Detailed Action
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 10-15 are withdrawn. Claims 1-9 and 16-20 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) from 10/9/2024 was considered by the Examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and the species of sulconazole in the reply filed on 3/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 and 16-20 embrace Applicant’s elected species and are therefore under examination. The elected species is not allowable. Additional subject matter was discovered incidental to the search of the elected species and is presented below in the interest of compact prosecution.
Claims 10-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 depends from claim 6, wherein claim 6 already describes a time of azole administration. Claim 7 describes an additional time of azole administration and it is unclear if claim 7 was intended to be a second administration. Examiner recommends that claim 7 depend from claim 5 instead of claim 6 to provide clarity on one time point administration of the azole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 8, 9, 16, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerbe (US20180050034).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
Gerbe teaches a method of treating Crohn’s disease (fibrotic disease or disorder) by topically administering agents, which includes an imidazole (see claims 1 and 3). An example of the imidazole taught was sulconazole (azole derivative) (see para. [0078]) and any therapeutic agent taught in the prior art can be administered in an amount ranging from about 0.1 ug/kg to about 1 mg/kg (see para. [0112]).
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
The prior art teaches a variety of imidazoles, without a single embodiment of administering sulconazole.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
Regarding instant claims 1-3 and 16, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to arrive at the instant claims because the prior art list of imidazoles:
has a finite number of choices (14), wherein sulconazole would have been obvious to try for a Crohn’s patient. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to explore treatment efficacy with sulconazole with a reasonable expectation of success in a Crohn’s patient. Additionally, instant claim 1 is drawn to treating a subject “at risk of developing fibrosis”, wherein the entire population of subjects would be included.
Regarding instant claims 8 and 17, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to either administer the azole derivative (sulconazole) systemically or locally, as the prior art teaches a topical administration. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to explore various modes of administration to find the most successful treatment method with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding instant claims 9 and 19, the prior art amount administration range encompasses that of the instant claims. “In the case where the claimed ranges ’overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” MPEP 2144.05(I). It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to explore the effective amount of azole derivative by optimizing a previously known range.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 6, 7, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerbe (US20180050034), as applied to claim 1, 2, 3, 8, 9, 16, 17, and 18 above, and further in view of Gustavsson et al. (Aliment Pharmacol Ther, 2012, 36: 151-158).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
Gerbe fails to teach treatment to a subject who has a history of intestinal strictures or performing a surgical intervention or endoscopic dilation.
Gustavsson teaches “Endoscopic dilation is an efficacious and safe treatment of intestinal strictures in Crohn’s disease” (see title). See the following from top left column on p. 152:
. Regarding the outcome of endoscopic dilation in all patients from Gustavsson’s study: “Technical success was achieved in 689/776 dilations (89%)” (see right column, p. 154, top paragraph).
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
The prior art fails to disclose the administration of sulconazole AND a surgical intervention or endoscopic dilation. Additional dependent claims will be addressed below.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
Regarding instant claim 4, intestinal strictures are a common symptom of Crohn’s disease. It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to explore successful Crohn’s treatment methods on a patient who has the common predicament of intestinal strictures with a reasonable expectation of success. Regarding instant claims 5 and 19, endoscopic dilation was known to be a successful treatment for Crohn’s patients. Regarding performing an endoscopic dilation AND administering sulconazole, both were known to be useful in treating Crohn’s disease. Absent a showing of unexpected results, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine both of the therapeutic agents which are taught for the same purpose in order to treat said diseases. In re Susi, 58 CCPA 440 169 USPQ 423, 426 (1971); In re Crokett, 47 CCPA 126 USPQ 186,188 (1960). In the instant case, one of the “therapeutic agents” can be substituted for the procedure of endoscopic dilation and follow a similar fact pattern, wherein both the endoscopic dilation and the sulconazole were useful in treating Crohn’s. Regarding claims 6, 7, and 20, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to explore the most effective time of azole derivative administration by a result of routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 16-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-17 and 20-23 of copending Application No. 18880412 in view of Gerbe (US20180050034), and further in view of Gustavsson et al. (Aliment Pharmacol Ther, 2012, 36: 151-158).
The copending application teaches a method for treating fibrosis or intestinal restructuring in a gastrointestinal tract of a subject by administering sulconazole nanocrystals (see claims 1 and 10). The fibrosis may be associated with Crohn’s disease (see claims 15 and 16). The sulconazole formulation may be injected in a proximity of a stricture site after a surgical or endoscopic procedure (see claim 14).
Gerbe teaches a method of treating Crohn’s disease (fibrotic disease or disorder) by topically administering agents, which includes an imidazole (see claims 1 and 3). An example of the imidazole taught was sulconazole (azole derivative) (see para. [0078]) and any therapeutic agent taught in the prior art can be administered in an amount ranging from about 0.1 ug/kg to about 1 mg/kg (see para. [0112]). Gerbe fails to teach treatment to a subject who has a history of intestinal strictures or performing a surgical intervention or endoscopic dilation.
Gustavsson teaches “Endoscopic dilation is an efficacious and safe treatment of intestinal strictures in Crohn’s disease” (see title). See the following from top left column on p. 152:
. Regarding the outcome of endoscopic dilation in all patients from Gustavsson’s study: “Technical success was achieved in 689/776 dilations (89%)” (see right column, p. 154, top paragraph).
Regarding instant claims 1-3 and 16, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to arrive at the instant claims because the prior art (Gerbe) list of imidazoles:
has a finite number of choices (14), wherein sulconazole would have been obvious to try for a Crohn’s patient. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to explore treatment efficacy with sulconazole with a reasonable expectation of success in a Crohn’s patient. Additionally, instant claim 1 is drawn to treating a subject “at risk of developing fibrosis”, wherein the entire population of subjects would be included.
Regarding instant claims 8 and 17, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to either administer the azole derivative (sulconazole) systemically or locally, as the prior art (Gerbe) teaches a topical administration. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to explore various modes of administration to find the most successful treatment method with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding instant claims 9 and 19, the prior art (Gerbe) amount administration range encompasses that of the instant claims. “In the case where the claimed ranges ’overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” MPEP 2144.05(I). It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to explore the effective amount of azole derivative by optimizing a previously known range.
Regarding instant claim 4, intestinal strictures are a common symptom of Crohn’s disease (Gustavsson). It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to explore successful Crohn’s treatment methods on a patient who has the common predicament of intestinal strictures with a reasonable expectation of success. Regarding instant claims 5 and 19, endoscopic dilation was known to be a successful treatment for Crohn’s patients (Gustavsson). Regarding performing an endoscopic dilation AND administering sulconazole, both were known to be useful in treating Crohn’s disease. Absent a showing of unexpected results, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine both of the therapeutic agents which are taught for the same purpose in order to treat said diseases. In re Susi, 58 CCPA 440 169 USPQ 423, 426 (1971); In re Crokett, 47 CCPA 126 USPQ 186,188 (1960). In the instant case, one of the “therapeutic agents” can be substituted for the procedure of endoscopic dilation and follow a similar fact pattern, wherein both the endoscopic dilation and the sulconazole were useful in treating Crohn’s. Regarding claims 6, 7, and 20, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to explore the most effective time of azole derivative administration by a result of routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/MEGHAN C HEASLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 1626