Claim Objections
Claims 21 and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities: It is suggested to reword these claims as “said mesoporous silica particles comprise the particles of claim 13”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 25 and 26 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because the manner in which they are drafted results in dependency from more than one claim, and not in the alternative. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims 25-26 have not been further treated on the merits. This objection is repeated from the non-final action mailed 09/19/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Manayil, “Octyl Co-grafted PrSO3H/SBA-15: Tunable Hydrophobic Solid Acid Catalysts for Acetic Acid Esterification”, ChemCatChem 2017 (cited on IDS filed 01/20/2026) as evidenced by or in view of US 6592764 (Stucky).
Manayil discloses propylsulfonic acid (PrSO3H) solid acid catalysts prepared by modification of mesoporous SBA-15 silica functionalized with mercaptopropyltrimethoxysilane (MPTMS) (corresponding to Formula I) and octyltrimethoxysilane (OTMS) (corresponding to Formula II). Note that these materials are used in Example 1 of the instant specification. Table 1 indicates pore diameters for OC/PrSO3H/SBA-15 of 4.6-4.8 nm. Manayil does not expressly state the diameter of the formed particles, however, Stucky provides evidence that SBA-15 has particle sizes of about 80 microns (paragraph bridging columns 13-14). Alternatively, it would have been obvious to use an SBA-15 material known in the art to be useful for functionalization as Stucky discloses that the silica may be functionalized (col. 21, lines 28-36). Moreover, Stucky discloses pore sizes of at least 3 nm (claim 133 of Stucky).
Regarding claim 16, Manayil discloses a surface area over 500 m2/g (Table 1).
Regarding claim 17, Manayil discloses preparing Pluronic P123 (polymeric template) in water and HCl (acidic aqueous suspension) and stirring. These steps are commensurate with those carried out in Example 1 of the instant specification and formation of micelles is considered inherent to the formation of the material. Next, TEOS (tetra alkyl orthosilicate precursor) was added with synthesis maintained at 35C for 20h under stirring. The formed silica particles were functionalized by adding MPTMS and octyl-grafting material was added to the un-oxidized samples (Experimental section). The octyl co-grafted samples were then oxidized with hydrogen peroxide to convert thiol groups into sulfonic acid. Thus, SBA-15 is functionalized with propyl sulfonic and OTMS (Results and Discussion, paragraph 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the rejection under 112(b) and the objections to the claims with the exception of the claim objections noted above. A new rejection is made above over Manayil and Brothers, both of which were provided in the IDS filed under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 01/20/2026.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14, 15, and 18-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 01/20/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JENNIFER C. MCNEIL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1793
/Jennifer McNeil/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793