to claim 3, Canaani et al. teaches that reporter molecules can be a fluorescently labeled top a quencher on the 5’ of the bottom (para 267-314).
With regard to claim 4, Canaani et al. teaches overhangs (para 325).
With regard to claim 5, Canaani et la. teaches non-natural modifications (para 260).
With regard to claims 6-8, Cananni et al. teaches a nonlabelled/labelled strand and that is longer(para 264-270, 325).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the structure of Spoonamore et al. to use known structural detectors on a dsDNA as taught by Canaani et al. The ordinary artisan would be motivated to modify the structures of labeling techniques using know structural motifs that can be used to detect.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10, 12-18, 20, 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 12-33 of U.S. Patent No. 12203144. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims encompass a composition, system or kit that comprises RNA polymerase, aTF, engineered transcription template and a dsDNA signal gate molecule.
Claims 1-10, 12-18, 20, 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 4, 6-25 of copending Application No. 18311030 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims encompass a composition, system or kit that comprises RNA polymerase, aTF, engineered transcription template and a dsDNA signal gate molecule.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE D SALMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682