Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claims 23-31, drawn to a process for laying tracks in the reply filed on 03/25/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites, “prefabricated slabs according to claim 1” referring to a non-elected claim as the intended use of the process for laying tracks within the claim making the claim unclear.
Claim 24 recites, “a step of removing pre-existing tracks” without reciting when this step is to be completed in relation to the method steps within claim 23 making it unclear when the step is completed within the claimed process.
Claim 25 recites, “a step of excavating a pre-existing ballast” without reciting when this step is to be completed in relation to the method steps within claim 23 making it unclear when the step is completed within the claimed process.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the laying of rails" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner recommends amending to “laying of pre-installed temporary rails”.
Claim 26 recite the limitation “the first spacing” within line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 29, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 27 recites the limitation “the rested type” within line 27. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 recites, “and/or and” making it unclear which is intended by Applicant. For examination purposes, the claim will be examined as “and/or”.
Claim 30 recites, “a tamping connecting between the laid tract and the existing track” which is unclear to Examiner what is intended to be claimed. The claim further recites the limitations “the laid tract” and “the existing track” within line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claims 28 and 31 are likewise rejected due to their dependence upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-26, 28-29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (KR 102212757 B1) in view of Tosi (WO 2017187461 A1).
Regarding claim 23: Cho teaches a process for laying tracks for ballastless railway and tramway lines on prefabricated slabs according to claim 1, comprising the following steps: launching of the slabs and laying thereof in sequence on a platform plane, said slabs being laid with pre-installed temporary rails (140; Fig.12b and see attached EPO translation; Col.[0030], lines 4-5); plano-altimetric adjustment of each launched slab, by comparison with topographic references pre-installed along the railway and tramway line (Para.[0074], lines 7-8); junction of said temporary rails to form continuous temporary tracks (Fig.12c); removal of said temporary tracks; installation of definitive rail tracts; and welding of said definitive rail tracts to form definitive tracks (Para.[0091]). Cho does not teach casting of an intermediate or foundation concrete layer between the intrados surface of the slabs and said platform plane.
However, Tosi teaches casting of an intermediate or foundation concrete layer between the intrados surface of the slabs and said platform plane (pg.14, lines 21-34 and Phase 2-2; Fig.10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Cho to include casting of an intermediate layer as in Tosi to provide a fixed intermediate layer to further strengthen the position of the slabs and prevent dirt and debris from accumulating under the slabs with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 24: Cho further teaches the process according to claim 23, further comprising a step of removing pre-existing tracks (Para.[0074]).
Regarding claim 25: Cho further teaches the process according to claim 23, further comprising a step of excavating a pre-existing ballast, as far as a platform plane (Para.[0074]).
Regarding claim 26: Cho further teaches the process according to claim 23, wherein the laying of rails is performed so that said temporary junctions of the rails (Fig.12c) result to be at the centre of the first spacing of each slab (joint centered between each slab; Fig.12c).
Regarding claim 28: Cho further teaches the process according to claim 23, comprising a step of arranging horizontal stabilizing elements below each slab to be laid (110; Fig.7). Cho does not teach the arrangement preceding the step of casting the intermediate layer, so that said horizontal stabilizing elements result at least partially embedded in the intermediate layer.
However, Tosi teaches the casting of an intermediate layer, so that horizontal stabilizing elements result at least partially embedded in the intermediate layer (pg.14, lines 21-34 and Phase 2-2; Fig.10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Cho to include casting of an intermediate layer as in Tosi to provide a fixed intermediate layer to further strengthen the position of the slabs and prevent dirt and debris from accumulating under the slabs with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 29: Cho does not teach wherein the concrete of said intermediate layer has a composition so as to guarantee a workability of at least thirty minutes, and development of short-term resistances, preferably a resistance equal to at least 5 MPa within two hours from casting.
However, Tosi teaches the use of concrete for the composition of the intermediate layer (Pg.14, lines 21-34). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Cho to include casting of an intermediate layer as in Tosi to provide a fixed intermediate layer to further strengthen the position of the slabs and prevent dirt and debris from accumulating under the slabs with a reasonable expectation of success.
Cho in view of Tosi teach the claimed invention except for the guarantee of a workability of at least thirty minutes, and development of short-term resistances, preferably a resistance equal to at least 5 MPa within two hours from casting. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize concrete with the desired workability, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claim 31: Cho further teaches the process according to claim 23 performed with a system comprising: a train for launching the slabs, equipped with handling portal and wagon for end-on launching the slabs (210; Fig.11). Cho does not teach a concreting train equipped for the production of concrete and for casting an intermediate or foundation layer, supporting the slabs.
However, Tosi teaches a concreting train equipped for the production of concrete and for casting an intermediate or foundation layer, supporting the slabs (Phase 2-2; Fig.10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Cho to include casting of an intermediate layer as in Tosi to provide a fixed intermediate layer to further strengthen the position of the slabs and prevent dirt and debris from accumulating under the slabs with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Tosi and Dixon (WO 2020249981 A1).
Regarding claim 27: Cho teaches the process according to claim 23, with said temporary junctions (Fig.12c). Cho does not teach wherein the junctions are of the rested type and implemented with four-hole jaws.
However, Dixon teaches junctions of prefabricated slab rails that are of the rested type and implemented with four-hole jaws (Fig.8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Cho to include temporary junctions as in Dixon to provide additional stability to the temporary junctions for temporary railway operations with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Tosi and Haban et al. (DE 10200603665 A1).
Regarding claim 30: Cho does not teach a step of implementing transition areas between ballastless permanent way and ballasted permanent way to obtain a maximum variation of the vertical settlement not higher than 0.5 mm, and/or a tamping connecting between the laid tract and the existing track. However, Haban teaches implementing transition areas between ballastless permanent way and ballasted permanent way to obtain a maximum variation of the vertical settlement (see attached EPO translation; Para.[0020-0022]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Cho to include transition areas between ballastless and ballasted permanent ways as in Haban for proper railway operations between different stiffness rail sections with a reasonable expectation of success.
Cho in view of Tosi and Haban teach the claimed invention except for obtaining a maximum variation of the vertical settlement not higher than 0.5 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design for a maximum variation of the vertical settlement not higher than 0.5 mm, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05 (II)(A).
Conclusion
/HEAVEN R BUFFINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615