DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’ election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1, 3, and 4), drawn to a vector in the reply filed on 05/12/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 5-20 are withdrawn from consideration, as being directed to a non-elected invention. Claims 1, 3, and 4 have been examined on the merits.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made that the instant application is a National Stage of International application No. PCT/JP2022/012427 (filed 03/17/2022). Acknowledgement is further made of Applicants’ claim for priority to Japanese applications JP2021-054970 (filed 03/29/2021) and JP2021-054930 (filed 03/29/2021). Copies of the foreign priority documents are present in the application file.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue in the response to election filed 05/12/2026 that neither Samulski nor Liew et al teach a single vector comprising (a) the protelomerase-encoding sequence, (2) the paired recognition sequences, and (3) the target protein-encoding sequence and instead rely on a “multi-component” system. Additionally, applicants argue there is no reason to combine these elements into a single vector because the designs of Samulski and Liew et al allow the host cell to process any subsequently introduced target vector.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Liew et al discloses a method of stably expressing TelN. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the vector of Samulski by adding a TelN sequence following the CMV promoter, as disclosed by Liew et al, in order to stably express TelN and continuously produce specific, desired covalently closed hairpins.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 19/076,287 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
Claim 1 of Application No. 19/076,287 is drawn to a double-stranded circular DNA vector (reads on claim 3) comprising a protelomerase gene sequence… an endonuclease gene sequence…a pair of protelomerase recognition sequences which are recognized by the protelomerase… at least one endonuclease recognition sequence… and a nucleic acid sequence of interest, wherein the protelomerase gene sequence, the endonuclease gene sequence, and the endonuclease recognition sequence are placed in a region between the pair of protelomerase recognition sequences… wherein the protelomerase gene sequence and the endonuclease gene sequence are placed under the control of a promoter which is capable of regulating their expression (reads on a nucleic acid sequence regulating expression of the protelomerase (claim 4)). Thus, the vector of Application No. 19/076,287 reads on a vector comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding protelomerase; a pair of nucleic acid sequences recognized by the protelomerase; and a nucleic acid sequence located between the pair of nucleic acid sequences and encoding a protein (i.e. claim 1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samulski (WO2019246544A2) in view of Liew et al (Analytical Biochemistry, 2019).
Samulski discloses a double stranded plasmid comprising an EGFP sequence flanked by a telL sequence and a telR sequence (See Fig. 9 and ¶0132-0133). The vector of Samulski further comprises a CMV promoter sequence (See Fig. 9). The telRL sequence in the vector of Samulski is cut by TelN to produce two covalently closed hairpins (See ¶0081 and Fig. 8).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 4: Samulski discloses a double stranded plasmid (reads on a double-stranded circular plasmid DNA vector) comprising an EGFP sequence (reads on a nucleic acid sequence encoding a protein) flanked by telL and telR sequences (reads on between a pair of nucleic acid sequences recognized by the protelomerase). Samulski discloses the telRL sequence is cut by TelN (reads on a protelomerase) to produce two covalently closed hairpins. The vector of Samulski further comprises a CMV promoter sequence.
Samulski does not disclose the vector further comprises a nucleic acid sequence encoding protelomerase.
Liew et al discloses a vector express TelN (reads on protelomerase) under control of a CMV promoter that can be used to stably express TelN in mammalian cells (reads on a nucleic acid sequence regulating expression of the protelomerase) (See Se. 2.4).
Given that Samulski discloses a vector comprising an EGFP flanked by tell and telR sequences that can be cleaved by TelN protelomerase to produce two covalently closed hairpins and further expressing a CMV promoter and Liew et al discloses a vector expressing TelN under control of a CMV promoter for stably expressing TelN in mammalian cell lines, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vector of Samulski by adding a TelN sequence driven by the CMV promoter (reads on a nucleic acid sequence regulating expression of the protelomerase). One would have been motivated to modify the vector of Samulski by adding a TelN sequence driven by the CMV promoter in order to stably express TelN in mammalian cells allowing for continuous production of the covalently closed hairpins produced by the vector of Samulski. There is a reasonable expectation of success because inserting sequences into vectors in a known technique in the art and Liew et al teaches TelN can be stably expressed in mammalian cells under the control of a CMV promoter.
Conclusion
/MARISOL ANN O'NEILL/Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/ALLISON M FOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633